Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

He's off! The baxdtart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

murpho999 wrote: »
    What criticism is he referring to? From English media maybe?

This is from his post match interview. I'm guessing its this and not specifically the English media.
    "This victory is for all those people who said so many bad things about the team, it's for them."

“People laughed about my injury, I had a very difficult moment. I thank my wife and children for enduring me."

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/12040/9355112/world-cup-luis-suarez-dreamt-of-scoring-two-in-uruguays-2-1-win-over-england

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Must have been a lot in South America media about Uruguay since their Chile loss, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭mada999

prob has been said already but Gerrard and Henderson hasn't worked for England at all... hope it works for us next season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭grohlisagod

He could be talking about the criticism he got in the last World Cup?

liam7831 wrote: »
    Not trolling lads but do ye feel Gerrard is finished, big part to play in Suarez second goal and that never to be forgotten slip?

I don't really blame Gerrard tbh....any team should be tight to one of the best attacking players on the planet....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,207 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

mada999 wrote: »
    prob has been said already but Gerrard and Henderson hasn't worked for England at all... hope it works for us next season

Liverpool don't play like England thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

It didn't really work for us either. We had the quality in front of that midfield that 1 - wasn't useless and could hang on to the ball and 2 - mitigated our midfield weaknesses.

Hendo - Gerrard wasn't ideal, it was just the tools we had available.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

I think he's been linked with us in the past, but yeah, I've seen Manolas a few times now, and he's always impressed. Only 23 years old, no nonsense defender and we have a good relationship with Olympiakos. Would be chuffed if we signed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭BMJD

so proud of our Luis tonight, he did it at the highest stage despite questionable fitness, proven 100% winner

Liverpool don't play like England thankfully.

true that dog, but we have 4 players in the same position tonight...except we thankfully have LUISSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I don't really blame Gerrard tbh....any team should be tight to one of the best attacking players on the planet....

Most of the blame being attributed to Gerrard is coming from 1 particular group of fans. The 2 centre backs were more at fault.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Comes down to Hodgson vs Rodgers.

Henderson and Gerrard in a midfield will work under one of them. Not the other.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Most of the blame being attributed to Gerrard is coming from 1 particular group of fans. The 2 centre backs were more at fault.
    :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Turtyturd wrote: »

Would that group be "football" fans?

Ya, Gerrard is having a rough time of it, looks completely out of energy, slow and cannot control a game from CM anymore. His role at LFC suits him much better. The role he's being asked to play for England was never his best position anyway.

Lets be honest though, while he has been poor, that England back 4 have been just as poor overall.

NukaCola wrote: »
    Ya, Gerrard is having a rough time of it, looks completely out of energy, slow and cannot control a game from CM anymore. His role at LFC suits him much better. The role he's being asked to play for England was never his best position anyway.

Lets be honest though, while he has been poor, that England back 4 have been just as poor overall.

Lets be honest, the England back 4 are still better than the Liverpool back four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Would that group be "football" fans?

JoeyQuotationMarks.gif

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Lets be honest, the England back 4 are still better than the Liverpool back four.

What has that got to do with anything

Everything got to do with it, he's playing a sweeper role at Liverpool, which consists of a defense that let in a record number of goals for a team that finished 2nd in the League.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

Im looking forward the Champions league next year.

Everything got to do with it, he's playing a sweeper role at Liverpool, which consists of a defense that let in a record number of goals for a team that finished 2nd in the League.

Serious question. Have you watched Gerrard this season at all?

He's not playing a sweeper role or even a traditional DM position. But anyway, i was talking about how poor Englands defense is this tournament.

For some reason your saying Gerrard is to blame for Liverpool having poor defense in reply to that? Are you also implying that he is to blame for a CB pairing who are being shown up at the tournament?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

This reminds me of the time when my Da explained to me the differences between international football and club football, I understood. I was 6 years of age.

Sounds like your da has also explained to you how you to continueously post like a 6 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Sounds like your da has also explained to you how you to continueously post like a 6 year old.

Ah yeah he did, then we had the chat about the birds and the bees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I'd say we'll hold onto Suarez for another season but once he tears up the Champions League it will be impossible to stop Real or PSG from breaking the bank to sign him.

If he has another wonder season then he will have to be considered for world player of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

I think he said something about Italy at the end

Just said he's only thinking about the next game against Italy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭the incredible pudding

Few things of note -
    Mick needs to lay off the sauce before posting on the internet and I hope to f**k that the Suarez is given a standing ovation when he gets back to the dressing room and by the fans on the opening day to convince him that it's in his best interest to continue to play for us and score f**king amazing goals for the rest of his career in merseyside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

This is from his post match interview. I'm guessing its this and not specifically the English media.

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/12040/9355112/world-cup-luis-suarez-dreamt-of-scoring-two-in-uruguays-2-1-win-over-england

He might have got a bit of grief in Uruguay for missing the first game, that's the only thing I can think of that would make sense within the context of what he said.

Delighted for Luis anyway, was angling towards supporting England last night only to see the little mischievous fecker winking and smiling in the tunnel before the game, no doubt at a Liverpool teammate.

That was enough for me to go neutral. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Few things of note -
    Mick needs to lay off the sauce before posting on the internet and I hope to f**k that the Suarez is given a standing ovation when he gets back to the dressing room and by the fans on the opening day to convince him that it's in his best interest to continue to play for us and score f**king amazing goals for the rest of his career in merseyside.

I'm hoping that the England fans will recognise a great player and a sloppy england lead to that defeat and not ****ing boo him when he gets back.