Fat as Fooooooooookkk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭SeaDaily

Bruno26 wrote: »
    Ah don't go- was enjoying the debate- are you not going to respond to my post in other thread to explain why you think I was eating too much at 2500 calories and now eat less at 4000 calories?

What in god's name are you talking about? Leave this personal nonsense to pm's just don't clog this thread up with your non-sensical spewing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Bruno26

SeaDaily wrote: »
    What in god's name are you talking about? Leave this personal nonsense to pm's just don't clog this thread up with your non-sensical spewing.

Fair enough but was accused of spamming- just debating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,226 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Thats debatable - Is bread ok? heavily processed- wheat spikes your blood sugar pretty much more than any other food
    That's not true.
    I can think of plenty that are higher.

Also, virtually nobody eats bread on its own. It typically comes with meat, avocado, cheese, salad, or just butter. These fillings are typically proteins/fats and reduce the impact on blood sugar. Quoting ingredients individually is pointless.

FWIW, I don't really eat wheat. I feel better without it. But I also think that the GI concept is very poorly thrown about.

Mellor wrote: »
    That's not true.
    I can think of plenty that are higher.

Which ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Which ones?

Rice/Potato/Raisins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

Chocolate/Ice-cream/Candy floss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,226 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Which ones?
    Watermelon, baked potato, sports drinks, rice cakes, parsnips.

And even the humble Sweet potato. When it's baked it has a GI of 95. That huge.

I'm talking about foods from a field - either grown or run around!

Some of the foods above are processed - eg chocolate, sports drink, Ice ream

The only ones comparable or higher than wheat are watermelon rice, potato, baked sweet potato, sports drink(not a real food)

Parsnip, Chocolate, ice cream, sugar are lower.

I'm just pointing out the effects of wheat as it is a huge part of the overall populations diet.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Lads, can ye get back on topic. None of the bickering is helping the OP

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

I'm talking about foods from a field - either grown or run around!

Some of the foods above are processed - eg chocolate, sports drink, Ice ream

The only ones comparable or higher than wheat are watermelon rice, potato, baked sweet potato, sports drink(not a real food)

Parsnip, Chocolate, ice cream, sugar are lower.

I'm just pointing out the effects of wheat as it is a huge part of the overall populations diet.
    7g sugar in 100g wheat
    48g sugar in 100g dark choclate

Back on topic.

Hows the exams?

Taylor365 wrote: »
    7g sugar in 100g wheat
    48g sugar in 100g dark choclate

Back on topic.

Hows the exams?

Do you know what GI means?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,473 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

I think it means you'll get fat from carbs

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

it means: ignore mod instruction again and you'll be banned. Back on topic.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

I think it means you'll get fat from carbs

GI is a system that ranks foods by the speeds at which their carbohydrates are converted into glucose in the body; a measure of the effects of foods on blood-sugar levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

GI is a system that ranks foods by the speeds at which their carbohydrates are converted into glucose in the body; a measure of the effects of foods on blood-sugar levels.

GL is a more accurate tool for this.

Blacktie. wrote: »
    GL is a more accurate tool for this.

yes it is.

So even though dark choc is higher in sugar content than wheat, the carbs won't be converted into glucose as fast. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,421 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Okay, this thread has gone totally awry, and the op is probably gone too.

But just in case.

Help the op or go away and start a thread on GI/Gluten elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 jamesheller

It looks you want to gain weight, if you want to build you muscles then its beneficial to eat this heavy meal and yes also join gym body building

What in god's name is a "heavy meal"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,912 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

What in god's name is a "heavy meal"?

Prolly meant 'heavy metal'.

A Pete Townshend fan, I'm thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Minivan

I'm back ready to commit to a program of some sort from tomorrow!

As a few posters said previously the idea is not to gain weight but to loose it.

16 stone to around 12 would put me back in the proper bracket again.

Right so tomorrow's day one what do I eat?

I'll go gym in the morning to start off

Should I eat breakfast before the gym or after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,541 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

If you are hungry then yes, eat. If you are not it won't make much difference at all. Have eggs and bacon for brekkie, tuna and sweetcorn salad for lunch, chicken, veg and spuds for dinner. Watch portion sizes, include protein source in each meal etc etc etc.

Avoid spuds

Avoid spuds

Why are you still here?

You love spuds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Avoid spuds

This is an overweight lad who lives on chipper and chocolate.
    There is no point in being a diet nazi because that will just encourage reversion.
    You are not helping the OP. You are confusing the thread.

Zamboni wrote: »
    There is no point in being a diet nazi because that will just encourage reversion.

If he's overweight he should cut out spuds- easy- will have quicker results- you can have a dinner without them.

Zamboni wrote: »

If he's overweight he should cut out spuds- easy- will have quicker results- you can have a dinner without them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,912 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Adherence is important. Incremental changes.
    There is no point in taking a chipper guzzler and lobbing onto something like strict paleo. By day 3 he will be in the local Macari's.

You found god. Good for you. Now feck off and stop preaching like a zealot! :pac: