Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Good luck tomorrow TbL - you'll be running with fellow bog warriors so no bother at all to you :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Best of luck TbL - keep the positive thoughts going. Have no doubt you will nail this!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Stazza

Good luck Tbl - give it some root-toot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,094 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Run well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

All the best tomorrow. All these exotic locations you go to and then your goal marathon is in Limerick:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Badreputation

Best of luck TbL. Enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Good luck tbl! Defo going to nail this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Gavlor was right (I hope)!

3.10.02 clock time :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

TbL

Love it.
    Looks like a sub 3:10 so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Super stuff. Delighted! Very well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Never in doubt!

Well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Well done TbL, great running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭cianc

Bravo.

applause.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

TbL

Hurray, so will deserved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Great stuff TbL - well done, enjoy the celebrations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

TbL

Woo hoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    :@)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Well done lad, you were looking good when I saw you on O'Connell Ave with about 6 to go. I took a guess it was you - I'm sure you were wondering who the fcuk was shouting out TbL. There was a bit of age profiling!! your marathon club singlet and I knew your name began with 'C' (meno had mentioned it).
    Also there was the noticeable definition from the chin up bar ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Good running TBL. Well deserved I hope you manage to swing a pass to enjoy the celebrations this eve:)

3:09:56 is your official time.
    Well done again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,094 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

The world is your oyster now - that ticks a lot of qualifying times - well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Nice run. Well done. All of us in the aul folks home send their congrats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 784 ✭✭✭Stazza

Good man - never in doubt.

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Well done lad, you were looking good when I saw you on O'Connell Ave with about 6 to go. I took a guess it was you - I'm sure you were wondering who the fcuk was shouting out TbL. There was a bit of age profiling!! your marathon club singlet and I knew your name began with 'C' (meno had mentioned it).
    Also there was the noticeable definition from the chin up bar ;)

Bulmers74, you're some man. The last part of your post gave me a great laugh, I'm still laughing:)

You should have been a detective, Sherlock with those powers of deduction.

Apologies if I'd a face like I wanted to box you, it took me a second or two to figure out that you weren't Limericks equivalent of Father Horan!

You gave me a great lift and I cracked out a six thirty something mile just after I passed you! Fair play to you. Hope you had a good one.

The support out on the course today was unreal.

"Noticeable definition..." FFS :)

Tnx,

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Badreputation

Great run TbL. Well deserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Great stuff TbL :D Delighted for you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭ger664

TBL

well done today never doubted you would get it for a second. There is a celebratory pint of yellow wine on tap for the next time we meat

Ger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done TbL, absolutely thrilled for you. Well deserved. Enjoy the celebrations.

Limerick Marathon.

Limerick marathon has been kind to me in the past with two sub 3.20's times there previously, so when Seville went pear shaped, I didn't need much convincing to sign up again.

I felt that I had a good chance of breaking my PB that was 3.15 from Waterford in 2012, as I had a good marathon prep run at the Race Directors Connemara, and had broken my 5 & 10k PB during this training cycle. I was far less confident, however, of hitting 3.10.

Was up just after 4.15 this morning and while downing a bowl of porridge, I put my recent 10k time into the McMillan running calculator to try and bolster my rapidly dwindling confidence. I checked the weather forecast and while the temperature looked good I was worried that there was a bit of a wind blowing and it was predicted to get stronger. Nervous energy was starting to build and it didn't help that I was in the car and 100 yards down the road before realising that I had forgotten my Garmin.

Tried to listen to some decent music on the way to Limerick to get the blood pumping but doubts and demons were swirling through my head, with the Seville demon continually rearing his ugly head.

I was lucky that one of the guys that does multi marathons had organised a place for me to park, change and shower and I got there with enough time to have a chat with a few of the lads and top up with Weetabix and banana.

