If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Rant Thread(a place to dump ur baggage)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,653 ✭✭✭✭walshb

menoscemo wrote: »
    It's a running club not a fooking triathlon club. :rolleyes:

Well, sorry for the attempt at a joke. I must start using the emoticons more often!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,578 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Stupidly not selecting the Super Saver Deliver from amazon and only realizing when I get the dispatch email. such as waste of £5.22

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

TRR wrote: »
    In Aldi buying apples for my office today.

Bag of 8 apples €1.50
    4 Cadbury double deckers €1.25

I had to leave the apples and exit the shop ASAP. If I had to queue those bad boy double deckers would have been bought too.

Nothing tastes as good as being a smug fook.. ;)

Mint rant take 2: ex mods on bikes roaring at me in public to lift my arms if I want to go faster... IT WAS AN EASY PACED 8 MILER!! Totes hilars Ray! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Sun burn blisters on arm pits and bum area.......wife says " where's eammo wen u need him"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Grown fecking men on the Dublin marathon Facebook page whinging because they won't get a medal for finishing a 5 mile or half marathon race?! Grown men?! I mean, what are you going to do with it, wear to to work and have everyone pat you on the back for finishing a race? Apparently people need to be rewarded for finishing a race now with a medal. Jesus.

Edit: cleaned up the swearing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

pconn062 wrote: »
    Grown fecking men on the Dublin marathon Facebook page whinging because they won't get a medal for finishing a 5 mile or half marathon race?! Grown men?! I mean, what are you going to do with it, wear to to work and have everyone pat you on the back for finishing a race? Apparently people need to be rewarded for finishing a race now with a medal. Jesus.

How about we make this a thread of it's own :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Oh it's that time of year again!! I think you should go on there and tell them to cop on :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭TRR

I like ray houghton. As a kid he was one of my favourite players. But my god he is annoying as a commentator. You'd swear he never missed a shot or misplayed a pass. Criticising the Croatian goal keeper for not saving that penalty is pretty typical of him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

TRR wrote: »
    I like ray houghton. As a kid he was one of my favourite players. But my god he is annoying as a commentator. You'd swear he never missed a shot or misplayed a pass. Criticising the Croatian goal keeper for not saving that penalty is pretty typical of him!

Ironically, considering he scored two of the most significant goals in Ireland's history, Houghton was notorious for scuffing shots when really well placed in the penalty area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭rom

Saw someone complaining about same about a bhaa 4M race here in Cork yesterday. ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

There's a weird disconnect there. People run a race, or complete a certain distance, and the fact that they've done so doesn't in and of itself satisfy them. they need a token to validate it. A t-shirt doesn't seem grand enough. It must be a medal.

Going to local kids activity center last Sunday with 2 1/2 year old (parents are allowed in it also, she is too small to go down the slides on her own). Its huge. Tuesday little one is dying sick, following day I am coming down with something. There is no way that place is every cleaned as it would take a week to do it. So you all know where not to go prior to your next big race. Wear gloves next time.

Rant 2. Why is there never pacers under 3 hours ? other than for the elites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

rom wrote: »
    Going to local kids activity center last Sunday with 2 1/2 year old (parents are allowed in it also, she is too small to go down the slides on her own). Its huge. Tuesday little one is dying sick, following day I am coming down with something. There is no way that place is every cleaned as it would take a week to do it.

Those places are giant petri dishes. Better off out in a field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Going to local kids activity center last Sunday with 2 1/2 year old (parents are allowed in it also, she is too small to go down the slides on her own). Its huge. Tuesday little one is dying sick, following day I am coming down with something. There is no way that place is every cleaned as it would take a week to do it. So you all know where not to go prior to your next big race. Wear gloves next time.

Rant 2. Why is there never pacers under 3 hours ? other than for the elites.

Usually someone brings their sick kid to the place and yours picked that up!!

