Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism in Rathfarnham

• 17-06-2014 11:12pm
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭

This is awful.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/they-banged-on-my-door-and-shouted-******-30354932.html

I grew up in Rathfarnham, not far from Glenmore, where this happened. Absolute disgrace. What the hell is wrong with these idiots in this day and age? I wish I was back in Ireland and could do something to help this poor lad.
    Setup a watch over his place or something. And the guards are useless in cases like this. I've heard of a good few cases of houses being terrorized and police are less than useless because when you try to do anything to protect yourself from these simpletons like try to capture them of camera in the act they tell you it is illegal to photo them! WTF?

If I still lived anywhere near the area I'd be calling over to him regularly checking up on him and letting people watching know he wasn't alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Something tells me this fella didn't take 'their' jobs.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

:(

Not often I've been ashamed of the place I spent a large amount of my childhood growing up, and probably never more than this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

They are absolue scumbags for doing that.

I also hate that damned newspaper...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

iamstop wrote: »
    This is awful.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/they-banged-on-my-door-and-shouted-******-30354932.html

I grew up in Rathfarnham, not far from Glenmore, where this happened. Absolute disgrace. What the hell is wrong with these idiots in this day and age? I wish I was back in Ireland and could do something to help this poor lad.
    Setup a watch over his place or something. And the guards are useless in cases like this. I've heard of a good few cases of houses being terrorized and police are less than useless because when you try to do anything to protect yourself from these simpletons like try to capture them of camera in the act they tell you it is illegal to photo them! WTF?

If I still lived anywhere near the area I'd be calling over to him regularly checking up on him and letting people watching know he wasn't alone.

https://www.facebook.com/events/242101795983319/

Don't worry we are on it!

Rally: No to Racism. Who Lives Here Belongs Here

Thursday 19th half six. In Rathfarnham Village ...(which is near the police station :rolleyes: )

Called by Rathfarnham Anti-Racism Activists, People Before Profit

Supported by (list will be further updated as we get confirmations)

Unite the Union, Ireland
    www.unitetheunion.org

SIPTU
    www.siptu.ie

The ENAR Ireland Network
    http://enarireland.org/

Immigrant Council of Ireland
    www.immigrantcouncil.ie

Roma Integration Association Ireland
    www.romaintegrationassociation.org

Anti-Deportation Ireland

Turkish Irish Association

Cllr Nicky Coules, People Before Profit
    Cllr Sarah Holland, Sinn Fein
    Cllr Karl Gill, People Before Profit
    Cllr Brid Smith, People Before Profit

Oh good lord ..awful isn't it?:(

Gardaí in the Rathfarnham police station have difficulty dealing with my passport issues !!! They couldn't even seem to keep youths in the Sarah Curran Club under control in the day!
    A neighbour, who asked not to be identified, told the Sunday Independent: "I called the guards three times on Sunday night. The flames from the fire were shooting up to the roof. We were afraid it could get in under the eaves and spread across the roof space. People could have been killed.

"This shouldn't happen to anyone. It's horrible. The guards didn't ask me for a statement. I was outside. They didn't ask for my contact details."
    I am not surprised. Sadly.

Lou.m wrote: »

Thats brilliant. I was just thinking to myself,that it would be nice if some neighbours or locals kept an eye on him for a while.
    But hopefully the might of Rally might drive the message home to these disgusting people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

This is unfortunate.

It is also a case of life imitating Fair City. They had a story of a black taxi driver and his family being burnt out of his house years back. Can't remember whether there were any casualties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Check this out. Particularly post #8.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=90854336

I could well imagine that many non white rathfarnham residents could feel oppressed after this.

Shameful he feels he has to leave Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Nib wrote: »

Jackeens is a racist term

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I think a story like this belongs in AH.
    The location is rather irrelevant. It's the absolute disgrace of what happened to the poor man and the seemingly lack of action taken the the Gardaí that is the story here.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Explain to me how this is a regional Dublin-centric issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭MacBizzle

It is also a case of life imitating Fair City. They had a story of a black taxi driver and his family being burnt out of his house years back. Can't remember whether there were any casualties.

I somehow doubt they were imitating fair city in fairness..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

I presume the Gardai are treating this as an attempted murder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Neil3030 wrote: »

One would hope so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

If only us grief tourists could actually do something about this. instead of just being outraged on the internet.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

If only us grief tourists could actually do something about this. instead of just being outraged on the internet.

I can't do anything directly, no. I'm too far away in Canada. However I posted this story to bring some awareness to some of the levels that racism can get to if left unchecked.
    Over here in Canada so called 'casual racism' is rampant and I make a point of calling out people around me who engage in it.
    Anyway, besides posting the story I've also since invited as many South Dubliners I know on Facebook to the previously posted event for the March against this kind of carry on.

