Shocking video of guards in Dublin today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭muddypaws

The first time I watched it, I thought the Gards were really out of order, but watching it again, I think he'd already started to fit, and thats why he ended up with his head on the floor, they were carrying him, and the the thrashing caused them to drop him. They should have stopped though, and not dragged his head along the ground.

How did the woman know he was about to have a fit? She was saying "he's going to have a fit now".

Also, what were they doing while he was having the fit, was that man trying to put something in his mouth? I thought now that you just clear everything around the person, put something under their head to stop them hurting themselves, and observe. Putting something in the mouth isn't recommended anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,566 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Cost nothing to be polite. To go up to guy and ask him to go to other side of road. But they don't seem capable of doing that.
    They simply walk up and say

GET TO THE OTHER SIDE OF THE ROAD. AAHHHH
    !!!! THE OTHER SIDE OF THE ROAD.AAAAHHHH!!!!! ROAD SIDE, OTHER SIDE AHHHHHH!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

pablo128 wrote: »
    They are guards, not doctors.

And he was putting a life at risk - his own, by lying down in the middle of a road for fcuk sake!

You don't have to be a doctor to have a bit of common sense, why didn't they get a jacket or something to put under his head straight away. One guard did cop on to this eventually but it took a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

In this case there was enough Gardai to lift the chaps head off the ground. Not a wheelie bin he's pulling ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

Jaysus, yer one that posted the vid is a proper rent a crowd protestor. Anti zionists, anti child abuse, no to frackong, anonymous.. It's always the same with the protestors, they'll protest against anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

Right, by the look of those guts a gew of the guards are putting their own lives at risk every day by scoffin the brekkie rolls. Would t wanna see them pursuing on foot like........
    It can't be easy the public order thing, and the law is always on the side of the guards I reckon, but still, whatever, it's really bad form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

vicwatson wrote: »
    Serious beer in those bellies. Hope dude is ok

serves him right if he is not

The Garda have a job to do and they have to react that way to people who resist. they have to be aggressive and they have to protect and defend themselves as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

She's gone, lets go fúcking mental! Don't rat us out super rush, you're one of us now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

muddypaws wrote: »
    The first time I watched it, I thought the Gards were really out of order, but watching it again, I think he'd already started to fit, and thats why he ended up with his head on the floor, they were carrying him, and the the thrashing caused them to drop him. They should have stopped though, and not dragged his head along the ground.

How did the woman know he was about to have a fit? She was saying "he's going to have a fit now".

Also, what were they doing while he was having the fit, was that man trying to put something in his mouth? I thought now that you just clear everything around the person, put something under their head to stop them hurting themselves, and observe. Putting something in the mouth isn't recommended anymore.

If you know epilepsy sometimes the person shows signs before they fit The guy looked liked he was administrating meds

We didn't see what happened before this and the protesters are probably delighted to be able to use this video for their "cause" wonder did this protester give his permission to have himself put up on the internet like this

muddypaws wrote: »

Some people with epilepsy are prescribed a medicine that a relative or friend can administer in emergencies to stop a prolonged seizure. In most people with epilepsy, seizures do not last more than a few minutes. However, in some cases a seizure lasts longer and a medicine can be used to stop it. A doctor or nurse should give instruction on how and when to administer the medicine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

**** this, the Partisans are nice peeps, and they make tasty fig based treats. G I V E T H E M F R E E D O M!!!! 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

--LOS-- wrote: »
    why didn't they get a jacket or something to put under his head straight away

You're actually not supposed to do that anymore AFAIK.

/firstaiderrefresher2014

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,698 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Big shots then they realise that it is not good to drag a person's face along the ground. They looked like a bunch of amateurs as well as being overweight for a police force

I think he might be still in hospital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Wonder how they get on in tallaght Wednesday with 2000 of these lads in tallaght

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DfZKhvmlTKE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Filming someone having a seizure and posting it on line for anyone to watch is poor form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

The Gardai shouldn't have dragged him off like that, there were plenty there to move him without dragging him. However its a bit of a non issue as far as "brutality" goes as its a situation the clown and his friends made for themselves.

