Drink Driving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Jail em up and throw away the key.

A nice thought but given that one can soberly thieve and burgle through tens of thousands of euros worth of possessions, or injure someone randomly without going to jail, it is a pipe dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Jumboman wrote: »
    Can I ask how much over the limit were the people who hit your freinds ?

Two of them had "only" had two pints, the other had drunk an insane amount and couldn't even stand when the Gardai arrived.

I'll be honest here and say I don't recall the exact percentages they were over by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

When I'm tired I drive a lot slower.

If I was to drink alcohol I would also driver slower. I know any amount of alcohol can effect your drinking but I dont think having 2 pints is going to make someone a major danger on the roads.

Its the people who get locked drunk and drive their cars are the real danger.
    I assume you've been driving for a while and are comfortable. Doing those sort of things while drunk actually isn't difficult. I play pool quite well drunk, as a matter of fact I play pool just as well drunk as sober, for the most part. But if you ever had to react to something unusual then it is not automatic and the full force of what ever alcohol is in your system will come to bear. You have to make a logical decision that is not intuitive and any alcohol in your system will make that more difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

When I'm tired I drive a lot slower.

If I was to drink alcohol I would also driver slower. I know any amount of alcohol can effect your drinking but I dont think having 2 pints is going to make someone a major danger on the roads.

Its the people who get locked drunk and drive their cars are the real danger.

You can't assume that everybody drives more slowly when they've had one or two drinks.

And if I had two pints, I'd be able to perform all the basic functions in the car, but my reaction times and awareness would certainly be hindered, even if I weren't aware of that.
    Even so, there are plenty of people who would be drunker after two pints than you or I would be, and they would be dangerous.

But someone doesn't have to very drunk to be a danger on the road. All it might take is two or three pints after work, a functioning but sluggish driver and someone stepping onto the road.

I drive perfect with bout 10 pints on me ...its all the cars,trees and people swerving towards me who cant handle their drink!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭oceancat

i'v been done twice for DD in ireland been put off the road for 2 years each time and a couple of grand in fines never killed anybody just checkpoints, also got bagged in thailand when i lived there but that was a lot easier to get out of, just a couple of quid the right people and all went away.

Ahh my youth there was some crazy times.

oceancat wrote: »
    i'v been done twice for DD in ireland been put off the road for 2 years each time and a couple of grand in fines never killed anybody just checkpoints, also got bagged in thailand when i lived there but that was a lot easier to get out of, just a couple of quid the right people and all went away.

Ahh my youth there was some crazy times.

I think that was the idea behind keeping you from the roads for four years in total.
    I don't get how that could happen twice. After being caught again after previously being banned for two years you should have been permanently banned, surely.

when I read or hear about someone being done for drink driving and hear phrases like ' over twice the legal limit' i have an image of someone who langered slurring their speech and cant remember their name but in reality in prob only few pints!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭oceancat

I think that was the idea behind keeping you from the roads for four years in total.
    I don't get how that could happen twice. After being caught again after previously being banned for two years you should have been permanently banned, surely.

out of the 4 year total ban i only i was off the road for 2 years as i went back to court to get the licence back early after a year,

ahh they were crazy days

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Jumboman

I was just thinking that if you mix alcohol with certain drugs you can actually be more alert than if you have not been drinking at all.

The government could allow people to drink and drive if they were to take approved medication with the alcohol.

I was just thinking that if you mix alcohol with certain drugs you can actually be more alert than if you have not been drinking at all.

The government could allow people to drink and drive if they were to take approved medication with the alcohol.

Where do you normally drive?
    I want to make sure I'm never nearby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭umop.episdn

A viagra mojito?

Where do you normally drive?
    I want to make sure I'm never nearby.

There are drugs that can make you hype alert and wipe out the drowsy effects of alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,026 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

People who drink and drives are idiots of the highest order. I mean have a drink by all means but if you are drinking then do not ****ing drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Two of them had "only" had two pints, the other had drunk an insane amount and couldn't even stand when the Gardai arrived.

I'll be honest here and say I don't recall the exact percentages they were over by.

Do you think that if the 2 drivers didn't have their 2 pints, would it have made any difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

There are drugs that can make you hype alert and wipe out the drowsy effects of alcohol.

What drugs ?

Benzylpiperazine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

Benzylpiperazine.

I usually have a shot of that as a chaser after my last pint.

Sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

My father used to say he drove better whilst heavily inebriated back in the 70s when it was't a big deal, heightened awarness.

