Irish open 2014 @ Fota thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

Yes afaik it is family friendly, although there may be some areas that are difficult to acces with the buggy, but for the most part you'd be grand I'd say.

Yeah im sure we will have to compromise what and where we can go which is totally understandable, as good as he is i dont think he will quite get the need to be quiet at certain times.

Its a case of keeping everybody happy when we are there as i'm sure the missus will be quite happy to spin around the tented village and shops etc when i'm off watching a bit of the golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

I would have presumed having had our little ones out at similar or even better catered events that one as little as a 1 yo would be a little difficult to manage with on a golf course no matter how well catered/serviced the open is.
    I'm not saying don't bring them but 2 hours might be a very long time out with them and if it's either wet or sunny you are going to spend all your time kinda firefighting?

I've two 4 and 2 and I wouldn't bring them yet. The older one will be well able say next year I'd say but ATM the day would be very long on them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,062 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Excellent i had an idea its ok but you never can tell and in fairness he will have the best seat in the house in his buggy and baby bjorn.

I hate to be pessimistic....but you know yourself about stray golf balls and some pro's not shouting fore. I'd be weary about bringing a child but maybe i'm just being over cautious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,529 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

m r c wrote: »
    I would have presumed having had our little ones out at similar or even better catered events that one as little as a 1 yo would be a little difficult to manage with on a golf course no matter how well catered/serviced the open is.
    I'm not saying don't bring them but 2 hours might be a very long time out with them and if it's either wet or sunny you are going to spend all your time kinda firefighting?

I've two 4 and 2 and I wouldn't bring them yet. The older one will be well able say next year I'd say but ATM the day would be very long on them.
    charlieIRL wrote: »
    I hate to be pessimistic....but you know yourself about stray golf balls and some pro's not shouting fore. I'd be weary about bringing a child but maybe i'm just being over cautious.

Ah yea, but that's why myself and Mr Tiger McIlroy are bringing our other halves :D

charlieIRL wrote: »

I hear ya on this one, this is obviously something that has crossed my mind and one of the reasons i thought i would ask for opinions as im a bit skeptical.

Could be an expensive walk round for me as mrs mcilroy spends money in the tents...

cheers for the replies..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭superhooper

Why don't they go into the wildlife park which borders the course. You can even park in their car park and walk over to the course. Win Win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,431 ✭✭✭dvemail

I remember being in Killarney in 2011 and you could not go into Practice Area.

Is it the same this time does anyone know? I hope not.

I remember being down at the practice area that year watching them.
    It was just a good bit out of the way out in the Lackabane golf course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭clerk

Im currently working on getting down to the golf next friday for the day, is something like this family friendly as in the missus is interested in coming down along with the little fella (hes one) to have a walk about the course and check the go out and i was wondering does anybody have any idea if its suitable to bring small people.

Obviously im going regardless..

I was there the last time it was in Fota. It's reasonably child friendly but obviously you won't be able to follow a group with a kid or keep a viewing spot on the course so l'm not really sure how much of the golf you'd actually see - but it would be a good Day out anyway.

Unless the other half is going to be doing the minding and then you're sorted. :D

The other thing is if it rains it could be a long Day with kids. It's raining again in Cork today !! - hopefully it'll be nice for the Open week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭clerk

Why don't they go into the wildlife park which borders the course. You can even park in their car park and walk over to the course. Win Win.

Good suggestion. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭Freemount09

Whatever about the 1yr old, I'd advise against bringing the Mrs ! I brought my one to the IO in Killarney, she got bored of watching guys hitting balls pretty quick, and when it started raining well .. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Dbu

Whatever about the 1yr old, I'd advise against bringing the Mrs ! I brought my one to the IO in Killarney, she got bored of watching guys hitting balls pretty quick, and when it started raining well .. . .

Cant believe you are still with her after that nonsense:D

clerk wrote: »
    I was there the last time it was in Fota. It's reasonably child friendly but obviously you won't be able to follow a group with a kid or keep a viewing spot on the course so l'm not really sure how much of the golf you'd actually see - but it would be a good Day out anyway.

Unless the other half is going to be doing the minding and then you're sorted. :D

The other thing is if it rains it could be a long Day with kids. It's raining again in Cork today !! - hopefully it'll be nice for the Open week.

Decision has been made, will be down there regardless and depending on the weather will bring the missus and little fella in and they can hang around the tented village and wherever is suitable, if he/she gets bored or fussy the good lady will head off with himself for a drive into cork or wherever she fancies (Shopping) and leave me to my own devices for a few hours.

Basically its a play it by ear effort but like others have said babies aint easy in these situations and some of us are lucky to have understanding partners.

Thanks for the input lads..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Buggy, field, rain, mud, no.

Even if it isn't a mud bath I think you'll have the one year old in your arms most of the time. I wouldn't fancy pushing a buggy around on grass or temporary paths.

Have you really thought this through? :)

I'm guessing your 1 year old isn't potty trained yet, you won't find a baby changing station on the fifth tee.

As for the missus, I brought her to the IO in Killarney. It was great. I met up with a mate and the two women stood in a field talking about lipstick, weddings or whatever the hell they talk about for 4 hours.

