Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

I don't think the licences were refused because or rule breaches. They were refused because the applications didn't tick all the required boxes.

The required boxes are the rules ffs.

The thread is just descending into pedantic word games now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,270 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

What are you waffling about?

They both have pretty much the same capacity, that is why I used it as an example. I am not saying they have the same sort of residential concerns ffs. I am saying if they did and they cancelled three 1D concerts three weeks before they were due to take place, after tickets have been sold to the public and the planning for the concerts was in full swing, that I would without question think it a calamity that they yet still felt cancelling the concerts to be the appropriate action to take for putting on the concerts above agreed limits.

You said if they were cancelled due to residents, Just pointing out that that wouldn't be the case with the metlife.
    I heard that three weeks before those concerts were due to take place, that they have had to refund the ticket holders of the first three concerts due to resident / planning board agreement on the number of concerts allowed to take place there, being broken

Secondly there's actually a large chance of gigs at the metlife being cancelled in the future, I don't think that's gonna kill americas tourism trade do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Really not getting these daft coments about Ireland being an 'international laughing stock' because of this :confused:

It's weirdly self-regarding in a way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

All the required boxes are rules ffs.

You are clearly totally ignorant of the licence procedure, it is not about rules per se, it is also about the disruptive effect the event will have on the area, balancing the needs of the city, the residents, the suitability of the venue, the security/stewarding etc and other arrangements, and reaching a decision based on these factors.
    DCC viewed that 5 concerts would be way too disruptive.
    The promoter knew all along it was a huge ask so left it to the last minute to apply in the hope that DCC would feel pressurised into giving in to his greed and arrogance, thankfully they didn't.

hynesie08 wrote: »
    You said if they were cancelled due to residents, Just pointing out that that wouldn't be the case with the metlife.
    Yawn.

Which is why I said for 'argument's sake'. There is also no chipper near Medowlands called the Perki Chick. What was I thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

The required boxes are the rules ffs.

The council's opinion that the disturbance from 5 gigs would be too much is not a rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

ThisRegard wrote: »
    What is he, Bord Failte ? He's not making a DVD of Ireland to sell Ireland, he's filming his gigs to make money for himself.

Which would have been a huge promotion for others in other industries so see such a progressive facilitation in a unique situation.

Assuming that the initial two concerts were hoped to be filled and a third fulfilling demand, and not a stunt where they knew or expected to fill five concerts and only planned two with an extra option.

I believe it was an unexpected sell out.

It's a clear message to business that you can't expand as demand for you product increases, so you must consider that if setting up in Ireland.

And as for news stories, it's what gets into the private trade magazines that counts.

The council's opinion that the disturbance from 5 gigs would be too much is not a rule.

I can't believe I am having this discussion.

Of course the council's decision is based on the bloody rules.

If the rule was that they could have 12 concerts, they wouldn't be faced with the bloody decision to make in the first place as the license would be granted as a matter of course!

They have been refused the license because they have BROKE THE RULES set out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

I am saying if they did and they cancelled three 1D concerts three weeks before they were due to take place, after tickets have been sold to the public and the planning for the concerts was in full swing, that I would without question think it a calamity that they yet still felt cancelling the concerts to be the appropriate action to take for putting on the concerts above agreed limits.
    I would think its a promoter acting the maggot and not getting his ducks all lined up in a row.

Goes to show you that Simon Cowell and the 1D team are a hell of a lot cleverer than Aiken and Brooks.

1D could have sold out 5 nights easily in Croke Park, but I didn't see them running roughshod over the licencing system.

Niall Horan has done more to promote Ireland by wearing a tricoloured ear piece than Garth Brooks ever will.

Yawn.

Which is why I said for 'argument's sake'. There is also no chipper near Medowlands called the Perki Chick. What was I thinking.

Oh, ok.

For arguments sake, If i heard a venue in the middle of nowhere, with no residents, had gigs cancelled by residents. I'd think it was a calamity too

If the rule was that they could have 12 concerts, they wouldn't even have a bloody decision to make!
    Until Aiken decided to have 13

Oh, ok.

For arguments sake, If i heard a venue in the middle of nowhere, with no residents, had gigs cancelled by residents. I'd think it was a calamity too

At this stage, you are not taking the point on purpose. I never said nor implied that Medowlands had the same residential concerns as Croke Park and most people would be unaware of that anyway. For the last time, I chose that stadium as an example because of it's capacity, NOTHING else.

If the rule was that they could have 12 concerts, they wouldn't be faced with the bloody decision to make in the first place as the license would be granted as a matter of course!

They have been refused the license because they have BROKE THE RULES set out.
    Rubbish
    Go and do a little basic research because you clearly have no idea of what you are posting about!

At this stage, you are not taking the point on purpose. I never said nor implied that Medowlands had the same residential concerns as Croke Park and most people would be unaware of that anyway. For the last time, I chose that stadium as an example because of it's capacity, NOTHING else.
    So you compare an apple to an orange to make your point.
    Must try harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Norma_Desmond

Haven't read through the thread, but it seems that a lot of people are unaware that there were already
    3 concert nights at Croke Park (One Direction in May) prior to the Garth Brooks gigs.

That's twice as many concerts (total of 8) as they've allowed previous years.
    The GAA thought they could make up their own rules and DCC have called them on it.
    Croke Park's image as a venue has been dented and it serves them right for treating the residents so poorly.

