If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Rant Thread(a place to dump ur baggage)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Pretty much all boxers will do 5-6 miles easy before breakfast, even heavyweights (Ali and Tyson mention this 'daily routine' in their books).
    'Real training' will then often also involve track intervals or hill sprints as well. So you would expect fighters to make decent runners even if running is not their 'main thing'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Gavlor wrote: »
    If he's not a runner with that mileage then what does that make me??

Actually don't answer that

You might want to read Krusty's post again...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

RTE World Cup panel. They are f@cking clueless dinausors who moan, rant and talk nonsense. Their research seems to be reading a copy of the daily star.

I hope Dunphy and Giles move on to the same retirement home as bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

If he's not a runner with that mileage then what does that make me??

Actually don't answer that
    It begins with 'c' and end with 't'.
    cyclist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,108 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

It begins with 'c' and end with 't'.
    cyclist

Can I vote for post of the year now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,672 ✭✭✭✭walshb

RTE World Cup panel. They are f@cking clueless dinausors who moan, rant and talk nonsense. Their research seems to be reading a copy of the daily star.

I hope Dunphy and Giles move on to the same retirement home as bill.

Can't stand them, yet they seem to have this cult following here. Incoherent mumbling geriatrics. Bill is worse. Everything is so fake and choreographed with them. Remove post if too offensive!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

"The Body" Byrne and his stable of sycophantic Irish "Celebrities" who parade around social media as if they are some sort of elite group of endurance athletes...

drquirky wrote: »
    "The Body" Byrne and his stable of sycophantic Irish "Celebrities" who parade around social media as if they are some sort of elite group of endurance athletes...

Sure why wouldn't he portray that. You do know he has completed 3 marathons in under 4 hours as well as completing the Macchu Picchu trail? :D:pac:
    http://www.bodybyrne.ie/bodybyrne-fitness-the-team/

Not really cool to slate people's businesses and careers and reputations on a public forum. If I have done it in the past, I regret it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,646 ✭✭✭baldbear

People running in cycle lanes and thicks with headphones running in cycle lanes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Cyclists cycling with headphones on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

Dry needling on my calf at the physio today - trying to think of a time I've been in more pain :mad: At least it took my mind off my toothache:rolleyes:

Moody feckers on a Sunny Friday Afternoon - lighten up, lift up your head and enjoy life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Can I vote for post of the year now :D

Haha.... Can people please stop thanking krustys post?!

There's nothing funny about insinuating that a person is a CarroT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

Ososlo wrote: »
    Cyclists cycling with headphones on
    And on the footpath, selfish toe rags.

walshb wrote: »
    Not really cool to slate people's businesses and careers and reputations on a public forum. If I have done it in the past, I regret it!

There are lots of International class distance runners out there on the verge of or having qualified for major championships who receive absolutely no funding for their running. In a bid to earn a few quid to supplement their training/racing they offer running classes and/or one to one coaching for beginners and aspiring atheltes. Off the top of my head: Maria McCambridge, Sergiu Ciobanu and Gary O'Hanlon (probably there are many more) do this.
    I am sure they'd be only too delighted to gain a bit of publicity for their business by going on to radio stations or TV once in a while to give expert running advice.
    Yet who do the mainstream media (RTE, Independant Newspapers, Newstalk radio etc) promote as 'experts' on running? Rich Charlatans like Body Byrne and Karl Henry. People who got 'famous' because they probably train some z-list celebrities in their gyms.
    They know next to nothing about running but freely give advice to all because the media are so lazy to lump 'fitness' into one big box as if body building was the same thing as distance running.

To give a boxing example, Imagine Katie taylor or Paddy Barnes got no sports funding and in a bid to keep training were offering boxing lessons to the public. Would you be happy to see them lose out while some bodybuilder who maybe participated once in a white-collar boxing event was promoted in the media as some kind of boxing expert?

