Racism in Rathfarnham

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

Without a doubt IMO the stupidest name for a political party/grouping.
    Profitable companies create jobs, supply a wage that's probably relative to their profitability, which in turn improves the lives of their employeess
    Is profit a bad word these days or something :confused:
    Sorry way off topic too

I have no opinion on them myself. The daft fools who want to have a go at them for organising a worthy protest need to get a grip of themselves though.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,506 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Wibbs wrote: »
    I seriously doubt it. Going by reports and what I previously heard from someone local, they're barely treating this at all up to now. Which is a bloody disgrace.

So they're treating it just like they do attempted murder then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Jake1 wrote: »
    But in this particular case, they tried to burn the guy out of it, a few times. His life is in jeopardy.

Wouldnt that, shouldnt that, warrant a protest?

What happened was horrible , but no I dont think so. Its such an isolated incident, almost unheard of in the country. If cases like this were occurring regularly then there should be protests, but no I just dont think any good would come of the protests. Its such a small select group of people who would perpetrate a crime like this, the vast vast majority of people in Ireland arent racist, well it looks that way to me atleast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

So they're treating it just like they do attempted murder then?

Do you think there is a difference in how the crimes are investigated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Profitable companies create jobs, supply a wage that's probably relative to their profitability, which in turn improves the lives of their employeess
    Sorry way off topic too

I have to disagree though. Look at the lives of some Chinese people who sleep in their workplace and work ridiculous hours for minuscule pay.
    I'm not saying it's like this in Ireland but there are companies who I've worked for who didn't give a **** about their employees welfare and were only interested in making big money for themselves. One company would basically threaten to sack an employee if they were not prepared to work overtime every day. I remember starting work on a Sunday at 8am and finishing at 1am and having to be in work the following day again at 8am. Most days that week I was in until 10pm and was so worn down just felt sick every day. I'd love to name the company because I've never met a single person who had a good word to saying about them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

The Garda Press office said gardai from Rathfarnham station are investigating the incident and arrested a 36-year-old woman who was released after questioning. They said investigations are "ongoing".
    I promise you; whatever scum did this, not one man on this force will rest one minute until he's behind bars. Now, let's grab a bite to eat...

Sorry way off topic too
    They're not called "People And No Profit".
    Are you saying profit is indeed more important than people?

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Wow. and here was naive me thinking racism of this kind didnt happen in ireland anymore...I thought we were well beyond this. Honestly...
    You don't have to look much further than this thread itself for confirmation, do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

What happened was horrible , but no I dont think so. Its such an isolated incident, almost unheard of in the country. If cases like this were occurring regularly then there should be protests, but no I just dont think any good would come of the protests. Its such a small select group of people who would perpetrate a crime like this, the vast vast majority of people in Ireland arent racist, well it looks that way to me atleast.

At the very least this will make the poor man feel as though he is not alone and has plenty of support. Anti-social behaviour isolates people, the neighbours didn't want to be named for a reason, and the gardai did nothing to help the poor fella, to make him feel safe. So at least this sends the message that someone gives a ****. To the scumbags who did this. To the neighbours who are too afraid to speak out, to the gardai who clearly don't and most importantly to the poor man who has been victimised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

Poor turnout. About 40 people. Most of the banners are about cutbacks. 'Cutbacks cause racism'. The actual incident happened in Whitechurch , 2 to 3 miles away. So why protest in the village??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Cheers for the info, I will be there this evening. Hope it is not hijaked by some of those groups involved in it.

Took one look at it and did a u turn. Hijaked by the "blame the government" brigade.

• Site Banned Posts: 10 Sellecks_Tache

This event just further more highlights the inadequately tackled scumbag problem IMO. Race being the stick used to bate the intended victim in this case.

Disgusting behaviour none the less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

gerard_65 wrote: »
    Poor turnout. About 40 people. Most of the banners are about cutbacks. 'Cutbacks cause racism'. The actual incident happened in Whitechurch , 2 to 3 miles away. So why protest in the village??
    Took one look at it and did a u turn. Hijaked by the "blame the government" brigade.

Cutbacks cause racism? People before profit should be ashamed of themselves for using this poor fellas victimisation for their own stupid agenda. Would have been really nice for politicians to leave their own crap at the door and come in support the poor fella who is having to deal with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Obviously the actions of these tosspots are inexcusable, funny how they pick and choose an old boy like this living on his own, if they really thought they were hard and had a problem with Black people they could go over to Harlesden or Toxteth and see how long they'd last.

I'm a bit mystified though as to why this chap hasn't stayed in Germany, he'd easily get some sort of job there with an Engineering background and he'd be far better off there, even on the Social. Maybe he'd split up with his missus or had some sort of family fallout or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

The Village is a good hub. There are places for people to stand in a crowd and parking etc.

There were banners talking about cuts.A lot of them in fairness.

But some people (individuals ) had banners saying 'who lives here belongs here'.
    There was also a lot of written material about how immigration benefits economies.
    I would have said it was double 40 people.
    It was slightly hijacked ....I was trying not to take pics of people for privacy issues. And when I took pics the banners were against the wall .I took some pics and there were posters also saying 'Who lives here belongs here'. I did see non political posters and banners.