Ok, but giving to peoples "National disgrace" comment, There is a very real possibility of live nation pulling acts from the meadowlands and indeed new jersey as a whole. That hasn't even caused a ripple over here, Let alone caused people to declare it a national disgrace. It's the exact same as garth, The only people who think the "eyes of the world" are on us over this are small minded curtain twitchers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Ok, but giving to peoples "National disgrace" comment, There is a very real possibility of live nation pulling acts from the meadowlands and indeed new jersey as a whole. That hasn't even caused a ripple over here, Let alone caused people to declare it a national disgrace. It's the exact same as garth, The only people who think the "eyes of the world" are on us over this are small minded curtain twitchers.

If the One Direction gig in New Jersey in cancelled, i will never set foot in a McDonald's again or drink Coca Cola and my iPhone is going out the window. And I'll be the one protesting outside the embassy in Ballsbridge and calling for the Government to expel Intel/Google etc. from our country.

Rubbish
    Go and do a little basic research because you clearly have no idea of what you are posting about!

It's not rubbish and just saying it is, doesn't make it so. I can't believe anyone would try and argue that this is not about rules being breeched. The licence was refused on the grounds that three concerts had already taken place. Why do you think that the council referenced the three concerts having already taken place in their statements during the week when refusing the license ? For the craic? It's the whole fact that the Bord Pleanala rules have been breached that has led to this decision based on the fact that it would cause an over-intensification for the residents were they to allow them to go ahead.

If the One Direction gig in New Jersey in cancelled, i will never set foot in a McDonald's again or drink Coca Cola and my iPhone is going out the window. And I'll be the one protesting outside the embassy in Ballsbridge and calling for the Government to expel Intel/Google etc. from our country.
    Keyboard warrior talk.....
    If you were serious you'd fly to NJ and break a few wing mirrors before taking a dump in someone's garden.

It's not rubbish and just saying it is, doesn't make it so. The licence was refused on the grounds that three concerts had already taken place. .

Wrong!
    That is NOT the reason given by DCC for refusing the licence.
    I suggest you read their decision before making an even bigger fool of yourself!

Peppa Pig wrote: »
    Keyboard warrior talk.....
    If you were serious you'd fly to NJ and break a few wing mirrors before taking a dump in someone's garden.

Am only sorry that I could only thank that post once!

It's not rubbish and just saying it is, doesn't make it so. I can't believe anyone would try and argue that this is not about rules being breeched. The licence was refused on the grounds that three concerts had already taken place. Why do you think that the council mentioned the three concerts having already taken place when they refused the license and in their statements during the week? For the craic? It's the whole fact that the Bord Pleanala rules have been breached that has led to this decision based on the fact that it would cause an over-intensification for the residents were they to allow them to go ahead.
    So how did they grant a licence for three more concerts, if BP rules were breached (let's ignore the fact that they actually weren't)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Joe Duffy..

For sale €30 or nearest offer. Pm for details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Ok, lets just say(for talks sake)that the only people livid and infuriated about this decision are the actual ticket holders, and maybe 4 immediate family ok..... Just say over 350,000 people ok yeah.... So that's not counting us(outsiders)..... Now for those people alone and for Humanitarian(I know a bit over the top for some off you)reasons! The two nights should be reinstated.

ardle1 wrote: »
    Ok, lets just say(for talks sake)that the only people livid and infuriated about this decision are the actual ticket holders, and maybe 4 immediate family ok..... Just say over 350,000 people ok yeah.... So that's not counting us(outsiders)..... Now for those people alone and for 'humanitary'(I know a bit over the top for some off you)reasons! The two nights should be reinstated.
    Going to see Garth Brooks is not a human right.

Humanity is helping those seriously disadvantaged through no fault of their own (famine, hurricane, war etc)

Ok, lets just say(for talks sake)that the only people livid and infuriated about this decision are the actual ticket holders, and maybe 4 immediate family ok..... Just say over 350,000 people ok yeah.... So that's not counting us(outsiders)..... Now for those people alone and for Humanitarian(I know a bit over the top for some off you)reasons! The two nights should be reinstated.

Humanitarian reasons? seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Just say over 300,000 people ok yeah.... So that's not counting us(outsiders)..... .

I believe that the figure is 420, 000 and ticket sales make it between 29 and 32 million Euro. It's typical to treble that figure for impact figures.

Ok, lets just say(for talks sake)that the only people livid and infuriated about this decision are the actual ticket holders, and maybe 4 immediate family ok..... Just say over 350,000 people ok yeah.... So that's not counting us(outsiders)..... Now for those people alone and for 'humanitary'(I know a bit over the top for some off you)reasons! The two nights should be reinstated.

Nope!
    That would just encourage Aiken, the GAA and other greedy bástards to do this again and again.
    In any case the DCC decision cannot be reviewed, rescinded, or appealed so the point is moot.
    And by the way not seeing GB live is not a humanitarian disaster, famine is, hurricanes and tsunami are, this is not!

Red Nissan wrote: »
    I believe that the figure is 420, 000 and ticket sales make it between 29 and 32 million Euro. It's typical to treble that figure for impact figures.

420,000 people have tickets for the 2 nights that didn't get a license? That's some squeeze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,200 ✭✭✭✭JRant

You never finished your equation though.

Once you arrive at the number above, 350,000 give or take, you need to subtract from that the number who's opinions matter on whether a license is granted or not. Is this case you get ZERO.

So no, the 2 nights should not be reinstated.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"