Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Chance The Rapper

GLad you got tickets, but it does seem very lazy of the organisers to make them available like that.
    Why did they not hold them back and make the extra tickets available for those who have tickets for the cancelled gigs on first come first served basis?

They've been on general sale for the last month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I think the decision is fair. Know a good few people that will be disappointed but they'll survive.

My local charity is selling tickets for a raffle to won tickets to the Tuesday night so they'll be majorly hit.

Anyway us culchies will keep going with our 'soggy ham sandwiches' that we'll mind for our next trip to Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Paulie1987

SeanW wrote: »
    What an utterly moronic statement. I was in the Drumcondra area for the 1 direction concerts, the place which is normally rather quiet, becomes a hellhole when there's concerts on. Cars clogging every legal and illegal place to park, way beyond anything the area is even remotely capable of providing, massive crowds all over the place, and it's just not equipped to handle any of it.

These concerts should have been held at the O2, or Aviva, or failing that, been marketed as a "music festival" and run out in a field in Slane or something.

But since you think these concerts are so great, why don't we have an 80000+ person event down the street from your house? It should be a blast?

How is it moronic?..I never said there would not be disruption. It's for 5 days is what I said. I acknowledge there is disruption but the situation is what it is. Allowing for the gigs to go ahead on this one occasion seems the most ethical thing to do while also acknowledging that they should not allow 8 or 9 gigs a year again.

Well I'd notice an 80,000 seater stadium if it was down the street from me and think emmm it might be busy around here sometimes...so il move somewhere that does not have the biggest stadium in the country on my doorstep :)..You know what you are getting yourself into by living close to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,289 ✭✭✭SteM

lambayire wrote: »
    Unused season ticket holders not taking up their options.

Don't know if that's even a thing - does anyone know for sure if season ticket holders for GAA sporting events are given first option on their seat for a concert, I'm pretty sure they are not. Either way as of this morning anyone could buy tickets for 3 of the 5 nights. That's not a sold out 5 night run that people keep spouting about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,200 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Paulie1987 wrote: »
    Ownership or it's purposes are irrelevant simple man. Residents are concerned with the disruption pure and simple. A concert lasting a few days although frustrating goes away after a few days. I don't know many residents are affected but it's bad form to deprive 160,000 people of a bit of happiness for a couple of nights. Seems very cold hearted IMO.

The residents were offered money were they not?

Less of the insults if you don't mind.

And it is very relevant who owns it and for what purpose.

No, the residents were not offered money. Where are you getting that from?

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

SteM wrote: »
    Don't know if that's even a thing - does anyone know for sure if season ticket holders for GAA sporting events are given first option on their seat for a concert, I'm pretty sure they are not. Either way as of this morning anyone could buy tickets for 3 of the 5 nights. That's not a sold out 5 night run that people keep spouting about.

They are given first option on all events in croke park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

Well one of the lads here at work is a 10 year season ticket holder and gets options on all non-GAA events. He has to pay for them, mind you.
    All GAA events are included in the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

i don't think it was ever about the concerts, but the residents associations vendetta against the GAA and croke park, still as i said, they failed to stop them all, we got the majority

It's easy to see why they have a vendetta and all I can say is fair play to the people . They said no we aren't putting up with this . I thought no gigs where going to be cancelled ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,116 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

it's normal to release tickets closer to gig time for obvious reasons

Because as I said additional tickets became available at a later date when final stage plans etc were known. The first three nights were sold out for the capacity that was officially available at the time.

No, the promoter held tickets back for the 3rd night to create demand for the 4th and 5th night (which still haven't sold out). Then they release them later as 'production seats' or whatever knowing that they'll sell them easily enough. Even if they don't they'll still make money from the 4th and 5th night to cover any money that they wouldn't get from selling the held back 3rd night tickets.

It's promoting 101.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Paulie1987 wrote: »
    How is it moronic?..I never said there would not be disruption. It's for 5 days is what I said. I acknowledge there is disruption but the situation is what it is. Allowing for the gigs to go ahead on this one occasion seems the most ethical thing to do while also acknowledging that they should not allow 8 or 9 gigs a year again.

Well I'd notice an 80,000 seater stadium if it was down the street from me and think emmm it might be busy around here sometimes...so il move somewhere that does not have the biggest stadium in the country on my doorstep :)..You know what you are getting yourself into by living close to it.

There's a big difference between expecting a few concerts a year to having 5 concerts in a row.

I'm sure the residents knew full well there could be concerts on in Croke Park occasionally but if you asked them a year ago would they ever expect 5 in a row I'm sure you know what the answer would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0703/628237-garth-brooks/

I also note here that residents are demanding that no concerts be held in Croker for the next two years.

Now that really is going to far imo.

Surely it should be enough for promoters to just adhered to three nights as originally agreed?

There's an easy solution. Let all 5 concerts go ahead with three of them being used for the 2015 allowance and two for the 2016 allowance. That way the residents are likely to agree if they know 2015 will be concert free and only one being held in 2016 before going back to the normal three in 2017.

That's a way you could get the residents to agree and not disappoint 160,000 people who have bought tickets, booked hotels, etc. But it would mean less profits for the GAA so I won't be holding my breath that it will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Two concerts cancelled.

**** just got real :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Muahahaha wrote: »
    There's an easy solution. Let all 5 concerts go ahead with three of them being used for the 2015 allowance and two for the 2016 allowance. That way the residents are likely to agree if they know 2015 will be concert free and only one being held in 2016 before going back to the normal three in 2017.

