Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garth Brooks concerts cancelled - **READ FIRST POST FOR MOD NOTES**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Or rather he's rightly stood up to one of the most corrupt and incompetent planning authorities in Europe.

You can't call them corrupt and incompetent for (finally) applying their own rules and not being swayed by big business over civic interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Jim Rockford

Happyman42 wrote: »
    160,000 people you mean, many many of them repeat ticket buyers and unlikely to be the ones travelling into the country as they are weekday concerts.

I'm sure you'll be posting proof soon that everyone attending is attending at least two concerts, and no one is attending from abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭secman

Come back to us when you sell 190 million records . . . .

Finding it hard to find another place in the world?

Thought as much

Muise... wrote: »
    You can't call them corrupt and incompetent for (finally) applying their own rules and not being swayed by big business over civic interest.

The Planning tribunal concluded otherwise . . .
    Finally ? lol only every applied to Brooks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

nm wrote: »
    Who are you talking to? Did I claim that happened?
    You should read posts before responding to them
    Apologies. You are correct, I missed the bit where you said it turned out to be a mistake.

secman wrote: »
    Finding it hard to find another place in the world?

Thought as much

Given that I'm a country surrounded by Garth Brooks fans, then I think your the hater that's going to have to find another place in the world to live if it bothers you that much.

Sold even 1 yet ? . . didn't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

Or rather he's rightly stood up to one of the most corrupt and incompetent planning authorities in Europe.

So in what way have they been corrupt on this occasion? I don't follow? Surely, it would have been far easier for DCC to agree to the licenses for all 5 and not accept the blame for loss to the economy etc? Or maybe they just see that 5 is overkill and not good from a planning perspective?

GB has not covered himself in glory on this one. If I had tickets to the shows for which a license had been granted I'd be annoyed with him more that anyone else at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

You seem incapable of taking points put to you. I will try again:

The residents of Croke Park have been protesting concerts for donkey years. There is nothing new at all in that. To imply that because residents were threatening legal action, that this should somehow mean that Aiken should expect some of the concerts to be refused licences.. is abusrd. It never happened before and so he would need to be a fcuking clairvoyant to predict that it was about to.
    Or he should just be able to realise that Croke Park never had to apply for an additional PEL concert licence before - 3 were guaranteed in the planning permission. Residents threatening legal action after 5 additional concerts were added does not require a clairvoyant, it simply needs common sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

I'm sure you'll be posting proof soon that everyone attending is attending at least two concerts, and no one is attending from abroad.

Well if only 50 people could manage to turn up to a protest I would imagine 400,000 individual ticket sales is a bit of a stretch.
    I also have faith that there isn't 400,000 gullible people in the country.

The Planning tribunal concluded otherwise . . .
    Finally ? lol only every applied to Brooks

How did the Planning tribunal conclude that they were corrupt in the case of Brooks?

Who else applied to play five concerts in Croke Park after the agreed three per year had already taken place, and how was this application treated differently?

Well if only 50 people could manage to turn up to a protest I would imagine 400,000 individual ticket sales is a bit of a stretch.
    I also have faith that there isn't 400,000 gullible people in the country.

I suppose you can always resort to calling the concert goers names again

How did the Planning tribunal conclude that they were corrupt in the case of Brooks?

Who else applied to play five concerts in Croke Park after the agreed three per year had already taken place, and how was this application treated differently?

We're still waiting for him to point out exactly where the corruption took place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Aidric wrote: »
    Here is the nub. Mr Keegan displayed the sort of blinkered stubborn rationale that typifies councillors in Ireland. I'm not for one minute saying that the GAA and promoters didn't take the piss here but there are times when rules have to be bent in lieu of the greater return.

By all means sanction the parties involved after the event and ensure a repeat occurrence doesn't happen but to jeapordise the whole package was a high risk game that has backfired.

The compromise offered up of matinee shows was laughable and a complete no go from a logistical point of view.

Precisely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

400,000 people being messed about by one of the most corrupt and incompetent planning authorities in Europe will be news in that country.

[Sarcasm]

Nothing more corrupt than treating all parties as equal before the law, insisting on due process and applying the law despite huge pressure from a powerful PR response and populist politicians who want to intervene and ride roughshod over it.

Awful stuff!

Only a 'Banana Republic' would do such things.

If this were Sweden or Norway sure the PM would just override local democracy and layout the red carpet for the big wealthy American to avoid embarrassment.

[/sarcasm]

They accepted forged planning objections for a start, and have not turned any other concert down

I suppose you can always resort to calling the concert goers names again

People who think the law is going to be overturned or ignored here are gullible in the extreme.
    If you have tickets for Monday or Tuesday, tear them up and take your loss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,260 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

They accepted forged planning objections for a start, and have not turned any other concert down

Proof?

SpaceTime wrote: »
    Nothing more corrupt than treating all parties as equal before the law, insisting on due process and applying the law despite huge pressure from a powerful PR response and populist politicians who want to intervene and ride roughshod over it.

Awful stuff!

Only a 'Banana Republic' would do such things.

If this were Sweden or Norway sure the PM would just override local democracy and layout the red carpet for the big wealth American to avoid embarrassment.

Yep, just look at all the other concerts they closed down, all those stab eachother and sexually abuse eachother concerts . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Bollocks.

It was DCC that reported their suspicions of forged objections to the Gardaí.

Also, when was the last time 5 concerts were applied for and permitted?

Did these submissions have "FORGED" stamped on them or something? They are obliged by law to consider all submissions during their decision-making process. Even if all submissions but one were forged, if the honest one made valid objections it would have influenced their decision.

Other concerts may not have been in breach of licensing regulations, as these ones clearly were, and even if they had not applied the rules in the past, isn't it about time they started?

Yep, just look at all the other concerts they closed down, all those stab eachother and sexually abuse eachother concerts . . .

All other concerts listened to what they where being told and complied maybe?

and have not turned any other concert down
    The Boomtown Rats were not given a licence to play in the Phoenix Park.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Bollocks.

It was DCC that reported their suspicions of forged objections to the Gardaí.

Also, when was the last time 5 concerts were applied for and permitted?

Only after they had taken these objections into account and made their decision !
    And Only after they faced pressure to do so when they were exposed.

When was the last time a concert was turned down ?

Peppa Pig wrote: »
    The Boomtown Rats were not given a licence to play in the Phoenix Park.

What year was that ?

All other concerts listened to what they where being told and complied maybe?

Like stabbing those who attended and sexually assaulting them ? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

2) He broke no laws.

If I point out to you in legislation that Aiken did in fact break the law, will you acknowledge that you are wrong, or will you do what EOTR does, and just ignore my post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

What year was that ?

You are some clown.
    Cop on or grow up.. Stick your gb cassette on and chill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,260 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Like stabbing those who attended and sexually assaulting them ? lol

Yes, In fact in the planning application for smh it actually had a section limiting the number of stabbings.

What year was that ?
    How is that relevant?
    You said DCC have never turned down a concert. They have.

hawkelady wrote: »
    Your some clown !!!
    Cop on or grow up.. Stick your gb cassette on and chill.

I'm not the one resorting to calling other posters names . . . .