Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

nm wrote: »
    Now 'the people' are happy to turn away 10 million euro per night because Garth isn't going to single handedly pay off the national debt?

Holy god

"the people" get 10 million ? Where do I queue for my cut.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Ridiculous.

Why are Pearse Street residents not up in arms about the o2?
    Why are Ballinteer and Rathfarnham residents not up in arms about gigs in Marley?

Whatever about immediate vicinity, these 'residents' affected by a bit traffic or whatever should be told where to go.

Home?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Nua wrote: »
    The disruption of these concerts, especially the Monday & Tuesday dates, would cause mayhem for way way more people than are covered in the Residents' 240000 . . . anyone commuting to or from the Northside, training in Fairview Park, DARTs going through town
    . . . DCC are right to put interests of Dubliners before profit!
    Might as well cancel every concert and event in Dublin so. Dubliner's before entertainment. :pac:

Garth is dead right with his threats, the county is a laughing stock and the DCC are a total joke.

Are you still peddling that bollox ? It's not even making news outside of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

John_Rambo wrote: »
    But most educated Garth fans know ....

:eek: Surely that's a contradiction in terms?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Nua wrote: »
    The disruption of these concerts, especially the Monday & Tuesday dates, would cause mayhem for way way more people than are covered in the Residents' 240000 . . . anyone commuting to or from the Northside, training in Fairview Park, DARTs going through town
    . . . DCC are right to put interests of Dubliners before profit!

For those 2 days of the year!!

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Are you still peddling that bollox ? It's not even making news outside of Ireland.

It's made BBC, Rolling Stone, music mags online and obviously country music mags. International event planners will notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Muahahaha wrote: »
    It'll be interesting to see how today plays out. Will Enda say anything more about it? If the Taoiseach gets too involved he could end up with egg on his face.

Minister for Tourism Leo Varadkar is unusually quiet which is far from normal for him. If Leo thought he could hop into bed with the GAA and the residents and come out smelling like roses then he would, that lad loves a solo run. He doesn't appear to be saying anything which speaks volumes.

Real issue here now though is that it is still possible for all 5 concerts to go ahead and for faces to be saved all around. If the residents were to remove their objections then DCC would convene an emergency planning meeting to review the new application.

In order to get the full agreement the GAA are gonna have to use up three of these concerts for their 2015 allowance and the other two for 2016. This means all 5 Garth Brooks concerts would go ahead as planned and in exchange the residents get no gigs in Croker in 2015, one in 2016 and then back to the regular three in 2017.

If the residents were willing to settle on the above deal then right now they actually have a golden opportunity of limited duration to completely out-manoeuvre the GAA and it's PR mandarins. All the residents groups have to do is agree to let all 5 concerts go ahead, but only on condition that there is no concerts in 2015, one in 2016 then back to three per year, every year as per the 2009 agreement with the GAA.

All the residents would then have to do is call a press conference, the media will be there in droves. At it they apologise to all Garth Brooks fans and say they're sorry for any stress caused. Then they go on to explain how they only wanted their previous agreement with the GAA to be respected and how it wasn't and how much these increased crowds affect their quality of life, etc. But also to say how they don't want to disappoint 400,000 Garth Brooks fans and that they would be prepared to remove their objections if the GAA abide by their conditions of the agreement.

At that point the GAA is completely out manoeuvred and out foxed from a PR perspective, it would be an absolute nightmare for them if the Residents were to completely turn the tables right now and allow all 5 once their conditions are met. They'd be pressurising the GAA into signing a 3 gig a year deal, no ifs or buts.

If the GAA refused then the 5 concerts are off again after peoples hopes had been raised and then they are looking at a complete and utter PR disaster as 400,000 fans blame the GAA for being greedy instead of just sorting it out. On top of all that senior GAA officials would be lobbied hard by hoteliers, politicians and publicans to make sure it goes ahead. It'd be pretty intense to say no. To make matters worse many Garth Brooks ticket holders are also GAA members. Their own members would be ripping up their membership cards if the GAA didn't let it go ahead by agreeing with the residents.

If the residents groups have some smarts and want a way to win this battle and get their 3 gig a year agreement copper fastened once and for all then the above is the perfect way to now turn the tables on the GAA and really crank up the pressure on them to get the deal that they want.

