Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your driving pet hates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,644 ✭✭✭TheBody

1. Not using indicators, be it on a round about or on the road in general.
    2. Not using the correct lane on a round about or driving in both lanes!
    3. Using parking lights when driving in low light or fog. You may as well not have any lights on as the parking lights. YOU CAN'T BE SEEN.
    4. Driving 20km/ph under the sped limit.
    5. Too timid to overtake slow moving vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

Arseholes going around busy junctions or roundabouts who won't indicate because they are too busy holding their mobile phone to their ear.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 656 ✭✭✭NipNip

Oh - and how could I forget! The mini-bus phenomenon! Also known as - the 'family car'. They take up at least 1 and a half parking spaces. They seem virtually impossible to manoeuvre around corners, typically almost taking the side out of my little banger. Plus they totally block your visibility if you're parked beside one. It's like edging out of a blind bloody corner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭truedoom

no indicators.
    yaris drivers.
    micra drivers.
    people driving cars that are too big for them to handle
    people driving smalls cars and thinking the car is huge.

Just in regards to the fog lights, i've reason to keep them on at night.

Dipped lights are pretty rubbish. It's a legitimate fault with my car, so it's either fogs on, or have to do 20-30kph under the limit, because i can't see far enough ahead.

Sorry lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

NipNip wrote: »
    Oh - and how could I forget! The mini-bus phenomenon! Also known as - the 'family car'. They take up at least 1 and a half parking spaces. They seem virtually impossible to manoeuvre around corners, typically almost taking the side out of my little banger. Plus they totally block your visibility if you're parked beside one. It's like edging out of a blind bloody corner!
    The missus and I refer to them as Kuntwagons. Seeing a woman trying to park one is normally amusing.

No Pants wrote: »
    The missus and I refer to them as Kuntwagons. Seeing a woman trying to park one is normally amusing.

Seeing a man driving one is also amusing. You can see the shame written all over their faces. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭angwd

Rubberneckers, grrr.

And the cheeky beggar at the petrol station the other day, stood between me and the cash desk trying to force me to go and pump his petrol because "he'd left his glasses at home".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

People throwing rubbish out the window while driving.

Saw a guy yesterday while driving, just fire 4 bags of mc donalds rubbish out the window onto the side of the road while after being parked next to a bin.

Fúcking wánker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Plopli wrote: »
    People that because they have a motorbike in front of them consider it is fine to cross the whit line to overtake a stationary vehicle or a push bike, most often without indicating.

Sure, he can go a bit more to the left, no harm done.
    I'm seeing that more and more recently. Often on solid white lines and approaching or in corners too. I'm glad that they're giving the cyclist room, don't get me wrong, but a little cop on would not go astray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

+1 on most above,

But my #1 pet hate is drivers indicating to turn right when approaching a simple roundabout yet go straight!!!

Grrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

A***holes who tailgate learners and people clearly on a driving lesson.

Motorbikers that leave their headlight on all the time.

People who speed and pass on the
    left. Arrogant ****s that don't know the danger they're causing.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

People ignoring road markings. No matter how dumb you think the road layout might be (and it is in some cases) the road markings are there to keep people on their patch of road and out of other people's way. Ignoring them is asking for trouble.

Overtaking on bends and hills, especially the people in big-engined cars who think that because they've got all the power they can drive as they like. You can only drive as fast as what's in front of you and if that's a bit slow, so be it. Wait until a safe opportunity presents itself to overtake. Put on the cruise control a few km/h slower than them, sit back and enjoy the scenery.

People using the wrong lanes on roundabouts so they can jump ahead of people. The Parkway roundabout in Limerick is a perfect example of this.

People creeping across the stopline at traffic lights: IF THE LIGHT IS F**KING RED IT MEANS YOU F**KING STOP YOU MORON!!!! Creeping across the stopline will not make them change any faster. They compound their idiocy by driving off slowly once the lights actually do change: 9 times out of 10 I'll catch up/pass people who do this while driving perfectly legally.

People running red lights: because you can't wait a few minutes to take your turn you want to endanger everyone around you. Thanks!

