Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Time for the Taoiseach to step in and over rule DCC and allow the 5 nights.

He said earlier he hoped they could be save so I wouldn't be surprised if he stepped in, behind the scenes anyway. He unlike the clueless residents can see the huge cost this will be to the economy if the concerts don't go ahead.

Like your worried about the cost to the economy. I've heard this all day and it's getting quite laughable now. I can understand fans being upset about it because they might not get to see it, but for anyone to use the 'economy' excuse is ridiculous. The so called 'cost' to the economy won't affect any single one of us, there's bigger economy factors than a few Garth Brooks concerts in fairness.

People just can't accept that the very people who brought you these concerts are also the ones that will end up denying some seeing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

Then why on most ads you hear at the end or in small text on the screen "subject to licence"

It seems to be an Irish phenomenon, it's shameful how badly it was handled.
    I think the planning system should be made more efficient so that promoters can get licenses faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭derokid

Folks simple fact of the matter here is for years Corporate GAA big business etc have got away with flouting the laws because they have huge budgets to spend on their legal cases.
    Corporate GAA & Aiken promos have been challenged and lost out to what?
    The Law of the land.
    You can't organise a concert without a licence...
    Now Garth who professes to love Ireland so much is threatening to pull out altogether... Now who's being stupid?
    Money grabbing PR 1CK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭RED L4 0TH

If one thing is to be learned from this debacle, it's that people should take more note of the phrase "subject to license" on a ticket. This event, like many other things in this bloody country, was organised it seemed on a "ah sure musha it'll be grand" mentality.

It's tough on those who bought tickets, but they should be aiming their ire at Aiken promotions & the GAA for what looks like their pish poor attitude to the licensing procedure for such events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭derokid

Jamsiek wrote: »
    It seems to be an Irish phenomenon, it's shameful how badly it was handled.
    I think the planning system should be made more efficient so that promoters can get licenses faster.

Promoters don't want their licences faster. If they do then they are open to legal challenge that's why the leave it to the last minute to apply. Do your not think these concerts are planned months in advance and all this stuff is prepared? They won't duit it because it will be challenged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭jibber5000

anncoates wrote: »
    You're embarrassing yourself.

This thread is similar to the ridiculous convulsions of anger about the dread grip of the church contracting in our country.

Now its the turn of the GAA.

Viva modern Ireland.

So you're using this thread solely to vent your hatred for the GAA? What have they ever done to you?

If you'd any experience of rural Ireland you'd know the amazing work being done by volunteers in fantastic facilities, providing sporting activities for over a hundred thousand young people..Especially at a time when rural Ireland is on its knees with emigration.

All sides should shoulder some blame in this, including the GAA,but to make out they're some monstrous organisation which is the root of all evil betrays a completely narrow minded view

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Oh I think some of us in favour of concerts need to point out, I ( we/some) personally can’t stand GB. It's the principle of gigs being cancelled. I would be more inclined to see Cradle of filth and such like. It’s a capital city concerts should be allowed till 10:30/11.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

jibber5000 wrote: »
    So you're using this thread solely to vent your hatred for the GAA? What have they ever done to you?

Prevented the building of a community stadium in South Dublin for a number of years because it was designed with soccer in mind. I know anncoates is a Rovers supporter (they are people too I guess), so I can easily see why there'd be a distaste for the GAA there. It certainly left a bad taste in my mouth as an impartial outsider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,283 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Oh I think some of us in favour of concerts need to point out, I personally can’t stand GB. It's the principle of gigs being cancelled. I would be more inclined to see Cradle of filth and such like. It’s a capital city concerts should be allowed till 10:30/11.
    Subject to license

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Oh I think some of us in favour of concerts need to point out, I ( we/some) personally can’t stand GB. It's the principle of gigs being cancelled. I would be more inclined to see Cradle of filth and such like. It’s a capital city concerts should be allowed till 10:30/11.

