Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Last Year of My Twenties (C25K and Beyond)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

Thursday 2nd
    Coastal 7K with hills at a very handy pace. Only walked once.

I'm looking forward to my next race now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,296 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Fair play sean this has been great reading, i myself only started running around nov/dec to lose a bit of weight and try get fit im 37 and was 16 st, im now just over 14 st and am doing my first hm on sunday, im hoping to come in around 1hr 55min mark, but will be happy just to finish comfortably, anyway good luck with it and congrats on the baby;)

Class man, thanks a lot. Best of luck with the HM it'd be a great time to achieve. Let us know how you get on!

Cheers , will do , if im still alive:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

shamrock55 wrote: »
    Cheers , will do , if im still alive:D

Good luck Shamrock, don't go out too fast and you will be grand

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Good luck Shamrock, don't go out too fast and you will be grand

Thanks , This is my biggest fear tbh, plus the fact there is a really steep hill for the first 2-3 miles, also the fact ive just seen that video of that kenyan marathon runner who got into real difficulty during a recent race, im doing myself no favours here:D

Are you going with a pacer?

I have a gps watch if thats what you mean

Well you could set that up to pace yourself but are there official pacers at the Half marathon like for 2 hrs, 1:45 etc. You go in their group and they get you in just under that time. Where is the HM?

Ah right i'll keep an eye out for that, its the bay run from glengarrif to bantry

If they have pacers you could go with 2 hr one and push on if you feel good, it would stop you going out too fast, best of luck anyways. Keep us posted.

Will do cheers;)

While ye were natterin I went out for a nice 11K. :) Didn't walk either. There isn't a finer spot than Galway for running at night.

Friday 3rd
    Salthill - Quincentenial Bridge 11K @ 5:59min/km avg. Wahey!

SeanPuddin wrote: »
    While ye were natterin I went out for a nice 11K. :) Didn't walk either. There isn't a finer spot than Galway for running at night.

Friday 3rd

Ha ha , well done sean good stuff:D

Friday 3rd

Good lad, you are nt having a problem getting back to it anyways!

Whats the best thing to eat before a long run or race, plenty carbs i suppose ??

People will tell you all sorts but just eat normally. Just don't do anything out of the ordinary or you could pay for it. Make sure you're well hydrated and blood sugars are good.

Well folks ive completed my first HM:D, i did it in 2hrs 45secs so im well pleased although i was really hoping for under 2hrs, anyway there was a real bitch of a hill with about a mile to go that nearly finished me otherwise i would have done it id say.
    i lined up not far from the front which looking back was a mistake because i was being swept along at a much faster pace then im used to and i foolishly did that for about 2 miles till i told myself to slow down and go at my targeted pace, alot of people then passed me but i stayed disaplined and i knew alot of them would be tanked near the end, i ended up passing a few near the end so i was right:D, anyway im lying in bed now with the legs aching like a motherfcuker:D the race was won in a time of 1hr 12mins i think

Well folks ive completed my first HM:D, i did it in 2hrs 45secs so im well pleased although i was really hoping for under 2hrs, anyway there was a real bitch of a hill with about a mile to go that nearly finished me otherwise i would have done it id say.
    i lined up not far from the front which looking back was a mistake because i was being swept along at a much faster pace then im used to and i foolishly did that for about 2 miles till i told myself to slow down and go at my targeted pace, alot of people then passed me but i stayed disaplined and i knew alot of them would be tanked near the end, i ended up passing a few near the end so i was right:D, anyway im lying in bed now with the legs aching like a motherfcuker:D the race was won in a time of 1hr 12mins i think

Good man, you learnt a lot today and it will stand to you. Keep the running super easy for next few days and give the legs a chance to recover and then pick your next target:D

Sunday 5th
    13K around the outskirts of Galway at 5:58min/km avg. Walked 3 times, one of which was after a full frontal attack up Threadneedle Road. They say Loughrea is hilly so I think I'm prepared for that now. Really looking forward to Tuesday's race now, but the week after in Maree is my goal time fingers crossed.

