Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭RainMaker

Somebody at work was telling me earlier how he hasn't listened to anything Eamon Dunphy says anymore because of an incident a few years back when he was insinuating there was a split in the Spanish camp because Barcelona players weren't singing the national anthem... at a time when the Spanish national anthem didn't have any lyrics!

So anyway, went looking for Spanish national anthem now and found this:

"In January 2008, new lyrics to the Spanish national anthem, La Marcha Real, were revealed. The Spanish national anthem had been lyric-less since the death of dictator General Franco in the 1970s. But when the Spanish Olympic Committee heard fans of the English soccer team Liverpool FC sing the club's anthem 'You'll Never Walk Alone', it was decided that Spain too should have lyrics to its national anthem."

http://gospain.about.com/od/spanishlife/qt/anthem_english.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Daemonic

I call bull on that. Why would he be cheaper to the two richest clubs in the world?

Makes no sense what so ever!
    Because Suarez would like the opportunity to play for either of those above any other likely teams so insisted the release clause be low enough to tempt them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I call bull on that. Why would he be cheaper to the two richest clubs in the world?

Makes no sense what so ever!

He's hardly going to price himself out of a move to the two teams he probably wants to go to though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Agueroooo wrote: »
    I don't know how reliable this guy is or if the 325k followers are just all gullible ..

@barcastuff: Barcelona have been in touch with Luis Suarez' agent. Liverpool agreed he can leave for 70M to Barcelona/Madrid, 90M other teams [tv3 sport]”

Not that i believe that report but wouldn't you imagine that Barca/Real would be made pay more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Why would any club allow there best player go to any club for £20m less than what they have him valued at for other clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

Ok lads serious question...I am a language teacher and something came across my desk. I can't say much about it (i.e. names) but what would you teach a footballer language wise? My boss is saying living in Liverpool, finding a house, buying stuff etc, but I am thinking that he might like some tactics, training ground and coaching speech, history of our club etc. Would you look at articles from the newspaper or not? Replying to his Twitter account and replying to the press?

Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Daemonic

Why would any club allow there best player go to any club for £20m less than what they have him valued at for other clubs.
    To get him to sign a new contract. Henry admitted there was a 40m release clause in Suarez's contract and if Barca or Real bid that he might have pushed even harder for the move. He didn't seem 100% convinced moving to Arsenal was for him but if they came calling and bid 40m he'd force himself out of the club.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Feck your Mata'a and Cazorla's.

Valbuena is your man...what's his current value anyone?

Imagine him playing between the lines for LFC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Fescue

Ok lads serious question...I am a language teacher and something came across my desk. I can't say much about it (i.e. names) but what would you teach a footballer language wise? My boss is saying living in Liverpool, finding a house, buying stuff etc, but I am thinking that he might like some tactics, training ground and coaching speech, history of our club etc. Would you look at articles from the newspaper or not? Replying to his Twitter account and replying to the press?

Any ideas?

Shaqiri?

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Fescue wrote: »
    Shaqiri?

Can't say who it is but we have signed the player already. The lad is young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Sakho going off injured.

Daemonic wrote: »
    To get him to sign a new contract. Henry admitted there was a 40m release clause in Suarez's contract and if Barca or Real bid that he might have pushed even harder for the move. He didn't seem 100% convinced moving to Arsenal was for him but if they came calling and bid 40m he'd force himself out of the club.

Herny didn't become a billionaire buy letting his best assets go for £20m less than there value. He called Suarez and his agents buff last year and won he is hardly going to put a clause in a new contract that will cost him to lose his biggest asset for less than his market value.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Sakho is fücked and signalling for to sub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

I think livinginkorea actually lives in Germany, so...

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    Ye, but loike hez totes runz funy.

https://vine.co/v/MTgExLwqx22

Flanagan-esque tackle

Ashley Young?

I would teach him how do some of the simple things like ordering food etc... Also, learn the english words for all the numbers. I have found knowing how to count in French very useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,045 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Not digging shaqiri at all. Looks like a Swiss mark gonzales.

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

His price might have dropped at least. I'm sure there is a very good footballer in there somewhere but he isn't one now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

Valbuena, Sissoko, Matuidi. Any one would be a big upgrade for our midfield.

I would teach him how do some of the simple things like ordering food etc... Also, learn the english words for all the numbers. I have found knowing how to count in French very useful.

Thanks but I have other colleagues who will focus on that. I want to do the football stuff :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I reckon Senderos and Djourou have made Villa the new Norwich.

Edit Djourou is not moving to Villa, dunno why i thought that.

Thanks but I have other colleagues who will focus on that. I want to do the football stuff :D

Watch you're house.

I still here that shouted alot :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

mayordenis wrote: »
    Flanagan-esque tackle

And then he just slithered off the ground like an absolute boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

How dare you speak ill of Mark Gonzalez

I'm not sure I'd judge Shaqiri on this world cup - he is stuck out right at the start of each game and then moves inside. Should be in the AM position. He showed some quick feet and thinking.

mike65 wrote: »
    I'm not sure I'd judge Shaqiri on this world cup - he is stuck out right at the start of each game and then moves inside. Should be in the AM position.

Aye but is good enough to dislodge Coutinho or Sterling from there?

They are all on the same level imo.

He doesn't really need to be - Liverpool need a squad and he'd be a good sub if Sterling was knocked or tired.