Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I wish my insurance was as cheap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Choose Your Optional Additional Features
    • No Claims Discount Protection [add €36.65]
    • Car Hire [add €10.50]
    Standard Additional Features

• Fire Brigade Attendance Charges
    • Towing Costs
    • Locks and Keys Replacement
    • Windscreen/Glass Breakage
    • Personal Property
    • Personal Accident
    • Breakdown Assistance Cover
    • Policyholder Driving Other Cars
      (Does not apply to those under 25 years of age or with a Provisional Licence)
    • No Claims Discount Stepback Protection
      (Only applies to those with 3 or more years of No Claims Discount)
    • Claims Excess of €300
      (This excess is increased by €250 for additional drivers under 25 or provisional licence/learner permit holders.)

Total premium

€ 552.57
    or €138.16 Deposit and 7 Easy Instalments of €62.31

We may have a weiner ! Thats with all the extras too.

does that mean s80 cheaper than an s60 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

GvidoR wrote: »

Try get a quote on a Eunos Roadster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

does that mean s80 cheaper than an s60 ?

No interest in an S80 looks like an S60 with a big sad frowny face :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Grow an epic beard
    Smoke a pipe
    Buy some slippers
    Complain about young lads doin wheelies.
    etc etc.

Be grand

Quote is for a 31 year old 0 points 7 years ncb etc so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Where ya getting the Uniroyals from Sobanek?

www.oponeo.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

How quick do you think I could sell my Merc? :p

I have two options currently. Sell it within the next few days, or insure it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭thats not gone well

Lads can ye tell me what the proper name for these little b******s are? Most of the interior trim on the S60 are held on by them. My god are they a pain to remove. And I've destroyed the majority of them

Retainer - volvo 989055

http://www.skandix.de/en/spare-parts/accessories/assembly-parts/fasteners/locking-nut/1034174/

Vida/DiCe is very useful sometimes :);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Choose Your Optional Additional Features
    • No Claims Discount Protection [add €36.65]
    • Car Hire [add €10.50]
    Standard Additional Features

• Fire Brigade Attendance Charges
    • Towing Costs
    • Locks and Keys Replacement
    • Windscreen/Glass Breakage
    • Personal Property
    • Personal Accident
    • Breakdown Assistance Cover
    • Policyholder Driving Other Cars
      (Does not apply to those under 25 years of age or with a Provisional Licence)
    • No Claims Discount Stepback Protection
      (Only applies to those with 3 or more years of No Claims Discount)
    • Claims Excess of €300
      (This excess is increased by €250 for additional drivers under 25 or provisional licence/learner permit holders.)

Total premium

€ 552.57
    or €138.16 Deposit and 7 Easy Instalments of €62.31

We may have a weiner ! Thats with all the extras too.

That's good! Mine is only €100 cheaper than that.....

(And I'm an older wiser driver;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Dord wrote: »
    How quick do you think I could sell my Merc? :p

I have two options currently. Sell it within the next few days, or insure it again.

If I could get insured on the car I wanted to get next I'd definitely be selling the Merc on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

If I could get insured on the car I wanted to get next I'd definitely be selling the Merc on.

Won't have any car for a little while. That's the plan anyways.

So I arranged to meet up with Mr Audi. Few texts earlier. Liking the car in general.

He said it's on coil overs so height should be fairly easily fixed.

This was about midnight. It's 3am now and I'm just after getting a sinking feeling that this car is an Automatic and not a manual... Motorcheck says 'transmission' is 'unknown'. Cartell doesn't mention it. Neither do his for sale ads... nooooo.. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

So I arranged to meet up with Mr Audi. Few texts earlier. Liking the car in general.

This was about midnight. It's 3am now and I'm just after getting a sinking feeling that this car is an Automatic and not a manual... Motorcheck says 'transmission' is 'unknown'. Cartell doesn't mention it. Neither do his for sale ads... nooooo.. :o

Its a manual

Even if it is automatic it might be better for you, especially with your driving seeing almost all of it is start/stop as you say.

EDIT* The Ad does state Manual though...

Oh I didn't even cop that on the ad. Thank feck for that! :D:o

Cheers guys. I love boards. :D

Next time there's a meet, me and my car, be it a Rav or an Audi, owe ye a big box of roses. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Next time there's a meet, me and my car, be it a Rav or an Audi, owe ye a big box of roses. :P

More a milk tray man myself

:p

Quality Street for me! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

big box of porn will do thanks!

I've a box of roses that's there since christmas 2011. It's that or nothing. Don't be getting greedy! :P

davycc wrote: »
    big box of porn will do thanks!

Big box? It's 2014. Will this do?

pico-usb.jpg

Had to reverse, turn around and take a different road because of this...

14300772078_4e46905995_c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,598 ✭✭✭tossy

What brand of coilovers ? If the are fk, Jom or similar ask him if he has the original suspension, otherwise walk away IMO. Any car on sh|t coilovers and 19" wheels is going to be a nightmare as a daily driver no matter what height you set them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Had to reverse, turn around and take a different road because of this...

14300772078_4e46905995_c.jpg

Stance on that tractor! :D

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Stance on that tractor! :D

Hellaflush :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Taking me new motor home today.
    Looking forward to driving her in the sun:)
    Havint had a new car in 3 years since me glanza so happy out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

tossy wrote: »
    What brand of coilovers ? If the are fk, Jom or similar ask him if he has the original suspension, otherwise walk away IMO. Any car on sh|t coilovers and 19" wheels is going to be a nightmare as a daily driver no matter what height you set them too.

Completely agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ah, tis a grand auld day to hop in te tractor and bull some yokes round the garden :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Anyone noticed some new cars were added to the VRT calculator? BMW F10 M5, 420d, Mercedes E63.... Still no A45 AMG though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Taking me new motor home today.
    Looking forward to driving her in the sun:)
    Havint had a new car in 3 years since me glanza so happy out

what did you go for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Assessor came today and asked me to get quotes.

Basically the rear wheel was pushed inwards which also damaged the shocks and bent the control arm assembly. Glad I am not paying for this as its worse than I thought.

Even in the state the cars in its still better to drive than the Corsa:p