Weeks End: 44.82km (best week yet, just shows the motivation a screaming baby gives you :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Sunday 5th
    13K around the outskirts of Galway at 5:58min/km avg. Walked 3 times, one of which was after a full frontal attack up Threadneedle Road. They say Loughrea is hilly so I think I'm prepared for that now. Really looking forward to Tuesday's race now, but the week after in Maree is my goal time fingers crossed.

Weeks End: 44.82km (best week yet, just shows the motivation a screaming baby gives you :) )

Threadneedle road is horrid.... Even coming down in places is to steep :D I've bypassed that road for all my runs :D:D
    I have it in my head that Maree will have a few hills too, I'm not around for that one anyway. Tuam might be favourable timewise..
    Keep up the good work :)

Cheers Marty let me know if you're at a race and I'll say hello

Sean I read some place on here that Tuam is the flattest/fastest of those races, are you doing that one?

I'm doing them all if I can manage it. Yea Tuam is the fastest, I wonder how much that has to do with it being the last one in the series and the few pints at the end :)

Best of luck with them , enjoy.

Tuesday 6th - 5K Series - Loughrea
    Studied the course a lot today but on arriving at the start line it was clear I was going the wrong way. I had memorised the course backwards and now was trying to figure it out. I positioned myself about 5 seconds from the start line to avoid traffic and away we went. Naturally I was swept along with a quick pace and made the text book error of starting out too fast. I knew I'd suffer later.

For the 60th anniversary of the 4 minute mile, Loughrea AC had a timer placed at the 1 mile marker. I passed this at 7:12 mins which still means nothing to me. After that it was time to recover at half way I managed to relax and regulate the breathing. I had an idea that there was a large hill towards the end so I was trying to save for that.

The hill just kept on going, jesus, it never ended. Had to bail halfway up and walk briefly to regain my sanity. Pressed on to the top and was greeted with a nice view of the finish line 1km away. I decided to gun it and I'm glad I did.

23:59

2 minutes better than last week and just 20 seconds off my PB. I think with the hills and the wind I will take that happily.

km time dist avg
    1 4:33.2 1.00 4:33
    2 4:35.6 1.00 4:36
    3 4:58.0 1.00 4:58
    4 5:32.6 1.00 5:33
    5 4:19.6 0.99 4:21

Happy days.

Has anyone done the run killarney race, it looks like a nice race

http://runkillarneymarathon.com/

I was thinking of this being my next HM

Has anyone done the run killarney race, it looks like a nice race

http://runkillarneymarathon.com/

I was thinking of this being my next HM

You might get a better response in the main forum. I'm surprised it looks reasonably downhill / flat. Savage part of the country too. I was looking at the Dingle Half Marathon before, will have to have a think about what I'm doing next.

Tuesday 6th - 5K Series - Loughrea
    Studied the course a lot today but on arriving at the start line it was clear I was going the wrong way. I had memorised the course backwards and now was trying to figure it out. I positioned myself about 5 seconds from the start line to avoid traffic and away we went. Naturally I was swept along with a quick pace and made the text book error of starting out too fast. I knew I'd suffer later.

For the 60th anniversary of the 4 minute mile, Loughrea AC had a timer placed at the 1 mile marker. I passed this at 7:12 mins which still means nothing to me. After that it was time to recover at half way I managed to relax and regulate the breathing. I had an idea that there was a large hill towards the end so I was trying to save for that.

The hill just kept on going, jesus, it never ended. Had to bail halfway up and walk briefly to regain my sanity. Pressed on to the top and was greeted with a nice view of the finish line 1km away. I decided to gun it and I'm glad I did.

23:59

2 minutes better than last week and just 20 seconds off my PB. I think with the hills and the wind I will take that happily.

km time dist avg
    1 4:33.2 1.00 4:33
    2 4:35.6 1.00 4:36
    3 4:58.0 1.00 4:58
    4 5:32.6 1.00 5:33
    5 4:19.6 0.99 4:21

Happy days.

Well done Sean, you will take a bit off that on a flat course

Thanks Sam I'd like to think so too. Roll on next week!