.jacksparrow. wrote: » The future looks bright..
Calibos wrote: » What started this?
Calibos wrote: » Perhaps these young lads were unfortunate that these gardai had had to deal with real scumbags resisting arrest/intefering with an arrest etc earlier in the day and were thus were on a shorter fuse with these lads.
McDermotX wrote: » But he's only 13, apparently, so he should be allowed to get away with it.
true-or-false wrote: » Imagine that video if each of those lads were in their twenties. The gardaí would never have been able to control the situation. At least now those kids might have some sort of hesitation before trying it again.
swiftblade wrote: » From what I can gather watching the video, the little guy the Garda tries to put into the car is hurt in some way. "Ah sure he's grand! He only punched the fence!" The Garda then replies with the fact he has a duty of care and can't just leave him there. The rest of the numpties then start going mad for no reason I can see. Fella kicks the car, etc. Yup, police brutality alright.
Red Nissan wrote: » A bit more policing never goes astray. The Gardaí have long since lost all respect so it'll be a good fight back for them. This is amongst the first steps that I see going in the right direction.
dmc17 wrote: » They should get their arses kicked for them to teach them to have some respect!
hatrickpatrick wrote: » Would you approve of a Garda who acted in an abusive or disrespectful manner towards a member of the public getting their arse kicked to teach them to have some respect? If yes, I respect your opinion. If not, you are espousing a toxic double standard which is one of the central reasons Ireland is such a mess.
.jacksparrow. wrote: » I have never been on the end of anything like that from a garda. Funny that, mind you I never gave them l reason.
hatrickpatrick wrote: » That's irrelevant. In principle, would you apply the same philosophy to an abusive Garda or not?
coolemon wrote: » Completely counterproductive arresting these young kids for what appears to be little to nothing. It is early encounters with gardai like this, and particularly of an arrest, that begins childrens cycle of anger and hate of gardai and authority. It enters them into a cycle of incarceration and crime. What does it achieve? Are they a threat to society? Will their parents be able to afford the fine when they get it? Disgusting really. Thera are other ways to deal with disadvantaged youth.
coolemon wrote: » Completely counterproductive arresting these young kids for what appears to be little to nothing. It is early encounters with gardai like this, and particularly of an arrest, that begins childrens cycle of anger and hate of gardai and authority. It enters them into a cycle of incarceration and crime. What does it achieve? Are they a threat to society? Will their parents be able to afford the fine when they get it? Disgusting really. There are other ways to deal with disadvantaged youth.
mrsoundie wrote: » Like letting them run riot. What do you suggest? Cup of tea and a cuddle? These young gentlemens problems are not with a level handed display from the gardai, but with themselves and when they realise that, they will have no issues.
D1stant wrote: » What does it achieve? It might make them think twice. It might change their attitudes, it might teach them about respect