Why do I get the distinct impression that this poster has tickets for one or even two of the canceled nights?just sayin':D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

Just give them the refurb in the "hand ball club" and let them drink for the few extra hours every night and they'll be grand.

Small Time Ireland!!

keith16 wrote: »
    Such as? We already know about the wing mirror stuff....anything else planned?

Did I mention anything illegal? If the right people are annoyed by them there are other ways to get back at people. Financially, projects in the area being cut etc. The GAA should decide to throw on plenty of extra sporting events at awkward as fook times as well which would be another way of getting back at them.
    Nonsense hard man. A few keyboard warriors like yourself blaming and threatening violence (from behind your computer screen of course :D), but most educated Garth fans know exactly who to blame. The promoter and the GAA.

Most Garth fans are blaming the right people, the residents and DCC. Again as above I didn't mention violence at any point, in any post.

pc7 wrote: »
    I can understand with 3 weeks to go why Garth would want to stick to 5 rather than 3. Surely logistics, staff, plans etc are all planned with contracts signed for the full 5 nights. People saying he is greedy, he doesn't need the money.

It's definitely not about money, he'll probably be paid anyway so all this greed crap is nonsense.

He's putting pressure on for the 160,000 people that DCC won't let the gigs go ahead for to appease the 350 residents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

DOCARCH wrote: »
    I live 100m from the entrance of Marley Park. There are 8 concerts this summer (one tonight) but the capacity is only 20,000 and concerts are staggered. The other factor is that we don't have to deal with 80,000 people attending GAA fixtures!

The other critical part, from a legal point of view, is that at least MCD have the cop on to actually apply for a license first...before selling tickets!

I too live beside Marley and to add to your point, most of the residents in the area use Marley all thru the year.
    The park is well maintained and money is spent on it. So it seems to me that some of the money generated by the concerts is ploughed back in to our community resource.
    So the 8 gigs at Marley per year, despite the disruption (which is not that bad to be honest) is worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

Did I mention anything illegal? If the right people are annoyed by them there are other ways to get back at people. Financially, projects in the area being cut etc. The GAA should decide to throw on plenty of extra sporting events at awkward as fook times as well which would be another way of getting back at them.

Most Garth fans are blaming the right people, the residents and DCC. Again as above I didn't mention violence at any point, in any post.

Put down the internet, you are embarassing yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

The organisation to blame for this is clearly the GAA. They had an agreement, they breached the agreement. The fact they are getting any of these concerts licensed is a joke. Why make agreements if you are prepared to break them at the drop of a stetson hat ;)

The residents and DCC have every right to oppose this, it DOES disrupt their lives. It is rotten that people have made plans to see their "idol" but the concert is subject to license. Typically licenses are granted but the GAA must have realised that there was a higher risk of some or all of the licenses being refused because they pissed all over an agreement they had already made with residents in good faith.

I too live beside Marley and to add to your point, most of the residents in the area use Marley all thru the year.
    The park is well maintained and money is spent on it. So it seems to me that some of the money generated by the concerts is ploughed back in to our community resource.
    So the 8 gigs at Marley per year, despite the disruption (which is not that bad to be honest) is worth it.

And it's worth it for The Eden pub, The Coachhouse, that Spar, that chipper there, and whatever other businesses are nearby too I bet.

Good thing for them they don't have residents like Croke Park ones around there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

What would the poor miserable residents do if they lived near a premier league ground where there are matches nearly twice a week on average? They are absolutely pathetic and I have no doubt they will be repercussions for them.

What premier league ground has ever averaged two matches a week? Premier league teams play 19 home league games, plus European and cup home ties. Generally no more then 25 home games a year, thirty if they are remarkably successful. That would average a game a fortnight rather then two per week.

As for Croke Park, concerts are an entirely different prospect for residents then matches. Given the time of day coupled with the successive nights, the disruption is multiplied.

Yes they knew they were living beside a stadium, but I don't think Croke Park was seen as a venue twenty or thirty years ago in the sense it is today.

It is a venue however, and its purpose should be accommodated, but without such an imposition on residents as the Brooks concerts would have done. One concert a week through out the summer would seem reasonable, or even two over a bank holiday weekend, providing some of the money was put back into the local community, by which I mean improving the area as oppose to into residents pockets.

