Boards Golf Society - Outings 2014

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭SnowDrifts

mafc wrote: »
    Fair enough Carlow is more difficult however 42 pts is achievable. I have played it many times & have had some good scores there also some poor scores. So a man hits a bit of form & the vultures are out. Take it on the chin lads & get on with it. Swings & roundabouts. It will even itself out over the year.

"Vultures"? A bit OTT do you not think? The whole point of the ESR is to cater for when one does find a bit of form. I would love to get an ESR in acknowledgment of how good I was playing.

To be frank - coming on here after winning a second event by 6 shots and saying "surely an ESR would be a bit harsh:eek::eek:" speaks volumes and is completely the wrong attitude to have.

I also do not play in this society so I am not going to say much more on it but I'm fairly shocked more people are not agreeing with the sensible words from Golfgraffix and PARlance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭Macker1

Folks,

Enjoying the discussion and was contemplating playing lefthanded at the next outing :p but upon reflection I'm going to continue to try my best to score well. I know I mentioned this down in Carlow but I have to be sincere when saying that I love playing on new courses for the first time. I just seem to thrive on playing new courses and it helps that most courses seem to be shorter than Grange Castle where the length does pose a problem for me. The difference betweeen hitting is 5-6 irons and 7-9 on the shorter tracks suits my game immensely. I know that over the Portumna and Carlow outings I played very well and the scoring reflects that. Good course management and solid putting led to no scratches in either round and when playing off a handicap at the higher end of the scale this will result in high stableford totals.

The year to date has been quite good in terms of scoring and hopefully it will continue now the qualifying should be in place at my home course. My goal is to get my handicap well down this year and I will be putting a great deal of effort into that

This year I have had 4 rounds with 40 or better points and maybe another 4 rounds just shy of the 40 mark. I just had a look at How Di I Do for my last 10rounds at Grange Castle and they are as follows

36pt, 35pt, 34pt, 36pt, 36pt, 38pt, 30pt, 38pt, 42pt and 32pts which over the 10 rounds is an average of 35.7pts per round. This would indicate my handicap of 16.8 is spot on.

I promised myself to have a stronger mental approach to my game in 2014 and treat success and failure as pretty much the same. I don't let bad shots affect my gameplan as this can only lead to failure. This is without doubt leading to my improved scoring.

I'm very much a modest person and whilst I enjoy reading some of the compliments on this thread I do know that this wonderful game of ours can snap right back at any moment and make you feel that your making no progress at all.

To be clear again I have no issue in my Society Handicap being properly adjusted to reflect good scoring in line with the Society Rules. I do honestly believe that if you play well you should be in with a shout of winning and thats what golf should be all about. I have taken no offence to any discussion on this matter on the forums.

As Fix said you guys need to pull up your trousers and start bringing your A-Game starting at BallyKisteen :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

SnowDrifts wrote: »
    "Vultures"? A bit OTT do you not think? The whole point of the ESR is to cater for when one does find a bit of form. I would love to get an ESR in acknowledgment of how good I was playing.

To be frank - coming on here after winning a second event by 6 shots and saying "surely an ESR would be a bit harsh:eek::eek:" speaks volumes and is completely the wrong attitude to have.

I also do not play in this society so I am not going to say much more on it but I'm fairly shocked more people are not agreeing with the sensible words from Golfgraffix and PARlance.

I know all about ESR's ! Have had 5 in last 18 months. ESR is a GUI rule not a society rule ( going by previous posts here) so to apply it mid season as Charlie said would be unfair IMO.

Maybe Vultures was the wrong word, but it was the first thing that came into my head. At the end of the day it's a Boards Society issue so I will not comment any further.

SnowDrifts wrote: »

Not really happy :( with the suggestion above that my attitude is completely wrong. It doesn't matter to me on whether or not you play in the society as each person is welcome to their opinion. You don't know me so take the time to read my comments in this thread. I have no issue with a persons handicap being adjusted fairly in line with the Rules of the Society. Its only fair that a persons handicap is adjusted based on their performance. If the scoring merits an ESR on top of the agreed cuts for winning so be it as long as its within the rules. I'm not going to apologise for playing well and winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Only one answer to this – A comedic interlude.

