Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SherlockWatson

italodisco wrote: »
    Lol say that to they Kerry lad that kicked my wing mirror off and lost a front tooth and a Jersey for his troubles lol xx

I'm no coward when it comes to protecting my home , my property and my family

:pac: :pac: I didn't say you were a coward, I said you were an idiot, and if you did knock a Kerry lads tooth out, bragging about committing an assault and your intentions to commit more assaults, is idiotic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

VONSHIRACH wrote: »
    I am a local GAA member and I think GAA HQ were out of order in all this. They ignored the 3 concerts a year agreement completely and went for 5 in a row GB after 1D. Negotiation should have been first if HQ wanted extra concerts.

5 GB in a row - no real austerity in Eireann
    wheres this agreement. post it

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,988 ✭✭✭mikeym

Its a mess Joe :D

italodisco wrote: »
    Lol say that to they Kerry lad that kicked my wing mirror off and lost a front tooth and a Jersey for his troubles lol xx

I'm no coward when it comes to protecting my home , my property and my family

I think its pretty obvious people are just irate that something they were looking forward to has been cancelled over nothing really. Obviously things are getting said in the heat of the moment by me and others but you can be sure they are idle threats (in 99% of cases anyway). Nobody is going to go up to croke park kicking wing mirrors off cars over this or doing other damage.

Its really infuriating though for people who had tickets for the monday and tuesday that a bit of noise and extra traffic for a couple of days a year warrants cancelling a big event like this.

If you want peace and quiet 365 days a year move to the country and live with the disadvantages that brings about. Its laughable really the uproar when its 8 concerts in the year, 8 bloody night even if you didnt sleep right for 8 night get over it for gods sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

You seem so tough!! Any tips on how I could be as tough as you??

Hmmm no , not tough at all .

Just prepared to protect my property against pigs that threaten to cause damage.

I would expect most men would do the same.

Tough ? Fml you must be some top comedian down in parsnip alley .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭circular flexing

OldGoat wrote: »
    I think it's a pyrrhic victory tbh.
    Precedent is now set for gigs of 3 continuous nights above the nominal 3 special event nights.

I would say that there are very few acts that would be put on in Croke Park these days and I think it's just bad coincidence that two of them happened to have shows there this year.

Remember in 2013 there were no gigs at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

no more then 3 concerts before applying for an events licence, the agreement was honoured

Which they did, and were refused. System works, fair is fair.

(And do NOT give that crap about "they should have known when they moved in" AGAIN because I am SICK AND TIRED of refuting it at this stage, only to get the same line repeated withotu adding ANYTHING NEW being added to the bloody argument)

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Having been part of this thread since day 1, your recent comments are ludicrous. I'm a resident, and I'm not celebrating, I personally dont mind the concerts going ahead or not. But I appreciate the stand that other residents around me have made and this is a minor victory for those people.

You, on the other hand, have spent 3 months belittlling, trolling and blaming residents for everything under the sun, so that you, little old you, can get what you want. Its some of the meanest, most undignified trash that I have ever seen written on boards.

So today, I smile not for the people who fought to live around me, but at you, knowing that you really are one of the most repugnant people I have ever come across online.
    thank you, well i more or less got what i wanted, the majority of the concerts going ahead

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

hoodwinked wrote: »
    my point there though was surely the residence knew what they were getting into buying/renting on the doorstep of a large venue, like you would should you buy next to an airport.
    I'm sure they did. But there are agreements/laws/licences in place. The GAA/promoters are looking to exploit those, which the residents have a right to object to.
    hence i don't feel they have the right to complain now, seriously whats next roads being closed during certain hours because neighbours can't sleep with the noise of traffic outside? or local pubs/nightclubs having to close because the neighbours around it don't like the anti social behaviour at 2am? where does the madness end?
    I think you are going to extremes on this. The residents aren't looking to have Croker closed down.
    Plus, we do have laws that events/pubs/works have to stop at a certain time; laws that we all would appreciate it they were occurring on our own doorstep.
    this is an awful precedence to set that venues there before the residents have to adjust to suit them.
    I think the precedence been set is that it's wrong to sell tickets to something that you haven't applied for licence to hold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

I still can't get my head around the fact that essentially, those who live in a capital city want a more or less rural existence and the council is willing to pander to that. If you choose to live in a capital city, you choose to live amongst vibrant activity. Capital cities are supposed to be busy, not quiet and abandoned. :confused:
    those who live in a capital city want a more or less rural existence

Gross exagerration.