People not accelerating on motorway slip roads: they're there so you can get up to an appropriate speed for the mainline before merging. I do not appreciate having to merge onto a motorway at 70 or 80 km/h because you don't know what your accelerator pedal is for. Likewise de-merging - wait until you're off the mainline before slowing down. I appreciate that there are some junctions where this isn't feasible (those ridiculous pitlanes that have turned up on some newer motorways).

I reckon our roads would be a great deal more pleasant to use if people had a little more patience and awareness, but that's probably asking too much.

And I forgot people who don't use their handbrake when stopped in traffic. Thanks for blinding me with your lights.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,487 ✭✭✭ofcork

People who see you coming but pull out at the last minute and then proceed to crawl WHY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Slow drivers. Most of my driving is on national primary roads. Overtaking opportunities few and far between and less so if traffic is heavy. And you have the idiot, that for no good reason, is traveling at 60kph. And when you are coming to a spot where you know you can overtake there will inevitably be a string of cars coming against you. For me there is nothing more frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

NSAman wrote: »
    Micra drivers

Ah yes, The Rolling roadblocks!

Parents on school run who, even though they are stuck in traffic insist on edging their way up to school gates before letting the lazy brats out. St Vincents Dundalk, prime example.

Drivers in traffic blocking entrances, preventing others from turning right etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,644 ✭✭✭TheBody

ofcork wrote: »
    People who see you coming but pull out at the last minute and then proceed to crawl WHY?

Oh jaysus, this times a million!! I'm getting angry just thinking about it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Chimaera wrote: »
    You can only drive as fast as what's in front of you and if that's a bit slow, so be it. Wait until a safe opportunity presents itself to overtake. Put on the cruise control a few km/h slower than them, sit back and enjoy the scenery.

People creeping across the stopline at traffic lights: IF THE LIGHT IS F**KING RED IT MEANS YOU F**KING STOP YOU MORON!!!! Creeping across the stopline will not make them change any faster. They compound their idiocy by driving off slowly once the lights actually do change: 9 times out of 10 I'll catch up/pass people who do this while driving perfectly legally.

People not accelerating on motorway slip roads: they're there so you can get up to an appropriate speed for the mainline before merging. I do not appreciate having to merge onto a motorway at 70 or 80 km/h because you don't know what your accelerator pedal is for. Likewise de-merging - wait until you're off the mainline before slowing down. I appreciate that there are some junctions where this isn't feasible (those ridiculous pitlanes that have turned up on some newer motorways).

I totally agree with the highlighted part. They sit there inching forward, burning up their clutches, and you assume they will go like a bat out of hell on green but no, they just potter off like everyone else.

You contradicted yourself with the other parts, though.:pac:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

People that indicate to do a turn and then manage to some how leave their indicators on for the next few miles!!!

If you don't notice the indicator light on your dash or you don't hear it then you are not observant and you shouldn't be driving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

pablo128 wrote: »
    You contradicted yourself with the other parts, though.:pac:

I expected a response like that :)

My view is make progress when you can and should be able to, but if the world gets in the way doing something stupid because you're impatient isn't going to help in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭maudgone

hoodie6029 wrote: »
    A***holes who tailgate learners and people clearly on a driving lesson.

Motorbikers that leave their headlight on all the time.

People who speed and pass on the
    left. Arrogant ****s that don't know the danger they're causing.

The RSA recommends that motorcyclists use their dipped headlights during daylight hours to improve their visibility to other road users.

Daylight riding
    Make yourself as visible as possible from the side, as well as the front and
    rear.
    Wear a white helmet and fluorescent clothing or strips.
    Use dipped headlights. Even in good daylight, they may make you more
    visible.

pablo128 wrote: »
    I totally agree with the highlighted part. They sit there inching forward, burning up their clutches, and you assume they will go like a bat out of hell on green but no, they just potter off like everyone else.

Hahahahahaa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭V.W.L 11

People not using indicators,weaving across lanes without checking,on the phone,tailgating,the list is endless tbh! :rolleyes:

maudgone wrote: »
    The RSA recommends that motorcyclists use their dipped headlights during daylight hours to improve their visibility to other road users.

Daylight riding
    Make yourself as visible as possible from the side, as well as the front and
    rear.
    Wear a white helmet and fluorescent clothing or strips.
    Use dipped headlights. Even in good daylight, they may make you more
    visible.

No problem with the dipped lights, every motorist should be using them all the time. I meant the ones that leave their high beams on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

No indicators on roundabouts.

