Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Full stamps, only one previous owner, well minded, clean example..... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Why oh why do I live in such a backward sh1thole with crap roads!

Saturday evening, spotless, sunday morning..... not so spotless. You can see the difference in the pic...

33tp92g.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

How short are your trousers! :eek: :pac:

dgt wrote: »
    How short are your trousers! :eek: :pac:

They're trackies, canterbury's to be exact, which have a zip at the bottom and are elastic. Pair them up with a pair of canvas shoes and there you have it, a complete chav look :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

They're trackies, canterbury's to be exact, which have a zip at the bottom and are elastic. Pair them up with a pair of canvas shoes and there you have it, a complete chav look :pac:

Ohhh dear :pac:

I don't go out in public like that, I swear :P

Nice clothes are just as important to me as, dare I say it......... cars.....

I don't go out in public like that, I swear :P

Nice clothes are just as important to me as, dare I say it......... cars.....

I wear black sacks because my car is too nice and expensive to keep going for me to have nice clothes too :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I used to put on my brown suit whenever I was going out in the Wolseley, for the authenticity of course.

Slacks r the best though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭kirving

I was calling into a friend of mine yesterday, and a neighbour of his flagged me down, holding a set of jump leads. Grand I thought, do a good deed for the day... Now I'm not an expert by any means, but to put it lightly, this guy should never have opened the bonnet of a car. He had the two crappy leads connected to his battery by the time I pulled in beside him, and once I had the bonnet opened and went back around to grab my torch, he takes it upon himself to connect a cable(I didn't see which) to the earthing point on my car, chopping some heat shrink on a nearby cable with the clamp, and got a handful of sparks in the process. I should have told him where to go at this point, but I have too much patience.

I know that the general consensus is Red-Red, and Black on good car to Earth on broken down car, but only the positive terminal is exposed on my car. So I connected Red-Red and the Black on his to the Earth on my Car. Technically the wrong way around, but should it matter since you can also connect Black-Black?

Tried to start his car without even starting mine, as this has worked in the past for me, the car just needed that little bit extra. No joy, so I started mine and kept it at about 1500rpm for a minute or to, until from the gap under the bonnet, I see smoke rising from the battery area, with the other guy merrily staring at it like it was normal.

I knocked off my car, jumped out and pulled off the clamps as quick as I could, to find that it was the plastic handle on the positive on which was melted to bits and still smoking. Told the guy that they were fit for the bin, so he says he'll go and find a bin on the street. And off he goes, wandering down the street, looking for a bin.

Totally open to being told how much of an idiot I was if I connected the leads incorrectly, but I can't figure it out! Were the leads just the crap that they couldn't handle the current, or did I short-circuit the system?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I was calling into a friend of mine yesterday, and a neighbour of his flagged me down, holding a set of jump leads. Grand I thought, do a good deed for the day... Now I'm not an expert by any means, but to put it lightly, this guy should never have opened the bonnet of a car. He had the two crappy leads connected to his battery by the time I pulled in beside him, and once I had the bonnet opened and went back around to grab my torch, he takes it upon himself to connect a cable(I didn't see which) to the earthing point on my car, chopping some heat shrink on a nearby cable with the clamp, and got a handful of sparks in the process. I should have told him where to go at this point, but I have too much patience.

I know that the general consensus is Red-Red, and Black on good car to Earth on broken down car, but only the positive terminal is exposed on my car. So I connected Red-Red and the Black on his to the Earth on my Car. Technically the wrong way around, but should it matter since you can also connect Black-Black?

Tried to start his car without even starting mine, as this has worked in the past for me, the car just needed that little bit extra. No joy, so I started mine and kept it at about 1500rpm for a minute or to, until from the gap under the bonnet, I see smoke rising from the battery area, with the other guy merrily staring at it like it was normal.

I knocked off my car, jumped out and pulled off the clamps as quick as I could, to find that it was the plastic handle on the positive on which was melted to bits and still smoking. Told the guy that they were fit for the bin, so he says he'll go and find a bin on the street. And off he goes, wandering down the street, looking for a bin.

Totally open to being told how much of an idiot I was if I connected the leads incorrectly, but I can't figure it out! Were the leads just the crap that they couldn't handle the current, or did I short-circuit the system?

****ty leads are known to melt into nothing!

You go + from the dead battery to the + on the live, - from the live to an earthing point or - if needs be on the dead battery.

Earthing points should always be clean/bare metal. Never painted, never lined and never plastic.

Never let the leads touch or come too close together, they can arc and if you get a buildup of gas from the battery... BANG!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I always start with the good battery and connect to the bad one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I always start with the good battery and connect to the bad one.

I find that causes more sparks!

Would you believe out of all the things I've done, I've never jumped a car and I'm not too sure if i even know how to do it right :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Interesting video series for Honda fans: "Made to Drift" on the ImportMeet channel.

Would you believe out of all the things I've done, I've never jumped a car and I'm not too sure if i even know how to do it right :o

I always get so paranoid when it comes to jump leads. Always check about 10 times that they are connected to the correct terminals! :o

I'd be the same if i had to do it, i want to know how but ive no cables or a car to jump :pac:

Yes, the lack of any motoring paraphernalia would be your downfall there all right :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I can't say I've ever had to do it with any of my own cars thankfully. But I've jump started plenty of cars over the years neighbours etc. the leads are grand and once the connections are good and the leads are in decent condition and the cable is "heavy" enough for what your jumping you should be fine. We have one of does halfords power packs too which I've often used when jumping yokes. I think at the time it cost my dad over 100 quid to buy but it is the sh!t. Once there is any voltage at all in the battery it will start the car first time. It has to have a bit of voltage more as a safety feature than anything else. I started a 1.8 diesel focus one day with the battery that flat the dash lights barly came on. First touch of the key it started. We had the lidl booster packs but the halfords one has a lot more power.

I have halfords jump leads in the back of the golf the decent heavy duty ones that come in the case I've never had to use them at all worth having in the back all the same.

Yes, the lack of any motoring paraphernalia would be your downfall there all right :pac:

0.jpg

^^ Yep that's where it came from, just needed a bit of a re-jig :cool:

Watched Speed 3 earlier around for the 50th time :)
    Filmed up the road from my home

TED!!! Theres a big bunch of boxes in the middle of the road!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

That poor phone box isn't there any more though. RIP :(

I remember about 5 years ago in one of the papers a dvd came free with Speed 3 and A Song For Europe, I watched them so often that I got sick of them so whenever them 2 specific ones come on, I change the channel :(

Thanks for the replies lads, must just have been the rubbish leads since I've never had an issue doing it before. The guys battery wasn't totally gone though, since the starter solenoid was definitely clicking in solidly, and I think I could hear the fuel pump. Only a 90-something Corsa too, so not a big battery to jump either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

corsa, 2 men and a half dead battery... should have pushed it :)

I offered! Didn't want to do that for some reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

sounds like the phrase "no good deed goes unpunished" came true for you!

Meanwhile at the local bus depot :pac:

Yep the transits will be getting a taster of that tomorrow, day free from the road and everything! :D