Eight nights though was always taking the piss, and I'm delighted the residents won.

As for Ireland being an international laughing stock on the back of this, I think that's a ridiculous notion. Two concerts were cancelled, hardly earth shattering. If anything, having the demand in such a small country for eight nights of Gareth Brooks in Croke Park is far more likely to make us a laughing stock then the cancellations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Now 'the people' are happy to turn away 10 million euro per night because Garth isn't going to single handedly pay off the national debt?

Holy god

Nah you're misquoting me. All I said was that the right wing media, both print and radio, will be in all out attack mode today trying to shill their usual spin of jobs, jobs, jobs, economy, economy, economy, pure waffle when in the large scale of things there would probably be more money collected on VAT from toothpicks across the nation that there would be made from these Garth Brooks gigs. All we hear is waffle about the economy so I used an economic measurement to illustrate how much they truly waffle.

But that won't matter, we'll still get plenty of fake outrage, sure isn't it on the go already,the LVA and IHF should be along soon to tell us all how much we're missing out on their lovely McJobs, they'll be saying the residents are responsible for damaging Ireland, like the hypocrites that they are damaging our competitiveness with their price gouging and profiteering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,504 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Back under your stone hard man! You're making a fool of yourself.

It's made BBC, Rolling Stone, music mags online and obviously country music mags. International event planners will notice.

As a by the by, not in a whole look at these eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,604 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Apart from North Korea maybe,what other country on earth would the leader of a country get involved in a row with a washed up country and western singer over a gig?

I see where the Sinn Fein Lord mayor is blaming Enda Kenny for not getting involved and going on about bankers & bond holders. Is there a bandwagon anywhere that SF would not jump on. Next we will have the former chief negotiator for the IRA(who was never in the IRA!) saying this will threaten the peace process.

The difference with Marley is that the area is not as densely populated and the Park is right beside the main ring road around the city. Whilst it does effect the local area, I don't believe it does so on the same scale as Croke Park.

DCC refused a licence for 2 gigs, Garth(or Gareth as he's known to most people here) Brooks is threatening to pull out of 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

I've tried to stay out of this argument and even at this I'm sure my question/point has already been raised. Why are concert goers kicking up such a stink over this? At the time the event was planned and usually at the time any event is planned on the advertisement for ticket sales you hear the following line: "subject to license". You buy your tickets in the full knowledge that the event is yet to be licensed and as a result regardless of whatever the issue may be it may not be granted a license.

This rings true for a one off gig or a series of gigs, makes no difference. So if you buy your ticket on that basis and the license is not granted then surely you have no right to kick up fuss. You knew the risk at the time of purchase.

I see where the Sinn Fein Lord mayor is blaming Enda Kenny for not getting involved and going on about bankers & bond holders. Is there a bandwagon anywhere that SF would not jump on. Next we will have the former chief negotiator for the IRA(who was never in the IRA!) saying this will threaten the peace process.

That man is a complete and utter joke even for a Sinn Feiner!

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Nah you're misquoting me. All I said was that the right wing media, both print and radio, will be in all out attack mode today trying to shill their usual spin of jobs, jobs, jobs, economy, economy, economy, pure waffle when in the large scale of things there would probably be more money collected on VAT from toothpicks across the nation that there would be made from these Garth Brooks gigs. All we hear is waffle about the economy so I used an economic measurement to illustrate how much they truly waffle.

But that won't matter, we'll still get plenty of fake outrage, sure isn't it on the go already,the LVA and IHF should be along soon to tell us all how much we're missing out on their lovely McJobs, they'll be saying the residents are responsible for damaging Ireland, like the hypocrites that they are damaging our competitiveness with their price gouging and profiteering.

No hatred of the right wing media, nor the figure at the amount of total national debt is going to take away from the fact that losing these gigs will mean losing 50mil to the economy.

If we get 50mil in from toothpicks then we shouldn't be turning those away to appease 350 people either.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Back under your stone hard man! You're making a fool of yourself.

The only people making a fool of themselves in this whole thing are residents and their sympathisers.

