Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Dartz wrote: »
    Liberty wouldn't even quote me. They're for old-farts and 1l Corsa owners only. Anyone else can spin on a finger
    Sobanek wrote: »
    And yet they're the only ones willing to insure me on a 535d.

Odd.

Yeah i they were the only ones willing to insure me on my 9-5

in other news, driveshafts and rusted nuts make pickles go something something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

pred racer wrote: »
    Come to portumna to get them fitted, let me have a look at the new motor:D

I hear they balance tyres by flaking them with hurleys.

Car is out if action for 3-4 days anyway to get a full overhaul so its tip top and my bank balance is battered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

They wouldn't touch an Rx-8. Just flat out refused to quote. They also offered 1500 for a 2006, 1.4 Passat.

Insurance is an utter crapshoot at the best of times. Is there any sort of formula behind it, or do manatees just pluck quotes from a basket full of balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

It's funny, they've been the cheapest for me for the last 4 years and that's with 2 hours of shopping around as well.
    I'm convinced at this stage actuaries just pluck the figures out of their arses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

It's funny, they've been the cheapest for me for the last 4 years and that's with 2 hours of shopping around as well.
    I'm convinced at this stage actuaries just pluck the figures out of their arses.

They must, when i went to get my insurance i rang them that morning from my house and got a straight out no, went into college and tried again on my friends phone and got it for 1500 :confused:

Insurance logic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Pump in, car is back! Yeah!

Here's my theory. This all started when I went over some crazy severe bumps around town. Drove over them at 1km/h and still they were mental. Went over the last one and 30 seconds later my low coolant light comes on. Parked the car, went for a stroll with the gf and got back an hour later. Checked coolant levels and it was fine, so I was confused as hell.

Had the same symptoms for the next week, no matter what the level of coolant the light would come on after 5 mins of driving. My guess, the bump destroyed the rubbish water pump, but not completely so there was just enough flow to keep the temp in check. But not enough flow to keep the sensor from questioning my coolant levels. Replacing the pump sorted it.

Well that's my story and I'm sticking to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

I hear they balance tyres by flaking them with hurleys.

Car is out if action for 3-4 days anyway to get a full overhaul so its tip top and my bank balance is battered

It's alright, the tyre place is on the Tipp side of the bridge, so at least they'd get a daycent flakin:D

Are you around on the 7th? I might come to Galway early for my midnight vigil NCT;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Pump in, car is back! Yeah!

Here's my theory. This all started when I went over some crazy severe bumps around town. Drove over them at 1km/h and still they were mental. Went over the last one and 30 seconds later my low coolant light comes on. Parked the car, went for a stroll with the gf and got back an hour later. Checked coolant levels and it was fine, so I was confused as hell.

Had the same symptoms for the next week, no matter what the level of coolant the light would come on after 5 mins of driving. My guess, the bump destroyed the rubbish water pump, but not completely so there was just enough flow to keep the temp in check. But not enough flow to keep the sensor from questioning my coolant levels. Replacing the pump sorted it.

Well that's my story and I'm sticking to it!

What I read there.

"I was bumping my girlfriend in town and she broke my pump" :D:pac::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I've been with Quinn/Liberty 6 years now. Usually the renewal is reasonable enough to not even bother looking around (because the quotes elsewhere are ridiculous). Or, if it's gone up - throwing it back into their own online quote system usually fixes that.

This is just plain taking the piss so they can say they're giving 60% discount to >5yr NCB holders and 28% off for 0 penalty points. They are, but they've hiked the initial base premium so much you still end up with a net increase in premium cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

They must, when i went to get my insurance i rang them that morning from my house and got a straight out no, went into college and tried again on my friends phone and got it for 1500 :confused:

Insurance logic

Insurance is just all over the place. You think car insurance is bad commerical is worse. When I first started learning to drive and my dad had a few vans. I got insurance on a 7 metre lwb high roof Renault master 2.5 dci lwb for literally buttons a few 100 euro for the year to be named. It gets better I had less than 3 months experience. Surly that's higher risk than a car you could do serious damage with it if you were a **** driver catch the corner in any kind of a tight corner take cars out of it. Well in an insurance companies eyes it was less risk than even the likes of a ford ka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

Has anyone a rough idea on what a 92 1 litre 5 door starlet would be worth? 75k miles roughly and nct til mid June 2015.

Best small car to buy for a learner ?
    Cheap small engine usual stuff
    1. Yaris
    What else should I suggest to the guy and what engine variant in each.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Yaris is pretty much the ideal starter car. If the budget can't stretch to a Yaris:

- Fiat Punto 1.2
    - Renault Clio 1.1
    - 1.0 VW Polo 6n/6n2.

In order of preference for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Why a starter car can't be above 1.2 ?
    Mine was a 1.4 :P

GvidoR wrote: »

Tbh guy genuinely has literally know interest in cars. Just once something as cheap as possible that will move him from a to b he knows absolutely nothing about cars. So I really think a yaris would be the best around 2000. Budget 2000 or less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Dr.Rieux wrote: »
    Has anyone a rough idea on what a 92 1 litre 5 door starlet would be worth? 75k miles roughly and nct til mid June 2015.

