Urban legends that people swear are true because it happened to their 'friend'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭Roanmore

The one about the husband and wife coming into the Emergency Room with injuries being related to a sex act. I'd say it happened in every Emergency Room in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

A friend of a friends wife was in Dundrum town centre last week when all the shutters came down and the doors all locked. Turns out that there was a little girl missing. She was found in the bathroom with a known paedophile, who was cutting her hair and about to put boys clothes on her in a fiendish attempt to walk out with her. The chap must never learn tho because he's tried it over the years in liffey valley, the square, blanch etc.
    He must have one hell of a PR team cause it's never ever hit the news :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

milltown wrote: »
    The barman bringing an extra cash register in on busy nights.

The guy who decided to give his car a haircut before he sold it (clock it), but when he took the speedo out there was a sticker on it saying "Oh no! Not again."

I remember reading about a pub that used to have an extra till for busy nights which was used for money that wasn't going to be shared with the taxman. He got caught and prosecuted too if I remember right.

As for the speedo "oh no , not again" funnily enough that is true. I've personally seen it on a speedo I was replacing the dash bulbs in. I might still have the picture somewhere. I believe a certain mileage correction lad from Limerick was the culprit there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

milltown wrote: »
    The barman bringing an extra cash register in on busy nights.

The guy who decided to give his car a haircut before he sold it (clock it), but when he took the speedo out there was a sticker on it saying "Oh no! Not again."

I remember reading about a pub that used to have an extra till for busy nights which was used for money that wasn't going to be shared with the taxman. He got caught and prosecuted too if I remember right.

As for the speedo "oh no , not again" funnily enough that is true. I've personally seen it on a speedo I was replacing the dash bulbs in. I might still have the picture somewhere. I believe a certain mileage correction lad from Limerick was the culprit there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The one about a couple having booked a castle/resort/five star hotel for their wedding day, only for them to get a phone call from management saying that a celebrity has also booked the same reception for the same day and is willing to pay for everything if they change their dates.

I have heard of both Frank Lampard and Gordon Darcy doing such a good deed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

This story was doing the rounds when I was in primary school (30 years ago now).

Young boy makes his first communion and is taken to Tramore for the day by his parents. While there he goes into a public toilet while his mother waits outside for him. Unfortunately he is attacked by punks and has his penis cut off by them. He then bleeds to death.

other variations:
    1 it was the toilets at O'Connell Bridge, Dublin not Tramore
    2 the "punks" made him eat his penis (some say they wrapped it in tissue and shoved it in his mouth)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

nlgbbbblth wrote: »
    This story was doing the rounds when I was in primary school (30 years ago now).

Young boy makes his first communion and is taken to Tramore for the day by his parents. While there he goes into a public toilet while his mother waits outside for him. Unfortunately he is attacked by punks and has his penis cut off by them. He then bleeds to death.

other variations:
    2 the "punks" made him eat his penis (some say they wrapped it in tissue and shoved it in his mouth)

Punks?

Priests as I remember the story:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Scruffy...The Janitor

The one about a couple having booked a castle/resort/five star hotel for their wedding day, only for them to get a phone call from management saying that a celebrity has also booked the same reception for the same day and is willing to pay for everything if they change their dates.

I have heard of both Frank Lampard and Gordon Darcy doing such a good deed.

No it was the Beckhams when they got married in Luttrelstown castle silly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Roanmore wrote: »
    The one about the husband and wife coming into the Emergency Room with injuries being related to a sex act. I'd say it happened in every Emergency Room in the country.

It probably has at some stage over the years. A nasty slip during the act could result in penile fracture (yes it is a real condition) on his part & maybe a broken hip/pelvis or something similar on hers. Not that outlandish a story at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

The white van doing the rounds in housing estates trying to pick up kids. Not always white, but always a van.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Roquentin

gerard_65 wrote: »
    The white van doing the rounds in housing estates trying to pick up kids. Not always white, but always a van.

i thought they was travellers looking for open windows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

other variations:

I think that one was originally told in the US in the 1960s, a time of high racial tension in many parts of the country. In the original version the culprits were budding black gangsters, for whom the emasculation was part of their initiation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭Roanmore

Custardpi wrote: »
    It probably has at some stage over the years. A nasty slip during the act could result in penile fracture (yes it is a real condition) on his part & maybe a broken hip/pelvis or something similar on hers. Not that outlandish a story at all.

