Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your driving pet hates

• 05-05-2014 6:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,916 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Got 2 main ones that do my head in these days.

1) My daily commute takes me on a 100km/h road which is more or less straight for the guts of 2 or 3 miles. Often there is a speed van on it.

Yesterday, there was a line of maybe 10 cars on it, and we were doing 80km/h due to a slow driver at the front. Then he gets flashed by an oncoming car to warn him there is a van up ahead. So what does he do? He slows down to 60km/h! On a 100km/h road!

2) Not sure if this phenomenon has spread across the rest of the country, but its been rife in Derry for a few years.

When a driver is turning left into a slip road or street, instead of making the turn he actually comes to a stop on the main road with his indicator on, allowing those trying to get out of this junction on to the main road to do so, and also let those approaching him turning right into the road he is turning into, go in in front of him. So he could sit stopped on a main road holding up the traffic behind him for maybe 10secs just so he looks like a nice guy.

This is everywhere now, I've actually seen idiots come to a near standstill when they aren't turning in, just to let others out. And of course if you run into the back of them, you're at fault even though they stopped out of the blue for no good reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

No indicators especially on motorways and roundabouts

That's my biggest one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭simplybam

> muppets driving aroung with their fog lights on for no reason.

> muppets slowing down when approaching a GREEN light

> muppets driving 10km/h below the speed limit

> muppets not indicating

> muppets who think indicating gives them right of way

Come to think of it, I hate muppets! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

NIMAN wrote: »
    This is everywhere now, I've actually seen idiots come to a near standstill when they aren't turning in, just to let others out. And of course if you run into the back of them, you're at fault even though they stopped out of the blue for no good reason.
    This isn't everywhere and yes, it would be your fault if you crashed into the back of another car.

I have to go with indicators, but I think I'm developing a sixth sense and can generally tell when someone is about to do something, so it's affecting me less and less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Jakey Rolling

Agree with your first point

The number of drivers who brake sharply and slow to 20 below the limit when they see a speed camera!

Makes me think either
    a) They don't know what the speed limit is on that road
    b) They are unaware what speed they are doing
    c) They are too nervous to be on the road.

The latter mostly applies to those who slow drastically on each small bend, brake whenever a car approaches in the other direction, and won't perform an easy overtake of a slow vehicle thus making it harder for everyone else to get past. Stay at home grandad!

100412.2526@compuserve.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

Indecisive drivers are my pet hate. They are the most difficult to read and predict. I don't mind the overly aggressive drivers. You know they are going to take the gap and cut across you so give them room. But if a driver doesn't know themselves what they want to do how are we supposed to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭NSAman

Micra drivers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭dmc17

That's my biggest one

This. Especially the amount of "professional" drivers suck as HGV drivers that aren't able/don't bother to indicate on roundabouts.

Also, people who brake, turn off and put on their indicator as they are turning just to confirm that they are after turning off. An indicator should indicate you're about to do something, not confirm something that we already know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭chuckyarelaw

I hate when my Labrador chews my gear stick.

NSAman wrote: »
    Micra drivers
    I met a Micra being driven quite briskly yesterday. I later saw one that had a "Sport" badge on the back. :pac:

Nissan should make a turbocharged Micra. That would have the potential to be a real wolf in sheep clothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭simplybam

No Pants wrote: »
    I met a Micra being driven quite briskly yesterday. I later saw one that had a "Sport" badge on the back. :pac:

Nissan should make a turbocharged Micra. That would have the potential to be a real wolf in sheep clothing.

I agree. And hopefully all those eejits buying it will kill themselves with 'em. 2 birds killed with one stone - micra drivers and boy racers off the road - brilliant idea!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

What's the difference between Micra and a Micra sport?

Micra sport has a pair of runners in the boot.

Anyway, pet hates...