People are giving the garda a hard time here, and rightly so IMHO, but I really feel the poor lad's neighbours ought to be ashamed of themselves for sitting idle while this was happening. I would never let this kind of thing happen in my neighbourhood. Not to that extent. I'd have called around to all the houses and set up some sort of community to out the mindless bafoons and let them know yer man doesn't stand alone. One for all and all for one.

Reading the thread might help for a start. :rolleyes:

Post 5

There is a rally this thurs in rathfarnham village if you care to join.
    I can't believe the irony of your cynicism actually preventing you from seeing it in the thread. Never mind the more the merrier ...who lives here belongs here.

Thursday 19th half six. In Rathfarnham Village ...(which is near the police station )

Called by Rathfarnham Anti-Racism Activists, People Before Profit

Supported by (list will be further updated as we get confirmations)

Unite the Union, Ireland
    www.unitetheunion.org

SIPTU
    www.siptu.ie

The ENAR Ireland Network
    http://enarireland.org/

Immigrant Council of Ireland
    www.immigrantcouncil.ie

Roma Integration Association Ireland
    www.romaintegrationassociation.org

Anti-Deportation Ireland

Turkish Irish Association

Cllr Nicky Coules, People Before Profit
    Cllr Sarah Holland, Sinn Fein
    Cllr Karl Gill, People Before Profit
    Cllr Brid Smith, People Before Profit

Oh good lord ..awful isn't it?

Gardaí in the Rathfarnham police station have difficulty dealing with my passport issues !!! They couldn't even seem to keep youths in the Sarah Curran Club under control in the day!

Quote:
    A neighbour, who asked not to be identified, told the Sunday Independent: "I called the guards three times on Sunday night. The flames from the fire were shooting up to the roof. We were afraid it could get in under the eaves and spread across the roof space. People could have been killed.

"This shouldn't happen to anyone. It's horrible. The guards didn't ask me for a statement. I was outside. They didn't ask for my contact details."
    I am not surprised. Sadly.

I think a story like this belongs in AH.
    The location is rather irrelevant. It's the absolute disgrace of what happened to the poor man and the seemingly lack of action taken the the Gardaí that is the story here.
    Unfortunately unless I'm Black and don't realise it I don't think the Garda inaction is racially motivated.

**** stuff to happen and if the articles are accurate it's disappointing to say the least. At least the neighbours still call the gardai and hopefully the locals will put an end to it.

I can't do anything directly, no. I'm too far away in Canada. However I posted this story to bring some awareness to some of the levels that racism can get to if left unchecked.
    Over here in Canada so called 'casual racism' is rampant and I make a point of calling out people around me who engage in it.
    Anyway, besides posting the story I've also since invited as many South Dubliners I know on Facebook to the previously posted event for the March against this kind of carry on.

People are giving the garda a hard time here, and rightly so IMHO, but I really feel the poor lad's neighbours ought to be ashamed of themselves for sitting idle while this was happening. I would never let this kind of thing happen in my neighbourhood. Not to that extent. I'd have called around to all the houses and set up some sort of community to out the mindless bafoons and let them know yer man doesn't stand alone. One for all and all for one.

Thats great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

I thinks you have rose tinted glasses on friendo, no offense. They're setting fires and practically trying to murder someone. The police ignore it. and you want the neighbours to get involved? So then they can become the victims of either A the gang, or B the police. Because if its one thing I know. The johnny dogooder goes to jail for trying to fight the good fight. long before the guy with 60 convictions.

And maybe I'm cynical, I do hope your stand together march works. But considering These people don't care about killing someone. they won't batter an eyelid about a meeting. They're more likely bragging about it right now.

Unfortunately unless I'm Black and don't realise it I don't think the Garda inaction is racially motivated.

**** stuff to happen and if the articles are accurate it's disappointing to say the least. At least the neighbours still call the gardai and hopefully the locals will put an end to it.

The prob is it might not be locals...it could be from his work as a taxi driver...it is a national issue.

But I think the rally in Rathfarnham is important it is important that non white residents do not feel oppressed by this event. I understand how they could feel that way after this.

If it is locals we must try and show we are against it.

The prob is it might not be locals...it could be from his work as a taxi driver...it is a national issue.

But I think the rally in Rathfarnham is important it is important that non white residents do not feel oppressed by this event. I understand how they could feel that way after this.

If it is locals we must try and show we are against it.
    Locals can do something about it, I'd be very surprised if Irish racists suddenly organised against this guy all of a sudden.

A rally is one thing, honest opinions and discussions day-to-day are what make the difference.

I thinks you have rose tinted glasses on friendo, no offense.