The short stroll down to the start had me feeling queasy with nerves, I could hardly talk! Met a load of the guys from MCI and had a bit of craic with them. Went over to the 3.15 pace area and introduced myself to DocQ. Spoke briefly to Ecoli who sounded more nervous than me :) Also met Marthastew, Snailsong and Opus, (who all had fantastic runs today, well done all), the bit of banter between us all really helped me calm down. Before we knew it we were off, and I set off beside Q, he suggested that I provide drafting cover for the entire 3.15 group, made me laugh and the last of the nerves quickly dissipitated. After about 3 or 4 miles I felt reasonably ok and decided that I'd pick up the pace slightly. Hit UL still feeling ok, but I didn't like this section of the course, you know you are carrying too much weight for distance running when a suspension bridge sags beneath you :)

Took my first gel at mile 8, and got a shout from Ecoli as he passed in the other direction with a big group in tow. Got a big shout from Aiman and Ger around mile 9 and this gave me a big lift, thanks lads. Mr Stew also appeared to be everywhere, his encouragement was so loud that I could still hear it 200 metres later. He's obviously better :)

I was starting to pick people off now and was on target to hit the half around 1.36, I actually hit it in 1.35ish. Felt great. Took another gel at mile 14 and had a serious wobble shortly thereafter. The gel made me nauseous and I dry retched a few times, my head was starting to drop, this was the quietest section of the route (Gavlor was right here too, I was on my own for long stretches) and thoughts of quitting started to knaw away at the periphery of my mind, there was a good breeze blowing into my face and I was struggling. The thoughts of posting another DNF kept me going however and soon we changed direction and got some relief from the wind. Started to feel better again, was in between two minds as to whether or not take another gel, decided I'd probably need it, so took it around mile 18 with some water. No adverse reaction, felt great, in fact I'd say this was the best section of the race for me and I bashed out some decent splits.

Having your name on the bib is great as I got some fantastic support on the way into town. Bulmers74 shouted out around mile 20/21, I didn't hear him at first and gave him a perplexed look, until I realised he wasn't Father Horan out to disrupt another marathon. Got another massive lift from that and blasted out my fasted mile of the race.

Heading out of the town again is a little demoralising and I was starting to feel the pinch now. I didn't remember those inclines around mile 22/23, from previous years and had to work very hard here. Got to mile 24 and knew the 3.10 was touch and go, so tried to get the last out of tired legs. That last stretch was very difficult and just when I was starting to flag Fog Horn Leghorn, Mr Stew appeared in front of me and roared encouragement, enough to ensure that I at least kept it ticking over. I approached the gantry with 3.09:45 on the clock and tried my best to come in under 3.10, wasn't in the legs but delighted with a 3.09:56, and 4th in age category.

Delighted with that.

Thanks to Q, it was great for my confidence to run those first few miles with you and set me up nicely for the rest of the race. Thanks too to Snailsong & Marthastew, possibly the nicest, politest person I've met. (I keep bad company though :) )

Seville demon finally slayed and today gave me confidence that a sub 3 over the next few training cycles is not completely beyond me.

I gotta say that the support on here is just unreal, better than any online coaching system.

Save your cash folks and start a log :)

Thanks to each and every one of you. A special thanks to AMK, who adopted me very early on here, thanks man.

Onwards and upwards (with apologies for the blurb as I'm still buzzin)

Splits;

1. 7.22
    2. 7.15
    3. 7.09
    4. 7.11
    5. 7.13
    6. 7.12
    7. 7.20
    8. 7.15
    9. 7.03
    10. 7.20
    11. 7.10
    12. 7.12
    13. 7.19
    14. 7.18
    15. 7.16
    16. 7.16
    17. 7.07
    18. 7.00
    19. 7.12
    20. 7.14
    21. 6.36
    22. 7.15
    23. 7.21
    24. 7.13
    25. 7.15
    26. 7.10
    0.2 2.38

TbL

Very solid splits TbL
    6:36 in Mile 21? Did you get an EPO injection there?? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Fab report and fab race. First thing I did when I finished my run today was to check my phone and boards and I was so happy when I saw that you did the business today.
    That time'll just come down and down and down:)