The 25 kph below the limit 'just to be sure' is up there.
    Unawareness. As in come to a stop at roundabout although we could all see for miles there isn't another car in or around the roundabout. People seem to be just staring at the 20 yard stretch in front of them.
    Peoples inability to turn corners. Either the bus driver veer out or else the ending up on the wrong side of the road after the turn. Just turn the fkn wheel ffs.
    I've given up already being peed over indicating. It's a lost cause.

All this is basically the consequence of bad or non existant training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bop1977

They did make a turbo back in the early 90's. Google March superturbo.

Boskowski wrote: »
    being peed over indicating.
    I had no idea it had gotten this bad. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 932 ✭✭✭paddyland

What about the beauty I saw in Rathfarnham yesterday?

Came from Dodder Park Road to the lights at Rathfarnham Road, and stopped on his green (there was nothing behind him).

He sat there on his green light. Then the lights did their slow amber, pause, red, pause. Then our green for Rathfarnham Road came on. Just as all the traffic began moving both ways on Rathfarnham Road, this idiot who sat on green on Dodder Park Road, took off, and drove straight through the junction on red, as all the other traffic was crossing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

NIMAN wrote: »

I drove behind someone for about ten minutes the other day, and Im not joking in that time she stopped dead probably four times at least on the main road to let people out of side roads. She wasnt turning or anything, just kept letting people out. I have never seen anything like it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

paddyland wrote: »
    What about the beauty I saw in Rathfarnham yesterday?

Came from Dodder Park Road to the lights at Rathfarnham Road, and stopped on his green (there was nothing behind him).

He sat there on his green light. Then the lights did their slow amber, pause, red, pause. Then our green for Rathfarnham Road came on. Just as all the traffic began moving both ways on Rathfarnham Road, this idiot who sat on green on Dodder Park Road, took off, and drove straight through the junction on red, as all the other traffic was crossing him.

Some people have no concept of filter lights. There are a set of lights near my house where the main road and the lane for turning right have separate lights. Its not uncommon for the main road to have a green light and for the filter lane to be red. Came up to the lights yesterday to find a muppet on the main road sitting patiently under a green light. They obviously saw the green and red lights and didnt have the brains to figure out what it meant. The mind boggles...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,916 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

djimi wrote: »
    I drove behind someone for about ten minutes the other day, and Im not joking in that time she stopped dead probably four times at least on the main road to let people out of side roads. She wasnt turning or anything, just kept letting people out. I have never seen anything like it before.

Where you in Derry?
    It is rife there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

Letting people out of a junction who don't say thank you.

And anyone driving an Agila.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

That's my biggest one

It's a huge bugbear of mine too. It's not that complicated to figure out. Those who indicate the wrong way on roundabouts also make me crazy. Seen that twice in the last few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭bodhi085

People driving around a bend and they are to far over on your side slightly across the line leaving you with just enough of a gap to go past. Lazy driving at its best. If they just slowed down a little bit they wouldn't need the whole road while taking a bend. This happens on a lot of the rural roads. This is not the world rally championship!! Last I knew we drove on the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭Plopli

People that because they have a motorbike in front of them consider it is fine to cross the whit line to overtake a stationary vehicle or a push bike, most often without indicating.

Sure, he can go a bit more to the left, no harm done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Not sure if its just a Carlow thing, but using hard shoulders at junctions to pull out.

Just drive up to the junction in the hard shoulder and ignore the stop sign. Then they just pull out in front of you, bloody dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

djimi wrote: »

Something similar, drove home from kilkenny the other day with the car in front of me braking almost to a stop everytime she met oncoming traffic !!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Xcellor

Yaris drivers.

Driver's who can't maintain speed going up a hill

60kph drivers who break going around bends.

Drivers who don't make progress leaving round about taking about 2 miles to reach cruising speed.

Tail gaters who dont want to overtake but drive so close you are forced to overtake 2 cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

People on phones
    Non use of indicators
    Wrong lane position on roundabouts
    People who block junctions.
    Lack of parallel parking skills.
    Fog lights on with headlamps.
    Lack of courtesy
    Lack of cop on
    General disregard for rules of the road and the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭gutteruu

People who roll along for a mile after lights/junctions before accelerating up to speed.

