Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Notes in OP,22/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

What about this Hummels chap then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

beno619 wrote: »
    Is it illigal to criticize RVP on here ?

It's illegal in most of the civilized world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Criticize RVP?

3289693-tumblr_lkaw9jarfz1qbf7pgo1_500.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Zico wrote: »
    What about this Hummels chap then?

Checking the phone and saw KROOS with the assist. Woof

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭Nolars

Pogba some midfielder :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 139 ✭✭HaveASnickers

For a 'world class' player who sees himself as a driving force... his control is poor, his short/creative passing is poor. His attitude to fitness has been generally questionable over the years, this past summer was the first one I can remember him turning up to United looking in decent shape.

I feel he is half the player he should have been. Partly the fault of United/Fergie, partly his fault too.

Yep. I remember when Rooney first played for us. Dynamic, powerful. Then the start of this season we saw it again....and what do you know, a new contract was being looked for. We seen Rooney run, yes run past players with the ball. After Christmas that all disappeared again. Back to the same Rooney coming deep for the ball, playing Scholes type passes out to the wing...
    Pro. F wrote: »
    Rooney's control and passing are better than RVP's and he scores just as many goals when he's the main striker. He also does more work than RVP on the pitch. So if Rooney isn't good enough to satisfy you, you must be raging with van Persie.

Oh my. RVP is one of the best in the business at making the ball stick.
    bangkok wrote: »
    lots of short memories here lads, slagging off rio and vidic? Without question the best centre half pairing in the premier league era and probably Europe.

vidic is 32 and his best days are behind him, rio is 35 also best days behind him, but both absolute legends of the club. Vidic wanted to try a new league before he retired and even though clubs wanted him in England he never wanted to play for another English club. Fair play to him, moved to inter and they will have a good player on their hands. Rio the same, over 10 years service and one of the finest centre halfs ever to play for utd

So we should just disregard the time they let the club down? Do you think Fergie would allow past glories to cloud his judgement? David Beckham was a great servant but he still got thrown out.
    kstand wrote: »
    Vidic and Ferdinand owe the club nothing.

Well.....Utd did stand by Rio when he got banned for 8 months for missing a drugs test. So I think he owes the club something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Rooney doesn't play up front though and his control and touch for a number 10 is way below par

Not really. He's not got as good control as the likes of Mata, but he's still got plenty, and more than enough for the number 10 role. He's got a lot better control than Gerrard and Lampard ever had, for example, how do you think they did when they used to play there? Rooney has done well when playing alongside Hernandez and Welbeck up front, his control wasn't a problem then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 139 ✭✭HaveASnickers

Not really. He's not got as good control as the likes of Mata, but he's still got plenty, and more than enough for the number 10 role. He's got a lot better control than Gerrard and Lampard ever had, for example, how do you think they did when they used to play there? Rooney has done well when playing alongside Hernandez and Welbeck up front, his control wasn't a problem then.

Lampard and Gerrard were central midfielders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I don't put them in the same category, Gerrard and Lampard were attacking midfielders, not the same as the position Rooney has played for us the last few seasons IMO.

It would be closer to compare him to Oscar at Chelsea than to Lampard and Gerrard back then, Oscar is the only example I can think of at the moment who I've watched regularly enough, but Rooney loses the ball a lot more often than him as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Lampard and Gerrard were central midfielders?

I like the way you talk of gerrard in the past tense.

I don't put them in the same category, Gerrard and Lampard were attacking midfielders, not the same as the position Rooney has played for us the last few seasons IMO.

It would be closer to compare him to Oscar at Chelsea than to Lampard and Gerrard back then, Oscar is the only example I can think of at the moment who I've watched regularly enough, but Rooney loses the ball a lot more often than him as well

Both Gerrard and Lampard have played just behind a CF and in front of two CMs for significant periods in their careers. Describing that as a different position is false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

So we should just disregard the time they let the club down? Do you think Fergie would allow past glories to cloud his judgement? David Beckham was a great servant but he still got thrown out.

What did Beckham do to deserve being shown the door? I think it was a big mistake selling him. Hugely professional and seems like a decent bloke. VEry hard worker and looked after himself very well.

Both Gerrard and Lampard have played just behind a CF and in front of two CMs for significant periods in their careers. Describing that as a different position is false.

So if I asked a Liverpool fan if Gerrard played as an attacking midfielder or a number 10, they'd say he was a number 10?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,760 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

Similar positions alright but I think that rooney has played a starting position a little more advanced, tbh for me it isn't his touch really but his decision making, he can take touches he shouldn't really be trying when he's further out than CF.

