Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread Summer 2014 - Mod Warning post #6893

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,005 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

donfers wrote: »
    Tottenham delete and apologise for tweet
    Augmerson wrote: »
    The only sensible move.

Whats this about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭googled eyes

What ye think of bringing Sami in as a defensive coach ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,868 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

What ye think of bringing Sami in as a defensive coach ?

It has to be the right appointment not a sentimental one in my opinion.
    Hyppia will be looking for a management role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,623 ✭✭✭googled eyes

murpho999 wrote: »

Maybe so, but we need some kind of defensive coaching before the next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

klose wrote: »
    Agger was injured and despite conceding goals in the games he played while agger was out sakho played well imo, so he kept his place. Hes not everyones cup of tea as a defender but its his first season here and still probably doesn't know much english so communication will be sparce. Glen johnson is a much bigger issue in defence.

Agger got injured for the West Ham game alright and never got his place back. We've conceeded 10 goals in the 5 games since Agger got injured. As opposed to 4 goals in 5 games previously to that when he was playing. Centre Backs are built on partnerships and for whatever reason the Skrtel / Sakho one hasnt worked. He might be the answer in a year or two's time but for me I would have had Agger in over Sakho every week. The stats just back it up.

And yeah, besides all that, Johnson is our biggest liability at the back.

Carragher seems to know his stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,109 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

The defenders have ****ed up plenty this year, but it's not just them - we desperately need more balance in the system. So often the whole midfield forgets their defensive duties when we're pushing forward. The second today, and the Gerrard slip incident - the killer blows took place close to the halfway line, and there was simply noone there to mop up. We can't keep taking those kinds of risks, with fullbacks, and even centrebacks pushed so far up the field.

Henderson papers over this issue to a small degree at times with his incredible workrate and tenacity, but we need our defenders to have defending as their priority. I'd love 4 all out attackers, 3 all out defenders (2CB's and a DMC), with the fullbacks, and another midfielder as swing players.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,109 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Steve Clarke's still out of work...

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,222 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Cousin had massive stroke.Shes 27 with 2 young kids (youngest is 2 months) Puts things in perspective.
    Jesus, sorry to hear that.

Hope she pulls through OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭GotTheTshirt

murpho999 wrote: »

I always thought that Steve Clarke would have been approached after getting sacked at West Brom. He's another that might be looking for a management gig but we had a much better defensive unit when he was coaching.

Watching Rodgers post match interview there, I think he should of thrown in a" I would love it" when talking about city's remaining games.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

A few things that haven't been mentioned too much
    1. If you feel bad now, imagine how you'd feel if this had happened after Everton snatched a draw

2. Clattenburg denied us at least 2 clear pens which in hindsight proved crucial, with our defensive setup it's almost impossible to relax unless we are 5 or 6 up

3. How bad was Moses miss late on? The ball seemed to flash across the box quite fast, a sitter missed or understandable?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭Shooter_galway

Lads Henderson's role is massive, the donkey work he does is so under estimated by most. We need a defender that can boss a back line no nonsense type stuff.. I think lescott would be worth a punt as short term. Signs were there last season when carragher was brought back into side and kolo brought in but wasn't up to speed. I think even wisdom would have more organisation then skittles or sakho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭GotTheTshirt

1. If you feel bad now, imagine how you'd feel if this had happened after Everton snatched a draw
    ?

To be fair, I'd imagine tonight's game would have played out very differently if Everton had gotten a result the weekend.

Think it will feel a lot worse if city only manage 4 points from their last two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

For years i had Utd supporting friends tell me that the joy that Liverpool fans took from their slip ups actually made it easier to take... they were right. It does make it easier. Tho it still hurts loads... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    For years i had Utd supporting friends tell me that the joy that Liverpool fans took from their slip ups actually made it easier to take... they were right. It does make it easier. Tho it still hurts loads... :(

I've had United supporters telling me the pain they felt missing out on the title was hugely helped by Liverpool finishing near mid-table. They were right. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

I've had United supporters telling me the pain they felt missing out on the title was hugely helped by Liverpool finishing near mid-table. They were right. :)

Yeah it just brings home the change in fortunes this year. Ofc i'd still let them be 2nd rather than 7th if it meant we won the league.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭BMMachine

ah well :s
    possibly an opportunity lost but I really enjoyed the run. We can be proud. dont fall for the lowbrow drivel

Tony Pulis summed us up pretty well.

Its a numbers game. They (Liverpool) will score more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Great point for the lads. It will really stand to us on Wednesday when Aston's Villas smash City's back door in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,142 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Be some Craic in here if villa do beat city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

I thought Joe Allen was excellent tonight, definitely a valuable member of the squad going forward IMO.

niallo27 wrote: »
    Be some Craic in here if villa do beat city.

And then we lose to Newcastle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,142 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

rarnes1 wrote: »
    And then we lose to Newcastle!

I'd have to quit the internet.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Have to think the league was lost so to speak when Henderson was sent off. Though I maintain I think the hysteria that came after the Cardiff/Tottenham game was gradually catching up on Liverpool and they were absolutely wrecked with 30 minutes left.

Having watched the match I'm surprised the defence is getting such criticism. Liverpool had more enough chances to kill the game at 3-0 by getting a fourth but were far too wasteful. Suarez and Sturridge did not combine well at all. And attacking is how Liverpool got themselves up there turning games on their head, responding to goals conceded by scoring more - Norwich away, Cardiff away, West Ham away, City at home, Everton away, Stoke away..

This time it just didn't work, it's not a major failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Andy Carroll winner in the 94th minute would be the method of choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭wcarey1975

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Andy Carroll winner in the 94th minute would be the method of choice

Or a downing freekick