So do what? Sit back and do nothing? I'm guessing there are no more than 4 or 5 thugs involved, of those I'd say one or two call the shots and the others just go along. If the entire street your man lived on took a stand and made it clear they were not on for that kind of carry on going on in their names and actively took steps to make it know that they stood with your man, and not just idly by and 'minded their own business' these scum would think twice.
    The johnny do-gooder goes to jail for trying to fight the good fight. long before the guy with 60 convictions.

Eh, I'm not sure what you thought I had in mind. I wasn't suggesting some kind of vigilanty 'kick ass-esque' violence. I more so meant keeping everyone informed about the situation and for everyone to report any activity they saw and put pressure of the garda to act.
    Often these punks are cowards and will run away if confronted. I know it is difficult for one person to make a stand and get behind the oppressed side for fear of being singled out and victimized for doing so but if the whole community rallies against this kind of behavior it makes the few perpetrators of these cowardly acts the minority and not the poor lad who almost has his gaff burnt down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

Has Ireland got any hate crime or racism laws/sentences in place?
    Judges in the UK at the moment are giving jail time to people who partake in racist activity. Even verbal. I think that's a good step in the right direction.

If someone was to go onto the streets of Dublin and shout racist terms at people would the guards be able to arrest them for racist behavior or would it be just disturbing the peace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

:rolleyes: I guess the Canadians are soooo glad you're there to lecture the residents on how they ought to behave, according to perfect you.

Mod: Banned

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Neil3030 wrote: »
    I seriously doubt it. Going by reports and what I previously heard from someone local, they're barely treating this at all up to now. Which is a bloody disgrace. Only when it got to this stage and the beady eye of the wider public is in play have they moved on things.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/warning-of-rise-in-racism-among-irish-children-253775.html
    "A migrant advocacy group has warned that Irish children are becoming increasingly racist, as figures show almost one in every five cases of racial abuse is perpetrated by under 18s.

The graphic finding is contained in the Immigrant Council of Ireland’s annual Racist Incident Statistics for 2013.

According to the document, a total of 144 cases of racism were reported to the ICI over the past 12 months, up 85% on the 78 incidents highlighted in 2012.

However, despite the shocking rise, ICI chief executive Denise Charlton said the most worrying trend is the increase in racism among young people, with almost one in every five cases being instigated by children and teens.

The figures show that during 2013 a total of 17% of racist abuse perpetrators and 8% of victims were under the age of 18, the youngest of whom was just three years old.

School holidays were the “peak period” for racist abuse, with verbal and written attacks the most common form of incident (52%), followed by discrimination (24%) and physical violence (9%)......."

And so it continues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Jackeens is a racist term

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

Terrible stuff. I really hope justice is served here.

One thing I don't get why people are ashamed of their area over one incident in their local area.
    Unless you did it why be ashamed. Be angry by all means but feeling shamed? Wtf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

If you wanna do something about this get 10 mates and lie in wait for them to come back around, then beat the ever loving sh1t out of them. Its the only thing inbred ignorant fvcktards like this will understand.

Now of course people will be like "ohh vigalnte justice is never the answer, let the gardai do their job" well obviously the gardai arent capable of much in this instance when his house is attacked 3 times in one night are they? The simple fact is they arent afraid of the gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Don't incite violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Reading the thread might help for a start. :rolleyes:

Post 5

There is a rally this thurs in rathfarnham village if you care to join.
    I can't believe the irony of your cynicism actually preventing you from seeing it in the thread. Never mind the more the merrier ...who lives here belongs here.

Huzzah! Every quango hack and special interest group has jumped aboard, we're saved!
    What has an anti deportation group (the bloke is legally here) and the Socialist Workers Party People Before Profit go to do with this beyond another round of self promotion and petty self interest?

The cops need a giant kick up the hole and this government needs to prioritise frontline policing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

conorhal wrote: »
    Huzzah! Every quango hack and special interest group has jumped aboard, we're saved!
    What has an anti deportation group (the bloke is legally here) and the Socialist Workers Party People Before Profit go to do with this beyond another round of self promotion and petty self interest?

Well the anti deportation group is there because this is probably an issue that many of the people they represent face on a day to day basis.

This rally isnt just to combat racism against this specific one person its about all racism that affects anybody out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Reekwind

conorhal wrote: »
    Because they're groups that have consistently taken a strong and public anti-racism line?

VinLieger wrote: »
    Well the anti deportation group is there because this is probably an issue that many of the people they represent face on a day to day basis.

This rally isnt just to combat racism against this specific one person its about all racism that affects anybody out there

Na, groups like that with their open borders nuttery and opposition to sensible immigration policies do more to foster racism then combat it, and since when did repatriating failed asylum seeker constitute racism?