They are in most venues. Croke Park is quite different though because of its size and location.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Why not let him play and reduce it to one gig next year, from then on in they can have 3 a year or more after consent with residents association...
    There was an agreement between the GAA and residents for 3 concerts a year.
    There has been 3 this year with the 1D concerts.
    Croker wanted 5 more this year, and then return to 3 next year.
    Residents wanted none for the next 2yrs if the 8 went ahead this year.
    Stalemate according to Mr Mulvey: http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0703/628237-garth-brooks/

Licence submission was done very late by Aiken (hoping that the sold tickets would edge things in their favour), reviewed by DCC and permission for 3 concerts was given.

GB states that it's all or none (hoping that the pressure will cause a reversal and get the 5 concerts).

I wouldn't be surprised to see DCC maintain their stance, and GB play the 3 concerts anyway, with the "I just couldn't leave down the fans" excuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Well, time to call it a night, and drop out from the thread.
    To all, thank you for the discussion, have a good night.

Prevented the building of a community stadium in South Dublin for a number of years because it was designed with soccer in mind. I know anncoates is a Rovers supporter (they are people too I guess), so I can easily see why there'd be a distaste for the GAA there. It certainly left a bad taste in my mouth as an impartial outsider.

Surely that was a GAA club versus a soccer club argument why should it taint her viewpoint on the whole organisation??
    On a side note was watching a LOI game out the window a few years back ( looking out onto Richmond Park) and witnessed at least 100 Rovers supporters singing the vilest chants re the ex club chairman who had died the previous day..Obviously it was a strong minority of all supporters present but there seemed to be no problem with this from other Rovers fans present

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0703/628237-garth-brooks/

I know this link has been posted but to me this indicates garth brooks doesn't really care about his fans . If he did he would be saying I will come back at some stage next year and all the tickets for the 2 shows will be valid . The bloke is looking for easy cash and people are lapping it up .
    I'm actually glad DCC made a fair decision when all arguments where considered . It goes to show you can have fairness in this day and age .
    Oh for anyone giving out about the license process you can't really peter aiken said any gig that has a capacity of 5,000 or more has to go through license procedures . I can imagine it's easier for the likes of the 02 because it's specifically built for concerts and would be noise proofed to high degree . It's different to the likes of croker which is outdoor and you would hear all the noise that comes from it .

Once again Ireland embarrasses itself on an international stage.

I highly doubt that it will make international news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

jibber5000 wrote: »

If you'd any experience of rural Ireland you'd know the amazing work being done by volunteers in fantastic facilities, providing sporting activities for over a hundred thousand young people..Especially at a time when rural Ireland is on its knees with emigration.

All sides should shoulder some blame in this, including the GAA,but to make out they're some monstrous organisation which is the root of all evil betrays a completely narrow minded view

I'm from a rural area. There are positive aspects to the GAA but they are also a hugely self-serving organisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭whiteandlight

I can't understand how Aiken would leave themselves open to Brooks pulling out of the contract if the 5 licences weren't granted? Surely their lawyers have more sense than writing 5 when none of them were licensed yet?

Tarzana wrote: »
    I'm from a rural area. There are positive aspects to the GAA but they are also a hugely self-serving organisation.

I agree to an extent especially in regard to the upper brass, Croke Park, some county boards etc..But upto 80% of the Garth Brooks money which the GAA took in as profit would have been spent on infrastructure or coaching.That's why i'm dissapointed the concerts may not go out notwithstanding the poor judgment shown by Croke Park on this occasion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭KnotABother

For me by far the saddest thing about this is the fact that really and truly this episode shows that this country has not changed in the slightest bit at the core of it.