Two hours isn't long enough either IMO. They'll groups will be averaging ~15mins or more a hole, if you're camped out at a certain spot then you'll only see 7 or 8 groups passing and it'll fly by.

PARlance wrote: »
    Buggy, field, rain, mud, no.

Even if it isn't a mud bath I think you'll have the one year old in your arms most of the time. I wouldn't fancy pushing a buggy around on grass or temporary paths.

Have you really thought this through? :)

I'm guessing your 1 year old isn't potty trained yet, you won't find a baby changing station on the fifth tee.

As for the missus, I brought her to the IO in Killarney. It was great. I met up with a mate and the two women stood in a field talking about lipstick, weddings or whatever the hell they talk about for 4 hours.

Two hours isn't long enough either IMO. They'll groups will be averaging ~15mins or more a hole, if you're camped out at a certain spot then you'll only see 7 or 8 groups passing and it'll fly by.

You did see the part of missus/baby hanging out in the tented village..and only if the weather is suitable? im not gonna be bringing them out on the course.

Have you been to one of these events before?
    It involves long walks in crowds on grass or temporary tracks. You won't stroll up in a buggy.

Carton House was extremely well equipped with the temporary parking on site. I'm not sure if Fota will be the same? But even at Carton it was 30-40mins between getting to the gates and seeing a golfer.
    We were an hour getting out of Carton. In Killarney, it was nearly an hours walk to car.

If you're planning on leaving them in the tented village then they'll get bored very quickly. They'll soon get tired of a Hugo Boss truck with golf gear, endless golf stands promoting foreign golf holidays and I'm guessing she won't be propping up the bar to kill time. The queue for a hot dog may kill a few minutes.
    A non golfer won't find 90% of the stuff interesting in the line of tents/tented "village".

Having a one year old myself and having been to a couple of Irish Opens, I wouldn't even contemplate bringing them. Bringing them down to the park is a big enough ordeal.

I'm not sure where you're driving from?

But guessing at least an hours travel.
    Another hour to get parked up and into see some golf.
    Two hours watching (which again isn't enough)
    Another hour getting to car and out of the place.
    Followed by another hour home.

At the very minimum you're looking at 6 hours and I'd say it'd be more like 10 if you want to do it right. A long day for a 1 year old that has to be fed, changed etc along the way.

Fire ahead of course, but I think you're mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭curly from cork

Maybe the wildlife park next door would be an option ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,808 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

how much are tickets?

EVENFLOW

Have you been to one of these events before?
    It involves long walks in crowds on grass or temporary tracks. You won't stroll up in a buggy.

Carton House was extremely well equipped with the temporary parking on site. I'm not sure if Fota will be the same? But even at Carton it was 30-40mins between getting to the gates and seeing a golfer.
    We were an hour getting out of Carton. In Killarney, it was nearly an hours walk to car.

If you're planning on leaving them in the tented village then they'll get bored very quickly. They'll soon get tired of a Hugo Boss truck with golf gear, endless golf stands promoting foreign golf holidays and I'm guessing she won't be propping up the bar to kill time. The queue for a hot dog may kill a few minutes.
    A non golfer won't find 90% of the stuff interesting in the line of tents/tented "village".

Having a one year old myself and having been to a couple of Irish Opens, I wouldn't even contemplate bringing them. Bringing them down to the park is a big enough ordeal.

I'm not sure where you're driving from?

But guessing at least an hours travel.
    Another hour to get parked up and into see some golf.
    Two hours watching (which again isn't enough)
    Another hour getting to car and out of the place.
    Followed by another hour home.

At the very minimum you're looking at 6 hours and I'd say it'd be more like 10 if you want to do it right. A long day for a 1 year old that has to be fed, changed etc along the way.

Fire ahead of course, but I think you're mad.

So many assumptions in one post were do I start.

We will be down in cork already and are based a twenty minute drive away.

Like I said already it's all down to the weather conditions etc and also if you had bothered reading the other posts you would see that if things get boring etc in the tented village the wife and chizzler will shoot off at their leisure.

As a first time poster it's nice to see the majority of posters on here can offer constructive advice without the need to be condescending and your clearly the exception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

I won't be bringing my two year old, much and all as I'd love to. Having been to Carton House and Killarney, it's just too much of an ask imo.

Btw he's not being condescending,parlance likes to analyse everything golf :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

So many assumptions in one post were do I start.

We will be down in cork already and are based a twenty minute drive away.

Like I said already it's all down to the weather conditions etc and also if you had bothered reading the other posts you would see that if things get boring etc in the tented village the wife and chizzler will shoot off at their leisure.

As a first time poster it's nice to see the majority of posters on here can offer constructive advice without the need to be condescending and your clearly the exception.

Are you serious? He provided constructive and valid advice which I fully agree with. You think a 1 year old and wife will be entertained at the tented village? I'm a golf nut and I had had enough after 20min. But you go right ahead... I'm sure the 20min drive home will be the highlight of their day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,808 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I remember at Killarney in 2011 a little kid was crying with his mum as Golfers were playing shots.