If it's minty you could get decent enough money. I'd say **** it and post it up on donkeydeal for 2k. People never thought the ae86 would be worth what they are now (I've a screenshot of an add from 2000 or so for 1k for an ae86.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

GvidoR wrote: »

My first car is a 2.2 :pac:

Right, I know ye lot are sick of me, so I'm only gonna ask one last time...

I've bit the bullet and decided to go and look at a Mazda 3 tomorrow. 2007, 1.6 Diesel. Only thing i dont really like about it is the lack of electric windows in the back, but truth be told, I don't often carry people in the back, and i rarely open them, so don't really care that much.

It has air con, which is essential, in my opinion, but it also has 155k miles. €4k asking price.

Anything in particular to look out for? I've heard Mazda are generally a reliable piece of kit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Meanwhile in America...

My first car had a V8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,293 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Right, I know ye lot are sick of me, so I'm only gonna ask one last time...

I've bit the bullet and decided to go and look at a Mazda 3 tomorrow. 2007, 1.6 Diesel. Only thing i dont really like about it is the lack of electric windows in the back, but truth be told, I don't often carry people in the back, and i rarely open them, so don't really care that much.

It has air con, which is essential, in my opinion, but it also has 155k miles. €4k asking price.

Anything in particular to look out for? I've heard Mazda are generally a reliable piece of kit?

1.6 is the same engine as the 407. Proceed with extreme caution.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    1.6 is the same engine as the 407. Proceed with extreme caution.

Is the Peugeot's engine not quite good though? I thought that car was only really cursed with electrical issues and technical things going wrong (tyre sensors, etc.)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,293 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They need to be religiously maintained and this is Ireland.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They need to be religiously maintained and this is Ireland.

Well it's a dealer, so id push for some kind of basic warranty, and as soon as i get it home it'd be going straight to my mechanic.

On the phone, he said the timing belt had been done (but didnt say when) and 'recently' serviced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Well it's a dealer, so id push for some kind of basic warranty, and as soon as i get it home it'd be going straight to my mechanic.

On the phone, he said the timing belt had been done (but didnt say when) and 'recently' serviced.

Every car for sale in the country has had it's belt recently done, and a recently completed service. Make sure to have evidence on the work done.

Just say to the dealer that you need to have it inspected before purchase by your mechanic. However, whether or not your mechanic will be able to tell if it's destined for disaster is the other thing.

Tbh man...I'd be looking elsewhere.

Every car for sale in the country has had it's belt recently done, and a recently completed service. Make sure to have evidence on the work done.

Just say to the dealer that you need to have it inspected before purchase by your mechanic. However, whether or not your mechanic will be able to tell if it's destined for disaster is the other thing.

Tbh man...I'd be looking elsewhere.

Ah, to be honest, every single car I've looked at has had horror stories plastered all over the place. I'm just getting a bit fed up looking now, altogether.

What's the worst that could happen? Belt goes and costs a grand? It's unlikely, but if it happens I'll live with it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Ah, to be honest, every single car I've looked at has had horror stories plastered all over the place. I'm just getting a bit fed up looking now, altogether.

What's the worst that could happen? Belt goes and costs a grand? It's unlikely, but if it happens I'll live with it. :(

KKV i thought you done a lot of city and stop start driving, is a diesel for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Be on the lookout for the 142's from tomorrow lads!

YbFocus wrote: »
    KKV i thought you done a lot of city and stop start driving, is a diesel for you?

Well I drive in Drogheda a fair bit, so it's a bit stop/start, but not as bad as, say, Dublin, for example, where you're stopping and starting every 15 seconds.

Most of my journeys don't really involve actual stopping (traffic lights, etc.) but instead just general slowing and speeding up (bends, turns, junctions were I have right of way).

I'd rarely be in the car for less than 15 minutes, and I reckon my average drive time is circa 25-30 mins.

I head to the airport the odd time (35 mins, mostly motorway) and tend to drive for pleasure a lot (national roads, country roads).

So a lot of my driving would be variable speed, rather than stop-start, but I do get a decent bit of constant speed motorway driving in there, too.

So I suppose, "is a diesel for me", well, there's one way to know for sure :)

I know people driving Diesels that do a lot of very short trips and leave the car sitting unused for days on end. They never seem to have real issues.

I had an Iveco Daily Unijet 2.5ltr van, and for about 2 years, all it did was literally 5 mins driving per day (two 2 minute journeys). It never gave a moment's trouble (shockingly, i had well expected it to seize up. Perhaps ye just don't mess with an Iveco? Serious machines?)

To be honest, my opinion on diesels is that they're a tougher engine than people give them credit for. Perhaps newer ones are useless, but as I say, that van (Iveco) had the worst life a diesel engine ever could have, and it never once wanted anything.

Actually, come to think of it, that van was feckin' bulletproof. Do Iveco make cars (under a different name, perhaps)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Actually, come to think of it, that van was feckin' bulletproof. Do Iveco make cars (under a different name, perhaps)?

Thought they were something to do with Ford :confused: Aren't they called a Ford Iveco? Could be way out though!