Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Well done at the Beast last weekend C_M, great run.

Need to start setting myself mini targets or sloth will set in!

I might see you at the kiddies run in Portumna :)

TbL

Woke this morning to more depressing weather and said to hell with the run and lashed into the full Irish instead.

As the day went on and my meteorological excuse dissipated like the rain, I started to feel a little guilty. Eventually headed out in the evening sun to do a few easy miles with a couple of strides thrown in.

Inside my own head my young lads brain was up for the strides but my almost half century body said fock you pal and after 25 yards of the first attempt I dialled it back to easy. I think I'll do another week of easy stuff next week to recover properly.

Did 7 miles in total with a geriatric stride :)

TbL

Mon: got home a bit late from work, lashed off the tea, helped with the kids homework, and did a quick change into the gear. Missus gave me THE look, "where are you going"?, me, "out for a quick run"! Her, "no you're not, the skip arrived today and the shed is full of crap that needs to be binned". Me, "but I just starting a new training program, a new cycle, but, but..." THE look hardened, the arms folded and I knew by the expression the biggest pile of ****e for the skip was standing in front of her, if I didn't move my arse. Ended up also cutting the grass in the dark. No run :)

Today: am starting a new training cycle. Six sessions this week, 5 easy runs with one steady run. Today's session called for 6 easy miles at no faster than 8.20 pace. Finished 6 nice and easy in the evening sun @ 8.22.

I'm back out to the skip!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Today: am starting a new training cycle. Six sessions this week, 5 easy runs with one steady run. Today's session called for 6 easy miles at no faster than 8.20 pace.

TbL

Out of curiosity, is this still with AL or closer to home.

TbL[/QUOTE]
    Out of curiosity, is this still with AL or closer to home.

Hey AMK,

I decided after a fair bit of consideration to drop the AL online coaching and switch from a virtual to a real "live" coach.

Reasons included;

- very little, if any, negative feedback, even in a constructive sense. I felt everything was turned into a positive, I know this might suit some people but I'm an auld cranky, cynical fecker and I'd prefer someone to spell it out, warts and all.

- I felt it was a little impersonal and I think I'd benefit from some face time with a coach. The last few weeks of it I felt like it was only going through the motions.

- the biggest criticism I'd have was that they was no look back and compare (previous sessions) feedback. It seemed to be a week to week encouragement and motivation program, that didn't identify areas for improvement, and certainly didn't seem to develop as I (slowly) did.

That said it helped get me to where I am, and I'm confident the new set up will help me hit my main goal.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

I'm an auld cranky, cynical fecker and I'd prefer someone to spell it out, warts and all.

Best of luck with it, I think it great that after so much marathon running, you are getting a great buzz out of racing them now.
    You're a determined MF if anything.

With regard to the above, I wouldn't agree with the auld bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

Thebitterauldlemon....you could change your name. All the coolauld lads are doing it! TbaL??

Looking forward to what this new cycle will bring for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Missus gave me THE look, "where are you going"?, me, "out for a quick run"! Her, "no you're not, the skip arrived today and the shed is full of crap that needs to be binned". Me, "but I just starting a new training program, a new cycle, but, but..." THE look hardened, the arms folded and I knew by the expression the biggest pile of ****e for the skip was standing in front of her, if I didn't move my arse.

It's the hardest part of running. Forget doing hill repeats in the lashing rain or endless MP miles. Trying to convince a non-running wife that you "need" to go for a run is damn near impossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

PaulieC wrote: »
    It's the hardest part of running. Forget doing hill repeats in the lashing rain or endless MP miles. Trying to convince a non-running wife that you "need" to go for a run is damn near impossible.

You got to get your women folk hooked too. Next birthday, present your loved one with a 5k training plan and a pair of runners and watch the magic happen ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

Ososlo wrote: »
    You got to get your women folk hooked too. Next birthday, present your loved one with a 5k training plan and a pair of runners and watch the magic happen ;)

who would feed the kids?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Ososlo wrote: »

I know exactly how that would go down - "are you saying I'm fat ?". Facepalms all round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

PaulieC wrote: »

It works the other way too. I mentioned to the OH the other day about power washing that needs to be done, gardening, painting and the reply I got was shouldn't you be out running some place!!!! And a mutter of take your time when I was going out the door!

Ha ha Cleanman, are you any closer to a comeback?

After only half filling the skip and heading abroad again for work, I think it more likely the missus will be calling me TbulL (thebitteruselesslazyLemon) :)

Pissed off as travelling for work makes it very unlikely I'll get today's session in:

7 easy with 6 x 100 strides,

I'll try and do it tomorrow

TbulL

Cleanman wrote: »
    Thebitterauldlemon....you could change your name. All the coolauld lads are doing it! TbaL??

Looking forward to what this new cycle will bring for you.

Walter's back in Casablanca!

Got up early this morning to get a run in.

Session was to be 7 miles with 6 x 100m strides. I forgot the Garmin in the rush to pack yesterday, so decided to take the phone and run for an hour.

