Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,442 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Ace2007 wrote: »
    He can come back and do a concert next year - can have it in the phoenix park or down the country if he loves the Irish that much.

why the hell would he ever want to visit here again. he picked ireland of all places for a comeback tour and we told him to f**k off.

not only brooks but every big musical and international sporting event will think twice before picking this country, its simply isn't worth the hassle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

First of all it's not 400,000.
    240,00 could go if GB plays the gigs.

Secondly, you have little idea of democracy of that's how you want to belittle it.

Do remind me again how referundums work in this country ??? It's the lowest vote % that wins aint it :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

nm wrote: »
    Tiny Croke Park? Really.

Residents Association bullies, pure selfish, etc.. see how this goes?
    residents association that doesn't even speak for or represent the residents, you couldn't make it up

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

miju wrote: »
    I would like to think 70,000 foreign visitors and the income generated which will hit 10s of millions is worth his time given we are financially screwed as a country

As others have said, it's not in his power to have the decision overturned and thank the lawd for that. I don't want to live in a country where that would be allowable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

This wouldnt happen if croke park was in cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

Ranchu wrote: »
    The world is watching...

And laughing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Candie wrote: »
    This thread is hilarious, you couldn't make this stuff up.

Or else :D

He's a country singer, he's not the messiah and this isn't the second coming.

The very thought of the Taoiseach taking time out from running the country to make sure a few concerts go ahead is cringeworthy in the absolute extreme. I hope Brookes never comes back if it means more of this stuff.

Sure he opened a Penny's in Germany. He can do anything now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Utterly irrelevant tosh.

It's not irrelevant. Firstly Planning laws in Ireland are completely outdated.

Secondly you praise DCC. The DCC should be spending all their time and resources trying to solve the housing crisis in the capital. They'll sit on their thumbs because there will be vested interests to ensure house prices rice once more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,283 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

residents association that doesn't even speak for or represent the residents, you couldn't make it up

you're making it up right now so..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

The man himself released a statement through a PR firm saying basically its all or nothing.

now who's being a greedy fecker !

looks like none will be going ahead on that basis.

report via entertainment.ie

Specialun wrote: »
    This wouldnt happen if croke park was in cork

At this stage, I think it'd be better for all civilisation if Croke Park was in space.

BoB_BoT wrote: »
    Because people have a right to enjoy living in their own homes?

People that chose to live beside a huge stadium. As such you expect that there will be disruption.
    BoB_BoT wrote: »
    If you're going to go down this route, why were they allowed to build more houses near the stadium? Did the council not foresee that it would one day want to become a music venue?

Why not build the houses there? I would imagine that anyone buying in the area would be aware of the stadium and what it entails.
    fta93 wrote: »
    I think 5 consecutive days is too much, that's just my view. Maybe Aiken/Croker might have had better outcomes if they kept gigs to, say, weekends. You can't just expect residents to up sticks for a whole week.

Sporting venue first and foremost, that's what most signed up for. They're not prohibiting all other things, just trying to keep some sane limits to it. Same way Mountcharles limits Slane.

It's a lot but it's still only 5 days out of the 362 in the year when residents weren't expecting gigs. You cannot live beside an huge stadium and then complain when it's used. All around the world similar stadiums are used for concerts and as such it makes sense that it would happen here. Why have such a venue if you can't make full use of it?
    And the artists you wouldn't like to see/hear?
    And people pissing in your lawn?
    And the other residents who don't share your view?

So if I don't like it then it shouldn't go ahead. And you last line is ridiculous, you can't please all the people all the time. Just because some people don't share your view doesn't mean that they should get their way.

People pissing in gardens is not all the widespread, a few will do it but then again there are people pissing in our streets every day of the year. If the worst that they have to complain about is people pissing in their gardens then they haven't a lot to worry about. Hell race week in Galway sees the same thing happen and we're not all crying about it.

When you choose to live in an area which has something like a huge stadium there then you have to accept that there will be disruptions. It really is that simple. I was told a story by a friend who lives in the area that after one of the U2 gigs a number of the residents started screaming bloody murder over the noise pollution and mayhem that occurred, though they didn't mention it till after they had went to the concert for free and drank a considerable number of pints that were provided to them. I'm assuming that all the residents who got free tickets and then protested the gigs this year have handed theirs back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

thelad95 wrote: »
    Worth f*ck all on a macro scale.

But we are not talking about macro economics, we are talking about an event that will bring millions into the economy and give boosts to companies at a time when the economy is still flagging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Do remind me again how referundums work in this country ??? It's the lowest vote % that wins aint it :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
    There was a referendum on this?
    I do know that there was an election to the DCC, who have made a decision.
    No amount of eye rolls add validity to your statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

so who do they speak for?
    Where notices handed out to the locals in the area?

You have been on here the whole day - must be near 100 posts saying that everyone is in the wrong.

Go back 3/4 months and they are posts by you saying that all concerts would go ahead and this and that, here we are now and 2 have not be given a licence by the DCC. and your still whining about the Residents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,964 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

It's not irrelevant. Firstly Planning laws in Ireland are completely outdated.

Secondly you praise DCC. The DCC should be spending all their time and resources trying to solve the housing crisis in the capital. They'll sit on their thumbs because there will be vested interests to ensure house prices rice once more.

DCC made completely the correct decision in this situation. What you think should be the next item on their agenda is utterly irrelevant to this situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

Lots of people wondering how long Aiken had to lodge their application for a license to stage these concerts. This is from irishstatutebook.ie

6. (1) (a) An application must be made at least 16 weeks prior to the date for the holding of the event to which the application relates or, in the case of an application for a number of events at a venue in a period not exceeding one year, at least 16 weeks prior to the holding of the first event.

