Kids arrested for mouthing at Gardai (video)

It's good to see the gardaí standing up for themselves without being scared off by the old "he's only young, how dare you touch him" threat.

Society and law has come a long way in trying to create a world where children are safe. Some people work hard to give people these rights, and other people then destroy that hard work by taking total advantage. I can't even count the number of times I've heard "but he's only young".

Those young kids that get away with it because they're young, are the adults of tomorrow that get away with it because now they're too big and too many for the gardaí to be able to control them themselves.

Imagine that video if each of those lads were in their twenties. The gardaí would never have been able to control the situation. At least now those kids might have some sort of hesitation before trying it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

From what I can gather watching the video, the little guy the Garda tries to put into the car is hurt in some way. "Ah sure he's grand! He only punched the fence!" The Garda then replies with the fact he has a duty of care and can't just leave him there.

The rest of the numpties then start going mad for no reason I can see. Fella kicks the car, etc.

Yup, police brutality alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

The future looks bright..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

The future looks bright..

The future looks orange....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Calibos wrote: »
    What started this?

Clearly, George Bush.

Calibos wrote: »

Perhaps these young lads were unfortunate that these gardai had had to deal with real scumbags resisting arrest/intefering with an arrest etc earlier in the day and were thus were on a shorter fuse with these lads.

Perhaps, you should get the full story before making a hypothetical accusations against the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

McDermotX wrote: »
    But he's only 13, apparently, so he should be allowed to get away with it.
    He should be beaten to the ground by the Garda(using a rubber baton so as to inflict as little physical injury as possible while still controlling the young hoodlum) with the full weight of the Law and the force behind him
    Imagine that video if each of those lads were in their twenties. The gardaí would never have been able to control the situation. At least now those kids might have some sort of hesitation before trying it again.

This is why more force is needed now to sho and teach the young hoodlums and wannabe scumbags and gangsta's that this type of behaviour will not be tolerated in our society and will be dealt with swiftly and with force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,947 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

swiftblade wrote: »
    From what I can gather watching the video, the little guy the Garda tries to put into the car is hurt in some way. "Ah sure he's grand! He only punched the fence!" The Garda then replies with the fact he has a duty of care and can't just leave him there.

The rest of the numpties then start going mad for no reason I can see. Fella kicks the car, etc.

Yup, police brutality alright.

That's exactly what I see, the guards even use the car door as a barrier to check the lads hand, as far as I'm concerned, cracking job by the guards.

Why do idiots think turning on a camera will stop the police doing there job? Do they honestly think they know the law better than the guards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Rabbo

The cameraman should have been locked up aswell for shooting in portrait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Sounds like there was a bit more going on than just "mouthing".

One of the biggest problems we have in Dublin (and probably most other Irish cities) is little scumbags like these learning they can get away with breaking the law and thus growing up to be big scumbags. The only way to solve this cycle is to nip it in the bud, while they're still young. The parents clearly can't or won't control them, so unfortunately it's up to the police.

Now all we need is a judicial system that will actually do something once gurriers are arrested, rather than just sending them right back out on the street. When that happens, they learn that not only can they break the law with impunity, they can even be arrested with no real consequence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Red Nissan wrote: »
    A bit more policing never goes astray.

The Gardaí have long since lost all respect so it'll be a good fight back for them. This is amongst the first steps that I see going in the right direction.

Ya. Now if we could just weed out the bastards bullying the whistle blowers and nailing rats to there home doors!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

These kids sound like scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭thebannerboy

If your old enough to do the crime, your old enough to do the time! ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

Cant believe some of the posts in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,829 ✭✭✭✭893bet

Thought guards handled it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

Completely counterproductive arresting these young kids for what appears to be little to nothing.

It is early encounters with gardai like this, and particularly of an arrest, that begins childrens cycle of anger and hate of gardai and authority. It enters them into a cycle of incarceration and crime.

