Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

796 children buried in Septic Tank in Galway - ### Mod Warning in 1st Post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Local historian Catherine Corless has to be given a lot of credit here for actually going and rooting through all the documentation that's brought this to light.

It's a very sad situation when you think about it. Probably the first person to have actually given some thought and respect to those kids is an investigator who several generations younger than them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

As horrified as I am, I can't say I'm all that surprised. Yet another case of the Catholic Church, aided and abetted by the state, grossly abusing the citizens of Ireland.
    With the full knowledge of many of the rest of the citizens. Who is "the state"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,231 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Making it public in an international way, shaming them into doing something. Because this is shameful, for all of us, and we will all express the shame and remorse that is due for this. But the Catholic Church won't unless they are forced to, and forced out of Irish daily life once and for all.

If the history of what the church is responsible for here wasn't enough to 'force them out' then 10,000 names on an internet petition won't be.

Anyway, Fitzgerald should be locked the fcuk up herself for ignoring the issue and sweeping it under the rug when she was originally made aware of it. It's basically obstruction of justice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭Resonator75

Way to go RTE.

2 full minutes of coverage on the main evening news about premeditated construction of mass graves for at least 800 childeren.

Now 10 mins on how brave Noonan is and how he will give us a great budget.

God Im angry.

I think if anything it shows that we all need to start poking around for facts about that very grim era of Irish social history and getting to the bottom of all of these things.

It also shows that individual researchers and small groups can unearth a lot of facts that have been just swept under the carpet for decades.

Start asking questions!

There's been too much waiting on the state to initiate enquires and stuff. People need to start poking under rocks and shaking skeletons out of local closets.

If there are groups out there doing research, maybe we should all volunteer a few hours to even just sort through old records. A bit of crowd sourcing could find out a hell of a lot.

A lot of this stuff involves meticulous analysis of public records. With a bit of organisation it's something we could do a hell of a lot faster by just sharing the workload around with an open source community. People do it for genealogy already, this has a far more urgent purpose!

If there are any historians reading this - have a chat with some of the IT departments in the universities about open data and public data analysis. There's a lot can be done quite effectively and cheaply, particularly if there's a pool of people willing to put a few hours into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think every catholic should do themselves a service and start studying the history of their faith. Look at where the church came from and how it evolved.

It is not the church of Jesus Christ, it's a complete contradiction to everything Jesus was about from what I can see. I like the story of jesus, if he was a real guy, he was a real influential guy that had some great things to say and all credit to the man for getting so many people to listen but the church has hijacked his message, they abuse it and contort it to enrich the catholic corporation.

My tolerance for this institution has been entirely used up, it should do the world a favour and take up it's starring role in ancient history books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

If the history of what the church is responsible for here wasn't enough to 'force them out' then 10,000 names on an internet petition won't be.

Anyway, Fitzgerald should be locked the fcuk up herself for ignoring the issue and sweeping it under the rug when she was originally made aware of it. It's basically obstruction of justice

I agree with you, but am not content to only whinge about it here. The petition is not the point, it is merely an instrument, as are hashtags and whatever else we can use. This needs to be brought to tribunal, and I doubt any of us are confident that the Irish government are going to do anything of the like.

Not to mention that this is not only an Irish problem, child abuse and everything else that the Catholic Church are responsible for has been an historical problem Europe/ North America wide. Who knows, we might be hearing about more atrocities in newly developed countries in years to come. Things that could be happening while we are here button bashing.

If the Kardashians can command international interest, why can't this? Kony 2012 anyone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,231 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Gotta love how RTE are reporting on this
    A cross-department initiative has begun to examine how best to address details emerging about 'mother and baby homes' and the burial of deceased children.

"Emerging"... Are they taking the piss or what?

The government has known about this grave since they went into power.
    how best to address details

In other words how best to spin it to make it seem like they're only learning about it now. They'll probably appoint some retired judge to look into it all, and won't have to answer any questions about why they chose to ignore it back in 2011.

How can it seriously be dealt with properly when our Minister for Justice decided not to take action when it was brought to her attention 3 years ago? I'm amazed that the media are not asking questions of her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Way to go RTE.

2 full minutes of coverage on the main evening news about premeditated construction of mass graves for at least 800 childeren.

God Im angry.

I can't believe it either. This is quantum leaps above anything that has happened to this point, and how many other nuns and convents/schools had this idea with the septic tank disposal and secret starvation?

You could multiply that 796 a few times over to get the full number, that has yet to be unearthed.

