Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garth Brooks concerts cancelled - **READ FIRST POST FOR MOD NOTES**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Only after they had taken these objections into account and made their decision !
    And Only after they faced pressure to do so when they were exposed.

When was the last time a concert was turned down ?

:D:D Obviously only reading the redtops.

They replied to all objectors and when they indicated they hadn't objected DCC called in the guards.
    Meanwhile as part, and only as part of their deliberations they paid heed to the genuine objections.

Do yourself a favour and download the decision and details of a very very transparent process, a process Aiken/Croke PArk where more than familiar with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Yep, just look at all the other concerts they closed down, all those stab eachother and sexually abuse eachother concerts . . .

That called for increased security and was caused by general scumbaggery.

I'm really not seeing what you're point is. There were no licencing issues with those events. They were unfortunate incidents and were responded to by both the promoter and Gardai with enhanced security.

They didn't book a string of extra nights without ensuring licences were possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Yes, In fact in the planning application for smh it actually had a section limiting the number of stabbings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Tánaiste Joan Burton says there is a “window of possibility” in reaching an agreement over the staging of the Garth Brooks concerts:

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/still-hope-for-garth-brooks-concerts-says-t%C3%A1naiste-1.1864840

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Jim Rockford

Peppa Pig wrote: »
    How is that relevant?
    You said DCC have never turned down a concert. They have.

Name one in the last 30 years ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Do you agree that trying to hold 5 gigs in a row was milking it??

Tánaiste Joan Burton says there is a “window of possibility” in reaching an agreement over the staging of the Garth Brooks concerts:

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/still-hope-for-garth-brooks-concerts-says-t%C3%A1naiste-1.1864840

It's in the pipeline going forward at the end of the day. :rolleyes:
    I'd say there is some scramble in the Dail, not to be the bearer of bad news!

Happyman42 wrote: »
    :D:D Obviously only reading the redtops.

They replied to all objectors and when they indicated they hadn't objected DCC called in the guards.
    Meanwhile as part, and only as part of their deliberations they paid heed to the genuine objections.

Do yourself a favour and download the decision and details of a very very transparent process, a process Aiken/Croke PArk where more than familiar with.

Rather than trying to promote the self promotional spin they write about themselves, I do myself the favour of trusting what the planing tribunal concluded about the competence and integrity of DCC and their cronies.

hawkelady wrote: »
    Do you agree that trying to hold 5 gigs in a row was milking it??

No word about the 400,000 people who wanted to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

Why the last 30 years - you said Garth Brooks was the only one ever to have a licence refused.
    He isn't.

The fact that you mention 30 years shows you have googled it and found out I'm right.

Also since when do we have to provide proof - you don't

Rather than trying to promote the self promotional spin they write about themselves, I do myself the favour of trusting what the planing tribunal concluded about the competence and integrity of DCC and their cronies.

So tell us (despite the fact that none of those tribunaled are involved in this) what was the angle here for their corruption...just annoy 400,000 punters and a cowboy?
    Show us the money here.

Why the last 30 years - you said Garth Brooks was the only one ever to have a licence refused.
    He isn't.

The fact that you mention 30 years shows you have googled it and found out I'm right.

Also since when do we have to provide proof - you don't

You've just proved your own farce then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

It's in the pipeline going forward at the end of the day. :rolleyes:
    I'd say there is some scramble in the Dail, not to be the bearer of bad news!

Lets not forget the current Minister for Tourism, originally wrote a letter objection to the GB concerts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

So what was the point of the tribunal?

muddypaws wrote: »
    So what was the point of the tribunal?

Exactly, not a lot it seems

No word about the 400,000 people who wanted to go

I want to build an extension that blocks my neighbours light....should I be allowed to do that, just because I want, I want, I want?

You've just proved your own farce then
    I have just proved Garth Brooks is not the only one to have ever been turned down.
    You don't know as much as you think you do

I want to build an extension that blocks my neighbours light....should I be allowed to do that, just because I want, I want, I want?
    As long as I'm not your neighbour, fire away

I have just proved Garth Brooks is not the only one to have ever been turned down.

The fact overlooked by Mr Rockford is that most gigs/events get the go ahead because they utilise the consultation process, adapt their plans and comply.

This one patently didn't adapt and the cowboy pulled a hissy fit and won't play the licenced gigs.

All I have to know is that DCC have already been proven to be one of the most incompetent and corrupt planning authorities in Europe.

The fact overlooked by Mr Rockford is that most gigs/events get the go ahead because they utilise the consultation process, adapt their plans and comply.

The fact overlooked by My Happyman is that these gigis did exactly the same, there was a great deal of consultation with DCC and no indication at any time the licence would be refused, or DCC were not happy with anything, when plans could have easily been altered.

All I have to know is that DCC have already been proven to be one of the most incompetent and corrupt planning authorities in Europe.

Have you posted proof that the current DCC is that anywhere?

I think at the very least their incompetence in this case is well documented at this stage. From raising no issues during the consultation for the 5 concerts, to accepting forged objections. That along with their already well proven track record for incompetence and corruption says it all. Fair play for Brooks showing them up for what they are and standing up to them and for the ordinary 400,000 attending.

The fact overlooked by My Happyman is that these gigis did exactly the same, there was a great deal of consultation with DCC and no indication at any time the licence would be refused, or DCC were not happy with anything, when plans could have easily been altered.

Wrong, the DCC have said they did tell Mr Aiken that they had problems and the entire country knew what those problems where from the get go. Except Aiken/Croke Park and Brooks it seems. Brooks also claims Aiken never told them that the gigs where subject to licence.
    Rather than having a hissy fit about our laws maybe Brooks needs to review his management team and who he gets to represent his interests.

All I have to know is that DCC have already been proven to be have been one of the most incompetent and corrupt planning authorities in Europe.

That does not apply in perpetuity.

Muise... wrote: »
    That does not apply in perpetuity.

It does if they carry on with their incompetence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

I think at the very least their incompetence in this case is well documented at this stage. From raising no issues during the consultation for the 5 concerts, to accepting forged objections. That along with their already well proven track record for incompetence and corruption says it all. Fair play for Brooks showing them up for what they are and standing up to them and for the ordinary 400,000 attending.

There is no end to this corruption, An Post obviously delivered these forged objections to the offices of DCC, knowing full well, as DCC did, that they were forged. How high up does this thing go? :eek:

Wrong, the DCC have said they did tell Mr Aiken that they had problems and the entire country knew what those problems where from the get go. Except Aiken/Croke Park and Brooks it seems. Brooks also claims Aiken never told them that the gigs where subject to licence.
    Rather than having a hissy fit about our laws maybe Brooks needs to review his management team and who he gets to represent his interests.

I'd believe aiken over the already proven corrupt liars that are DCC anyday.

"He has told Cork's Red FM that he was "shafted" by Dublin City Council.
    He said: "It was never flagged to me that anybody said 'you have got a serious problem here', and I stand over that.
    "I still think I was shafted by Dublin City Council. I had the licence application in 14 weeks before."
    The promoter said he was very careful with the application.
    He said: "We went through it meticulously, every detail that they wanted was there.
    "If they had known that (there were problems with the application), they could have turned round and said 'this ain't gonna fly', and for them to claim that they did tell me that is ludicrous.
    "I would never have run with it then."

breakingnews.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

It does if they carry on with their incompetence

No, it doesn't. No Tribunal can give a verdict that will apply in the future to things that have not yet been done. You'd still have to prove their incompetence, and you're not doing that. They followed the legislation properly in this case, even though an unpopular decision had to be made. That is the opposite of corruption.