Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kids arrested for mouthing at Gardai (video)

• 07-06-2014 1:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

What do ye make of this?

Seems the first kid hurt his hand, but the other lads thought he was getting arrested and so the situation got a bit out of hand.

Should they have arrested the young lad or was it over the top?

Who was in the right here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Looks like they deserved it to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

They should get their arses kicked for them to teach them to have some respect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,513 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Nice.......give em a few smacks for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Seems like the Gardaí were doing their best to be reasonable. Young lads deserved nothing less, no respect for what they were trying to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

Lol at the boy in the blue shorts screaming like a baby when they are putting his handcuffs on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

What utter Scumbags!

Thank god I'm not a garda because those little Cnuts would get a good few smacks of my baton for resisting arrest, I'd take the legs out from under them and sit on them.

If they were in America they would probably be shot or at least hit with a tazer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Didn't hit them hard enough. Try that sh*t in any other Country and see how tolerant the police are.

ah sur leave it out he fcuking grand like

why cant we stick these prick in the army

Good , they sound like they need a few slaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

A bit more policing never goes astray.

The Gardaí have long since lost all respect so it'll be a good fight back for them. This is amongst the first steps that I see going in the right direction.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 770 ✭✭✭ComputerKing

The kids were arrested cause the climbed a fence or something and then they refused to leave and they then kept badmouthing and abusing the guards. I say the video on fb earlier this week. I can't see why their faces where blocked out in the video though it was filmed by one of their friends and he then put it up on fb and tagged them all in it so it just seems a bit ironic blurring out their faces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Release the urchins, but keep their accents locked up & throw away the key.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

131spanner wrote: »
    Seems like the Gardaí were doing their best to be reasonable. Young lads deserved nothing less, no respect for what they were trying to do.
    The Gardai were very restrained. Pepper spray, batons and a few rubber bullets followed by a night in A&E would sort that lot out. Collection of no marks that'll never amount to anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I'd usually be the first to say things like, "Little scrotes deserved it" etc 9 out of 10 youtube arrest videos claiming Police Brutality would have me saying the police should have actually been less restrained and knocked a few more heads together etc

However

What started this?
    Didn't seem like the young lads were majorly antagonistic to the point they needed to be arrested?

Perhaps these young lads were unfortunate that these gardai had had to deal with real scumbags resisting arrest/intefering with an arrest etc earlier in the day and were thus were on a shorter fuse with these lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Ladies and gentlemen. I present to you, our future dead gang member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

No Pants wrote: »
    The Gardai were very restrained. Pepper spray, batons and a few rubber bullets followed by a night in A&E would sort that lot out. Collection of no marks that'll never amount to anything.

Are you seriously suggesing using the above on a bunch of kids?

**** sake.

The garda handled it correctly here they didnt need to use any more force here and they didnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

LOL what did they expect. Guards well within their rights to arrest them. The lad in blue shorts got arrested not only because he mouthed off, he got arrested because he was physically pushing a Guard and trying to stop him do his job.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 770 ✭✭✭ComputerKing

Calibos wrote: »
    I'd usually be the first to say things like, "Little scrotes deserved it" etc 9 out of 10 youtube arrest videos claiming Police Brutality would have me saying the police should have actually been less restrained and knocked a few more heads together etc

However

What started this?
    Didn't seem like the young lads were majorly antagonistic to the point they needed to be arrested?

Perhaps these young lads were unfortunate that these gardai had had to deal with real scumbags resisting arrest/intefering with an arrest etc earlier in the day and were thus were on a shorter fuse with these lads.

The lads had climed a fence and were trespassing afaik and then refused to leave when told to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Are you seriously suggesing using the above on a bunch of kids?

**** sake.

The garda handled it correctly here they didnt need to use any more force here and they didnt.
    Yeah, I am. They might listen more carefully to instruction in future. If not, they're no marks and fully disposable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭coolisin

I see nothing wrong with this.

The idiots where caught trespassing by the looks of it so f**k them if they kept mouthing off and got themselves arrested.
    We don't see properly what the second lad did but I assume kick the car off camera.
    third young lad was pushing the guard.
    So rightly all done.

Sucks that they where all probably out an hour later anyway.

I cant see police brutality in that video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,513 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

2nd gimp was hilarious as well. Garda suggests he hit the car as they got in after putting the first one in.
    Tries to walk away from the incident as your man goes after him, before putting in a hilariously lame attempt to hang onto the bin as he's being led away.

But he's only 13, apparently, so he should be allowed to get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

dmc17 wrote: »
    McDermotX wrote: »
    Nice.......give em a few smacks for me.

Faith+1 wrote: »
    Didn't hit them hard enough. Try that sh*t in any other Country and see how tolerant the police are.
    Good , they sound like they need a few slaps.

Yea, that's exactly what we need to restore faith in the Garda after all the recent bad press, Gardai assaulting young lads for giving a bit of lip. Those two Gardai handled that well and this may come as a disappointment to some, did so without the need to resort to slaps, smacks, kicks or batons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

This type of crap being heaped onto the guards when they may not have enough to pay their wages next year! FairPlay to Garda, as Garda said in video he has a duty of care as the young lad hurt his hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Yeah, I am. They might listen more carefully to instruction in future. If not, they're no marks and fully disposable.

