Shocking video of guards in Dublin today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭zoe 3619

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    When a guard asks you to move you move, immediately.

Baaa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

caustic 1 wrote: »
    Must have missed that post where it said the protesters were for losers wasters and idiots.

well I was paraphrasing:

Rent a crowd knobends.

More polite than i would be having my time wasted by those clowns.

Anyways, give it another 20 posts and those words will probably come up.

Or you get your head scraped off the ground, gotcha. Totally reasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Where's the law that states that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 826 ✭✭✭geeksauce

To be fair it wouldnt have happened had he not put himself there in the first place. Was his own fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Problem is he refused to move, then resisted when the Gardai tried to move him. He was being carried by two Gardai when his head ended up on the ground as one lost hold of him while he continued to kick and fight. Its a situation he made for himself while his pals stood around shouting and giving the Gardai abuse.

To claim that its one step away from the Gardai killing someone is just complete and utter horseshíte.

He was having an epileptic fit. That fact makes your post seem a bit silly, to put it as mildly as I reckon I can, without a boards guard dragging my head long the ground.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Asked him to move, please, then if he didn't maybe say pretty please.

"I'll give you some sweeties!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭muddypaws

When a guard tells you to move you move, no ifs or buts or maybes.

Why? If I'm not breaking any law, why should I not question it? I respect the Gards, and I believe they have a very tough job, but putting on a uniform does not automatically make them right every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

From what I see the guard didn't have a proper hold of him in the first place and when he kicked out he lost his grip and the guy was on the ground with the other guard dragging him on.

"I'll give you some sweeties!"

Or "ill time ya, ready annnnnd go"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Bullshít. Idiots acting like idiots were getting called idiots long before RTE said anything about them.

I patiently await the day the state fecks with you and your view changes. I'll forget, hopefully you'll remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭robertxxx

Video is gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

He was having an epileptic fit. That fact makes your post seem a bit silly, to put it as mildly as I reckon I can, without a boards guard dragging my head long the ground.

Doesn't look like he was having a fit to me, looks like he was resisting the Gardai as they tried to move him, and had a fit afterwards. Even his friends with him who knew he was epileptic didn't think he was having a fit. You can clearly hear a woman (possibly the camera woman) say "He's going to have a fit now in a minute, he's an epileptic".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

geeksauce wrote: »
    Or "ill time ya, ready annnnnd go"

"No? Ahh go on now you know you want to".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

From what I see the guard didn't have a proper hold of him in the first place and when he kicked out he lost his grip and the guy was on the ground with the other guard dragging him on.

And then they both dragged him, face scraping off the ground. I wouldn't mind if he kicked out and fell on his head, accidental, fair enough. But to drag him with his head bobbling along was a bit much

All the same I'd agree with other posters, the video shows what they want you to see, we don't know what happened before

robertxxx wrote: »
    Video is gone

Good, because whatever the rights and wrongs, its not nice to have someone in such a vulnerable position being shown on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

We don't know what happened before the video, this guy could have been told not to stand on the road 10 times in the last hour. These protest police brutality videos usually are cut like that. I'd like to see the 5 minutes leading up to it.
    From what we see in the video it looks like the gardai are arseholes, but from protest videos track record, it's hard to know.
    I've also experience of police crowd control at football matches, and from a few experiences it's laughably bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Where's the law that states that?

some section of the criminal justice (public order) act maybe ? dunno

muddypaws wrote: »
    Good, because whatever the rights and wrongs, its not nice to have someone in such a vulnerable position being shown on the internet.

You dont like porn then!!

geeksauce wrote: »
    You dont like porn then!!

I know its AH, but seriously? :rolleyes:

gctest50 wrote: »
    section 8 of the criminal justice (public order) act maybe ? dunno
    8.—(1) Where a member of the Garda Síochána finds a person in a public place and suspects, with reasonable cause, that such person—

(a) is or has been acting in a manner contrary to the provisions of section 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 or 9 , or

(b) without lawful authority or reasonable excuse, is acting in a manner which consists of loitering in a public place in circumstances, which may include the company of other persons, that give rise to a reasonable apprehension for the safety of persons or the safety of property or for the maintenance of the public peace,

the member may direct the person so suspected to do either or both of the following, that is to say:

(i) desist from acting in such a manner, and

(ii) leave immediately the vicinity of the place concerned in a peaceable or orderly manner.

(2) It shall be an offence for any person, without lawful authority or reasonable excuse, to fail to comply with a direction given by a member of the Garda Síochána under this section.

(3) A person who is guilty of an offence under this section shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding £500 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months or to both.

Relevant parts highlighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

So you can expect a fine and prison.. Doesn't say anywhere there that you can expect to be dragged along the ground with your head holding you up.

dharma200 wrote: »
    So you can expect a fine and prison.. Doesn't say anywhere there that you can expect to be dragged along the ground with your head holding you up.

Question was where does the law state that you must move when the Gardai instruct you to move. Despite some people thinking we're all sheep deferring to authority and daring not to have our own opinions in an oh so Irish way. I think we just might have some respect for authority and the law that governs our society and just don't see the need to act like a troublesome cúnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

Ah sorry gotya....

Question was where does the law state that you must move when the Gardai instruct you to move.

He wasn't expecting an actual, correctly sourced answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

dharma200 wrote: »
    So if someone doesn't move when asked they can be expected to be dragged along by the feet with their head in full contact with the ground....
    I honestly think there is something seriously wrong with that.

According to some, as soon as the gardai bumps into you, if you happen to stumble, you're then "resisting", so deserve to have your head dragged along the ground.
    Even ED 209 from Robocop gave you 20 seconds.

I know its AH, but seriously? :rolleyes:

Yes Yes seriously

Question was where does the law state that you must move when the Gardai instruct you to move.

If your read that, it doesn't say you have to move when they instruct you to, no matter what the circumstances, they must have good reason, and if you have a reasonable excuse, you can stay put.

You edited, so I will as well. Yes, I agree we should have respect for authority, but also should know our rights and both the public and the Gards should be able to treat each other with respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Scumbag gets arrested shocker. Throws a couple of kicks by the look of it. Don't see any brutality. Usual rent a mob at work

If your read that, it doesn't say you have to move when they instruct you to, no matter what the circumstances, they must have good reason, and if you have a reasonable excuse, you can stay put.

Blocking a public road would be reason enough for you to be asked to move.

Cienciano wrote: »
    According to some, as soon as the gardai bumps into you, if you happen to stumble, you're then "resisting", so deserve to have your head dragged along the ground.
    Even ED 209 from Robocop gave you 20 seconds.

According to who, exactly?