It was warm and a bit foggy/hazy when I left the hotel lobby. I decided to try a different route this time and I headed down a main thoroughfare. The place was jam packed with cars and the noise was unbelievable. I reckon the first thing Moroccan learner drivers are taught is aggressive and incessant use of the horn!

Headed down past the market/souk. It was hard to pass on some of the paths with people ambling about, as I slowed to a walk at one stage, some young lad tried to sell me used batteries, he had a wire with a small light on the end that he touched off the batteries and the bulb weakly lit up!

Cut down a side street to avoid the traffic and the surface of the "path" took a serious turn for the worse, lose bricks, kerbs so steep you'd need to absail down them, and the occasional crater (see attached photo, this in the middle of a wide path!) It was like some urban adventure race, a twine clothes line nearly scalped me. I could see the mosque in the distance and I headed for that. Reached the mosque which was shrouded in haze and did a few easy strides along the prom. There were very few people out apart from a few auld lads selling tea from rusting kettles and a lad hiring out fishing rods. Headed back to the hotel via the port as the sun was starting to burn off the haze. Did 60 mins and probably around 7 miles give or take.

The place is manic but in a good sense and I really enjoyed it despite the hazards!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Cleanman

Ha ha Cleanman, are you any closer to a comeback?

TbulL

Be careful with that one...looks like you're calling yourself "The Bull"....though your describtion of crashing the models apple and celery party fits!:D

I've taken it very easy for the last 6 weeks but I'm starting to get signs that the bone is healing. I just have to figure out a way to get back training without getting reinjured. I still don't want to get the surgery. I feel like it's a puzzle and "get surgery" is not the only viable solution.

I haven't done any pull ups either - couldn't be bothered and it feels too much like hard work! I think I'll be conceding defeat to Mr. D on that front...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Your employers are hardly hiring TbL?? You run in some lovely locations.

tang1 wrote: »
    Your employers are hardly hiring TbL?? You run in some lovely locations.

No Tang, but the missus is looking for someone to fill the skip :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

No Tang, but the missus is looking for someone to fill the skip :)

TbL

Don't worry TbL, I've got that covered. Ahem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Don't worry TbL, I've got that covered. Ahem.

Feck ya, i was just pulling into his driveway, dont see you near that skip though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Nice to see the travel log back up and running:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,094 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

I always found Casablanca quite tame when compared to India for example!

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    I always found Casablanca quite tame when compared to India for example!

It's also quite tame compared to a Connemara chipper after midnight on Saturday!

Shouldn't an auld like you be in bed or doing yoga (that you learned in India!) after a sub 5 min mile :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,094 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

It's also quite tame compared to a Connemara chipper after midnight on Saturday!

Shouldn't an auld like you be in bed or doing yoga (that you learned in India!) after a sub 5 min mile :)

TbL

Nah a PB beer, Graham Norton and a catch up with MrsBB

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Nah a PB beer, Graham Norton and a catch up with MrsBB

A catch up with MrsBB, Jesus man if you've the energy for that you should have run 4.50 :)!!!!!!

TbL

Got into Dublin late last night so stayed over in Kilmainham.

Program called for a 3 mile recovery run.

Had no Garmin again so took the phone and ran for 29 mins nice and slow, took in Inchicore and part of the canal.

I haven't played squash since I tore my hamstring in Dec 2013, but given all the cross training going on in these parts I thought I'd give it a go. I'd been reluctant to play as running has been my primary focus and I was petrified that I'd injure myself, as squash involves fast bursts and rapid twisting and turning (compared to my slow straight line plodding runs)

One of my old squash buddies convinced me to play this evening and I was delighted I did. Really enjoyed it, I was knackered after 10 mins, but was able to recover reasonably quickly. Hopefully it will help me with my overall fitness and running goals. I'll probably try and play once a week.

TbL

I hope the garmin is nt in the skip!

SamforMayo wrote: »
    I hope the garmin is nt in the skip!

Ha ha SfM, wouldn't surprise me, she's putting a few mattresses into it, and if I'm not careful it could be my sleeping quarters for the weekend :)

Best of luck with the half.

TbL

What a filthy evening to be outside. Lashing rain and very strong winds, almost stormy on the exposed sections.

Program called for 7 miles steady, at 7.40 pace.

Didn't feel great heading out and the legs were heavy from the squash yesterday.

Finished the 7 in exactly 7.40 average but this was a complete fluke as this run was far from steady, the splits were like me, all over the place, and I was frozen by the time I finished it.

Splits, 7.46; 7.42; 7.07; 7.33; 8.12; 7.32; & 7.40

Was I glad I got it done yes, did I enjoy it, no!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭cianc

On behalf of the east coast, thanks for taking all the ****e weather :)
    Good job banging it out in nasty conditions.

cianc wrote: »
    On behalf of the east coast, thanks for taking all the ****e weather :)
    Good job banging it out in nasty conditions.

Ahh but tomorrow its going to be pouring in east however it will clear from the West and there was a sun peeping out from behind a cloud over Galway and Mayo. Hang in there TBL tiocfaidh ur la.