Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

dar83 wrote: »
    About the budget shocks/coilovers. You just made me go back and make sure I had actually quoted the post I was referring to. :D

I meant what about FKs on 17s :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Sooooooooooooo. This E39. Three problems, 1) The EML light is on, Engine runs but not past 2.5K revs or past 20 ish KPH.

2) Stopping anyone from checking common problems that cause the EMLis the bonnet release cable which has snapped which is a common problem. Going to give it a small wash tomorrow to see what it's like somewhat clean and have a better look at the bonnet with proper light.

3)ABS Light is on but I think that might just be a wheel sensor.

There's a mechanic living next door that's currently working on an E28 so he may be able to sort the problems cheaply.

*Que BN giving me abuse :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

So are you saying you bought?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,294 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Just incase anyone missed it, the EV and hybrids forum opened today

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1634

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Just incase anyone missed it, the EV and hybrids Mad_Lad's forum opened today

I never even knew that was suggested, i'll be keeping an eye on that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Sooooooooooooo. This E39. Three problems, 1) The EML light is on, Engine runs but not past 2.5K revs or past 20 ish KPH.

2) Stopping anyone from checking common problems that cause the EMLis the bonnet release cable which has snapped which is a common problem. Going to give it a small wash tomorrow to see what it's like somewhat clean and have a better look at the bonnet with proper light.

There's a mechanic living next door that's currently working on an E28 so he may be able to sort the problems cheaply.

Scrap it

Chalk it down to experience

Move forward lesson learned and don't waste any more money on it.

Scrap it

Chalk it down to experience

Move forward lesson learned and don't waste any more money on it.

I haven't bought it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I haven't bought it :pac:

Dont go washing it so!

I know its very small money, but its money that would be better in your arse pocket if this yoke is a heap tbh.

Dont go washing it so!

I know its very small money, but its money that would be better in your arse pocket if this yoke is a heap tbh.

By wash I mean hose down, get the webs off :P The main thing to get done tomorrow is opening the bonnet, but it is looking pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

I meant what about FKs on 17s :pac:

Alrighty... :P

Personally I wouldn't use budget suspension parts on my car whatever the circumstance. Same goes with tyres. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

pred racer wrote: »
    I've ordered new powerflex bushings for my lower wishbones.
    I've read a lot about them, here's hoping they are as good as people claim!

While youre at it get the upper wishbone bushes as well. Its the top arm that is camber/caster adjustable.
    http://newalfaparts.co.uk/122-powerflex
    Then get the tracking done on it....which can apparently take a while :P

I take its the oem/trw wishbones you have? If not, you're probably wasting your time using anything else. The oem ones are crap, but the pattern ones are absolutely ****e.

Enjoy though, the 159 is meant to drive so much better with them fitted and it isn't meant to make it too hard either.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Just incase anyone missed it, the EV and hybrids forum opened today

Must not troll :pac:

I wish it well, ev vehicles aren't for me (no new car is:p) however for most of the urban folk who replace their car every year or two and do low mileage it should be a no brainer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

While youre at it get the upper wishbone bushes as well. Its the top arm that is camber/caster adjustable.
    http://newalfaparts.co.uk/122-powerflex
    Then get the tracking done on it....which can apparently take a while :P

I take its the oem/trw wishbones you have? If not, you're probably wasting your time using anything else. The oem ones are crap, but the pattern ones are absolutely ****e.

Enjoy though, the 159 is meant to drive so much better with them fitted and it isn't meant to make it too hard either.

Yeah I found that out the hard way, non Alfa suspension parts are pure ****e.

Most of the muppets I see can't do tracking properly anyway, I'd be scared to let them at an adjustable set up.

These are the lower rear bushings (the big ones) they are not gone but are on the way out. It's going into the garage tomorrow to see which engine mount is gone :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Friends dad has a 98 starlet which failed the NCT this past 2 times. Decided this time that he'd shove it in as it is and see what has to be done. All they did was give it a wash (hadn't seen one in about a year), checked the oil and water, no checking lights or anything.....and it passed first time....makes you wonder sometimes, lucky git!

Yeah I found that out the hard way, non Alfa suspension parts are pure ****e.

Most of the muppets I see can't do tracking properly anyway, I'd be scared to let them at an adjustable set up.