I remember 1 Golfer literally giving the Mother a bit of verbal abuse.

Dont take kids that are going to be noisey is what I would advise

EVENFLOW

I remember at Killarney in 2011 a little kid was crying with his mum as Golfers were playing shots.

I remember 1 Golfer literally giving the Mother a bit of verbal abuse.

Dont take kids that are going to be noisey is what I would advise

It would be hard to be majorly critical of the golfer on this one, obviously there's nothing wrong at all with taking kids down to soak up the experience etc but if your little ones are noisey and off putting to the golfers I think the onus is on the parent to move away with the baby/kids.

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    Are you serious? He provided constructive and valid advice which I fully agree with. You think a 1 year old and wife will be entertained at the tented village? I'm a golf nut and I had had enough after 20min. But you go right ahead... I'm sure the 20min drive home will be the highlight of their day.

Sigh this is going the way what I hoped wouldn't happen.

If you don't think his post was laced with assumptions and condescension then that's fair enough. I disagree and to be honest your entitled to your view so good luck as I won't be carrying on any further.

Cheers to all for the suggestions and helpful advice but I'm out.

If you don't think his post was laced with assumptions and condescension then that's fair enough. I disagree and to be honest your entitled to your view so good luck as I won't be carrying on any further.

My post was laced with assumptions but there was no condescension in them at all, none intended.
    I made the assumptions (and labelled them as such) to make my point.

I do think it's a daft idea, that's my opinion. Didn't want to wreck your buzz but it's something that I would strongly advise against for everyone's enjoyment.

There's the low but seriously risk of a 1 year old getting hit. (Have a look at the US Open this weekend, you won't see any toddlers knocking around)
    There's no real entertainment in the tented village for your wife and kid to keep them happy.
    You'll regret rushing it and only seeing 2 hours of action. 4-6 hours will fly by.
    Even if we have a few fine days leading up to it, the 10, 20, 30 thousand people there will have turned the walkways soft. Not ideal for buggies.
    If you're carrying your kid for hours then that's not ideal, if your kid is like mine, they'll want to stretch their legs, it's really not the place for that.

Just trying to get across how bad an option I think it is. There'll be a lot more happiness going around if herself spends a nice day in town IMO and you spend more than 2 hours at it.

*Building a bridge*
    If you end up deciding to go alone, then you could see if any boardsies are going to be floating around in advance.
    If I was making the trip I'd be trying to hook up with a few and I'm sure you'll get some of the lads that won't see a lad left on his tod.

Enjoy it whatever happens (said in a nice friendly way :);) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

My post was laced with assumptions but there was no condescension in them at all, none intended.

I do think it's a daft idea, that's my opinion. Didn't want to wreck your buzz but it's something that I would strongly advise against for everyone's enjoyment.

There's the low but seriously risk of a 1 year old getting hit. (Have a look at the US Open this weekend, you won't see any toddlers knocking around)
    There's no real entertainment in the tented village for your wife and kid to keep them happy.
    You'll regret rushing it and only seeing 2 hours of action. 4-6 hours will fly by.
    Even if we have a few fine days leading up to it, the 10, 20, 30 thousand people there will have turned the walkways soft. Not ideal for buggies.
    If you're carrying your kid for hours then that's not ideal, if your kid is like mine, they'll want to stretch their legs, it's really not the place for that.

Just trying to get across how bad an option I think it is. There'll be a lot more happiness going around if herself spends a nice day in town IMO and you spend more than 2 hours at it.

*Building a bridge*
    If you end up deciding to go alone, then you could see if any boardsies are going to be floating around in advance.
    If I was making the trip I'd be trying to hook up with a few and I'm sure you'll get some of the lads that won't see a lad left on his tod.

You try help a fella out and he shoots you down like that lance. I wouldnt bother giving him any more advice.
    Let him go with his missus and bin lid, deal with the bull headed wife, screaming bored kid and the long silent walk back to the car.

ForeRight wrote: »
    You try help a fella out and he shoots you down like that lance. I wouldnt bother giving him any more advice.
    Let him go with his missus and bin lid, deal with the bull headed wife, screaming bored kid and the long silent walk back to the car.

This is IMHO 100 per cent the truth.

Does anyone know if buying a ticket before hand will speed up entry or would it really make much difference?

*Building a bridge*

Lets start over, if i took the tone of parts of your post wrong then i hold my hands up. I get what your saying about the boredom factor for them and im obviously aware of the logistics of dragging a buggy around a wet golf course and i never intended doing this.

Basically we have the use of a house twenty to thirty minutes drive away and will be staying down for a few days regardless so its all dependant on the weather conditions etc..at this stage im leaning towards just giving them the credit card and catching up with them afterwards.

ForeRight wrote: »

Very constructive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭Loire

I've been to a few tournaments and there's no way I'd bring a baby. We have 2 young kids and heading to the Irish Open but they're not coming ;) As PARlance mentioned, there are long walks, long waits and then the need to remain silent for much of the action. In addition, if you're following a player/group of players you'll need to move fast at times.

My advice would be to buy the missus a pass to the Wildlife park and go and enjoy the golf yourself.