Livestock/General Farming photo thread ***READ MOD NOTE IN POST #1***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

How did you get on leg wax?
    There was another add on dd with blues going to carnew mart to.

i brought 9 down and 9 home,we never even put them into the ring,only 1 shipper there,if i had sold yesterday i would be out of pocket by 2k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

leg wax wrote: »
    i brought 9 down and 9 home,we never even put them into the ring,only 1 shipper there,if i had sold yesterday i would be out of pocket by 2k.

It's hard but your better off try another day. To many lads take that they get. I saw on the bb websight one nice 445kg bull make 1270 and they said that was good. It's a few quid away from good IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Would you not put um through the ring anyway. See how far they get. High possibility that youd sell them outside the ring after. If you still weren't happy you could carry them home. That being said I reckon you probably knew the solitary shipper and his form. Good BB bulls and heifers are going for €3+kg at the moment. A few of mine went quite abit more. But that was just luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

TITANIUM. wrote: »
    Would you not put um through the ring anyway. See how far they get. High possibility that youd sell them outside the ring after. If you still weren't happy you could carry them home. That being said I reckon you probably knew the solitary shipper and his form. Good BB bulls and heifers are going for €3+kg at the moment. A few of mine went quite abit more. But that was just luck.

shipper insulted me by offering only 2.75 a kg,blues were sold for 2.40-2.60 yesterday, 3 weeks ago they paid me 3.07 for only ok partenaise bulls, the bb society are fooling themselves by putting that crap up on their facebook page.i said i would not waist the time of all the mart staff by putting them thru the ring.where and when did you sell or to who,, pm if you want,as much information passed around to each other will help in these tough times.
    leg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

shipper insulted me by offering only 2.75 a kg,blues were sold for 2.40-2.60 yesterday, 3 weeks ago they paid me 3.07 for only ok partenaise bulls, the bb society are fooling themselves by putting that crap up on their facebook page.i said i would not waist the time of all the mart staff by putting them thru the ring.where and when did you sell or to who,, pm if you want,as much information passed around to each other will help in these tough times.
    leg

Pm sent.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,965 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

2 month old aubrac calf out of blue/grey angus.

Legs I hope you did the right thing bringing them home, shippers aren't slow either to take advantage of depressed prices.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

lovely calf!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

This is alot nicer than the last few days sitting in a bollix of a tractor !
    Just home now and I'm burnt from about 10 minutes with my shirt off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

moy83 wrote: »
    This is alot nicer than the last few days sitting in a bollix of a tractor !
    Just home now and I'm burnt from about 10 minutes with my shirt off

Snap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,684 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I said wrote: »
    Snap

I officially hate both of ye right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Reggie. wrote: »
    I officially hate both of ye right now

Me too! Stuck in a roasting hot office all day! Almost home time though, can't wait to get the 'real work' clothes on and head out to do a few jobs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Now that's a crate;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

New licker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭Midlandsman80

Nice looking kit, how does the application to the roller work? Is it a push button type job?

I don't no I just took the PIC.being at silage so haven't had a chance to talk to my brother its his.

naughto wrote: »
    I don't no I just took the PIC.being at silage so haven't had a chance to talk to my brother its his.

Looks like the one I have. Is it from Tuamgraney Engineering. If it's the same there is a button on the lead to battery that turns the pump on and off. Nozzles above the roller then apply the mix on to carpet. Takes a bit of getting used to how often it needs to be turned on.

Parishlad wrote: »
    Looks like the one I have. Is it from Tuamgraney Engineering. If it's the same there is a button on the lead to battery that turns the pump on and off. Nozzles above the roller then apply the mix on to carpet. Takes a bit of getting used to how often it needs to be turned on.

Ya its from tuamgraney engineering, there is a lot of rushes to be licked so we will have plenty of time to get used to it.with farming part time they have taken over.
    The world cup matches are going to be the death of me,stayed up watching the Russia game last night ,young bouk awake at 6,we usually bring him into the bed until half 7.not a notion this morning.savage morning all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

Thought this suits today's weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭GrandSoftDay

Ya its from tuamgraney engineering, there is a lot of rushes to be licked so we will have plenty of time to get used to it.with farming part time they have taken over.
    The world cup matches are going to be the death of me,stayed up watching the Russia game last night ,young bouk awake at 6,we usually bring him into the bed until half 7.not a notion this morning.savage morning all the same

Naughto, could you pm me the price of it if you know? In the market for one myself and liked the look of those ones on donedeal.

No need to pm it was 1300,as far as I no he got it from a man in clare

Ya, he has been advertising them on donedeal there with a while alright. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

Very nice. Is it a bb out of a wh?

Calf with the mammy

Yep , great morning alright. Same story here with rushes. Hopefully they will be under control in a year or two.

I had the loan of a licker for a few days, great to seem them dying! Hate borrowing machinery though so must invest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,820 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I had the loan of a licker for a few days, great to seem them dying! Hate borrowing machinery though so must invest.
    Our local machinery man rents them out, €50 per day. Used one for the first time about two weeks ago for rushes/thistles and docks. It had a button that you pressed to release the weedkiller. Only fault that I had with it was then when it was sideways on a hill the roundup would dribble out to one side. Hence we have lines of burned off grass :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Base price wrote: »
    Our local machinery man rents them out, €50 per day. Used one for the first time about two weeks ago for rushes/thistles and docks. It had a button that you pressed to release the weedkiller. Only fault that I had with it was then when it was sideways on a hill the roundup would dribble out to one side. Hence we have lines of burned off grass :(
    If that's happenning, just work the licker both ways. That is, have the right side facing downhill on one pass and then the left side facing downhill on the next pass. Use a bit less liquid too.

Looks like a good job done there! What did you use?

Parishlad wrote: »
    Looks like a good job done there! What did you use?

Roundup at 30/1 about a month ago with a good dart of washing up liquid. Killed an odd bit of grass but thought it would be a lot worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

If that's happenning, just work the licker both ways. That is, have the right side facing downhill on one pass and then the left side facing downhill on the next pass. Use a bit less liquid too.

What other way could you do it?! :confused: :P