People sitting in the overtaking lane.

When you get three drivers in a row happy to tap along at 60kmh on a road good for 80kmh and you end up having to stay behind them because they wont spread out to give an opportunity to pass :mad:

Cars missing headlight bulbs, breaklights, no. plate lights etc. Bulbs aren't overly expensive.

Blowing your horn at people. I used to hate it but it doesn't bother me as much any more. 90% of the time people are just doing their best so there's no point in blowing and making a scene. But if someone is after acting the tit or the situation is dangerous, blow away :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

mullingar wrote: »
    But my #1 pet hate is drivers indicating to turn right when approaching a simple roundabout yet go straight!!!

Grrrr

Would nearly need to agree with this. Many of the other pet hates being mentioned in the thread are just that...pet hates....although annoying and frustrating, not generally dangerous but indicating if you are coming off a roundabout and then proceeding to come on around is bloody lethal

I know people will say one shouldn't trust an indicator to make a move but lets face it I'm sure we have all done so at a very busy roundabout. Speaking of roundabouts let me add sloppy lane discipline. i.e. those on the outside lane when I'm on the inside lane and when were proceeding around the roundabout they cut right into my lane cutting me up...learn to drive ye fuking toss pots.

Cars approaching me or coming up behind me and not dipping their lights or very slow to do so....surprised this hasn't being mentioned already as so many do the same. Somebody once told me that if someone doesn't dip their lights either I didn't dip mine or that driver is drunk. By my reckoning almost half the drivers on the road must be drunk if thats the case. Laziness and thoughlesness more like. I've just got to the stage where I give em back the full lights or on with the back fog light...You blind me and I blind you.

Dopes who insist on putting on their rear fog lights when there is a touch of fog and despite the fact that I'm right behind them. Yep yer really health safety conscious alright ye lot. So much so that ye have needlessly dazzled the sh!te out of the driver behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,591 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

People who accelerate in order to stop you from overtaking them.

Insanely dangerous. The people who do this obviously are suffering some sort of small man syndrome in that they can't handle the fact that some people want to drive to the limit and simply get somewhere a bit faster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭V.W.L 11

People who accelerate in order to stop you from overtaking them.

Insanely dangerous. The people who do this obviously are suffering some sort of small man syndrome in that they can't handle the fact that some people want to drive to the limit and simply get somewhere a bit faster.
    I constantly get that in my truck,people doing 60kph on a dual carriageway,i pull out to overtake but because i'm in a truck and most people know they are speed restricted speed up deliberately to prevent them being overtaken,its high time that some form of EDT is brought in after passing your test just like driver cpc is for bus and truck drivers :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Plopli

131spanner wrote: »
    No indicators on roundabouts.

People sitting in the overtaking lane.

When you get three drivers in a row happy to tap along at 60kmh on a road good for 80kmh and you end up having to stay behind them because they wont spread out to give an opportunity to pass :mad:

Cars missing headlight bulbs, breaklights, no. plate lights etc. Bulbs aren't overly expensive.

Blowing your horn at people. I used to hate it but it doesn't bother me as much any more. 90% of the time people are just doing their best so there's no point in blowing and making a scene. But if someone is after acting the tit or the situation is dangerous, blow away :D

I can live with the other (maybe) but missing breaklights make me insanely mad.
    This is downright criminal.
    And if you ever rear end them (I know, you should always be able to stop in the distance you see clear), you will be responsible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Overtaking lane hoggers. Drive M50 northbound today and overtook no less than 20-30 doing sub 80-90kph. Meaning each time I have to make 4 lane changes in order to pass each idiot legally. It's infuriating.

Mobile phones. Yeah it's been done to death both here and in papers but still as prevalent as ever. Can't count how many times I've seen a car on front of me unable to keep a straight line at 100kph, look left as overtaking and it's a moron chatting away oblivious to what's around them.

I've also noticed when I drive the smaller car(MX5) I get a lot more people tailgating me. Even at lights they creep up to within centimetres of your bumper, and for what? Dumbsh*ts

And last but not least the nervous merger's, the type you see piddling along at 20-30mph down an off ramp, usually followed by a two lane changes to the middle where they sit at 40-50mph for the duration of their journey, tossers.

The list could go on......