Capital cities are supposed to be busy, not quiet and abandoned.

No-one is arguing otherwise.

Jesus christ! What the fook do you lot have me listening to????

Who has the valium lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

And then someone goes and says that Croke Park is a better concert venue than the 02.

Jaysus wept.

Croke Park is an awful venue for a gig. Poor sight lines and some terrible sound problems if
    you are in a bad spot.

The last 2 times I saw U2, the sound quality was awful. 05, we were on the pitch and in 09, we were
    up stage side in the Cusack Stand.

That said, the sound for Take That in 2011 was excellent but the wind was blowing toward us that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭ekimiam

I still can't get my head around the fact that essentially, those who live in a capital city want a more or less rural existence and the council is willing to pander to that. If you choose to live in a capital city, you choose to live amongst vibrant activity. Capital cities are supposed to be busy, not quiet and abandoned. :confused:

its greed the locals have a problem with, nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

I think its pretty obvious people are just irate that something they were lookinf forward to has been cancelled over nothing really. Obviously things are getting said in the heat of the moment by me and other but you can be sure they are idle threats. Nobody is going to go up to croke park kicking wing mirrors off cars over this or doing other damage.

Its really infuriating though for people who had tickets for the monday and tuesday that a bit of noise and extra traffic for a couple of days a year warrants cancelling a big event like this.

Well I'm not an immediate resident but close enough and I had no issue with the concerts . I only have issue with parts threatening to wreck the place .

We had enough craps over the years with country students from mater dei and st pats college wrecking the place and certainly don't have patience for more nonsense .

It doesn't make you are a hard man or tough like some mugs think, it's only natural to protect the nest !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭RFOLEY1990

lambayire wrote: »
    And then someone goes and says that Croke Park is a better concert venue than the 02.

Jaysus wept.

Croke Park is an awful venue for a gig. Poor sight lines and some terrible sound problems if
    you are in a bad spot.

The last 2 times I saw U2, the sound quality was awful. 05, we were on the pitch and in 09, we were
    up stage side in the Cusack Stand.

That said, the sound for Take That in 2011 was excellent but the wind was blowing toward us that night.

it's still better than the sound in the Aviva though. stadium gigs are never gonna be flawless for sound.

the U2 sound was very poor but that was the first concert in years, I understand.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    If the GAA were to agree to no concerts for two years then I'd reckon the residents would let all five go ahead. I haven't seen any report of the GAA offering this to the residents yet it is a way that 160,000 people wouldn't be left disappointed and the residents would likely accept 5 nights in a row for 2 years of peace from concerts. It's a win win for the residents and the concert goers but the GAA has proved themselves to be greedy in all this so I can't seem them giving up rights to more concerts to resolve this current problem.

the residents wouldn't have accepted it, the GAA weren't greedy, it was simple supply and demand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

I've lived in the city all my life and would hate a rural existence. I love the vibrant nightlife and sporting occasions. I live in the shadow of the Aviva and enjoy going to all of Ireland's football home games. No issue with the disruptions it causes.

However there is a line of acceptability. If you can't see that you have a problem. The argument the other way is that people in rural areas want subsidised broadband at the expense of the tax payer. I could say " ah shure they knew they lived in the arsehole of nowhere when they bought their gaff. I'm not paying my tax to further subsidise their services". Now being the reasonable sort I am I have no problem contributing my taxes for projects like that.

There is a line though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

This fiasco wouldn't have happened if Bertie Ahern was still in power- now there was a Dub that got things done!

