Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

YbFocus wrote: »
    What happened today, did I miss something?

I want to do something cray with an is250..
    I'll see can I find an equivalent pic...
    After all my giving out to GvidoR, my love of slamming things is biting again..

Yeah, I lost out on 3 grand is what happened, prize fund in college and only me and my friend applied for it, as you can see I am not 3k better off :(

I'll have to start giving out to you so :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Yeah, I lost out on 3 grand is what happened, prize fund in college and only me and my friend applied for it, as you can see I am not 3k better off :(

I'll have to start giving out to you so :pac:

That would have kept the car going for a good two months :pac:

Ah no that's **** man, now I feel like I may have missed out on 3k at some stage in college :confused:

That would have kept the car going for a good two months :pac:

Ah no that's **** man, now I feel like I may have missed out on 3k at some stage in college :confused:

two weeks you mean :P

Yeah it was a massive disappointment, but to really set it, we had an end of year show, and not one bit of my work was in it, makes it feel like the amount of work i put in was worth nothing, but sure, pick up and move on and all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I think a roadtrip is called for to raise the humour :pac:

I agree :pac: pix2follow and all that lark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Worth it in the end :D

#iknowallaboutthis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Saw my old Colt today. :D

Also wondering if renofan saw Bora yet? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,408 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Anyone ever get the colour coded aerosol paint cans from Halfrauds?

Nope.

I bought from them:

http://stores.ebay.ie/ukautospares?_rdc=1

Perfect colour match.

They're located in Enniskillen, but also have free delivery to Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Dia1988

NCT Help!!! Tomorrow, indicator bulb!

My Focus is going for an NCT tomorrow.

My question, I have got my headlights aligned and focused.
    However, this morning one of my indicator bulbs in the driver headlamp has blown.

The problem is that to change the indicator bulb the entire headlamp must be removed and this will almost definitely interfere with the headlamp alignment.

I was thinking of not replacing the indicator bulb (for fear of failing on the headlight alignmemt) and failing on the indicator bulb as this is only visual and I can replace the bulb immediately there and then hopefully pass and get the cert.

Am I correct in saying this?

For something visual like indicator bulbs I dont need to pay 28 euro for a re test?

Appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Do it yourself.

I had my headlights aligned before then had to change and indicator and headlight and didnt realign them. Was fine !

I have same type focus with taking the whole unit.out

Sobanek wrote: »
    Worth it in the end :D

#iknowallaboutthis

The new arrival is coming home tonight :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Is there something about parking focus on hills ?

It seems anytime I park facing uphill it starts for a minute and then dies again and wont restart for me.

Is it the fuel sucking in air or whats the craic ?

Just bought a can of easy start and hoping it works

fecking garage refused to help and the aa wouldnt come out...... words shall be had !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Is there something about parking focus on hills ?

It seems anytime I park facing uphill it starts for a minute and then dies again and wont restart for me.

Is it the fuel sucking in air or whats the craic ?

Yep it's called ford saying "fcuk it we won't bother with a fuel lift pump sure why would you need one of them". Then to make it even better they didn't bother fitting a primer bulb so that it makes it impossible to start after changing a fuel well on the newer ones with the steel canister replacement fuel filter. So basically a 1.6 tdci focus depends completely on a vacuum nothing else no form of pump to get the fuel from the tank to the injectors it's mad when you think about it. Anyway I'd say that's the cause of your hill start problem specially if your letting it run low on diesel. There not a great car to let run low on diesel when I say low I mean 1/4 of a tank. as a lot tend to run rough or just cut out when you least expect it normally at 60-70 mph :pac:

Bpmull wrote: »
    Yep it's called ford saying "fcuk it we won't bother with a fuel lift pump sure why would you need one of them". Then to make it even better they didn't bother fitting a primer bulb so that it makes it impossible to start after changing a fuel well on the newer ones with the steel canister replacement fuel filter. So basically a 1.6 tdci focus depends completely on a vacuum nothing else no form of pump to get the fuel from the tank to the injectors it's mad when you think about it. Anyway I'd say that's the cause of your hill start problem specially if your letting it run low on diesel. There not a great car to let run low on diesel when I say low I mean 1/4 of a tank. as a lot tend to run rough or just cut out when you least expect it normally at 60-70 mph :pac:

Thank you for confirming my suspision !

Im.on 1/4 slightly under.... just got her going with the easy start and gonna fill her up to the brim now !

hats off to the easy start bought in the shop for a fiver. ... I recommend to all including breakdown people !

Murica! Because your car runs on freedom most of the time :P

50359634.jpg

Thank you for confirming my suspision !

Im.on 1/4 slightly under.... just got her going with the easy start and gonna fill her up to the brim now !

hats off to the easy start bought in the shop for a fiver. ... I recommend to all including breakdown people !