However he did put his own fathers car into a ditch one night so I wouldn't pay much heed to his theory. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Never have, Don't expect to either. 29 now, I take a pretty hard line approach. I don't even take a sip when I've got my car with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

I've driven after a few pints. Like maybe 3 maximum. Made no difference to my driving but obviously 3 pints is gonna affect different people in different ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Why can't they go to the pub and, you know, not drink? They could have a system with their friends where each week one of them is the designated driver for the group, so they don't have to abstain each week.
    Choosing to live at a distance from the pub and choosing to drink doesn't give someone the excuse to put lives at risk.
    emeldc wrote: »
    I live in a rural area about a mile and a half outside the town. I sometimes walk to the nearest pub for a pint or two (literally) and it would be very often just me and the publican. I'm not kidding. On my way home I would rarely see another car or person. I don't condone drink driving in any way but Jackie Healey Rae had a point.
    And just to clarify I can't stand that political clan.

I'm not in favour of drink driving but I do have a certain amount of sympathy for elderly single men in rural areas that live 5 or so miles away from any pub. Sure they could walk or not drink but there are no buses or taxis. There has been talk of cheaper/simpler taxi licences for publicans but I've yet to see these at all. The prospect of car sharing makes sense but as the poster above says its frequently 1 or 2 people in the bar.

I don't have an answer but its a problem that deserves some thought.

A viagra mojito?

Gives you something to hang into going round corners :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I used to think I was ok driving the car home on a friday after a couple of pints (back when the limits were a lot higher).

But once I tried riding my motorbike after just a glass of beer. Big difference. Even just a glass affected my balance, cornering and general judgement. Made me realise that any booze can affect you.

Have not drank and driven anything since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

I'm sure some people would disagree with you, especially in rural areas. In urban areas there's no excuse because you've got more buses, taxis'n'stuff, but if you live in a rural area, in the middle of nowhere, and you want to socialise, I'm sure it'd be tempting to drive 2 or 3 miles to the local.

I don't drive so it's not an issue for me (although I've been a 'drunken' cyclist on a few occasions).

rural areas have taxi's too.

You just might have a longer wait time for it. As it's often only one taxi.

You also do NOT need to drink, to socialise.

If there happens to not be a taxi, organise with a neighbour or someone who drink or who doesn't. Or just don't drink yourself.

There really is no excuse.
    What do you do with someone that has been drinking and driving the last 20 years.

Never been caught and never been stopped and are good drivers.

And at this stage in there life they think that well doing it so long now they think in some crazy way that is ok to drink and drive..

What do you do with someone like that ?
    You man up and report them, one of the days they step into the car after having a few.
    You call the cops and report them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Benzylpiperazine.

You are joking .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭CFlat

Im driving since the mid 80s and I can say the amount of drink driving going on then was epic. I cant remember ever considering not taking my car cause I was going drinking and all my friends were the same. All night parties and driving home after. Im not saying I didnt do it in the 90s or even the early noughties but it would have been to my local for a few early ones and then home. I havent done it in years now but my old local will still have loads of cars outside it now with lads inside drinking pints. A lot of them farmers in a rural area, I suppose old habits die hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

rural areas have taxi's too.

You just might have a longer wait time for it. As it's often only one taxi.

If there happens to not be a taxi, organise with a neighbour or someone who drink or who doesn't. Or just don't drink yourself.

There really is no excuse.

You live in a town?
    You also do NOT need to drink, to socialise.
    I don't, but then I rarely go to the pub other than for a meal. As one poster said above it was regularly just him and the publican. Anyone just going to socialise with the publican, I'd suggest Interflora.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

Maphisto wrote: »
    You live in a town?

I don't, but then I rarely go to the pub other than for a meal. As one poster said above it was regularly just him and the publican. Anyone just going to socialise with the publican, I'd suggest Interflora.

My parents live in a rural area.

Pub has maybe 5 people on a busy day. Local taxi, is well, a local from the surrounding area. 2 drivers actually, they take turns on the days and often only run the taxi around the entire area 2-3 times on a night.

And even if there are some areas with no one. You do not need to drink.

And saying things like "well, some areas don't have taxi's", is condoning drink driving. And it should not be acceptable, ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭PLUG71

What do you do with someone that has been drinking and driving the last 20 years.

Never been caught and never been stopped and are good drivers.

And at this stage in there life they think that well doing it so long now they think in some crazy way that is ok to drink and drive..

What do you do with someone like that ?

Report them!!

No excuse in the world for drink driving.

No, certainly not
    I've driven when very tired a couple times and that was dangerous enough, I wouldn't be doing that again