Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Fair play to City. Whatever about money, they played football that made the league better to watch and their manager isn't a horrible muppet.

Think I just saw some of my family storm the pitch, haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

Brilliant season in all fairness. Up from 7th last year and CL football and a crap load of cash for transfers helps us to push on.

What the hell am I going to do every weekend now? Guess I can go back to the family now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭tok9

In the end I'm happy we got the win there.

Mentioned it on twitter but that 1st half was the first time we really bottled it this season... played really poorly.

Anyway much improved in the second half, would have liked to see Suarez get a goal but that's about it really.

Massive summer now. Fullbacks are an absolute priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Real Madrid

No spelling mistakes.

Grayditch wrote: »
    Fair play to City. Whatever about money, they played football that made the league better to watch and their manager isn't a horrible muppet.

Think I just saw some of my family storm the pitch, haha.

Thank god it wasn't Chelsea to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

Great season, some lows, but mainly highs. Tbh the most balanced team won out in the end so hopefully we can make the right adjustments next year and kick on.

Nobody expected us to do this well and plenty will come in and say we bottled it but that's bollix tbh as we got away with a few results so it all balanced out in the end.

Champions League nights back at Anfield is what we all wanted and I cannot wait.

All in all a great time to be a Liverpool fan after the last five years and I expect us to continue this into next season.

#pandas

Turtyturd wrote: »
    No spelling mistakes.

Attempt at humour? It failed.

Jesus lads I just realized that I work late on Wednesday nights. Will have to do something about that for the CL.

When does the draw take place anyway? If we play against a German team then I am there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

2015 OUR YEAR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Congrats City , well done .

Proud of our team , we have had some season .

It's been great in here lads , Pandas , Saps

Thanks a million for the great belly laughs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,656 ✭✭✭El Inho

I'm feeling surprisingly Zen right now...seeing Jose after the Chelsea game hurt more than happy a happy city squad....

We did amazing this year. Maybe the phrase next year has a whole new impetus now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭osnola ibax

All comes back to Chelsea match, I was gutted after that, still am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Going from 7th to 1st would have been freakish in fairness. That kind of gap doesn't get covered in one season.

Well, not on the way up, anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Absolutely unbelievable season. So proud of my team to even be where we were with 10 games to go, never mind being still in contention on the final day.

We've got the best manager in England and the best player (by a mile). We've a solid foundation to build on and Champions League is back after 5 years. We'll be back and when we win it, it'll be so fcuking sweet and deserved.

Let the WUM's and troll's have their day today, don't bite. Just enjoy the season for what it's been, a rollarcoaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,043 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Jesus lads I just realized that I work late on Wednesday nights. Will have to do something about that for the CL.

When does the draw take place anyway? If we play against a German team then I am there.

Draw is not until the end of August

Liverpool will most likely be in the 3rd pot for the group draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

It's funny to think we started off the season struggling for goals and keeping 3 clean sheets

1-0
    1-0
    1-0

Really was a sign of things to come :pac:

need to cement our place in top 4 next season as the absolute minimum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭BMJD

Grayditch wrote: »
    That kind of gap doesn't get covered in one season.

Well, not on the way up, anyway.

Great season, onwards and upward from here, hopefully.

All comes back to Chelsea match, I was gutted after that, still am

I think Sterlings disallowed goal hurts more against City as BR said.

We lost by two against Chelsea. One slip did feck all really and the media have blown it all up. If we lost 2-1 then fair enough.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,893 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

In the second half of the season we went P19 W15 D3 L1 for 48/57 points. Fantastic effort.

We lost by two against Chelsea. One slip did feck all really and the media have blown it all up. If we lost 2-1 then fair enough.

We only conceded the second cos we were pushing everyone forward to get an equaliser, the second goal was irrelevant really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

El Inho wrote: »
    I'm feeling surprisingly Zen right now...seeing Jose after the Chelsea game hurt more than happy a happy city squad....

Yep, that was the moment for me when the whole title thing came crashing down. We exceeded expectations for this season, and despite what some think we were never strongly in control of the league.

Roll on the World Cup, and next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Jones, Johnson, Enrique, Toure, Agger, Alberto, Suarez, Gerrard, Aspas, Coutinho, Henderson, Sturridge, Sakho, Cissokho, Lucas, Mignolet, Allen, Sterling, Ibe, Kelly, Skrtel, Flanagan, Smith, Teixeira, Rodgers and the rest of the back room staff. You've all done us so proud this year. Moses... i left you out on purpose lad. :P

Well done to Manchester United on their league win today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Great season overall, some will be disappointed maybe understandably but we cant lose sight of how far we've come. We have the right man for the job in BR with a bright future. He has proved himself in a way i never thought he would.

The biggest disappointment would be not to emulate next season what we've achieved this season. Its said every year but the transfer window is crucial. We obviously need to keep Suarez but not sure if its possible.

CL next season guaranteed, 23 points greater than last season..........you cant be unhappy with that. Also Moses is out the door! Happy days.

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    Jones, Johnson, Enrique, Toure, Agger, Alberto, Suarez, Gerrard, Aspas, Coutinho, Henderson, Sturridge, Sakho, Cissokho, Lucas, Mignolet, Allen, Sterling, Ibe, Kelly, Skrtel, Flanagan, Smith, Teixeira, Rodgers and the rest of the back room staff. You've all done us so proud this year. Moses... i left you out on purpose lad. :P

I'd leave out Johnson as well tbh. Pathetic season capped by a pathetic performance today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Tough luck lads really wanted you to win it today. Great to see you back competing in the top four. Look forward to continuing our rivalry next season :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭S. Goodspeed

We would not have committed 10 men foward in injury time if it was still 0-0 but it's all irrelevant now. Great season, clear areas for improvement, onwards and upwards!

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    hefferboi wrote: »
    I'd leave out Johnson as well tbh. Pathetic season capped by a pathetic performance today.

And Lucas, the only positive contribution he made to the season was pissing off out of the team to let Gerrard take the DM role.....then the magic really started to happen

kfallon wrote: »
    And Lucas, the only positive contribution he made to the season was pissing off out of the team to let Gerrard take the DM role.....then the magic really started to happen

He was excellent in the first half of the season when Gerrard was poor. Very poor since his return, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

kfallon wrote: »

Ah Johnson and Lucas both contributed at different points. I'm not sure that Moses did anything that Ibe couldn't have done for us...