These are the lower rear bushings (the big ones) they are not gone but are on the way out. It's going into the garage tomorrow to see which engine mount is gone :(

Id be getting the uppers done as well while george or his lads have there hands in that area. Its only a few more minutes work, instead of doing the bottoms now and deciding you want to do the uppers in 3 months time.
    Ive learnt that the hard way. Replaced one of the driveshafts on the gtv with one from the donor car a few weeks later, but the cv boot on the donor looked fine so it was put on. Now I need to replace the cv boot :rolleyes:

Can someone run me through the specs in the MK 4 golf in lowest to highest. I know they change a bit from the Mk5, and that's what is confusing me.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

OSI or Tossy would be your best bet for that

OSI...Tossy....ye have been summoned, where are ye!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,752 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Can someone run me through the specs in the MK 4 golf in lowest to highest. I know they change a bit from the Mk5, and that's what is confusing me.....

You looking for engine spec or interior spec?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,598 ✭✭✭tossy

OSI or Tossy would be your best bet for that

In the mark 4 you had Baseline,comfort line and highline.

Highline was basically GTI spec (apart from the engine ) you got the

3 spoke wheel
    slightly lower suspension,
    red/black/black/red taillights,
    colour coded rub strips,
    fogs in the headlights,
    climate control,
    highline 'ricardo' style (but no where near as comfy as the real thing) style seats, a lot of highline 150pd diesels came with leather recaros (you could spec leather ones as an option but not cloth)
    highline also had a nasty wood trim effect.

Can't remember what comfotline had as standard but baseline was a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Baseline/trendline (early mark IVs were colour coded), comfortline and highline (rare).

UK specs were different.

Safety spec was good, comfortline added front and rear electric windows, velour trim and the all important at the time - arm rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,752 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

tossy wrote: »
    In the mark 4 you had Baseline,comfort line and highline.

Highline was basically GTI spec (apart from the engine ) you got the

3 spoke wheel
    slightly lower suspension,
    red/black/black/red taillights,
    colour coded rub strips,
    fogs in the headlights,
    climate control,
    highline 'ricardo' style (but no where near as comfy as the real thing) style seats, a lot of highline 150pd diesels came with leather recaros (you could spec leather ones as an option but not cloth)

Can't remember what comfotline had as standard but baseline was a joke.
    There was also a horrible trendline which was an even cheaper 'Ricardo'.

Comfortline came with armrests as standard and decent, but unsupportive, velour seats, and electric windows all round,.

Service at it's highest, as usual men! Thanks :)

It's the interior/exterior specs I was after Quazzie

What my priority is, is for a completely colour coded one, don't like the black trim around the doors and bumpers, although you could pull it off with a black car. The oul gt tdi's aren't too plentiful, might have to lower my expectations! The power difference isn't a major factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,598 ✭✭✭tossy

Quazzie wrote: »
    There was also a horrible trendline which was an even cheaper 'Ricardo'.

Comfortline came with armrests as standard and decent, but unsupportive, velour seats, and electric windows all round,.

My bad i completely forgot about trendline. The velour seats were manky!

Engine wise avoid the 1.4 and 2.0(if you can find one)Petrols

The TDI's are great lumps, not rocket ships and dated now but impressive at the time. Still a well maintained one will never let you down.

I know of a 90bhp that's had zero TLC in it's life with 300 odd K on it and it never misses a beat, and a 130 pd with over 200k that's only recently receiving some TLC that still starts and goes pretty well.

Trendline was between base and comfort wasn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Id be getting the uppers done as well while george or his lads have there hands in that area. Its only a few more minutes work, instead of doing the bottoms now and deciding you want to do the uppers in 3 months time.
    Ive learnt that the hard way. Replaced one of the driveshafts on the gtv with one from the donor car a few weeks later, but the cv boot on the donor looked fine so it was put on. Now I need to replace the cv boot :rolleyes:

Upper arms are both new!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Keep running dude. ;)

You're a gent. Thanks for that.

Now to find a cheaper substitute. I need a few of those things :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 866 ✭✭✭renofan

GvidoR wrote: »
    Saw my old Colt today. :D

Also wondering if renofan saw Bora yet? :P

Sorry only seeing this now! No didn't get to see your Bora. I think it was around 20 past 9 when I went through Carrick on the Sat but I spent all day Sunday in Carrick and never spotted it. Maybe next time!

Upper arms are both new!

I'd still do them. They're the ones that allow for the camber to be adjusted and for the sake of another few quid you don't need to worry about them again. How long are the uppers lasting normally?