Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Great news all around today. Just need DCC to stand firm for a perfect result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

As should you. He has every right to back out of the 3 shows when his contract with Aiken was for 5.

I'm sure it is no expense for Garth to bring his entire crew, equipment, personnel, etc. over to Ireland, and he had budgeted for 5 shows, not 3.

Groups don't just travel overseas for free. It costs him money, and if he will lose money by doing so, it's not fault.

And he's a bully for giving you guys what you want? YOU WANTED ZERO SHOWS, and now you may get zero shows, so quit complaining and calling him a bully. I hope he cancels, and the residents can have an entire weekend of peace and quiet. That's what they wanted all along, and he's accommodating them. What a guy.

Delusioned opinion of a severe fangirl imo.

All his statement shows is that he wants money and he's willing to act like a child (I'm having it all or none at all!!!), to get his way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

if they had have taken it, it would have proved what they were really up to and after.

But they didn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭sparkynash

GAA bullies,Peter Aiken bully.Pure greed made this what it is.This event was always to big for tiny croke park and should have been in punchestown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

Just reading Garth Brooks statement. He's a nasty little bully and should be told to **** off.

A terrible man. Its like he oozes evil, Gladly the concerts are off, We couldn't have him misleading a generation of adults and culchies with his rock and roll, Its the Devil's music..

Clearly a man in league with the Devil himself would have known all about Ireland's laws surrounding concerts, He put himself on the ticket knowing full well the concerts would be cancelled, So basically he is no better than a bank robber, Taking in all that money when he knew damn well he wouldn't be playing.

The residents must have God on their side, Holier than thou themselves, Sure we can't be letting 400,000 people enjoy themselves, That wouldn't be on at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

I suspect that in the next few months we'll see a revision of licensing laws to prevent this sort of feck up from happening again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

WRONG!!! I blame Aiken, not Garth

First name terms with the man? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Skid X wrote: »
    Doing 3 concerts instead of 5 is not like choosing between your children, Mr. Brooks :rolleyes:

Nor does he have to choose which ones to play at or not play at, that decision is already made.

What a childish statement, but it does show the only green his love for is money, not for the Irish people as he claims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

miju wrote: »
    Can be appealed under common good for starters

o really? didn't know that, still with a concert due in 3 weeks, the residents could seek an injunction - time lines are getting very tight, so any court rulings would need to be made very soon .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

It's down to whose Ireland it is: the one represented expensively by its lawyers to make the country fit for them; or the ordinary people who only represent themselves.

400,000 pissed off people? That's something different in a normally placid country where the professional classes are so used to getting their own way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,796 ✭✭✭✭josip

Greedy bollix. None at all Garth thanks.
    Now p1ss off with your self importance somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

If they signed him for 5 at the start, you'd imagine they would have made sure they could have had the venue for 5 first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

sparkynash wrote: »
    GAA bullies,Peter Aiken bully.Pure greed made this what it is.This event was always to big for tiny croke park and should have been in punchestown.

Tiny Croke Park? Really.

Residents Association bullies, pure selfish, etc.. see how this goes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

his '5 or none' sounds like contract leverage, he'll probably get payed anyway if the gigs dont go ahead. nice little earner either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

no victory, and no making promotors think twice about anything, they can apply for events licences again next year

They will need to thread carefully though

BoB_BoT wrote: »
    If they signed him for 5 at the start, you'd imagine they would have made sure they could have had the venue for 5 first.

they probably did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Apparently they had an extra large cowboy hat custom built for the gigs but the three nights won't cover the budget for it

BoB_BoT wrote: »

They did, they got it from the owners of Croke Park aka the GAA

Time for the Taoiseach to step in and over rule DCC and allow the 5 nights.

He said earlier he hoped they could be save so I wouldn't be surprised if he stepped in, behind the scenes anyway. He unlike the clueless residents can see the huge cost this will be to the economy if the concerts don't go ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

nm wrote: »
    They did, they got it from the owners of Croke Park aka the GAA
    But not from DCC who grant permission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Why would he , sure the event was replanned and recosted based on 5 shows. Besides which its a situation of the residents doing not GB

only a few residents, many residents claiming the associations didn't even talk to them, that the associations have people who don't live in the area, and a lot seem to be in favour of the concerts, thats a turn out for the books.
    Also, it's notable that a certain Minister for Tourism has not interjected here at some level given the further damage the cancellation of all 5 gigs will do to Ireland

meh, he doesn't even know what a concert is

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

He said earlier he hoped they could be save so I wouldn't be surprised if he stepped in, behind the scenes anyway. He unlike the clueless residents can see the huge cost this will be to the economy if the concerts don't go ahead.

That would be great

you seem to be the clueless one, the decision can only be over ruled by the courts, which is "independent" of the Taoiseach. So he won't be able to just step in and overrule the DCC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Ah well, at least Ireland will always be in his heart apparently....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

They signed him for 5 from the start.

Did they? I'm in OKC and was a big deal over here when announced. And I only ever heard of 3 being mentioned until the tickets went on sale and 2 more were added.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

You want the Taoiseach to interfere with a democratic decision.
    And people wonder why politicians get away with indiscretions.

only a few residents, many residents claiming the associations didn't even talk to them, that the associations have people who don't live in the area, and a lot seem to be in favour of the concerts, thats a turn out for the books.

meh, he doesn't even know what a concert is

so only a few residents now have stopped 2 concerts, it's a pity we didn't have these residents out fighting shell or fighting the property tax and water tax.

Maybe these few should get elected to the Dail and fight the EU for us.

Or maybe you should see that it was the DCC who didn't give the licence.