Fully disposable?

Are we suddenly living in a nazi state?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Fair play to the Guards, I would have been a lot less tolerant. Every time the word "scumbag" was directed at another person, that was grounds for a public disorder arrest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭h2005

Their parents must be proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Sound like you live on brookside close circa 1992

It's good to see the gardaí standing up for themselves without being scared off by the old "he's only young, how dare you touch him" threat.

Society and law has come a long way in trying to create a world where children are safe. Some people work hard to give people these rights, and other people then destroy that hard work by taking total advantage. I can't even count the number of times I've heard "but he's only young".

Those young kids that get away with it because they're young, are the adults of tomorrow that get away with it because now they're too big and too many for the gardaí to be able to control them themselves.

Imagine that video if each of those lads were in their twenties. The gardaí would never have been able to control the situation. At least now those kids might have some sort of hesitation before trying it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭swiftblade

From what I can gather watching the video, the little guy the Garda tries to put into the car is hurt in some way. "Ah sure he's grand! He only punched the fence!" The Garda then replies with the fact he has a duty of care and can't just leave him there.

The rest of the numpties then start going mad for no reason I can see. Fella kicks the car, etc.

Yup, police brutality alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

The future looks bright..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

The future looks bright..

The future looks orange....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

What started this?

Clearly, George Bush.

Perhaps, you should get the full story before making a hypothetical accusations against the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

McDermotX wrote: »
    But he's only 13, apparently, so he should be allowed to get away with it.
    He should be beaten to the ground by the Garda(using a rubber baton so as to inflict as little physical injury as possible while still controlling the young hoodlum) with the full weight of the Law and the force behind him
    Imagine that video if each of those lads were in their twenties. The gardaí would never have been able to control the situation. At least now those kids might have some sort of hesitation before trying it again.

This is why more force is needed now to sho and teach the young hoodlums and wannabe scumbags and gangsta's that this type of behaviour will not be tolerated in our society and will be dealt with swiftly and with force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,005 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

swiftblade wrote: »
    From what I can gather watching the video, the little guy the Garda tries to put into the car is hurt in some way. "Ah sure he's grand! He only punched the fence!" The Garda then replies with the fact he has a duty of care and can't just leave him there.

The rest of the numpties then start going mad for no reason I can see. Fella kicks the car, etc.

Yup, police brutality alright.

That's exactly what I see, the guards even use the car door as a barrier to check the lads hand, as far as I'm concerned, cracking job by the guards.

Why do idiots think turning on a camera will stop the police doing there job? Do they honestly think they know the law better than the guards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Rabbo

The cameraman should have been locked up aswell for shooting in portrait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Sounds like there was a bit more going on than just "mouthing".

One of the biggest problems we have in Dublin (and probably most other Irish cities) is little scumbags like these learning they can get away with breaking the law and thus growing up to be big scumbags. The only way to solve this cycle is to nip it in the bud, while they're still young. The parents clearly can't or won't control them, so unfortunately it's up to the police.

Now all we need is a judicial system that will actually do something once gurriers are arrested, rather than just sending them right back out on the street. When that happens, they learn that not only can they break the law with impunity, they can even be arrested with no real consequence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Red Nissan wrote: »
    A bit more policing never goes astray.

The Gardaí have long since lost all respect so it'll be a good fight back for them. This is amongst the first steps that I see going in the right direction.

Ya. Now if we could just weed out the bastards bullying the whistle blowers and nailing rats to there home doors!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

These kids sound like scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭thebannerboy

If your old enough to do the crime, your old enough to do the time! ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭19543261

Cant believe some of the posts in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭893bet

Thought guards handled it well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭coolemon

Completely counterproductive arresting these young kids for what appears to be little to nothing.

It is early encounters with gardai like this, and particularly of an arrest, that begins childrens cycle of anger and hate of gardai and authority. It enters them into a cycle of incarceration and crime.

What does it achieve? Are they a threat to society? Will their parents be able to afford the fine when they get it?

Disgusting really. Thera are other ways to deal with disadvantaged youth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

dmc17 wrote: »

Would you approve of a Garda who acted in an abusive or disrespectful manner towards a member of the public getting their arse kicked to teach them to have some respect?

If yes, I respect your opinion. If not, you are espousing a toxic double standard which is one of the central reasons Ireland is such a mess.

Would you approve of a Garda who acted in an abusive or disrespectful manner towards a member of the public getting their arse kicked to teach them to have some respect?

If yes, I respect your opinion. If not, you are espousing a toxic double standard which is one of the central reasons Ireland is such a mess.

I have never been on the end of anything like that from a garda.

Funny that, mind you I never gave them l reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I have never been on the end of anything like that from a garda.

Funny that, mind you I never gave them l reason.

That's irrelevant. In principle, would you apply the same philosophy to an abusive Garda or not?

If the person the garda was abusing was acting the magot then I would think they deserved it.