So they had four months to apply for the licenses....looks like they purposely waited as long as possible hoping that DCC would bow to the pressure.

I was supposed to be going on the Friday night :(

So it's at least 16 weeks beforehand, but is there no upper limit- as in not more than 1 year before or something to that effect? Seems crazy to sell concert tickets when you have no licence, but it seems to be the done thing? I would have thought getting the venue and licence would be the first stages in planning such a big event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,964 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

It's a lot but it's still only 5 days out of the 362 in the year when residents weren't expecting gigs.

It was only three, now its eight, whats next? When exactly were the residents allowed to fight back? Is it when the Beatles reform and want to play 16 nights in Croke park? Would they be allowed to complain then or is it always going to be "suck it up, you could move if you wanted to".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,020 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Well done lads, 6 hours later and the merry-go-round of the same arguments keep spinning.

Lovely.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

This isn't a referendum. If it was the entire electorate would be able to vote, not just your specially gerrymandered constituency of "residents and concert-goers".

This is representative democracy in action, similar to what happens every single day around the country. If you don't like the outcome, vote for different councillors next time round. Until then, this decision represents the democratic will of the people of Dublin City.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Well from listening to the media earlier on, the 70,000 visitors who have flights booked won't get a refund, and so should probably come to Ireland anyway, I know if I have flights booked to somewhere and couldn't get a refund I'd probably still go.

If anybody is flying in specially from Aus or New Zealand or anywhere distant for a Garth Brooks gig ( in doubt and controversy almost from the get go and subject to license), then I feel more sorry for their sanity than for the money they have lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,029 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Well done lads, 6 hours later and the merry-go-round of the same arguments keep spinning.

Lovely.

Was EOTR on earlier?

Haven't been on boards in ages, just log on today to see this thread and of course he was arguing with everyone - everyone is wrong.

DCC made the decision - the way he goes on you'd think the lads on boards.ie mad it.

It was only three, now its eight. Whats next? When exactly were the residents allowed to fight back? Is it when the Beatles reform and want to play 16 nights in Croke park? Would they be allowed to complain then or is it always going to be "suck it up, you could move if you wanted to".

It's still only 8 out of the 365 days in the year. And you know what if next year they were able to attract a number of artists to play there then they should.

How many jobs have now been lost because of the lose of these gigs? How many hundreds of thousands if no millions won't be spent here as a result?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,796 ✭✭✭✭josip

The old croke park which they wastefully knocked down was in reasonable nick. Needed a bit of doing up..

You've either forgotten how bad the Cusack stand was, or were never in it in the 80s and early 90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

DCC made completely the correct decision in this situation. What you think should be the next item on their agenda is utterly irrelevant to this situation.

I didn't question their decision, whether it is correct or not is completely open to interpretation.

8 Concerts a year in a €500m 80,000 seater stadium is hardly excessive but that's not really my point. My main point is about you holding the DCC is high esteem and you also mentioned brown envelopes.

We'll see how good the DCC are now considering the pressure GB has put on them with his statment.

I couldn't care less, I'm not going to any of the concerts. But its completely typical of Ireland to embarrass themselves on such a scale.

The Rugby World Cup organisers will be looking at this thinking not a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

People that chose to live beside a huge stadium. As such you expect that there will be disruption.

Why not build the houses there? I would imagine that anyone buying in the area would be aware of the stadium and what it entails.

It's a lot but it's still only 5 days out of the 362 in the year when residents weren't expecting gigs. You cannot live beside an huge stadium and then complain when it's used. All around the world similar stadiums are used for concerts and as such it makes sense that it would happen here. Why have such a venue if you can't make full use of it?

So if I don't like it then it shouldn't go ahead. And you last line is ridiculous, you can't please all the people all the time. Just because some people don't share your view doesn't mean that they should get their way.

Darko, GAA and Alkien sold tickets for an event they did not have a licence for.
    They had an agreement with residents for certain amount of non-sporting events per year, that is WELL exceeded with 1D and GB (be 8 in total)..

GAA and Alkien just expected to get the go ahead despite breaking this agreement - DCC were right not to give licence for all 5 GB..

I don't get why Residents getting blamed for this..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

GB fans saying Ireland will be a laughing stock to the world for cancelling 2/5 concerts on one hand,and then wanting the leader of the country to come out and overturn a rare balanced and correct decision from DCC on the other.

I know which scenario I'd be more embarrassed by!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

How many jobs have now been lost because of the lose of these gigs?
    Actual, real, not-for-one-day jobs? I'd hazard a guess at 0. Unless heads roll at Aiken.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

It's still only 8 out of the 365 days in the year. And you know what if next year they were able to attract a number of artists to play there then they should.

How many jobs have now been lost because of the lose of these gigs? How many hundreds of thousands if no millions won't be spent here as a result?

It's 8 nights on top of 90 GAA matches and dozens of conventions.

It's not "only 8 nights out of 365 days in the year".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Steam Roller

Garth Brook's has always been for the fans. He doesn't want to see 160000 fans disappointed. They have paid for tickets and coming to see him.

He wants a solution for 160000 fans who have missed out, hence its all or nothing.

400000 paid to see him, they should see him. Thats what he has always believed in.

http://www.joe.ie/entertainment/music/garth-brooks-statement-its-five-shows-or-none-at-all/