They ought to be at least a whole hour dedicated to this story.

I'm a hard to stun man, but **** me, when I read this thread title, I had step up and walk way for a second or two before coming back to type this post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,771 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

ScumLord wrote: »
    I think every catholic should do themselves a service and start studying the history of their faith. Look at where the church came from and how it evolved.

It is not the church of Jesus Christ, it's a complete contradiction to everything Jesus was about from what I can see. I like the story of jesus, if he was a real guy, he was a real influential guy that had some great things to say and all credit to the man for getting so many people to listen but the church has hijacked his message, they abuse it and contort it to enrich the catholic corporation.

My tolerance for this institution has been entirely used up, it should do the world a favour and take up it's starring role in ancient history books.

They have studied their faith, look, Jesus had a problem with Peter, he chopped off an ear of one of the people who went to arrest Jesus, he told Jesus he would never deny him, but did three times.
    Peter went onto be the first Pope, he like every other human was not perfect, it is a church of sinners and some have more to answer for than others.
    There is good and bad, we can judge the good by the bad, the bad by the good, but should one allow the bad to influence one to the point they can no longer see good?
    When one studies it, they know the good cannot be judged by the bad, or the bad by the good. You have to see what is there, what is good is good, what is bad is bad.
    We know from Jesus that one of your own can always betray you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

I was just reading a story about how no records could be found on the church putting up disabled kids for adoption.

So what happened to the disabled kids?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Way to go RTE.

God Im angry.

To be fair, they've just had a live interview about it too.

But it's disgraceful how long it's taken before they started covering this story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

That was fast carbon dating to find out they were famine era ....

InTheTrees wrote: »
    I was just reading a story about how no records could be found on the church putting up disabled kids for adoption.

It was the parents putting their children up for adoption...the families in these cases are getting a nice free ride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

The petition hasn't even hit 5000 signatures yet, even though this thread has had 321 replies and over 13,000 views. Sign and share folks!!

https://secure.avaaz.org/en/petition/Frances_Fitzgerald_Irish_Minister_for_Justice_and_Equality_A_full_Gardai_investigation_into_the_mass_grave_in_Tuam_Co_Ga/

5065 now :)

That was fast carbon dating to find out they were famine era ....

When were they first carbon testing done? Since they have had bones for at least two decades now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

RobertKK wrote: »
    It was the parents putting their children up for adoption...the families in these cases are getting a nice free ride.

Parents? There was only the mother and she wasnt given a choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

They have studied their faith, look, Jesus had a problem with Peter, he chopped off an ear of one of the people who went to arrest Jesus, he told Jesus he would never deny him, but did three times.
    Peter went onto be the first Pope, he like every other human was not perfect, it is a church of sinners and some have more to answer for than others.
    There is good and bad, we can judge the good by the bad, the bad by the good, but should one allow the bad to influence one to the point they can no longer see good?
    When one studies it, they know the good cannot be judged by the bad, or the bad by the good. You have to see what is there, what is good is good, what is bad is bad.
    We know from Jesus that one of your own can always betray you.

That might be true of Christianity generally, but when it comes to the RCC it should by this stage be very clear that it is an institutionally corrupt, morally bankrupt organization that exists with little more purpose other than to accrue wealth, dominance and acquisition of power over its members.
    IMO is no different than other cults who over the centuries have abused their power for the gain of the few at the top.

InTheTrees wrote: »

It's a good question.
    I know a lot of people who were quite mildly disabled in those days ended up spending very long periods of time 'out of sight, out of mind' in institutions too.

i.e. people with physical disabilities and what would be classified these days as relatively minor learning difficulties.

The mental institutions here were absolutely overflowing with people who absolutely did not need to be there. We actually incarcerated more people in institutions per capita than any other country on earth with records at the time. More than even the USSR which had a horrendous reputation for that.

Mary Raferty did a documentary called Behind the Walls which shows just how the institutions were used for social control and convenience in those days, rather than as any kind of an actual mental health service.

It's worth a watch, but be prepared to feel rather angry and depressed afterwards!

Mary Rafferty (who sadly died a few years ago at only 51 years old) did an amazing amount of investigative journalism on these issues over the years. She really deserves a hell of a lot of credit for holding a mirror up to this society and showing it just how screwed up and ugly it had become.

If you didn't fit in it was the emigrant boat or an institution / home of some sort to be 'looked after'...