A poem (lol)

The ante is upped, the "vultures" are out

I still think others, are in with a shout

Ben in the background, Paulo asleep

An ESR – “ A cut too deep”

Macker has them shaking, The cack handed God

It is time for an intervention – our favourite Mod

The scratch, pItch and putt, mellow Pool Granger

Now all eyes on our leader – but, no longer the stranger

The mental game sorted – course management class

The pressure is mounting – on his 40 + point ass

It is time to stop talking – practice, all hard

Before you are infracted – ****ing barred.

He has threatened to go Ronnie – left handed too

He has started to put it up to me and all you

Has he a weakness , a crack in the cack

Leading from the front, can be a pain in the sack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Macker1 wrote: »

36pt, 35pt, 34pt, 36pt, 36pt, 38pt, 30pt, 38pt, 42pt and 32pts which over the 10 rounds is an average of 35.7pts per round. This would indicate my handicap of 16.8 is spot on.
    :D:D:D

I am sure there are better stats guys than me out there and I don't know the SS of the course but to me that looks like your handicap should be at least a shot if not two lower. I don't think you are supposed to be hitting 36 or better that often.

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,145 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

I am sure there are better stats guys than me out there and I don't know the SS of the course but to me that looks like your handicap should be at least a shot if not two lower. I don't think you are supposed to be hitting 36 or better that often.

J

Yeah, not 100% on the numbers, but I'm pretty sure that on average you should shoot around your buffer score, so would be round the 33 mark for macker. Which would imply he should be 2-3 shots lower.

Reality is he has hit a serious purple patch & is on the way down. I'd be more on Charlies side of things on this one, seems a little harsh to change the rules mid period just because a golfer is playing great golf.

I can see where macker is coming from. Playing off the back tees in GC every week then heading to some other shorter courses & playing off society tees is going to mean you'll have shorter approaches to a lot of par 4s & if you're a scratch p&p player hitting lots of shirt irons will mean more scoring chances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

My understanding is that a category 3 golfer, properly handicapped, should score in the buffer zone 33% of the time. Hence you are cut by 0.3 and go out by .1 to reflect this anomaly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

All,

Members of the committee have discussed this in the background and have come to the unanimous decision that we will not be introducing ESR's mid season. (FYI Mackers GUI is currently 16.8, his society handicap is now 13, if his GUI changes below 13 then the onus is on him to notify us)

We believe that for the most part this is one of the best societies to be part of in the country. This is thanks to some kind sponsors along with some incredible volunteers on the committee who genuinely have put hours into organising these events. We had a stuttery start but have gone from strength to strength over the past 2 years.

The committee would ask two things going forward:
    1. If you have any issues with the society please PM a committee member and your issue will be taken under serious consideration.
    2. If your GUI changes please notify Charlie who is multi-tasking this year as handicap secretary and Captain:D While we try to watch out for changes, there are 36 members in the society and really we feel the onus should be on you to notify us.
    Thanks,
    BGS Committee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,972 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

PARlance wrote: »

Sure look at Rikand, he's still playing off a Society HC that given means that he probably has to shoot an under par round to be in with a chance of winning.
    And this is still from his sins of last year...
    If we don't know the difference between giving a 5 HC'er a 4 shot cut and giving an 18 HC'er a 4 shot cut and what that means to the chances of having a fair crack at things then we ain't learning much from this forum.

Hope you don't mind the reference Rikand, I don't know your thoughts on this matter and I haven't spoken to Rikand on this. (in case anyone thinks he has the same opinions)
    All I know is that Rikand has taken it on the chin, and bar the odd joke about it in good humour, he has sucked it up.

I'm happy to go as low as i can go, in score and in handicap. I dont care one iota if I'm off a handicap of 1/2 and I can't win a prize cause i love the challenge of trying to play off that handicap.

I'm more than happy with the current handicap system. I definitely don't feel it makes things any worse for me as for anyone else. 4 shots is still FOUR SHOTS no matter what your level!

I'm happy that Macker is going through a purple patch and shooting great scores.

I'd be happy for anyone else to go and do the same.

I fancy he'll get a bit of a land, sooner rather than later, but if he doesn't, then i hope he keeps on shooting great scores and gets cut more and wins golfer of the year because he will have DESERVED it.

Trade Secret!
    A certain committee member suggested that I have my handicap back up to 5 at the start of this season but I declined. It wouldn't have been right. I earned to get down to 2 last year and as it worked out, i finished in the top 3 at Esker again despite it, so really, am I that far off from competing despite my cuts ? I dont think so.