I should clarify, the small number of residents acting the boll*cks not all residents.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 7,216 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Aris

The capacity for the current gigs in Marley is 32k, there are more than 8 this summer and there is 3 in row for Latitude at least.

No they don't, will everyone stop citing this 'fact' when it's absolute rubbish and all outdoor gigs like this are pre-sold subject to licence.

I'm looking at my Arctic Monkeys ticket for Marley right now 'SUBJECT TO LICENCE' quite clearly printed on it. It's common practice and prior to this GB fiasco DCC have only rejected one application for a license in 30 years so you can understand why.

just fyi, Longitude takes place on a different section of the park, and the capacity is down to 10k.
    For the rest you are right, it might actually be a bit more, maybe close to 40k.

I've been reading this thread since last night, and I have to say, I find some of the comments ridiculous (no pun intended, I can understand people being frustrated).

Not taking any sides, I think the whole thing is a complete mess, but I would take it a couple of steps back and say that this "subject to license" thing needs change. Maybe the authorities can change the law and separate the license for the event and the planning permission. I am a foreigner, so I don't even know if that is possible. What I am thinking is that you announce the event, you apply for license (that the event can happen on a principle and you can sell the tickets) and then submit separately (on a later stage) the exact plan, covering health and safety processes etc. It might even be better for us, the promoters will make sure to cover all the angles on fear that a plan might be rejected. I know that in Greece this is what mainly happens.

All this discussion around the 70k of people that will fly in and spend their money and this will create jobs. . . There was an article at the Irish times around the presale period, stating that a big percentage of the abroad sales were UK and NI. Not to say that there wouldn't be a profit (for certain individuals - hotels, pubs etc), but to say that this would save the economy? Complete stretch. The jobs would be for 5 days, end of.

I can understand the frustration of the people that have tickets for the 2 not permitted concert, I would have felt the same, unfortunately these things can happen (not often but they can).

I can understand the frustration of the residents, I have lived 3 minutes from a 30k capacity football stadium almost all my life and on gamedays it was rather messy. Again I'd consider this on a "principle" level: 8 concerts this year, maybe 15 next, then who knows, the sky's the limit.

I am buffled with Aiken's handling of the whole thing, yesterday and all these months. It looks like they were caught completely off-guard and they didn't have a plan b.

I can't understand (at all) the "Garth Brooks" blackmail/ultimatum (call it what you want) last night. This is really low. I sincerely hope that someone tells him "it's 3 concerts, take it or leave it" (and that's the polite way to say it)

2025 gigs: Selofan, Alison Moyet, Wardruna, Gavin Friday, Orla Gartland, The Courettes, Nine Inch Nails, Rhiannon Giddens, New Purple Celebration, Nova Twins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Why are people saying the country is now a laughing stock? Nobody outside Ireland gives a shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,732 ✭✭✭✭Penn

LiamoSail wrote: »
    What premier league ground has ever averaged two matches a week? Premier league teams play 19 home league games, plus European and cup home ties. Generally no more then 25 home games a year, thirty if they are remarkably successful. That would average a game a fortnight rather then two per week.

As for Croke Park, concerts are an entirely different prospect for residents then matches. Given the time of day coupled with the successive nights, the disruption is multiplied.

Yes they knew they were living beside a stadium, but I don't think Croke Park was seen as a venue twenty or thirty years ago in the sense it is today.

It is a venue however, and its purpose should be accommodated, but without such an imposition on residents as the Brooks concerts would have done. One concert a week through out the summer would seem reasonable, or even two over a bank holiday weekend, providing some of the money was put back into the local community, by which I mean improving the area as oppose to into residents pockets.

Eight nights though was always taking the piss, and I'm delighted the residents won.

As for Ireland being an international laughing stock on the back of this, I think that's a ridiculous notion. Two concerts were cancelled, hardly earth shattering. If anything, having the demand in such a small country for eight nights of Gareth Brooks in Croke Park is far more likely to make us a laughing stock then the cancellations

Exactly. There's a huge difference between 20,000 walking past your house on a Sunday evening after a football game, and 20,000 walking past your house after 11pm on a Tuesday night (for the fifth night in a row), many of them likely rushing to get to buses, trains and taxis, and many more likely having had a good few drinks before and during the concert.