The other Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

I was at a fundraiser for a GAA club only last year. The main prize draw involved dividing the pitch into 300 sections and selling a section for €20 a pop. Buying a section gave you a chance to win a couple of thousand euro. To decide what section won involved a novel demonstration of rural life. It involved a former county hurling star chasing a bullock around the pitch with a stick, until the bullock took a shíte on a particular section. Any arguments about the section the bullock took a shíte in was to be decided by the volume of shíte on any two sections.

Hundreds turned out. There was a bbq. And a winner. This was followed by an auction where some of the lots involved: hoppers of turf, a castration of a young horse, homemade jam, driving lessons, and a slurry tank cleaning.

It was great fun. As I said, hundreds turned up. And I doubt that the majority of the people there would give two sideway shítes about the opinion of people belittling them on the Internet.

I hope this is true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

mariaalice wrote: »
    The fact that large parts of Ireland are largely rural and some what conservator, yet the media is very urban and Dublin centric as if the other Ireland does not exist.

Very true. It's the first thing I thought when I looked through the Facebook page "Humans of Ireland" (A Humans of New York spin-off, I suppose). Every person was photographed in or around Dublin*, not a single appearance of the rural life that makes up a big portion of the country!

*Not saying Dublin people ain't good, they're a lovely bunch :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

I was at a fundraiser for a GAA club only last year. The main prize draw involved dividing the pitch into 300 sections and selling a section for €20 a pop. Buying a section gave you a chance to win a couple of thousand euro. To decide what section won involved a novel demonstration of rural life. It involved a former county hurling star chasing a bullock around the pitch with a stick, until the bullock took a shíte on a particular section. Any arguments about the section the bullock took a shíte in was to be decided by the volume of shíte on any two sections.

Hundreds turned out. There was a bbq. And a winner. This was followed by an auction where some of the lots involved: hoppers of turf, a castration of a young horse, homemade jam, driving lessons, and a slurry tank cleaning.

It was great fun. As I said, hundreds turned up. And I doubt that the majority of the people there would give two sideway shítes about the opinion of people belittling them on the Internet.

This didn't happen. I'm from Leitrim and we all would have known it. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

131spanner wrote: »
    Very true. It's the first thing I thought when I looked through the Facebook page "Humans of Ireland" (A Humans of New York spin-off, I suppose). Every person was photographed in or around Dublin*, not a single appearance of the rural life that makes up a big portion of the country!

*Not saying Dublin people ain't good, they're a lovely bunch :D

http://www.collegehumor.com/post/6952621/assholes-of-new-york

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

I have met several people, especially abroad, who appreciate Irish music, dance and folklore like "Riverdance", "The Chieftans", "The Dubliners" and can understand that" U.2." can evolve from that.
    Rory Gallagher, one of our best musicians "Rock", started out in a showband.
    So what's wrong with a bit of our forefathers music ,dance and stories?
    It will be sought after in years to come, I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Yes, okay, I'll bite. The concerns of the Traveller population are largely missing from mainstream media and online debate. I firmly believe that in years to come, our children will look back on the way we turned a blind eye to Traveller issues with genuine bewilderment. I dread the conversations of 2050 when young uns try to get to grips with the border-line racist attitudes that prevailed in the early years of the 21st century.

Just make sure that the frightened Paddy Nallys of the countryside are mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭pockets3d

NoHornJan wrote: »
    I have met several people, especially abroad, who appreciate Irish music, dance and folklore like "Riverdance", "The Chieftans", "The Dubliners" and can understand that" U.2." can evolve from that.
    Rory Gallagher, one of our best musicians "Rock", started out in a showband.
    So what's wrong with a bit of our forefathers music ,dance and stories?
    It will be sought after in years to come, I think.

That's irish traditional music. The "country" music country people like is more lads from roscommon thinking they live in the wild west with cowboy boots and stetson hats and songs about coveting neighbors cows/land/wives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Yes, okay, I'll bite. The concerns of the Traveller population are largely missing from mainstream media and online debate. I firmly believe that in years to come, our children will look back on the way we turned a blind eye to Traveller issues with genuine bewilderment. I dread the conversations of 2050 when young uns try to get to grips with the border-line racist attitudes that prevailed in the early years of the 21st century.

Hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,486 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Adamantium wrote: »
    This didn't happen. I'm from Leitrim and we all would have known it. :p

All 14 of ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Just make sure that the frightened Paddy Nallys of the countryside are mentioned.

And all their 'traditions'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Witchie wrote: »
    It scares me how many young ones around these parts are into the Country music scene. And I don't mean the good stuff like Johnny Cash and Don Williams etc.

People into the 'good stuff' are few and far between sadly. The "outlaw" country thing never really had any decent Irish effort afaik.

The other issue I have with the country n' Irish is using European accordians instead of the cajun ones. Totally misses the feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

topper75 wrote: »
    People into the 'good stuff' are few and far between sadly. The "outlaw" country thing never really had any decent Irish effort afaik.

The other issue I have with the country n' Irish is using European accordians instead of the cajun ones. Totally misses the feel.

Case in point; Killarney. Major tourist spot, you assume you'd get fairly good trad in most pubs....

Nope...fcuking Wagon Wheel, Sweet Home Alabama and similar sh!tkicking favourites.

Sweet Jesus.

As an aside: I did have respect for the Sawdoctors, at least they weren't trying to be Billy Joe Jimbobs from fcuking Arkansas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Mid-West Radio really flies the flag for this 'other Ireland'.