If I was you I'd be keeping it topped up with diesel even fill it when it gets to half a tank. It is a bit of pain but just one of those things. It would be fairly shot if it cut out in a busy spot of something. My one was in between 1/8 and 1/4 of a tank when it cut out on the m8 last year. No advanced warning no nothing just cut out the only warning I got was power steering failure and the usual ignition lights it was scary enough at 120kmh and the road was busy enough as it was about 6pm. I had to get a tow truck from kilkenny as I only then discovered I didn't have the breakdown assist I thought I had. I had to wait 5 hours it was a seriously expensive night. I should of just sold the car then as I lost all interest and faith in it from then on even though I had it for nearly a year after that.

Once you keep it over 1/4 you should be ok. I never heard of that easy start stuff before sounds good. Tbh I know you were talking about giving the car to family or trading it in. But I think it would be the real wrong car to be selling to a family member. Well I suppose it depends on the family some of my family would be terrible if something went wrong even in 6 months time. I know your had caused you little trouble though in fairness. Although it still didn't start today. Glad you got it going anyway.

If I was you I'd be keeping it topped up with diesel even fill it when it gets to half a tank. It is a bit of pain but just one of those things. It would be fairly shot if it cut out in a busy spot of something. My one was in between 1/8 and 1/4 of a tank when it cut out on the m8 last year. No advanced warning no nothing just cut out the only warning I got was power steering failure and the usual ignition lights it was scary enough at 120kmh and the road was busy enough as it was about 6pm. I had to get a tow truck from kilkenny as I only then discovered I didn't have the breakdown assist I thought I had. I had to wait 5 hours it was a seriously expensive night. I should of just sold the car then as I lost all interest and faith in it from then on even though I had it for nearly a year after that.

Once you keep it over 1/4 you should be ok. I never heard of that easy start stuff before sounds good. Tbh I know you were talking about giving the car to family or trading it in. But I think it would be the real wrong car to be selling to a family member. Well I suppose it depends on the family some of my family would be terrible if something went wrong even in 6 months time. I know your had caused you little trouble though in fairness. Although it still didn't start today. Glad you got it going anyway.

Its no problem for me to keep it topped up anyway. There's nothing else wrong with it anyway other than I'm gonna change the pollen filter

Its holtz easy start can. Just spray it into the air intake as someone is starting it and away it goes

Its no problem for me to keep it topped up anyway. There's nothing else wrong with it anyway other than I'm gonna change the pollen filter

Its holtz easy start can. Just spray it into the air intake as someone is starting it and away it goes

Good to know about that easy start may come in handy one day. The pollen filter makes a huge difference. I changed it in my focus 10 euro for Mann one in micksgarage. It's a pig of a job on the focus the passenger fuse board has to be un bolted and glove box taken out. The filter itself is so far back towards the engine you can bearly see it. Plenty of on line guides anyway.

Well, I just went on a little spin about, on my trip I encountered;

A group of individuals from a certain community overtaking a bus on a bend :o How do i know that they were from this group? You can tell

The gordon bennet rally, which was pretty cool, never seen so much brass on a cars in my life :pac:

And a truck who lost its cargo, which was a large portacabin, which felt all over the road would be a good place to set up shop

Road trip later on so hopefully tonight will wind up being a bit better :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Toyota owners club are having their meet up in July, they are having it at that place with the "drag strip". I might go over for a go at the drags.
    10455051_694241520629841_4537829565924719594_n.jpg

Non Toyota cars can go too.:)

On a day like today when I am in work I use my dinner break to wash and wax my car, my co workers might think I am mad but its a good way to clean as I have all the time to myself and its a good way to loose weight as I am not eating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Trying to improve the power to weight ratio :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

unnamed-538f94239f103.jpg

Hal1 wrote: »
    Trying to improve the power to weight ratio :pac:.

93kg at the moment(was 98) but I really should be around 83kg, fuel consumption may improve too.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I'm down from 92KG-81KG, the MX-5 feels a bit quicker to be fair!
    Could be that I drive a 1.4 Megane every day how ever. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

its a good way to loose weight as I am not eating.

It's actually a great way to put on weight, not lose it. If you don't eat for long periods of time your body enters "starvation mode" and any food you eat then gets put into long term storage aka fat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Sanded - check
    Cleaned with APC - check
    Primer on - check

Looks good so far, apart from the fact that 3 midges have stuck to it :mad:

The amount of cars that were burning oil I was either behind or was walking and they passed me. I mean really bad plums of smoke and the smell would nearly knock people must have just given up on car maintenance probably never serviced between that and bald tyres it seems to be gone to the dogs well around kilkenny anyway at least :pac:

I was stopped then at a junction this morning one where 4 roads meet trafic lights and two lanes on all the roads to go left straight and another to go right with a box for the right turn the usual set up. So I was stopped at the light car comes up and goes in the right lane and I was in left lane going straight light goes green we all starts to move then the car in the right lane cuts me of and goes straight unbelievable. It was early so the junction was quite still no excuse. Didn't use an indicator at any stage.