What does it achieve? Are they a threat to society? Will their parents be able to afford the fine when they get it?

Disgusting really. Thera are other ways to deal with disadvantaged youth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

dmc17 wrote: »
    They should get their arses kicked for them to teach them to have some respect!

Would you approve of a Garda who acted in an abusive or disrespectful manner towards a member of the public getting their arse kicked to teach them to have some respect?

If yes, I respect your opinion. If not, you are espousing a toxic double standard which is one of the central reasons Ireland is such a mess.

Would you approve of a Garda who acted in an abusive or disrespectful manner towards a member of the public getting their arse kicked to teach them to have some respect?

If yes, I respect your opinion. If not, you are espousing a toxic double standard which is one of the central reasons Ireland is such a mess.

I have never been on the end of anything like that from a garda.

Funny that, mind you I never gave them l reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I have never been on the end of anything like that from a garda.

Funny that, mind you I never gave them l reason.

That's irrelevant. In principle, would you apply the same philosophy to an abusive Garda or not?

If the person the garda was abusing was acting the magot then I would think they deserved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I think the gardai handled really well, and I am by no means their biggest fan. This young lads showed serious disrespect, the Garda said he had a duty of car to the first young lad, the other two were being disrespectful and impeding him from doing his job.

On another note I wonder how the parents of these young lads will react? If one of them was mine I would loose the rag, I would remove everything from the room apart from the bed, a pillow and a blanket and a rake of books, that's how his summer would be spent. No friends, no phone, no Internet, no Tv, no video games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

coolemon wrote: »
    Completely counterproductive arresting these young kids for what appears to be little to nothing.

It is early encounters with gardai like this, and particularly of an arrest, that begins childrens cycle of anger and hate of gardai and authority. It enters them into a cycle of incarceration and crime.

What does it achieve? Are they a threat to society? Will their parents be able to afford the fine when they get it?

Like letting them run riot. What do you suggest? Cup of tea and a cuddle?
    These young gentlemens problems are not with a level handed display from the gardai, but with themselves and when they realise that, they will have no issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Disgusting really. There are other ways to deal with disadvantaged youth.

Oh God love them poor little blighters, nothing to do except trespass and act the bollix, then abuse the Guards. Whats your solution for this? More facilities?

What does it achieve? It might make them think twice. It might change their attitudes, it might teach them about respect

Are they a threat to society. Yes they are, and will become a bigger threat if molly coddled

There are other ways to deal with this for sure, and I'd
    be erring on the side of a baton for these toerags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Gob****es making a big deal out of their little buddy getting arrested.

Is it a question of "how well the gardai" handled it?

The question is what does it achieve? Is this the best practice and approach to furthering social ends?

A Nazi soldier putting a jew in a gas chamber might handle it very well. But that would be to avoid the point.

mrsoundie wrote: »
    Like letting them run riot. What do you suggest? Cup of tea and a cuddle?
    These young gentlemens problems are not with a level handed display from the gardai, but with themselves and when they realise that, they will have no issues.

I don't see them running riot. I don't see them requiring a cup of tea.

These young lads problems are socially produced. That is why such strong socio-economic correlations exist between those who end up in a cycle of crime and those who do not.

Arresting these young kids solves nothing. It causes so many problems down the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Surely it's more counter productive to ignore their behaviour. They will either br brought straight home are to the station for their parents to collect them. They will likely be assigned a juvenile liason officer to engage with. They have now discovered that their actions have consequences but have not been punished for it. Seems pretty fair to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,947 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

And letting them get off scott free shows that their actions have no consequences and ensures they grow up with no respect for the law.

And disadvantaged? Why, because they have an inner city accent?

D1stant wrote: »
    What does it achieve? It might make them think twice. It might change their attitudes, it might teach them about respect

It wont. They were clearly aggrieved by their arrest.

It will teach them nothing but hate and anger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,880 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Little scrotes trying to hide behind their age.

Fully deserved it.