Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Miname wrote: »
    Another bit done

That's the cleanest that's gonna ever be ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

just do it wrote: »
    Well ware. Did you leave the tank cure for long before backfilling?
    Ten days, no hassle with it, i had to get it filled in their were cattle to go through the yards and i didnt want to chance leaving it open, with suckler calves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,096 ✭✭✭visatorro

Little farm buried in the wicklow hills. Driving round this morning. Some lovely views but alot of barren landscape too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Weaned 2 weeks, or so I thought!

2014-07-08%2001.14.39_zps4bfkfndj.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Weaned 2 weeks, or so I thought!

2014-07-08%2001.14.39_zps4bfkfndj.jpg

I see they're both drinking, is that some kinky cow 69 or what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Why would you have the welean in the field so soon after taking him of the cow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

naughto wrote: »
    Why would you have the welean in the field so soon after taking him of the cow?

It's two cows.

Yes, and they don't do it while I'm around like as if they know they're doing something wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Yes, and they don't do it while I'm around like as if they know they're doing something wrong!

Ha they are bitches when they start at it. Do you dry off naturally or do you tube them? We ust to tube all the time but might try hay and the naturall way this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,537 ✭✭✭tanko

Summer mastitis is a big risk now, are you taking any steps to prevent it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

There was a fella making cocks out this way maybe a month ago. Must have been mowing with a fingerbar, had cocks in one field but was mowing in another but start stop all the time.

In the absence of a young fella to follow the blade , it will always be stop start with a fair few fecks.

If a young fella is following the blade , patricide is justifiable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭Charliebull

In the absence of a young fella to follow the blade , it will always be stop start with a fair few fecks.

If a young fella is following the blade , patricide is justifiable

that was a hatefull fcuking job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

I have 9 dry cows to shift on at the end of the summer lads. Most are at the same stage as the cow in the pic. Have good grass to move them onto now and was going to start mealing them from now on. Do ye think it would be long until they are fit? Would normally sell them on but we are restricted at the moment. EBA7FFF0-D789-49ED-BC79-0D696D050601_zpsdibhsjyb.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

I have 9 dry cows to shift on at the end of the summer lads. Most are at the same stage as the cow in the pic. Have good grass to move them onto now and was going to start mealing them from now on. Do ye think it would be long until they are fit? Would normally sell them on but we are restricted at the moment. EBA7FFF0-D789-49ED-BC79-0D696D050601_zpsdibhsjyb.jpg

she is in fairly good shape already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

She's fit to take a bit more weight. 3 weeks of rolled barley on good grass would turn them inside out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Ya, if they're all like her they'll soon be there. Are they all agey like her?

I always use the tail butt as a good indicator of flesh and if they'll carry much more.

Not too bad now in fairness but she has another bit to go yet. Your neighbour would get another 50kg on her! The young bull I had last year as at the bottom of your driveway too I see...minus his testicales!

ya have noticed him several times, thought him a nice looking animal, why castrate him?

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Ya, if they're all like her they'll soon be there. Are they all agey like her?

I always use the tail butt as a good indicator of flesh and if they'll carry much more.

No, she's 18 and the oldest by a good shot along with one more. The rest are about 10-12, still not young I suppose.

ya have noticed him several times, thought him a nice looking animal, why castrate him?

Lunatic!!! He had a good go at trying to kill me last year.

She's fit to take a bit more weight. 3 weeks of rolled barley on good grass would turn them inside out

How many kgs of barley would you feed bb?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Rolled Barley ain't measured in kilos. It's double handfuls! :-)
    About 5 double handfuls would be a start.

Lunatic!!! He had a good go at trying to kill me last year.
    oh feck
    he is in the right place so
    jeez ordered a bit of meal today for weanling, fecking thing hasnt come down a bit since the winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

that was a hatefull fcuking job

Good training if you wanted to be an extra in The Walking Dead , dead slow walk, hands moving side to side and an extreme urge to kill someone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,466 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

2-3kg would be plenty in my book

tanko wrote: »
    Summer mastitis is a big risk now, are you taking any steps to prevent it?

Holy water and I never miss the Angelus ;):)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

She is, could she be eating for two?:cool:

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

greysides wrote: »
    She is, could she be eating for two?:cool:

Only seen grass so far!

oh feck
    he is in the right place so
    jeez ordered a bit of meal today for weanling, fecking thing hasnt come down a bit since the winter

Rather there than here anyway :) He made a nice bullock but he's there a long time now, can't see him leaving much €. Haven't bought any in a while apart from a few bags of crunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭LivInt20

This years Bull weanlings for sale.