Infact most of the crowd did not seem politically aligned. But there was a presence there. I saw cuts cause racism banners too but others also.

But there you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

Well perhaps before pulling down the shutters on the ivory tower and patting yourself on the back, take a bit a of time to actually educate yourself on what it could possibly be like to live in this country should you be deemed to look like an "non national".

We have had SEVERAL racially motivated MURDERS over the last few years, in case you have forgotten.

I'll just remind you.

"The parents of a 15-year-old stabbed to death in Tyrrelstown, west Dublin, have condemned his murder as a racially motivated.

Toyosi ****ta Bey (15), from Mount Eustace in Tyrrellstown but originally from Nigeria, was fatally stabbed in the heart as he walked through his estate towards home with a group of friends at 8pm on Friday night.

"They killed my son because he was black. God has taken him from me but in my dreams I can see my son," his mother Segun ****ta Bey told the Sunday Tribune. "He never did anything to anyone. All he did was play football, that was his life. Is it a crime that he is black? My life is finished in Ireland. I regret ever coming here."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Wow. and here was naive me thinking racism of this kind didnt happen in ireland anymore...I thought we were well beyond this. Honestly...
    You see, I don't think these kind of attacks are specifically racially motivated. That is, I don't think the group involved have an anti-black agenda that they've thought through, or some nationalist modus operandi. I doubt they go around targetting black people or families and abusing them.

I suspect that they have taken a grudge against this guy and latched onto his colour as a reason for abusing him. Much like the schoolyard gang of bullies will abuse the fat kid for being fat, even though 2 or 3 of their gang members are fat.

They latch onto the aspects on which the person stands out, and attack that as a point of vulnerability. These aren't people with any kind of pattern or well-considered plan. They're just plain old scumbags doing plain old scumbag things. They probably go down the pub and have pints with black friends and draw no link between the racist abuse they've given this guy and their friendship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Chinasea wrote: »
    Well perhaps before pulling down the shutters on the ivory tower and patting yourself on the back, take a bit a of time to actually educate yourself on what it could possibly be like to live in this country should you be deemed to look like an "non national".

We have had SEVERAL racially motivated MURDERS over the last few years, in case you have forgotten.

I'll just remind you.

"The parents of a 15-year-old stabbed to death in Tyrrelstown, west Dublin, have condemned his murder as a racially motivated.

Toyosi ****ta Bey (15), from Mount Eustace in Tyrrellstown but originally from Nigeria, was fatally stabbed in the heart as he walked through his estate towards home with a group of friends at 8pm on Friday night.

"They killed my son because he was black. God has taken him from me but in my dreams I can see my son," his mother Segun ****ta Bey told the Sunday Tribune. "He never did anything to anyone. All he did was play football, that was his life. Is it a crime that he is black? My life is finished in Ireland. I regret ever coming here."
    Did the gardai carry out any investigations to actually confirm whether it was a racially motivated attack?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭MacBizzle

Did the gardai carry out any investigations to actually confirm whether it was a racially motivated attack?

I was thinking the same thing; the testimony of two grieving parents is always going to be affected by their grief, they may think it was a racist attack but I wonder if the Gardaí ever found any proof to show this was the case...?

EDIT: Just looked up the case and it was said to be a "row with racial undertones", I would interpret this as more to do with a row which led to racial abuse, as opposed to the boy being attacked because he was black. I'm open to correction though, I just looked at some articles online.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

MacBizzle wrote: »
    I was thinking the same thing; the testimony of two grieving parents is always going to be affected by their grief, they may think it was a racist attack but I wonder if the Gardaí ever found any proof to show this was the case...?

EDIT: Just looked up the case and it was said to be a "row with racial undertones", I would interpret this as more to do with a row which led to racial abuse, as opposed to the boy being attacked because he was black. I'm open to correction though, I just looked at some articles online.

That row was not when the murder happened. The prosecutions case was that the murder happened after Paul Barry had gone after them because he thought they had taken a phone in the previous argument, which was the one with racial undertones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

Lou.m wrote: »
    The Village is a good hub. There are places for people to stand in a crowd and parking etc.
    And there was no where closer to Whitechurch which wouldn't have been suitable? Protesting in the village will have no impact on what is happening in Whitechurch. Why didn't you bring your protest into the heart of the community where these issues are?
    Although it was amusing the see three guards there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

seamus wrote: »
    You see, I don't think these kind of attacks are specifically racially motivated. That is, I don't think the group involved have an anti-black agenda that they've thought through, or some nationalist modus operandi. I doubt they go around targetting black people or families and abusing them.

I suspect that they have taken a grudge against this guy and latched onto his colour as a reason for abusing him. Much like the schoolyard gang of bullies will abuse the fat kid for being fat, even though 2 or 3 of their gang members are fat.

They latch onto the aspects on which the person stands out, and attack that as a point of vulnerability. These aren't people with any kind of pattern or well-considered plan. They're just plain old scumbags doing plain old scumbag things. They probably go down the pub and have pints with black friends and draw no link between the racist abuse they've given this guy and their friendship.
    Possibly, but it seems simply like a racially-motivated attack too.