It could be said in 2009 that we all lay stunned and shocked and collectively said "never again"....but alas this is Ireland where if you hold sway you think you hold everything. Just as the banks did during the Tiger the GAA and Promoters have done here. Take people's money with false promises and line your pockets with it. Then when the government or regulators ask questions you bully them to try and talk them into turning a blind eye with promises of great rewards, be it at the ballot box or in the community.
    It seems the plan put forward here was to sell 400,000 tickets and then apply for a late licence in the hopes the regulators would not have the bottle to stand up to them and enforce the regulations. However in the shocking turn of events the system in this country upheld the rules. 400,000 people look as if their hard earned cash may be gone in part but sure the people of this country love a good ponzi scheme!

I suspect the GAA and Promoters will not be walking out of this empty handed and that there may be a certain amount of wrangling required for all ticket holders to get their money back in full.
    The irony I suppose is that most of these concert goers would protest water charges and chant "burn the bond holders" the other 6 days of the week not realising that they are paying to line the pockets of more than one cowboy when they buy the tickets!

This whole thing stinks to high heaven of all the old celtic tiger ways. Take people's money with no solid basis, to fund activity that is skating along a legal tightrope. Then when it goes south blame someone else(the residents) and still come out rich! Now off the the tent at the Galway races! Fantastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,347 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Serves them all right for having such a sh!te taste in music to be honest.

People that chose to live beside a huge stadium. As such you expect that there will be disruption.

Why not build the houses there? I would imagine that anyone buying in the area would be aware of the stadium and what it entails.

It's a lot but it's still only 5 days out of the 362 in the year when residents weren't expecting gigs. You cannot live beside an huge stadium and then complain when it's used. All around the world similar stadiums are used for concerts and as such it makes sense that it would happen here. Why have such a venue if you can't make full use of it?

So if I don't like it then it shouldn't go ahead. And you last line is ridiculous, you can't please all the people all the time. Just because some people don't share your view doesn't mean that they should get their way.

People pissing in gardens is not all the widespread, a few will do it but then again there are people pissing in our streets every day of the year. If the worst that they have to complain about is people pissing in their gardens then they haven't a lot to worry about. Hell race week in Galway sees the same thing happen and we're not all crying about it.

When you choose to live in an area which has something like a huge stadium there then you have to accept that there will be disruptions. It really is that simple. I was told a story by a friend who lives in the area that after one of the U2 gigs a number of the residents started screaming bloody murder over the noise pollution and mayhem that occurred, though they didn't mention it till after they had went to the concert for free and drank a considerable number of pints that were provided to them. I'm assuming that all the residents who got free tickets and then protested the gigs this year have handed theirs back.

All these arguments have been made many times and refuted many times

therealme wrote: »
    I'm mortified to be Irish...again!
    The money this could generate not only in Dublin but nationwide and chances are it will not go ahead. Also G.B. is relaunching here after many years which will give the country serious coverage in the USA also and maybe generate even more income from tourism.
    Time to get the idiots out from the councils/government and bring in people with proven business backgrounds who understand why it is so important to bring these type of acts to the country.
    Is it any wonder we are a laughing stock worldwide. Not a fan but I really hope the go ahead is given for the financial benefit of Ireland.
    Couldn't organise a piss up in a brewery comes to mind sadly...again!

It's not the council's fault, the law needs to be changed and the promoters will then need to change their methods based on the new laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭dloob

Standing outside the fire, standing outside the fire, life is not living it's merely surviving if you're not throwing rocks through the windows of rods up their arses around croker when Garth's concerts should be on. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

dloob wrote: »
    Standing outside the fire, standing outside the fire, life is not living it's merely surviving if you're not throwing rocks through the windows of rods up their arses around croker when Garth's concerts should be on. ;)

You sound like a lovely individual :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Not a fan of Garth Brooks, didn't have any tickets, nor did I have any interest in the gigs.

The Croke Park residents who are objecting, to me, come across as a shower of whingers, and leeches who are after nothing more than compo. Croke Park has been there long before these people, and it will be there long after they're gone. They choose to live there knowing that large events take place numerous times per year. There are lots of people who would gladly take these houses off their hands if they didn't like the area.

