Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭googled eyes

murpho999 wrote: »
    Why would Hyppia be the 'obvious option'?

He has just been a manager, why would he go back to being a defensive coach?
    It just reeks of being a sentimental appointment.

Same for Steve Clarke.
    It should be easy to get a defensive coach from anywhere and they don't have to have links with the club, they have to be the best person for the job.

Off-handily mentioned Sami the other day. Yes its sentimentality.

But we need some kind of defensive coaching brought in for next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

gafferino wrote: »
    Villa have zero chance of beating City tonight. Zero.

They actually have minus 2 chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

Turtyturd wrote: »
    There are a couple of United fans interpreting this as every Liverpool fan thinking Villa are going to win.

Yeah but they dont know that we know that they know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Turtyturd wrote: »
    There are a couple of United fans interpreting this as every Liverpool fan thinking Villa are going to win.

It's not even the reverse jinx thing you normally see on here.

This really is not going to happen.

I'd go so far as to put maybe... 2e on it in the bookies.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Twitter is funnny at the moment with people play shıt stirring by tweeting some pretty funny (but course) stuff between Man City players and Villa/West ham players offical accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

DrumSteve wrote: »

Dickerty wrote: »

I'll do it... and I'll post the pic up here too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭kop-end

It's not even the reverse jinx thing you normally see on here.

This really is not going to happen.

City have never beaten Villa on a day that has the letter G in it. Make of that what you will but I am not giving up hope....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,353 ✭✭✭ebbsy

City 0 Villa 2

I can feel it in me waters.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,890 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Even with Aguero out, Villa have nearly no chance. Anything is possible in football, but they are a poor side that are now safe. I expect City to be 2 up in 20 mins and never look in danger. I won't be watching the match anyhow as I have stuff I need to do, but my hopes are most certainly not up.

Even if Villa do get a draw, no point in lamenting Monday again as this game would have likely played out differently if we had won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Do it and I swear I'll put 82 cent on Villa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭kop-end

ebbsy wrote: »
    City 0 Villa 2

I can feel it in me waters.

I ran to work this morning kicking as many magpies in the 'goolies' just to make sure.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,015 ✭✭✭brevity

murpho999 wrote: »
    Why would Hyppia be the 'obvious option'?

He has just been a manager, why would he go back to being a defensive coach?
    It just reeks of being a sentimental appointment.

Same for Steve Clarke.
    It should be easy to get a defensive coach from anywhere and they don't have to have links with the club, they have to be the best person for the job.

He's the 'obvious option' because firstly I don't know of any other defensive coaches, because he was a pretty good defender and he has said he'd return to the club.

He's just been a manager granted but he might feel that one step back might help him learn from Rodgers, get a bit more experience at a club that he knows very well.

If it works out he can say that he helped to improve the defence at a club that was leaking goals.

Do it and I swear I'll put 82 cent on Villa

Don't get ahead of yourself there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭TrueIt

2-0 to Villa at half time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Villa wont score tonight , city will

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Lads don't do it to yourselves, City will run riot over Villa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Some of ye are lacking the

shutterstock_129407504.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Another first for the thread:D

Augmerson wrote: »
    Lads don't do it to yourselves, City will run riot over Villa.

Yep.

but we still need to give those poor supporters of the team currently sitting 7th something to take a bit or joy out of.

a token gift if you will. :D

Agueroooo wrote: »
    Yep.

but we still need to give those poor supporters of the team currently sitting 7th something to take a bit or joy out of.

mt8lZXgaysMEkyzQDAcU-0g.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

bbc wrote:
    They have picked up just two points from their last seven away games, and have lost the last four. They last lost five away games in a row in the league from December 2006 to February 2007.

They are due.
    bbc wrote:
    Only Chelsea (16 points) have a better record than Aston Villa (10 points) against the current top four in the Premier League this season (W3, D1).

Form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭ciaranmac

1-0 to Villa. Joe Hart to accidentally kick the ball into his own net from a goal kick. I can feel it.

Can't score direct from a goal kick...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Agueroooo wrote: »
    Yep.

Ah I couldn't give a toss about United, they're irrelevant and facing the same very long road we went down before. It can take a long time to get back to where you were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭dixiefly

5live wrote: »
    Erm...no.

Apparently he has won nothing, according to a poster in the last thread.

Which reminds me, Dixiefly, any screenshots of that bet yet?:D

Any chance of sending over your email address and I will produce the evidence of the bet that you seem to crave if (when) City win the league.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭dixiefly

Augmerson wrote: »
    Ah I couldn't give a toss about United, they're irrelevant and facing the same very long road we went down before. It can take a long time to get back to where you were.

You talk about the long road as if it is the past. Did I miss something or have Liverpool won silverware? Big improvement in fortunes yes but, if Suarez leaves ye during the summer, you might be under pressure to even retain your CL spot next season.

I agree with you that United have a tough road ahead but I dont believe that it will be anything near as long as Liverpool have been in the wilderness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

dixiefly wrote: »
    You talk about the long road as if it is the past. Did I miss something or have Liverpool won silverware? Big improvement in fortunes yes but, if Suarez leaves ye during the summer, you might be under pressure to even retain your CL spot next season.

United have a tough road ahead but I dont believe that it will be anything near as long as Liverpool have been in the wilderness.

You should be more concerned with who is leaving Old Trafford to be quite honest!

Utd are irrelevant in the grand scheme of things. City are the top dogs in Manchester now.

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Utd are irrelevant in the grand scheme of things. City are the top dogs in Manchester now.

Call me weird but one of the highlights I will get out of this season is Utd supporters cheering on City.

twas and is lolistic :D

rarnes1 wrote: »

To be fair, that is only true in this season. United won it last year, and still have the bigger fanbase, stadium, commercial income (non-dodgy), trophy cabinet, etc.

But I appreciate we are poking fun at United, so that's fair enough!