People who let everyone out on front of me, then turn off the road themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Padkir

Driving with parking or no lights when it's almost dark / foggy / raining heavily. Cars in this day and age aren't going to run down the battery or do anything else if you have lights on so I can't understand the problem with turning them on.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,898 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Lane hoggers and undertakers.

Nissan drivers.

No seat belts.

Incorrect lights.

People who won't overtake. 2 or 3 of these on a country route and you're stuck.

Phone users (I laugh when I see someone holding a phone at armslength using the speaker).

Lack of indicators.

Poor lane discipline.

p.s. Poorly done rice rockets, and on road racers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 656 ✭✭✭NipNip

Stallers. The do-gooders who stall with little or no warning, to let someone out in front of them. Ya gotta keep them eyes well open!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,634 ✭✭✭TheBody

1. Not using indicators, be it on a round about or on the road in general.
    2. Not using the correct lane on a round about or driving in both lanes!
    3. Using parking lights when driving in low light or fog. You may as well not have any lights on as the parking lights. YOU CAN'T BE SEEN.
    4. Driving 20km/ph under the sped limit.
    5. Too timid to overtake slow moving vehicles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

Arseholes going around busy junctions or roundabouts who won't indicate because they are too busy holding their mobile phone to their ear.

Oh - and how could I forget! The mini-bus phenomenon! Also known as - the 'family car'. They take up at least 1 and a half parking spaces. They seem virtually impossible to manoeuvre around corners, typically almost taking the side out of my little banger. Plus they totally block your visibility if you're parked beside one. It's like edging out of a blind bloody corner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭truedoom

no indicators.
    yaris drivers.
    micra drivers.
    people driving cars that are too big for them to handle
    people driving smalls cars and thinking the car is huge.

Just in regards to the fog lights, i've reason to keep them on at night.

Dipped lights are pretty rubbish. It's a legitimate fault with my car, so it's either fogs on, or have to do 20-30kph under the limit, because i can't see far enough ahead.

Sorry lads.

NipNip wrote: »
    Oh - and how could I forget! The mini-bus phenomenon! Also known as - the 'family car'. They take up at least 1 and a half parking spaces. They seem virtually impossible to manoeuvre around corners, typically almost taking the side out of my little banger. Plus they totally block your visibility if you're parked beside one. It's like edging out of a blind bloody corner!
    The missus and I refer to them as Kuntwagons. Seeing a woman trying to park one is normally amusing.

Seeing a man driving one is also amusing. You can see the shame written all over their faces. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭angwd

Rubberneckers, grrr.

And the cheeky beggar at the petrol station the other day, stood between me and the cash desk trying to force me to go and pump his petrol because "he'd left his glasses at home".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

People throwing rubbish out the window while driving.

Saw a guy yesterday while driving, just fire 4 bags of mc donalds rubbish out the window onto the side of the road while after being parked next to a bin.

Fúcking wánker.

Plopli wrote: »
    People that because they have a motorbike in front of them consider it is fine to cross the whit line to overtake a stationary vehicle or a push bike, most often without indicating.

Sure, he can go a bit more to the left, no harm done.
    I'm seeing that more and more recently. Often on solid white lines and approaching or in corners too. I'm glad that they're giving the cyclist room, don't get me wrong, but a little cop on would not go astray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

+1 on most above,

But my #1 pet hate is drivers indicating to turn right when approaching a simple roundabout yet go straight!!!

Grrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

A***holes who tailgate learners and people clearly on a driving lesson.

Motorbikers that leave their headlight on all the time.

People who speed and pass on the
    left. Arrogant ****s that don't know the danger they're causing.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

People ignoring road markings. No matter how dumb you think the road layout might be (and it is in some cases) the road markings are there to keep people on their patch of road and out of other people's way. Ignoring them is asking for trouble.