Don't mill around in the middle of the road and then act the clown when the Gardai arrive and you won't be getting dragged anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

That footage doesn't show anything approaching brutality of any kind. If you had ever witnessed true brutality you would know this. It's unfortunate that the young man had a seizure but as has already been stated by others he needs to take his condition into consideration before engaging in such activities.

I hate the pigs as much as the next person, but it can be hard to know that someone would have an 'eppo'.

Having said that, they were very, very careless in the way they dragged him with his head in contact with the ground.

Ok if anything this thread might actually educate whatever guards are lurking on the correct treatment for so done having an epiletic fit.... Small steps forward......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Are there any of these videos that don't start just as a Gard is dragging someone off? Its almost like they don't want you too see the peaceful protester before the evil Gards pounce on him for just standing there being all peaceful at a nice distance.

Bulldust. I was out with my kids in Dublin and a protest(anti-israeli) was passing, last year. There was a girl and a lad out front, chanting but not a single aggressive move out of them.

The gards literally leathered the heads off the two of them and waded in arresting people -a serious amount of gards out of nowhere, literally swamped. No-one had raised a finger, literally. I was afraid for my kids, so I got the feck off the pavement and away, pronto, but i was very surprised by the heavy handed approach of the gardai.

"No agenda there so" was my lasting impression, and I have never protested about anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,253 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

The Garda have a job to do and they have to react that way to people who resist. they have to be aggressive and they have to protect and defend themselves as well
    Crock of sh1t!
    If as it seems he was having a seizure then the guards were well out of order.
    BTW you do know when a seizure is imminent, unfortunately by then the victim is immobile and can't move from where they are. Someone having a seizure should not be moved unless they are in immediate danger, the guards should have cleared room and let the seizure pass, while waiting for an ambulance. If he needed to be moved a stretcher should have been used. I hope the guy is alright because if not he will have a case against the guards for not following the correct procedure.
    And before ye jump in I do know what I'm talking about. I deal with epileptic seizures regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I hate the pigs as much as the next person, but it can be hard to know that someone would have an 'eppo'.

Having said that, they were very, very careless in the way they dragged him with his head in contact with the ground.

In relation to your opening statement; are you a fifteen year old boy?

Night night bed is thataway ===>:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

That involve playing dead in the middle of the road when the Gardai ask you to move ?

The Gardai shouldn't have dragged him off like that, there were plenty there to move him without dragging him. However its a bit of a non issue as far as "brutality goes" as its a situation the clown and his friends made for themselves.

Don't mill around in the middle of the road and then act the clown when the Gardai arrive and you won't be getting dragged anywhere.

fcuk me, I somtimes despair for this kip of a country. Protest, and you're a clown. Jesus wept.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Cost nothing to be polite. To go up to guy and ask him to go to other side of road. But they don't seem capable of doing that.
    They simply walk up and say

The gardai were perfectly polite at the beginning of the video before the rent a crowd got belligerent and yer man hit the deck.

More polite than i would be having my time wasted by those clowns.

I presume their amazing protest has completely fixed relations between Israel and Gaza and wasn't simply an out and out waste of time and effort that will be roundly ignored by anyone who could make even a slight difference to the situation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,616 ✭✭✭muddypaws

tommy2bad wrote: »
    Crock of sh1t!
    If as it seems he was having a seizure then the guards were well out of order.
    BTW you do know when a seizure is imminent, unfortunately by then the victim is immobile and can't move from where they are. Someone having a seizure should not be moved unless they are in immediate danger, the guards should have cleared room and let the seizure pass, while waiting for an ambulance. If he needed to be moved a stretcher should have been used. I hope the guy is alright because if not he will have a case against the guards for not following the correct procedure.
    And before ye jump in I do know what I'm talking about. I deal with epileptic seizures regularly.

Should they have put something under his head? Honest question, I thought you were meant to, but another poster said no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭bluefinger

some of you posting the cynical crap above should be ashamed of yourselves. to watch a person being treated like that and immediately jump to the defence of the aggressors is twisted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

fcuk me, I somtimes despair for this kip of a country. Protest, and you're a clown. Jesus wept.

You can protest without being a clown. You might even get more people to listen to what you're saying too if you were more interested in saying it than causing hassle.

Pigs??? Ah herrerrre im out. ciao