Then you have the SWP, the most hideous self promoters in politics that would turn up to protest at the opening of an envelope. Their hijack tactics effectively dismantled the anti property tax movement.
    I went to one protest at the conference center and by the third speech in the agenda had changed to Shannon and the Shell gas pipeline. Those eejits have nothing to add to a protest except perhaps it's fracturing and dismantlement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I, somewhat naively, thought that as a country we were gone on from all of this.

I know its a minority, but this is deeply saddening, disturbing, and infuriating.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

EyeSight wrote: »
    Has Ireland got any hate crime or racism laws/sentences in place?
    Who needs it when you've the ability to charge someone for Blasphemy.
    Judges in the UK at the moment are giving jail time to people who partake in racist activity. Even verbal. I think that's a good step in the right direction.

We shouldn't put someone away for what we consider bad taste and inappropriate. There's no problem with an opinion or discussion of it. The issue is with actions motivated by it.
    If someone was to go onto the streets of Dublin and shout racist terms at people would the guards be able to arrest them for racist behavior or would it be just disturbing the peace?

I'd hope it's for disturbing the peace. Doesn't matter what kind of shíte they'd be shouting on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

Reekwind wrote: »
    Because they're groups that have consistently taken a strong and public anti-racism line?

I knew i was just being RACIST when i was outraged at the Eritrean rapist who couldn't be deported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Actually this issue goes beyond racism. It's obvious that our police force and justice system are incapable of investigating, prosecuting and punishing the perpetrators of a lot of crimes where assault, violence or attempted violence occur. The problem is not one where the law is weak, it is one where the resources aren't there and ergo the will isn't there to prosecute these people.

Judges also seem to be unable or unwilling to pass down appropriate sentences when prosecution does actually occur to act as deterrents to those who carry out crimes like this. Until that changes we will see crime and thuggery rise from certain elements in society.

VinLieger wrote: »
    If you wanna do something about this get 10 mates and lie in wait for them to come back around, then beat the ever loving sh1t out of them. Its the only thing inbred ignorant fvcktards like this will understand.

I know where you are coming from but I don't feel it need all that. If enough normal people just stood up against the few it would speak volumes.
    I'm reminded of the 'pushers out' type thing that went on in the early 90s in places like Dolphins Barn and the North inner city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭SEANoftheDEAD

Only came across this article this morning. I'm shocked to read that something like this can happen in Ireland.

I'm from and have lived in Whitechurch Estate for 28 years now, which is two minutes away from where this attack took place, and can't quite believe what I'm reading. I'm pretty sure I've talked to this man a few times and he seems like a nice guy.

In my area there are loads of nationalities from African, East Europeans, Spanish etc etc and never once have I seen or heard of the local people (youth or adult) have/do anything remotely racist.

I'm urging any local people to join the rally tonight and show support for his man.

Disgraceful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

No. :( Horrible story. Shower of ****heads. Disgusting behaviour. Hope the rally goes well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

I'm in two minds if I will go to the protest.
    On one hand, I would like to protest against Racism.

On the other hand the protest has been hijacked by lefty loons who would like to pump more money into 'social' causes that turns places like Glenmore into Irish ghettos. Thus leading to more social isolation, kids never leaving their estates, never getting jobs, never getting socialised properly, leading to more misplaced views on immigration and long term more racist attacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

aphex™ wrote: »
    On the other hand the protest has been hijacked by lefty loons ...

This is the problem with a lot of protests in this country and what would put me off getting involved. The last thing I would want is to be associated with some of the people who are involved on a permanent basis in the "protest industry" in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Thursday 19th half six. In Rathfarnham Village ...(which is near the police station :rolleyes: )

Cheers for the info, I will be there this evening. Hope it is not hijaked by some of those groups involved in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

when you try to do anything to protect yourself from these simpletons like try to capture them of camera in the act they tell you it is illegal to photo them! WTF?

Pretty sure you just made that up because it is most certainly not the case.

To be honest, this isn't a result of racism really. That's just the reason they've used on this occasion. They'll target anyone and use any excuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

Something tells me this fella didn't take 'their' jobs.

Have many black people "taken" jobs here. Not from the dole queues that I have seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

allibastor wrote: »
    Have many black people "taken" jobs here. Not from the dole queues that I have seen.

Jaysus, they either take all 'our' jobs or they dont take enough

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Jaysus, they either take all 'our' jobs or they dont take enough

"Of course, foreigners steal your job. But maybe, if someone without contacts, money, or speaking the language steals your job, you're ****."

Tabnabs wrote: »
    "Of course, foreigners steal your job. But maybe, if someone without contacts, money, or speaking the language steals your job, you're ****."

You may indeed be ****, or merely less then willing to work for less then the minimum wage paid under the counter.