This is an Athletics/Running forum, I think we have every right to rant about these people tbh.

menoscemo wrote: »
    There are lots of International class distance runners out there on the verge of or having qualified for major championships who receive absolutely no funding for their running. In a bid to earn a few quid to supplement their training/racing they offer running classes and/or one to one coaching for beginners and aspiring atheltes. Off the top of my head: Maria McCambridge, Sergiu Ciobanu and Gary O'Hanlon (probably there are many more) do this.
    I am sure they'd be only too delighted to gain a bit of publicity for their business by going on to radio stations or TV once in a while to give expert running advice.
    Yet who do the mainstream media (RTE, Independant Newspapers, Newstalk radio etc) promote as 'experts' on running? Rich Charlatans like Body Byrne and Karl Henry. People who got 'famous' because they probably train some z-list celebrities in their gyms.
    They know next to nothing about running but freely give advice to all because the media are so lazy to lump 'fitness' into one big box as if body building was the same thing as distance running.

To give a boxing example, Imagine Katie taylor or Paddy Barnes got no sports funding and in a bid to keep training were offering boxing lessons to the public. Would you be happy to see them lose out while some bodybuilder who maybe participated once in a white-collar boxing event was promoted in the media as some kind of boxing expert?

This is an Athletics/Running forum, I think we have every right to rant about these people tbh.

And breathe :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭paddybarry

menoscemo wrote: »

Well said.

I wasn't aware that these guys were advertising themselves as running experts. Are they not running fitness businesses? Maybe they have the relevant experience and qualifications to run such businesses and offer help and advice to a consenting public. If so, fair play to them. They obviously have put in the time and effort to get themselves out there and to garner interest and support. For that I won't slate them or mock them. Probably belongs in the rave thread this one.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

I wasn't aware that these guys were advertising themselves as running experts. Are they not running fitness businesses? Maybe they have the relevant experience and qualifications to run such businesses and offer help and advice to a consenting public. If so, fair play to them. They obviously have put in the time and effort to get themselves out there and to garner interest and support. For that I won't slate them or mock them. Probably belongs in the rave thread this one.......

Whatever dude . It's the rant thread open yer own thread if you wanna defend " the Body"

My rant was post 2200...

Back on track. Seeing as it's WC time: The Irish who can't wait for England to lose even though most of them spend year after year raving about English soccer teams. Most who "hate" England don't seem to know why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Haha you have just done so about the RTE soccer punditry team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Just read this Body Byrne punter's website. Who on earth lists the Inca Trail as an achievement? I've done it, and there were fat people in my group, and they managed it also. The hardest thing about it is the altitude, which is down to acclimatisation not fitness. The porters carry your bags for you and set up the tents etc for you. It is spread over 4 days with plenty of rest. Amazing life experience? Yes. Good workout? Absolutely. Achievement? Get out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Back on track. Seeing as it's WC time: The Irish who can't wait for England to lose even though most of them spend year after year raving about English soccer teams. Most who "hate" England don't seem to know why.

I got slated in work Thursday for saying I hope England win,and this was from two men in their fifty's who were crying when Liverpool blew their only chance of ever winning the premiership.:)

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    I got slated in work Thursday for saying I hope England win,and this was from two men in their fifty's who were crying when Liverpool blew their only chance of ever winning the premiership.:)

That bugs me too. These anti England crew haven't got the manners and respect to say little, or even disagree politely when someone has the 'temerity' to say that they'd like to see England do well. Are they that removed from the climate of today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Asshole blokes old enough to know better than take kick abouts with kids seriously, argue with them over who's winning, gets short with random toddlers who don't realise the sticks in the ground are his goals, and who build their ****ing corner flag where I'm sitting with my kids and get in a snot when I ask him to be careful when the ball runs into us for the umpteenth time.

Edit, score, my glaring eventually worked and he's pissed off away to where there's been loads of space all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

I know why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    Is the premiership english? I know its based in England but all the top teams are foreign owned, managed and most of the top players are non-english. Its not unusual to have a team without an english born player on the pitch.
    Sure didn't england win the world cup in 1966, as they continue to remind everyone:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Soccer hand bag nonsense in the AR forum.