That's a way you could get the residents to agree and not disappoint 160,000 people who have bought tickets, booked hotels, etc. But it would mean less profits for the GAA so I won't be holding my breath that it will happen.

The residents were offered that but turned it down.

I really feel sorry for people who bought tickets from touts. At least the rest of us will (I hope!) get the tickets to Monday and Tuesday refunded.

Skid X wrote: »
    That's standard practice, Ticketmaster often release more tickets (without fanfare) closer to the date of the event.

If you keep trying you can often get tickets for 'sold out' events.

I know - meaning they are not actually sold out. They are just promoted as sold out to try to create buzz. Happens all the time. Thing is that you didn't have to 'keep trying' for the last 3 nights of this run - you could go onto the ticketmaster site anytime and pick tickets up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Garth Brooks cut would be very small in comparison to the amount of money pumped into Pubs, hotels, restaurants etc.

People have limited resources, money that is spent on tickets and the day in Dublin is money that is not being spent in their communities. It's great for Dublin, just not for the rest of the country.

So when you take Garth's millions leaving the economy and then the cost to the taxpayer for events like this I don't believe these concerts benefit our economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,200 ✭✭✭✭JRant

its not "proper order" croke park would have been legitimately within their rights to host the 5 if they wanted to, still, the residents failed to stop the lot

Ah yes, they would have been well within their rights, expect of course for the fact they they needed to get license's granted and therefore not well within their rights.:pac:

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭VONSHIRACH

I am a local GAA member and I think GAA HQ were out of order in all this. They ignored the 3 concerts a year agreement completely and went for 5 in a row GB after 1D. Negotiation should have been first if HQ wanted extra concerts.

5 GB in a row - no real austerity in Eireann

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,604 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

God be with the days when you could stroll into the planning office with a brown envelope and sort it all out. Thats what ye get for voting for lefties and gange smokers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Definitely cancelled for Monday and Tuesday. Will seriously cost TM , and good enough for them, I don't like them. Feel bad for people who had tickets, especially those who bought off touts. A win for the little guys like was said, happy days
    and a loss for more little guys who spent money on hotels and the rest, but still the residents won nothing, they failed to stop the lot

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

and a loss for more little guys who spent money on hotels and the rest, but still the residents won nothing, they failed to stop the lot

Any hotel i've ever booked has refunded up till the day before? Plus the ticket money will go back into Ireland and not Garth's back pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bmm

313216.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Hotels offer a refund unless if cancelled before the day of your stay unless you buy from a reseller or a low cost non refundable ticket.
    Buying a low cost refundable ticket would be a bit silly for a gig that is still subject to licence.
    What else is non-refundable?
    Plane tickets is the only example I can think of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Chance The Rapper

Unused season ticket holders not taking up their options.

No, it's the bad practice always carried out by ticketmaster, hold back a few thousand until a few months before the concert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

Having been part of this thread since day 1, your recent comments are ludicrous. I'm a resident, and I'm not celebrating, I personally dont mind the concerts going ahead or not. But I appreciate the stand that other residents around me have made and this is a minor victory for those people.

You, on the other hand, have spent 3 months belittlling, trolling and blaming residents for everything under the sun, so that you, little old you, can get what you want. Its some of the meanest, most undignified trash that I have ever seen written on boards.

So today, I smile not for the people who fought to live around me, but at you, knowing that you really are one of the most repugnant people I have ever come across online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

No, it's the bad practice always carried out by ticketmaster, hold back a few thousand until a few months before the concert

Well my boss at work would disagree as he has ticket options for all non-GAA events.

But you may well be right about TM holding other tickets back.

I'd say that this is to beat the touts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Could the HSE run a series of musical re-education seminars at a number of smaller venues on the Mon/Tue for the Garth Brooks concert goers?

Surely now is the time to reach out to those less-fortunate members of our society who suffer from such awful taste in music?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

http://www.irishtimes.com/culture/music/two-garth-brooks-gigs-refused-over-anti-social-behaviour-concerns-1.1853932
    "...Dublin City Council has refused permission for two of the five Garth Brooks concerts planned for Croke Park over fears of noise, traffic disruption, illegal parking and “potential antisocial behaviour”..."

Think those threatening to urinate in resident's gardens might have "píssed on their own feet", so to speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The residents were offered that but turned it down.

I really feel sorry for people who bought tickets from touts. At least the rest of us will (I hope!) get the tickets to Monday and Tuesday refunded.

Do you have a link for that ? RTE are reporting that the residents wanted no concerts for the next two years but there wasn't a ruling on it from DCC, they can only make decisions on what's before them here and now.

If the GAA were to agree to no concerts for two years then I'd reckon the residents would let all five go ahead. I haven't seen any report of the GAA offering this to the residents yet it is a way that 160,000 people wouldn't be left disappointed and the residents would likely accept 5 nights in a row for 2 years of peace from concerts. It's a win win for the residents and the concert goers but the GAA has proved themselves to be greedy in all this so I can't seem them giving up rights to more concerts to resolve this current problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Well my boss at work would disagree as he has ticket options for all non-GAA events.

But you may well be right about TM holding other tickets back.

I'd say that this is to beat the touts.

The ticket options are released as "premium tickets"

But yeah it's common practice for outdoor gigs to magically grow in capacity beforehand.