Croke Park is an amazing place, something that Irish people should be proud of. 70,000 tickets have been sold for these concerts abroad which provides a great opportunity to bring in a huge amount of money into our economy and offers the locals a great opportunity to bring money into their local economy. There are countless places in Ireland that would jump at the chance of having an international event like this in their area.

If you take the National Ploughing Championship for example, last year it was held outside Stradbally in Co. Laois, the same place that hosts Electric Picnic annually, it took in 228,000 over 3 days. Despite greatly inferior infrastructure and amenities to Drumcondra and the NCR area in Dublin, these took place with little or no objection by local residents. This would arguably inconvenience them far more than an event in Drumcondra because of its train service, footpaths, numerous roads for entry, bus service etc.

Croke Park residents were offered jobs at the event, tickets for the event and a fund of €500,000 had been put together for those "inconvenienced". Something that those in Stradbally could only dream of being offered. According to RTÉ news, the Croke Park residents are looking to sue Croke Park which shows you that they are after more than what they've been offered, rather than accept the three concerts that have been licensed.

Before people say "how would you like something like this on your doorstep", I live in the centre of a large town in Ireland with a square that holds regular large events and results in road closures. Do I complain? No, it's my choice to live here, I accept that events like this happen in such areas and I accept that it has a positive effect on the area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭KnotABother

cournioni wrote: »

Before people say "how would you like something like this on your doorstep", I live in the centre of a large town in Ireland with a square that holds regular large events and results in road closures. Do I complain? No, it's my choice to live here, I accept that events like this happen in such areas and I accept that it has a positive effect on the area.

Nothing near the size of the events in croke park or with the footfall on such a regular basis.

Go down to Clonliffe road after a Dubs game and you'll see what these people deal with

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Nothing near the size of the events in croke park or with the footfall on such a regular basis.

Go down to Clonliffe road after a Dubs game and you'll see what these people deal with
    They chose to live there. Similar events happen in Manchester for example with 76,000 people at two and sometimes three games per week for 10 consecutive months at Old Trafford. Do they have this issue with the residents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,017 ✭✭✭✭Degag

MadYaker wrote: »
    Serves them all right for having such a sh!te taste in music to be honest.

And the Arctic Monkeys are frikking awesome ain't they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

cournioni wrote: »
    They chose to live there. Similar events happen in Manchester for example with 76,000 people at two and sometimes three games per week at Old Trafford. Do they have this issue with the residents?

I think you should go back and read the thread, this ground has been covered before a lot, and I truly mean a lot !

No-one is disputing g that they choose to live there. My mate lives there and bought in 2010. Before purchasing he checked the status of events, concerts, etc, how it would effect him. The 2009 agreement said 3 concerts per year. An Bord Plenala said three concerts per year. He was fine with that, for him it meant that he knew he would have to bring his two dog to a dog pound for three nights every summer. But then this summer he has to bring them there not three nights as previously agreed with the GAA but EIGHT nights.

When he bought his house he knew there would be 240,000 concert goers in his area every summer. And then the GAA and Aiken got greedy and tried to up that figure from 240,000 people to 640,000 people by slapping on an extra 5 concerts, with no permission or even a precedent of 5 nights in a row for an outdoor stadium. My mate bought his house based on an agreement with the GAA. It was the GAA who shifted the goalposts, not the residents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

Garth Brooks' ultimatum is probably one of the worst bluffs I've ever seen.

The gigs will go ahead. The local residents will get more money, they'll drop their dispute, and all five gigs will go ahead. Garth will say he's delighted for the fans.

Garth will be delighted for himself.

I read that some people are ashamed to be Irish because once again we've been made to look like gombeens in front of the whole world... as if anyone outside of our curiously shaped little island gives a monkeys what we're getting up to over here.

Money talks, especially when it's tens of millions of money. It could be a 5 day long 24 hour a day firework display, it's 70 million euro changing hands. The VAT alone is giving the government a wet dream. Have no fear, there will be #Garth5