Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Kaiser D wrote: »
    We've literally just gone through a list of every possible colour, in matte.

White seems too "modern"

Hmmm, what about grey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Matt black is a bit of a cop out on an older car tbh

So is doing a "respray" by the side of the house, but its not a project I'm willing to throw a lot of money at outside of getting it roadworthy.
    Hmmm, what about grey?

We're thinking about leaving it in primer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

That's a day to remind me why I never really like leather seats.

Dartz wrote: »

My back was on fire today in the car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Left my car outside Halfords for about 5 minutes today with the windows up and I thought I was going to suffocate when I got back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

That's a day to remind me that I really really really need to regas the aircon. Have a friggin heat rash or something all around my eyes and nose :mad: Shades on for the day to disguise it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

That's a day to remind me that I really really really need to regas the aircon. Have a friggin heat rash or something all around my eyes and nose :mad: Shades on for the day to disguise it :pac:

Totally agree....my gtv is crying out for a recon however the money for the air con regas can be put towards a tasty rear arb from alfaholics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I had to get a tyre swapped on the Mazda today, got my trade policy mate to drive it up to the tyre shop and to the post office while we were at it.
    Just left the top down with the alarm on any time we got out, nice and airy when you get back in. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Mmmmmm these past few days are fantastic, was in Dublin on Tuesday, just wandering about..... :D:D:D

Now for my sins, I have a cold :mad::mad::mad: an excuse for a bottle of whiskey.... It was bad last night but at least today my nose isn't running (more walking)

As for the heat affecting cars, a few of the black cars here didn't suffer too bad, despite being left in the sun :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

dgt wrote: »
    As for the heat affecting cars, a few of the black cars here didn't suffer too bad, despite being left in the sun :cool:

Watch for that bird ****e though!

String wrote: »
    Watch for that bird ****e though!

That's the least of an ever growing list of my problems at the mo :o

****ing bird****e baking on.

It's like sitting in a bloody furnace, it is. Turn the ignition and it's so hot from being in the sun that the radiator fans spin up despite the engine technically being 'cold'

And despite having freshly gassed aircon, blowing plenty of cold air, it still utterly refuses to cool down comfortably. There's such a massive solar gain through the glass and black paint.

And worst of all, it melted my dashboard Tachikoma!

Upshot is, I know I've bot a solid car. After a hot traffic drive and a sit and soak in hot sun while I went to the shop - it fired right up without stuttering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Dartz here's a tip - have the air con on for about ten minutes and have it taking air in from outside. After ten minutes, set it to recirc the air already in the cabin. That way it's recirculating air that has already been cooled rather than hot air from outside ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

OSI wrote: »
    Just for the love of god, DON'T FART!!!

From experience? :p

Especially in a hot car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

CianRyan wrote: »
    From experience? :p

Especially in a hot car!

And on leather seats, it is the trifecta of nasal persecution!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Some wheeler dealer on DD bought a car I was looking at getting for ages and stuck it up again for double what he bought it for :(.

Dartz here's a tip - have the air con on for about ten minutes and have it taking air in from outside. After ten minutes, set it to recirc the air already in the cabin. That way it's recirculating air that has already been cooled rather than hot air from outside ;)

That's what I do. Also with the sunroof, or the tops of the windows open to let the hot air rise out of the car while cold air moves in from the bottom.
    OSI wrote: »
    Just for the love of god, DON'T FART!!!

The God of Thunder arises from the Crack of Arse.

Leather seats make them impossible to hide. Unlike absorbent cloth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Kaiser D wrote: »
    We've literally just gone through a list of every possible colour, in matte.

White seems too "modern"

Plastidip?

Plastidip + metalizer + glossifier = win?

I says feck this and went for a spin.... Holy crap much eye candy about!!! Nearly mounted kerbs and all :pac: best cure for that runny nose: a very hot car and breathe in. Clear in a shot :D

Now instead of being miserable inside the haus, I have an alfa seat in the garden and enjoying a nice cold ale, radio beside me, reading the paper, all calm and quiet otherwise. I might aswell, as its nearly 30 degrees here and will prob never get this oppertunity again! No one about to pester me, total bliss :cool:

I'm thinkin of yis I swear ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

That's what I do. Also with the sunroof, or the tops of the windows open to let the hot air rise out of the car while cold air moves in from the bottom.

air con cannot work effectively with sunroof or top of window open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

cabb8ge wrote: »
    air con cannot work effectively with sunroof or top of window open

He just meant that he opens the sunroof to let out the majority of the hot air before the air con takes full effect. Not a bad idea but it's stupid to have a window open when the air con is on full operating procedure.

Interslice wrote: »
    Some wheeler dealer on DD bought a car I was looking at getting for ages and stuck it up again for double what he bought it for :(.

Exact revenge by reporting him to revenue...

And screaming "off with his head!!!" down the phone :pac:

Yeah. Vent the hot air then seal it up...

Took a spin out to Tara and it seemed a bit better though. Maybe it was all in my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

some advice from people on the internet please.

They old man who crashed into me, his son rang me today to see if maybe the cost would just be a couple of hundred euro, I told him the old man said he would go through insurance so I had already contacted the relevent insurance companies to open a claim against the guys insurance. The damage is a few scraps and a 3 inch dent aswell as the steering wheel is totally off center which may mean bent suspension parts. I am sure the repaint repair will cost around €450 and suspension at least another €240.

I will try and get some quotes for repair tomorrow but is it too late to give the guy the option of paying himself as I already got the ball rolling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

They old man who crashed into me, his son rang me today to see if maybe the cost would just be a couple of hundred euro, I told him the old man said he would go through insurance so I had already contacted the relevent insurance companies to open a claim against the guys insurance. The damage is a few scraps and a 3 inch dent aswell as the steering wheel is totally off center which may mean bent suspension parts. I am sure the repaint repair will cost around €450 and suspension at least another €240.

I will try and get some quotes for repair tomorrow but is it too late to give the guy the option of paying himself as I already got the ball rolling?

I wouldn't go down the route of letting them pay. Let the insurance companies handle it, it's easier and less stressful for you to be honest. I've read plenty of horror stories about people trying to be sound, and letting the other party just pay out of pocket and it turning into a complete disaster.

What happens in a week when you or herself are in bits as a result of the injury. It'd be a lot harder getting medical expenses paid having agreed a cash deal.
    I'd get everyone who was in the car checked over by a doctor as well just in case there's something there. I think you mentioned you felt sore afterwards.

Thanks, think i will let thing continue through the insurance.

Do. I assume the man is worried about his NCB. His insurance might keep him happy too. When I had a crash (it was a tip and 100% my fault), the lady I hit went through my insurance. I thought that my 5 years NCB was gone down the drain but because the damage was so minimal Axa gave me an option of paying them back whatever they paid her before my renewal. I did just that and my slate was wiped clean. Its like it never happened

I dont know, its now the son that contacts me, I just want this to be over fast and get back to driving again, I might try and request a courtesy car or something as not having transport is a Pain in the behind.