Societies are fun days out. I'm having fun. I'd hope everyone else is too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭bobster453

Hi All
    Not yet a member, didnt even know there was a society until tonight, but all I can say having read all the posts on this thread is how refreshing it is to see guys having fun and enjoying themselves playing golf to the best of their ability, whatever that may be on the day.
    The League tables, GOTY and Ryder Jug seem like good craic.
    Congratulations to the Committee on organising the courses, it is never easy being on a committee, and I will pm the Captain tonight and join up simply because it seems like good fun, and isnt that what it is all about after all.
    Well done to all, hopefully see you in Ballykisteen on Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,529 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

bobster453 wrote: »
    Hi All
    Not yet a member, didnt even know there was a society until tonight, but all I can say having read all the posts on this thread is how refreshing it is to see guys having fun and enjoying themselves playing golf to the best of their ability, whatever that may be on the day.
    Congratulations to the Committee on organising the courses, it is never easy being on a committee, and I will pm the Captain tonight and join up simply because it seems like good fun, and isnt that what it is all about after all.

Always good to see new faces Bobster, you are welcome to the madness :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Hi All

You're more than welcome, hope you make it and enjoy the outing at my home course.

ballyk wrote: »
    You're more than welcome, hope you make it and enjoy the outing at my home course.
    Thanks ballyk, hope my fade works on the first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Thanks ballyk, hope my fade works on the first

A fade is ideal on the first - just don't overfade it and hit it out of bounds

Best have the wet gear handy folks..been raining all night here in Tipp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,015 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Interesting to see if Tiger has slipped into first place in leaderboard.

Will be very tight at top now.

Interesting to see if Tiger has slipped into first place in leaderboard.

Will be very tight at top now.

Not sure how tight it will be but the table needs to be updated to take into account my first place in the 100m butterfly earlier today. It was meant to be the May Medal but got called off after the ducks started taking residence on the greens where the new water features sprang up :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

Reckon i need one more place at an outing to make rider jug team so must play 3 outings. Game ain't there atm but if i can get a sniff of form i will do whatever i can to make it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,062 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Well after the weekend there has been a shake up in the GOTY league table. (many thanks again to SSBOB for his excellent work) Few moving in the right direction which unfortunately means some moving down the table. The tiger has roared into second place which now has macker looking over his shoulder and reganovski there to pounce should any of them falter!!!!

Attendance / consistent is going to be crucial in the next few events so get on down to Dunmurry and fight for your spot on the team!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭paulos53

Is it our best 4 or 5 events to count at the end of the season?

The top 5 look to be in a very strong position but the next 5 spots on the team look wide open. I am going to have to up my game to stay in the top 10

Top 5 to count.

:) BTW.

I plan on winning an outing . So im chasing too. ;)

Depends what handicap im off, another days work. :)

I think your going to need 450 + . To make team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

I think your going to need 450 + . To make team.

Yeah was looking this morning thinking 500 is guaranteed while 450+ has a good chance.

@ Paulo I think the leaders are assailable but it will take great golf to catch em.

I can't believe I crept into the top 10.... by the skin of my teeth. Not for long though as I will be missing the next one.

I don't think 450 will be enough though, I'm on 300 and there a good few sniffing around there with games in hand. I think 500 is more likely the mark.

It will be really interesting from Gowran as that's where lowest rounds will start getting dropped.

Yes if you look at Mr average (mathematically) going well.
    His average is 75.
    That would finish him to 375. (Stevieob )

But every body making team will have a good day you'd imagine.
    Giving them a midpoint good performance = 150.

So stevieob would be = 450.

But the more events played. Your poor performances will approach 75 giving you an additional 25 points

so that is where 450 + to 475 comes from.

Yes if you look at Mr average (mathematically) going well.
    His average is 75.
    That would finish him to 375. (Stevieob )

But every body making team will have a good day you'd imagine.
    Giving them a midpoint good performance = 150.

So stevieob would be = 450.

But the more events played. Your poor performances will approach 75 giving you an additional 25 points

so that is where 450 + to 475 comes from.

now say that in English..... I didn't understand a word you said :confused:

edit: maybe you were looking at those golfing images i just posted :eek:

stevieob wrote: »
    now say that in English..... I didn't understand a word you said :confused:

edit: maybe you were looking at those golfing images i just posted :eek:

play good consistent golf = ryder jug place!!