I know how you feel, happened to me before New York last year!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

weddings
    going to weddings
    going to weddings where you won't know anyone
    driving 4 hours to go to a wedding that you don't want to go to where you won't know anyone
    spending the best part of 16 hours at a wedding that you have to drive 4 hours to get to that you don't want to go to where you won't know anyone
    having to talk to people you don't know at a wedding that you don't want to go to where you won't know anyone that you have to drive 4 hours to get to
    Shall I go on!
    rant in case you missed it: Weddings:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Ososlo wrote: »
    weddings
    going to weddings
    driving 4 hours to go to a wedding that you don't want to go to where you won't know anyone
    spending the best part of 16 hours at a wedding that you have to drive 4 hours to get to that you don't want to go to where you won't know anyone
    having to talk to people you don't know at a wedding that you don't want to go to where you won't know anyone that you have to drive 4 hours to get to
    Shall I go on!

Real rant is missing out in a guaranteed 5k PB in Kilbride!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

weddings
    going to weddings
    Shall I go on!

The lady doth protest too much ;)

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    The lady doth protest too much ;)

Lol you couldn't be more wrong ;)

tang1 wrote: »
    Real rant is missing out in a guaranteed 5k PB in Kilbride!!!

Don't even get me started on that :( or maybe it'd fill in the four hour car journey :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Bitter spinsters.

*Signs out of boards, quits running and hides in a cave for 5 years while the effect of this post causes mayhem :D

Gavlor wrote: »
    Bitter spinsters.

*Signs out of boards, quits running and hides in a cave for 5 years while the effect of this post causes mayhem :D
    Ha ha. Rant: Married men who are under the thumb and spend their days complaining online about "the wife" and how they have to do what they're told and go to concerts they don't want to go to just cause "the little lady" needs to be kept happy ;)
    why do people get married and then complaint about not being able to do what they want to do?
    This car trip could be fun afterall. I got 4 hours :) did I mention?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Ha ha. Rant: Married men who are under the thumb and spend their days complaining online about "the wife" and how they have to do what they're told and go to concerts they don't want to go to just cause "the little lady" needs to be kept happy ;)
    why do people get married and then complaint about not being able to do what they want to do?
    This car trip could be fun afterall. I got 4 hours :) did I mention?

Haha, I concur. Thankfully my little lady knows her role and simply makes me pay for stupid concert tickets for her and her friend :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Planning a wedding. Pain in the foooking hole.

Went to cumh a and e last night at 7. Wife got seen by a consultant at 2:20. Nothing serious but they told her to come in.Paying 3/4 k to go private gets u very little with the 3rd world health service. No doctors in the a and e for 5 hours. A woman in labour was left in the waiting room for an hour.

Then to cap it off 15 euro for parking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Went to cumh a and e last night at 7. Wife got seen by a consultant at 2:20. Nothing serious but they told her to come in.Paying 3/4 k to go private gets u very little with the 3rd world health service. No doctors in the a and e for 5 hours. A woman in labour was left in the waiting room for an hour.

Then to cap it off 15 euro for parking.

That's a joke. Hope all is well now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

weddings
    going to weddings
    Shall I go on!

I went to the evening do of a wedding yesterday where I didn't know anyone, I had a great night, tis all in your head;)
    Rant- been unable to run yesterday due to needing to get hair done for said wedding, been unable to run today due to late night/hang over:(

SamforMayo wrote: »
    That's a joke. Hope all is well now.

Nothing serious (and we knew that going in) but I remember getting a much better level of care in the Dominican Republic. Guy in there from Austria with his other half and said you would never be waiting more than 30 mins there. My wife is 39 weeks pregnant and went in fine but her legs swelled up huge as she was sitting for 7+ hours in a waiting room.

SamforMayo wrote: »

I went to the evening do of a wedding yesterday where I didn't know anyone, I had a great night, tis all in your head;)
    Rant- been unable to run yesterday due to needing to get hair done for said wedding, been unable to run today due to late night/hang over:(

I have been at weddings where I knew no one and I mean no one. Just me an a buddy. We only went in for a munch and sure no one is going to saw anything to you as even the bride and groom don't know everyone normally. While your day you have to have a few dances and conversations on how you know someone but don't really. Great fun. When they start to cop on off to the nightclub.

Ffs. Weddings.
    Wedding music.
    Wedding food(nothing for me to eat)
    wedding speeches
    Weddings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Ffs. Weddings.
    Wedding music.
    Wedding food(nothing for me to eat)