Rooney was a supremely talented player when he arrived but his liberal positioning by Fergie meant he didnt develop as he should have. Not tactically disciplined enough imo to stay up top and be an outlet when needed. IF we had a better midfield he could have stayed there but frustration is not enough to ignore instruction (if he got it which i think he did)

So if I asked a Liverpool fan if Gerrard played as an attacking midfielder or a number 10, they'd say he was a number 10?

I wouldn't be pushed what any random Liverpool fan might say to you. Just like all fan bases, most of them won't have a clue what they're talking about.

Attacking midfielder and number 10 in this context are just different names for the same thing - the player behind the CF and in front of the CMs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

Will be disappointed if Sanchez has chosen Arsenal but Cuadrado is just as good and can play the attacking full back as well

If 3-4-3 is indeed the formation we are going for then whats everyones opionion of this

De Gea

Vermaelen
    Hummels
    Evans

Cuadrado
    Herrera
    Vidal
    Shaw---

Mata

Rooney
    Rvp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

IrishIrish wrote: »
    Di Maria for me. Not much in it ages wise or ability wise but Di Maria offers a lot more defensively and can play in more of a midfield role where as Sanchez is a pure attacker. Di Maria also a lot more physical which might make it easier for him in premier league. Would have loved him before he went to Madrid.

Di Maria...physical... you on crack? He's a walking skeleton

I wouldn't be pushed what any random Liverpool fan might say to you. Just like all fan bases, most of them won't have a clue what they're talking about.

Attacking midfielder and number 10 in this context are just different names for the same thing - the player behind the CF and in front of the CMs.

Is Iniesta a number 10 in your book?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Will be disappointed if Sanchez has chosen Arsenal but Cuadrado is just as good and can play the attacking full back as well

If 3-4-3 is indeed the formation we are going for then whats everyones opionion of this

De Gea

Vermaelen
    Hummels
    Evans

Cuadrado
    Herrera
    Vidal
    Shaw---

Mata

Rooney
    Rvp

We are going to be playing 433 though.

Is Iniesta a number 10 in your book?

He has played a few positions, out wide, 10 and central midfield. I do think 10 is his best position. Why do you ask?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,216 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

We seen Rooney run, yes run past players with the ball.

Cite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Deiseboy01

Would you describe Lampard as a no. 10?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

So paul pogba discuss please ;)

Deiseboy01 wrote: »
    Would you describe Lampard as a no. 10?

Lampard played behind Drogba during Jose's first stint at Chelsea particularly in the champions league, with Thiago and makelele ancoring midfield, Lampard and gerard aren't number 10s in the traditional sense but they made up for it by the amount of goals they scored ,Gerards best season when they almost won the title was behind torres a few years back, one things for sure they were better as number 10s than as central midfielders , lampard and gerrard just cant do what pirlo, xavi Alonso, xavi hernandez or paul scholes do or have done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭IrishIrish

Di Maria...physical... you on crack? He's a walking skeleton

He's a lot more physical than Sanchez. Just like I said. Almost 5 inches taller, a stone heavier and does a lot more physical work than Sanchez on the pitch as he tracks back a lot more as a winger.

If you want to continue to pretend I said something else then go ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

Beckham would have ended up like Lampard and Gerrard if he'd began his career at another club. Not good enough to be part a two man central midfield but great at spraying spectacular 60 yards balls, when a short pass is the better option, and he'd probably have had a similar goal return blasting shots from outside the box every chance he got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,061 ✭✭✭✭adox

Ah Beckhams time was up at Utd. It was a circus at that stage. Fergie got that one right IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Deiseboy01

Lampard played behind Drogba during Jose's first stint at Chelsea particularly in the champions league, with Thiago and makelele ancoring midfield, Lampard and gerard aren't number 10s in the traditional sense but they made up for it by the amount of goals they scored ,Gerards best season when they almost won the title was behind torres a few years back, one things for sure they were better as number 10s than as central midfielders , lampard and gerrard just cant do what pirlo, xavi Alonso, xavi hernandez or paul scholes do or have done

I think you just said it yourself, not traditional no. tens, I would never classify Lampard as a ten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

adox wrote: »
    Ah Beckhams time was up at Utd. It was a circus at that stage. Fergie got that one right IMO.
    Fully agree

Deiseboy01 wrote: »
    I think you just said it yourself, not traditional no. tens, I would never classify Lampard as a ten.

Lampard and Gerrard in their prime wouldn't be able to compete against a current Pirlo in central midfield despite his ripe old age of 35 , they just don't have that intelligence, guile whatever the fcuk you want to call it