Both parents from cork, hence the genetic disposition to cute hoorism

JRant wrote: »
    I'm sure the Aer Lingus boys and girls could be roped into a little industrial dispute for the weekend of the 25th July. Sure it's been weeks since they've had their last one. That would really be the icing on the cake. :D
    why would they? talks are going well apparently, not that its relevant anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

ekimiam wrote: »
    its greed the locals have a problem with, nothing else.

It's bad enough working near Croke Park on gig days.
    I wouldn't fancy living there on those nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

it was only a few, listening to the radio, not much sympathy for the objecters even from some residents, croke park do a lot of good

What good do they do ?

People trapped in their homes . People listening to sound checks and then the whole business of people clogging up the area because they come to que early . How is that good for the people in the area ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭Rough Sleeper

lambayire wrote: »

Jaysus wept.

you are in a bad spot.
    I laughed out loud when he said that Croker is EVEN BETTER THAN THE AVIVA for a gig. Plebbest comment of the year.

Liveline's been absolute gold. You'd think the country was in a state of emergency listening to the radio this morning.

sparkynash wrote: »
    Thank god there not going ahead.the law is the law.
    no law was broken, so the law isn't the law when it doesn't exist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

As I said above, I know that and agree.

A compromise is whats needed here, not outright victory for one side or the other.

This is a compromise. It goes beyond the original agreement. The residents have compromised by allowing a 3 additional concerts over a weekend.

i think more so an agreement should be reached that now states anyone who has bought and rented in the area from here on out has to agree that ANY amount of concerts and gigs may be conducted there and accept as a given if you want to live on the doorstep of a stadium,

Who would that agreement be made with? If I was selling/buying a house in the area, the transaction would be between me and the buyer/seller. The GAA isn't party to a house sale, unless they're selling/buying, so don't get a say in what the buyer will agree to. If the seller was asked about concerts, all they can point to is the current agreement for no more than 3 concerts a year.

If the GAA want to go ahead with Croke Park as a major concert venue, they have two options:
    1. Buy up all the houses in the surrounding area and then rent them out with a condition about unlimited concerts;
    2. Try and reach a new agreement with the residents - before they start selling tickets for anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Well the fact that they already looking for the next two years to be concert free.

Unreal.

Bomb the residents. Its the best solution, then the rest of the country can enjoy as many events in Ireland's premier stadium as we like.

The moaners winning is sickening. What a waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Garth wouldnt shaft his loyal irish fans, they mean so much to him

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

I'm sure they did. But there are agreements/laws/licences in place. The GAA/promoters are looking to exploit those, which the residents have a right to object to.

With all due respect as long as the concert stops by 11pm as is stated in the laws they should be allowed use their venue as they want/need to, the residents are arguing they should be allowed use their house as they want/need to,

my point is both sides have a right to have this, but essentially if one obstructs the other, the one who was there first (the stadium in this case) vs the residents should get the rights.

i say the same to those who complain about students living around them when they bought/rented near a university that was there first, they should have known this would happen.

I think you are going to extremes on this. The residents aren't looking to have Croker closed down.
    Plus, we do have laws that events/pubs/works have to stop at a certain time; laws that we all would appreciate it they were occurring on our own doorstep.

to be honest, i'd check what was on my doorstep before making it my doorstep, if the area i lived in changed, i'd move,

My aunt had to after she built her home in the country side for peace and quiet only to find a few years later a planning application for a motorway being built just outside her back garden, so she moved.

luckily someone who didn't mind the motorway bought it, all are happy, she's not living somewhere where she isn't disrupted.
    I think the precedence been set is that it's wrong to sell tickets to something that you haven't applied for licence to hold.

i agree with the "subject to licence" needs to be abolished!

People trapped in their homes .

Nobody is trapped in their homes so this nonsense claim has to stop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,720 ✭✭✭✭Penn

the residents wouldn't have accepted it, the GAA weren't greedy, it was simple supply and demand

The trouble is, they didn't have the supply to meet the demand, but sold people tickets anyway. They could have tried their best to get agreement for the concerts first, and then met the demand. The concerts still would have sold out if the tickets for the Monday and Tuesday shows only went on sale today.

Instead, they did get greedy. They tried to meet the demand without having the supply. They sold tickets to a concert they did not have the proper agreements for.