It was a cold, highly conformist, very authoritarian society that did not really tolerate anyone stepping outside lines painted down by the Catholic Church and supported strongly by a 'holier than thou' conservative lobby that seemed to have complete control of politics and public debate. They were trying to create a completely artificial, fake, 'perfect' society using social engineering methods. That's pretty much what you see if you analyse it a bit.

It has an awful lot in common with what happened in other parts of Northern Europe with eugenics and with Spain under Franco which actually has a remarkable number of parallels, other than we managed to do it within the context of a democracy. Spain's coming to terms with revelations of up to 300,000 forced adoptions where parents were told their kids were dead because they were 'unsuitable' families....

http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-15335899

Parents? There was only the mother and she wasnt given a choice.

An immaculate conception? There was a father somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

SpaceTime wrote: »
    Local historian Catherine Corless has to be given a lot of credit here for actually going and rooting through all the documentation that's brought this to light.

It's a very sad situation when you think about it. Probably the first person to have actually given some thought and respect to those kids is an investigator who several generations younger than them.

Was listening to her on Radio 1 on the way home. The Garda are shocking for taking no action. For dues to her for what she has done and the RTE reporter for such a good report.

It seems the Guards are getting mixed up with a famine graveyard and this workhouse. She has totally put that mix up to bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Not in these places. I suggest you read up on the Magdalene laundries if you are going to try and defend these things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Born out of wedlock. Most of these fathers never took any responsibility I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,447 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Having read the mod warning in post #1, I'll be careful how I phrase this. I'm not 'bashing', but must offer the observation that if the bodies of those children were found dumped in a septic tank on the grounds of a home run by any other organization, posters looking to 'understand how it happened' would be few and far between. Just the fact that it happened at all...

I'm sickened. I'll save my 'bashing' for elsewhere on this site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

When were they first carbon testing done? Since they have had bones for at least two decades now.

Probably on the famine remains on another site as they seem to be getting confused with the 2 sites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

Father had and have no rights re their children being adopted, the fathers could not legally have prevented the adoptions even if they wanted to.
    Is it not time you stopped blaming the victims and saved your hurtful and wholly un- empathetic comments for those who deserve them, ie the who ran these establishments and carried out these atrocious and inhuman acts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Do you think these women went to these places voluntarily?

bumper234 wrote: »
    Do you think these women went to these places voluntarily?

It would seem highly implausible, even if that's the official line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

SpaceTime wrote: »

SpaceTime I clipped this from the Irish Central article. Catherine Corless actually went to school with some of these children -

Catherine Corless, the local historian and genealogist, remembers the Home Babies well. “They were always segregated to the side of regular classrooms,” Corless tells IrishCentral. “By doing this the nuns telegraphed the message that they were different and that we should keep away from them.

“They didn’t suggest we be nice to them. In fact if you acted up in class some nuns would threaten to seat you next to the Home Babies. That was the message we got in our young years,” Corless recalls.

Now a dedicated historian of the site, as a schoolgirl Corless recalls watching an older friend wrap a tiny stone inside a bright candy wrapper and present it as a gift to one of them.

“When the child opened it she saw she’d been fooled,” Corless says. “Of course I copied her later and I tried to play the joke on another little Home girl. I thought it was funny at the time.”

But later – years later – Corless realized that the children she taunted had nobody. “Years after I asked myself what did I do to that poor little girl that never saw a sweet? That has stuck with me all my life. A part of me wants to make up to them.”

That might be true of Christianity generally, but when it comes to the RCC it should by this stage be very clear that it is an institutionally corrupt, morally bankrupt organization that exists with little more purpose other than to accrue wealth, dominance and acquisition of power over its members.
    IMO is no different than other cults who over the centuries have abused their power for the gain of the few at the top.

The church is it's people, not just the clergy.

Does one gain wealth by being the biggest non governmental provider of education and healthcare in the world. If they do then James Reilly and Ruari Quinn would like to know how to run the health and education system.
    The UN said the church 'provides support to millions of people living with HIV around the world', and a quarter of all HIV victims in the world receive medical treatment and care provided by the church.
    The UN works with the church to give antiretoviral to pregnant mothers so the children are born HIV free.
    But this costs no money....apparently.
    What is good is good as I said, what is bad is bad.

Please stop using the word cult, it does more to help people than is given credit for, but letting bad making one blind to good, leaves one in a place that is not rational.
    See the bad, but see the good too, then one has a clearer picture. One would think they take in money and do nothing going by your post.