Family Cat Saves Boy From Vicious Dog Attack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭ronjo

It was part joke/part real suggestion Anto....jeeez.

Too late !!

You have ruined EVERYTHING !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

beano345 wrote: »
    I think after watching it a second time he was in guard dog mode.my old dog whenever my mates would call up to the door would be all happy to see them,then turn into an absolute psycho the minute they crossed the threshold.

That dog stalked the child and was no way provoked into ripping into his leg. The kid was so lucky to have not been killed. Its always good to have a cat on your side :D Have a dog that hates cats and goes into killer mode anytime a cat approaches. Great placid dog otherwise but we can't have cats due to his aggressive attitude. Cats are my favourite animal - this particular moggie deserves a medal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭Calibos

Son, that cat that saved you from the dog last year was grandad re-incarnated......but he was as blind as a bat in his last few years and....Look Son, I'm sorry to have to tell you this but the dozy old coot ran out under the wheels of a truck and is pavement pizza now.

Noooooooooo!!! Grandad!! Why do you keep dying on me!! Why couldn't you die in your sleep like last time!!

Yeah, perfect end to a feel good story alright!! :rolleyes:
    The spiritual never think things through to its logical conclusion, do they :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

A bad dog

Is that a bold dog?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭guppy

Did anyone else notice the mother just left the child on the ground to go back inside/wherever? The poor kid had to get himself up and run off!

Yay for the cat though, he at least knew how to take control of the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

SpaceTime wrote: »
    My grandmother was very ill and her cat used to grab things from the kitchen and try to feed her.

That made me laugh out loud for some reason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

NZ_2014 wrote: »
    "Police said the dog would be quarantined for 10 days and then put down."

Why does it need to be quarantined?

What type of dog is that?

:D only in America !!!

https://farm7.staticflickr.com/6009/5933297899_c2ccb47b40.jpg

guppy wrote: »
    Did anyone else notice the mother just left the child on the ground to go back inside/wherever? The poor kid had to get himself up and run off!

In fairness I think she was checking the dog was out of the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

guppy wrote: »

Yes ,i also thought that strange ,but the cat returned immediately he had seen the dog off .Hope he gave the dog a good bite .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭hju6

Birroc wrote: »
    I cant get over how much CCTV coverage they have and how clear it is.

I did see a Rottweiler chase a cat into a corner. I thought the cat was in trouble but it hissed/spat/clawed etc and the Rottweiler got scared. There was a standoff for about an hour before the dog got bored.

Very good of you to watch for a hour, very humane,

Next time you are chased into a corner I hope you get a large audience

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,264 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Very lucky boy. Very awesome cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

"Police said the dog would be quarantined for 10 days and then put down."

Why does it need to be quarantined?

What type of dog is that?

Probably to make sure it doesn't have rabies or something like that.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭guppy

the_monkey wrote: »
    In fairness I think she was checking the dog was out of the way

That makes sense, in a heat of the moment way, I just think my first reaction would be to pick my child up and have him out of further harms way.That being said, we all react differently under stress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭NZ_2014

:D only in America !!

Wtf are you saying monkey

ah yeah , makes sense that it's to check if the dog has rabies or something ..

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Without audio we don't know what kinds of names that child was calling the dog to provoke him like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

Without audio we don't know what kinds of names that child was calling the dog to provoke him like that.

???:confused:

Are you being serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Reporter " The dog is likely to be put down " :rolleyes:
    keano_afc wrote: »
    You think it shouldnt?
    Wibbs wrote: »
    I'm not the first to cry "destroy the dog", but in this case I would be. Totally unprovoked attack. IMHO he was in full prey mode and was out to kill that child. It was all on the dog's side.

DOGGONE! Was put down shortly afterwards.
    The full video made all the big news channels here last night

http://globalnews.ca/news/1331091/watch-family-cat-races-to-rescue-4-year-old-boy-from-dog-attack/
    edit: The boy is mildly autistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭comongethappy

The kid wasn't paying any attention to the dog.
    Which seems very apparent.

Though I'm sure dogs know when a child is calling them a 'hairy b*stard'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

If you turn the volume up really loud, you can just about hear the cat yelling "CUN'T!" as he attacks the dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

SoulTrader wrote: »
    If you turn the volume up really loud, you can just about hear the cat yelling "CUN'T!" as he attacks the dog.

Cats are known for their foul language!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭rozeboosje

Did anybody else find it strange that this incident was filmed from so many different angles? Where did this take place, on a movie set!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,755 ✭✭✭Bigus

Yummy mummy or a cougar ?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

rozeboosje wrote: »
    Did anybody else find it strange that this incident was filmed from so many different angles? Where did this take place, on a movie set!?

Sophisticated CCTV system in a somewhat paranoid gated community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭rozeboosje

SpaceTime wrote: »
    Sophisticated CCTV system in a somewhat paranoid gated community.

I see. Well, with dogs like that roaming the streets I can see why they're paranoid O_o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Any dog that attacks a human, especially a child should be put down. It is entirely the dog owner's fault, but you simply can't have a dog that you can't trust around people, especially kids.

I say that as a confirmed dog-lover. (I'm agnostic at best towards cats....gotta admit the pussy got the job done here though, fair play).
    In fairness you shouldn't trust any dog around kids, or any kid around dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Did they find the cat the day after their grandfafther passed away, and his last words were, "I'll be looking out for ye all"? That's what would make this story truly great.

What would make this story really great would be if, having saved the kid, a sad-looking middle-aged woman came along and put the cat in a wheelie bin, and the kid, now named Charlie, went inside, still bleeding heavily,and bit his brother's finger,the interweb would probably explode....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭NZ_2014

ah yeah , makes sense that it's to check if the dog has rabies or something ..

Did you find out for me what breed that dog was?