You have to laugh at the country and western that is played on Irish radio.

There is something not quite right and very funny about a lad singing about Mayo/Limerick/Tyrone/Longford in the strongest Southern US accent imaginable.

People trying to make out that there's massive differences between places in Ireland is fairly laughable but the country music phenomenon never really hit Dublin in any big way (except for that weird line dancing craze in the early 90s, which I'd rather forget).

Where di you come from where did you go some thing something cotton eye joe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭Jelly2

I was talking about Dublin. As far as I'm aware, he's not popular in Dublin and is seen as a a bit of a joke. Country music is generally laughed at in Dublin and I would be among those that would scoff tbh.

I'm sure Matt Cooper said on air that the promoters confirmed that 70,000 of the tickets sold for the concerts were sold in Dublin....almost enough to sell out one of the nights! Presumably not all to Dublin-based culchies but to hometown jackeens too??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭OldRio

All 14 of ye.

And i'll know them all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Jelly2 wrote: »
    I'm sure Matt Cooper said on air that the promoters confirmed that 70,000 of the tickets sold for the concerts were sold in Dublin....almost enough to sell out one of the nights! Presumably not all to Dublin-based culchies but to hometown jackeens too??

Who knows!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

bluewolf wrote: »

*Grabs Bluewolf by the arms and swings her around roughly 'till she gets all dizzy and has to sit down*

The last bar I walked out of on Nashville broadway (and it will remain the last bar I walk out of on Nashville broadway) had a guy wearing a bandana rapping over heavy drums and powerchords. The sorority chicks knocking back the cocktails up front loved it and its their dollars that matter. Maybe the Opry is the last refuge of something that is dying but country ain't country no more - wherever you live.

bluewolf wrote: »

Over 20 years ago I lived not far from the village of Kottenheim, Germany. This song was all the rage during the festivals but sung as Kottenheim Joe :D

It was No1 in the charts then

*Grabs Bluewolf by the arms and swings her around roughly 'till she gets all dizzy and has to sit down*

On bluewolf's knee, no doubt ......... to help her equilibrium :D

I thought I was the one gettin dizzy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Feck Irish country music. Bunch of lads wishing they could claim land out in the wild west for cattle. There's some amazing country and country inspired stuff out there. Roots, Americana, even folk punk has part of its origins in country. Only a few weeks ago I was listening to a country concept album about an LSD trip.

Also, I'm not too sure how much of a divide there is in the media. I've often seen Irish country on the telly, mostly TG4 but still... Then there's the farming based programmes like Ear to the Ground, community based like Nationwide, the GAA would have a huge country following, I've seen shows about sustainable living and kitchen gardens and making your own wines and lemonades and that which is all stuff the culchies in my life would be interested in, I'm sure there's plenty more but I don't really watch TV. But to properly compare you have to balance out how much stuff is soley aimed at the city dwellers. If you just look at the general tv schedule anyone would tune in. I can bet you there'll be plenty of country folk tuning into Transformers on Network 2, just as much as the Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,492 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

The thing that strikes me about country people is their ways of how to go on a date to be with someone special when they live outside Dublin.

In Dublin for example, a guy would say to another guy, "Here bud have you got our hands on yer moth yet"? Moth in Dub language is the slang word for girlfriend.

Guys in the country could say girlfriend as normal. Fair Enough I say.

However, a girl from Dublin could say in a posh or american type accent "Who is that good looking guy, he is so hot"?

In the country though, if a girl living there was to meet a fella from the country, they could say "Ah here, who is that burly looking fella. Where does he hail from?

Just there a quite big contrast for all of you to understand is happening in front of you.

I don't get the term "burly" men when you go and look for a date in the country. Does it mean a Irish country version of being strong or masculine or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Lyaiera wrote: »
    farming based programmes like Ear to the Ground

ETTG today is as much to do with farming as Emmerdale (farm) is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

ETTG today is as much to do with farming as Emmerdale (farm) is.

I know plenty of farmers who would disagree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I know plenty of farmers who would disagree.

I am a farmer. Go ask on the farming forum. The last decent piece of farming on RTE was one or two pieces Duncan Stewart did on EcoEye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Ireland aint got nuttin on the other Ireland, Seamus Moore and his honda 50 trumps "Damo" Dempsey every time. Yip yip yip Yahoooooo.

Nothing stopping people enjoying both of them.

Unless, we'll say, Damo was on below in the parish hall and Séamus had a gig back the road there in Killballinafeck the very same evening.

The John Deere might be souped up but she's not that good.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

mariaalice wrote: »
    Is there another Ireland that rarely gets mentioned or reflected in the media and wider culture? For example, country and Irish music. I know some one in there thirties who loves Nathan Carter and Mike Denver. The fact that large parts of Ireland are largely rural and some what conservative, yet the media is very urban and Dublin centric as if the other Ireland does not exist.

Dead right missus! There is 4 million of us on this island, 3 million of us live outside Dublin and we never get a look in. The entire media culture (even TG4 to an extent) is Dublin / british based. Even look here on Boards, you see people almost embarrassed to be Irish! WTF like? Get out if you don't want to be here! Us people outside the pale are the REAL Irish, and we are completely overlooked in most aspects of life.

Nail. Head. Hammer. Did you people ever hear of the Scurloughstown Olympiad? Or the Moynalty Steam Threshing? Or the Dunderry Fair, or the Blue Jean Country Queen festival? All these things are events on par with the St. Patricks Day parade or the Dublins mini-marathon. But you never hear a thing about them on RTE.