I agree though that not all attacks of non white people are necessarily racially motivated and can simply be just scummy attacks by scummy people, who'd attack anyone in the wrong place at the wrong time.

And there was no where closer to Whitechurch which wouldn't have been suitable? Protesting in the village will have no impact on what is happening in Whitechurch. Why didn't you bring your protest into the heart of the community where these issues are?

Why did you not have your own protest and then you could have it where suited you?

I supported it I attended I was not involved in picking the location.

I imagine the fact that there was adequate space for a crowd on a mainstreet where people could see and good parking played a part.

Why are you so disgustingly snide about those of us who were there with genuine intent?

Actually why didn't whitechurch residents have their own march then? In their community?

By the way the distinction between white church and Rathfarnham has never been clear....I live there ...some people would give Whitechurch some rathfarnham for the same address ..even the post office does this. If you live there you would know this.

Instead of moaning about how people who can be bothered to do something do it why not bother to do it your own way then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭DildoFaggins

Actions speak louder than words.

Also Happy Agamah was there himself and addressed the crowd. He thanked the crowd. So that alone is worth it.
    http://southdublin.today.ie/2014/06/20/news-anti-racist-rally-rathfarnham/

And when it was at is peak there were about 100 people.

Easy to judge when you just drive by.

I was glad to be a part of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

Glenmore isn't in Whitechurch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭dublin99

iamstop wrote: »
    I can't do anything directly, no. I'm too far away in Canada. However I posted this story to bring some awareness to some of the levels that racism can get to if left unchecked.
    Over here in Canada so called 'casual racism' is rampant and I make a point of calling out people around me who engage in it.
    Anyway, besides posting the story I've also since invited as many South Dubliners I know on Facebook to the previously posted event for the March against this kind of carry on.

People are giving the garda a hard time here, and rightly so IMHO, but I really feel the poor lad's neighbours ought to be ashamed of themselves for sitting idle while this was happening. I would never let this kind of thing happen in my neighbourhood. Not to that extent. I'd have called around to all the houses and set up some sort of community to out the mindless bafoons and let them know yer man doesn't stand alone. One for all and all for one.

"Casual or everyday racism" is not only rampant in Canada. It is widespread and rampant in Ireland but people do not undersrand what it is or want to acknowledge that it even exists.

An article from the Herald:

http://www.herald.ie/opinion/theres-nothing-casual-about-the-type-of-racism-we-see-every-day-30332607.html

I was having brunch with a group of friends in a quayside city centre restaurant recently and at around 3:30 pm, three Asian tourists, probably having seen the sign downstairs that advertise brunch being served till 4:30 pm, turned up at this upstairs restaurant. Although it was late and at least half of the main section of the restaurant was empty, these tourists were brought to the side corridor and seated at the far end right next to the door to the smelly toilets. There were plenty of other empty tables in the bright airy main section with a lovely view of the River Liffey.

I submitted a review of the restaurant on a popular tourism website and recounted what I saw. Instead of trying to find out when the incident took place, or to investigate the matter with a view of improving staff training - the owner responded aggressively by denying that the incident ever happened and dismissed my review as "mendacious and perfidious". Unfortunately, this may be the typical attitude of Irish business owners.

There is a current campaign "no racism on public transport in Dublin" and an associated launch for an anti-racism training toolkit this week. A similar campaign may well be adapted for the tourism/hospitality industry as well. Sadly unlike in the UK, there is a serious lack of training in "Equality and Diversity" in Ireland. This problem, coupled with the typical attitude of Irish business owners like the one I had encountered, will mean that racism will only perpetuate. Whilst violent racists attacks are (theoretically) dealt with by legislation, education and awareness campaign are the only way to stamp out such subtle racism which affects the day to day lives of many non white Irish citizens and give our tourism industry a bad name.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

dublin99 wrote: »

I was having brunch with a group of friends in a quayside city centre restaurant recently and at around 3:30 pm, three Asian tourists, probably having seen the sign downstairs that advertise brunch being served till 4:30 pm, turned up at this upstairs restaurant. Although it was late and at least half of the main section of the restaurant was empty, these tourists were brought to the side corridor and seated at the far end right next to the door to the smelly toilets. There were plenty of other empty tables in the bright airy main section with a lovely view of the River Liffey.

I submitted a review of the restaurant on a popular tourism website and recounted what I saw.

What a nasty, self-righteous, clueless thing to do to a business. You have absolutely no way of knowing why those people were seated where they were but anoint yourself with the right to publicly slur the staff. A restaurant is literally the very last type of establishment in which you'd find racist staff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

sabat wrote: »
    What a nasty, self-righteous, clueless thing to do to a business. You have absolutely no way of knowing why those people were seated where they were but anoint yourself with the right to publicly slur the staff. A restaurant is literally the very last type of establishment in which you'd find racist staff

Hit a nerve have they?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

Hit a nerve have they?

Oh, I'm sorry, did I miss the part where the waitress was making slanty-eye faces behind their back or where the OP overheard the manager telling her to put the dinks out the back where no-one can see them? Because I'm really struggling to see the racism here.