I'm talking about the epileptic fit and and the frying pan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

A friend of a friends wife was in Dundrum town centre last week when all the shutters came down and the doors all locked. Turns out that there was a little girl missing. She was found in the bathroom with a known paedophile, who was cutting her hair and about to put boys clothes on her in a fiendish attempt to walk out with her. The chap must never learn tho because he's tried it over the years in liffey valley, the square, blanch etc.

And in shopping centres in the UK, with a few variations.

I saw it on a UK based website, the person who posted it seemed to fully believe it, and took a lot of convincing before she accepted twas a myth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

Roanmore wrote: »
    I'm talking about the epileptic fit and and the frying pan.

Been a while since I've heard that one, I remember it well though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

I've heard the kangaroo, leather jacket, passports one a few times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

other variations:

Heard that one back in the 80s when I was a kid.One of my cousins used to be always telling storys like that and swearing they were true.Some of the best ones he told were:

The schoolteacher who was tied to a goalpost by pupils and left overnight.When found next morning all he could say was "I need to go to the jacks!"

The other schoolteacher who challenged a disruptive pupil to a fight,then fought and beat him and locked him into the storeroom.In there yer man filled his jacket with cleaning equipment and stuff which he later sold.

A young lad who was set upon by a gang of gougers who made him strip naked and walk through this housing estate with a red rag tied around his mickey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

My friend apparently shagged 2 traveller girls in a caravan.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

The Chinese restaurant where the chef collapsed and the medics refused to treat him because he was crawling with lice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

The Chinese restaurant where the chef collapsed and the medics refused to treat him because he was crawling with lice.

Yeah....heard that and never ate there again!!!!

Fried lice wit cream of Sum Yung Guy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

mark13 wrote: »

The Bono/Springsteen in a restaurant story.

Fella on here, swears this was his other half! Even has photos* to prove it apparently.

*Said photos not produced.

Post #690
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055608459&highlight=bono+bruce+springsteen&page=46

amdublin wrote: »
    Fella on here, swears this was his other half! Even has photos* to prove it apparently.

*Said photos not produced.

Post #690
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055608459&highlight=bono+bruce+springsteen&page=46

I believe him.

Night of Trinity Ball in 2002 on date with girl from Trinity. In Westbury with a crowd beforehand, an older fella says to herself "Would you like a photo too?". She's says "Yes. Thanks very much" Hands him the camera an wraps her arms around me for a photo. It was Bono and she didn't know who he was:D

PS He took a nice photo of us...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

I've heard this one a few times, from different people, told as if it really happened to someone they knew....

After 20 years or however long, the sold parking attendant is going to retire, blah, blah, blah, they learn that it was always free parking and some guy scammed a lifetime of money from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

rockbeast wrote: »
    I believe him.

Night of Trinity Ball in 2002 on date with girl from Trinity. In Westbury with a crowd beforehand, an older fella says to herself "Would you like a photo too?". She's says "Yes. Thanks very much" Hands him the camera an wraps her arms around me for a photo. It was Bono and she didn't know who he was:D

PS He took a nice photo of us...

It's a bullsh1t story....Bruce Springsteen one of the biggest stars/singers in the whole world and you don't recognise him.

Don't be gullible dude.

(Ps. Your story is fine and dandy...it proves nothing about the silly Bruce S urgan legend)

amdublin wrote: »
    It's a bullsh1t story....Bruce Springsteen one of the biggest stars/singers in the whole world and you don't recognise him.

Don't be gullible dude.

(Ps. Your story is fine and dandy...it proves nothing about the silly Bruce S urgan legend)

Well, my, admittedly blonde, "Trinners" date didn't know Bono.

Not too much of a leap or stretch that it happened someone...somewhere...sometime...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

A kid built a nuclear reactor in his shed, was only discovered a few years later when the electricity company noticed everyone on his street had disconnected from the grid.

Sheldon Cooper

OR

This lad

http://www.thejournal.ie/tom-mccarthy-nuclear-reactor-1528193-Jun2014/

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

What about the story where Irish guys went on holiday somewhere in the far east. Went out for the night their drinks were spiked, they passed out but woke up next morning having had a kidney removed, for sale on the black market.
    Heard that story dozens of times.