Overtaking on bends and hills, especially the people in big-engined cars who think that because they've got all the power they can drive as they like. You can only drive as fast as what's in front of you and if that's a bit slow, so be it. Wait until a safe opportunity presents itself to overtake. Put on the cruise control a few km/h slower than them, sit back and enjoy the scenery.

People using the wrong lanes on roundabouts so they can jump ahead of people. The Parkway roundabout in Limerick is a perfect example of this.

People creeping across the stopline at traffic lights: IF THE LIGHT IS F**KING RED IT MEANS YOU F**KING STOP YOU MORON!!!! Creeping across the stopline will not make them change any faster. They compound their idiocy by driving off slowly once the lights actually do change: 9 times out of 10 I'll catch up/pass people who do this while driving perfectly legally.

People running red lights: because you can't wait a few minutes to take your turn you want to endanger everyone around you. Thanks!

People not accelerating on motorway slip roads: they're there so you can get up to an appropriate speed for the mainline before merging. I do not appreciate having to merge onto a motorway at 70 or 80 km/h because you don't know what your accelerator pedal is for. Likewise de-merging - wait until you're off the mainline before slowing down. I appreciate that there are some junctions where this isn't feasible (those ridiculous pitlanes that have turned up on some newer motorways).

I reckon our roads would be a great deal more pleasant to use if people had a little more patience and awareness, but that's probably asking too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

And I forgot people who don't use their handbrake when stopped in traffic. Thanks for blinding me with your lights.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭ofcork

People who see you coming but pull out at the last minute and then proceed to crawl WHY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Slow drivers. Most of my driving is on national primary roads. Overtaking opportunities few and far between and less so if traffic is heavy. And you have the idiot, that for no good reason, is traveling at 60kph. And when you are coming to a spot where you know you can overtake there will inevitably be a string of cars coming against you. For me there is nothing more frustrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

NSAman wrote: »
    Micra drivers

Ah yes, The Rolling roadblocks!

Parents on school run who, even though they are stuck in traffic insist on edging their way up to school gates before letting the lazy brats out. St Vincents Dundalk, prime example.

Drivers in traffic blocking entrances, preventing others from turning right etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,634 ✭✭✭TheBody

ofcork wrote: »
    People who see you coming but pull out at the last minute and then proceed to crawl WHY?

Oh jaysus, this times a million!! I'm getting angry just thinking about it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Chimaera wrote: »
    You can only drive as fast as what's in front of you and if that's a bit slow, so be it. Wait until a safe opportunity presents itself to overtake. Put on the cruise control a few km/h slower than them, sit back and enjoy the scenery.

People creeping across the stopline at traffic lights: IF THE LIGHT IS F**KING RED IT MEANS YOU F**KING STOP YOU MORON!!!! Creeping across the stopline will not make them change any faster. They compound their idiocy by driving off slowly once the lights actually do change: 9 times out of 10 I'll catch up/pass people who do this while driving perfectly legally.

People not accelerating on motorway slip roads: they're there so you can get up to an appropriate speed for the mainline before merging. I do not appreciate having to merge onto a motorway at 70 or 80 km/h because you don't know what your accelerator pedal is for. Likewise de-merging - wait until you're off the mainline before slowing down. I appreciate that there are some junctions where this isn't feasible (those ridiculous pitlanes that have turned up on some newer motorways).

I totally agree with the highlighted part. They sit there inching forward, burning up their clutches, and you assume they will go like a bat out of hell on green but no, they just potter off like everyone else.

You contradicted yourself with the other parts, though.:pac:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

People that indicate to do a turn and then manage to some how leave their indicators on for the next few miles!!!

If you don't notice the indicator light on your dash or you don't hear it then you are not observant and you shouldn't be driving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

pablo128 wrote: »
    You contradicted yourself with the other parts, though.:pac:

I expected a response like that :)

My view is make progress when you can and should be able to, but if the world gets in the way doing something stupid because you're impatient isn't going to help in the long run.