People with Irish surnames - but no evidence of Irishness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

I know someone who does that. What confuses me is why someone with a simple name like Frank Door would change to Frank O'Dooghobhghofgh Faughghghghghgh*. I'm trying to figure out if you need first aid, never mind how to spell your name.

*Not actual translation but similar idea to what I've seen before, short English last name turning into a man choking or RTE person speaking Irish.

I've always found it very odd that Frank translates to Proinsias. :p

In one way I get how names can be translated - like Smith, comes from being the son of say, a blacksmith and it corresponds to whatever the son of a blacksmith would have been called in Germany, or Portugal, or wherever.

But I don't think it makes it the person's name. It makes it the corresponding name in another language, surely? There's more to a person's name than it just being a proper noun. It's wrapped up very intricately with how a person identifies themselves. Ever been in a loud area and someone calls your name and you hear it clearly and immediately notice that someone is trying to get your attention, whereas you can't hear another word they're saying? That's because your brain identifies your NAME as referring to YOU. Your brain doesn't identify Eoin is referring to you when your name is Jack and some gombeen in an Irish College decided you had to translate it.

I understand translating other proper nouns, for example, Germany is not a sentient being capable of recognizing its name; it's a landmass containing (mostly) ethinically and culturally linked people and buildings and stuff. Anglophones habitually refer to that specific place as Germany - the name they've given to it. Germans refer to it as Deutschland, French refer to it as Allemange. It doesn't matter as long as the meaning is efficiently conveyed. But when you're talking about a person, changing Eoin into Jean just because you're in France isn't going to help convey your meaning even to French people when they know Eoin O'Connor and you're referring to Jean. It's also unlikely that Eoin will know you're even referring to him.

I think it's a bizarre practice that's so often foisted on kids without option. I'm sure some find it a novelty, while others dislike it. But you can't get around the instinctive reaction to your own name. You just won't respond as quickly to a translation until you've been using it a very long time.

As for people who maximise their Irishness through adding impossible spellings dashed with Fadas? Their choice. I personally think it's a little silly when you're changing an easily understood name into something impossible (I say this having done battle all my life with trying to get people to spell/pronounce my un-translated name correctly). My personal opinion is that if they feel less Irish just because their name given to them at birth isn't littered with fadas, they need to take a look at why they don't feel Irish because a name alone shouldn't make you feel un-Irish if you are actually Irish.

The only place I've seen it make sense is when people in jobs like teaching are trying to hide their facebook profile from the kids they teach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Olive8585 wrote: »
    If you're so open-minded then why do you insist on putting people into boxes like that?

You're the one who's suggested I'm narrow-minded. Is that not putting me int oa box? For clarity - I have asked people's opinion about having Irish surname. If you can't do this, don't bother attacking me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

She played the role of the girl sitting beside the dyslexic who for some reason couldn't spell roll but could spell dyslexic! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

mandrake04 wrote: »
    If he was born in Ireland he is Irish.
    The law would disagree. Hugo Sandrigaz however certainly would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

As for people who maximise their Irishness through adding impossible spellings dashed with Fadas? Their choice. I personally think it's a little silly when you're changing an easily understood name into something impossible (I say this having done battle all my life with trying to get people to spell/pronounce my un-translated name correctly). My personal opinion is that if they feel less Irish just because their name given to them at birth isn't littered with fadas, they need to take a look at why they don't feel Irish because a name alone shouldn't make you feel un-Irish if you are actually Irish.

Again I have an Anglicised name no one can pronounce or spell. Would not make a huge difference to me translate it back to Irish as people will still have the same problem.
    Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    The law would disagree. Hugo Sandrigaz however certainly would.

Up to 2005 or was it 06?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭ryan101

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    relax. I'm asking for people's opinion on it, not suggesting lit pitch forks and have them run out of town.

You're the one on here whinging about a co worker having an Irish surname.
    If someone is a dick head, it's nothing to do with the fact someone has an Irish surname.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Must be a celtic tiger thing. I get Facebook messages from people I went to secondary school whose names were English, now they use the Irish version. If people were given Irish names by their parents fine, if not then it's just pretentious nonsense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 360 ✭✭Olive8585

You're the one who's suggested I'm narrow-minded. Is that not putting me int oa box? For clarity - I have asked people's opinion about having Irish surname. If you can't do this, don't bother attacking me..

No, it's not. It's an opinion based on something you've posted here. You can't expect not to have debate and opinions in response to a thread. You're acting as if this poor fella you work with has to explain himself to you because he's chosen to have an Irish name when he doesn't like GAA. He doesn't. It's his name. It's his life. I find it strange that you're so bothered about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭denhaagenite

You have no idea who I am. I am actually very open minded having travelled extensively and lived in a few countries.

Sorry for rubbish quality but you reminded me of this :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jKKtnSVeY9o

Must be a celtic tiger thing. I get Facebook messages from people I went to secondary school whose names were English, now they use the Irish version. If people were given Irish names by their parents fine, if not then it's just pretentious nonsense.

Preferring to restore you real family surname, as opposed to the surname forced on your family by a long gone occupier is not "pretentious". No other nationality in this country is expected to change their surname into an english one. Irish people shouldn't feel the need to either, or be forced to by other Irish people.

Olive8585 wrote: »
    No, it's not. It's an opinion based on something you've posted here. You can't expect not to have debate and opinions in response to a thread. You're acting as if this poor fella you work with has to explain himself to you because he's chosen to have an Irish name when he doesn't like GAA. He doesn't. It's his name. It's his life. I find it strange that you're so bothered about it.

Fair enough then

Ah, the stock response - the narrow minded trump card. You have no idea who I am. I am actually very open minded having travelled extensively and lived in a few countries.

Did you expect them to convert their surnames to english surnames ?

[/QUOTE]You're the one on here whinging about a co worker having an Irish surname.[/QUOTE]

Yep. An internet form. People post things. People reply. If you don't like it, time to move on.

[/QUOTE]If someone is a dick head.[/QUOTE]

Didn't suggest this for one minte

Again, from my OP:
    Keep it civil please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I've an Irish first and last name, I was born with them. If someone has a problem with that, its their problem really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Elmo wrote: »
    Again I have an Anglicised name no one can pronounce or spell. Would not make a huge difference to me translate it back to Irish as people will still have the same problem.

Yeah, my surname is English in origin (even die hard gaelgors can't translate it) but do you think your average English speaking Irish person can handle it? Not a chance! It's just when someone changes something simple like Smith into Ni Fghamlhgnnnanrach that I'm like... WHY?! Save yourself some hassle and keep it as Smith :P

ryan101 wrote: »
    Preferring to restore you real family surname, as opposed to the surname forced on your family by a long gone occupier is not "pretentious". No other nationality in this country is expected to change their surname into an english one. Irish people shouldn't feel the need to either, or be forced to by other Irish people.

Real family surname? Like, the one they've been using for decades? Come off it, you need to get over yourself.

If an individual decides to change their name to a corresponding Irish name so be it, their choice and good luck to them. But saying that people who choose to keep the name of their parents and grandparents (who they know and love) ahead of changing it to the name of some long-dead relative who isn't within anyone's living memory are being racist against their own heritage is pure rubbish. Nobody is forcing someone who's been given an Irish name to translate it into English, just like you shouldn't be putting pressure on people who have English names to translate them into Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

they're gardai, they're trained to put their fb in to Irish in templemore

Real family surname? Like, the one they've been using for decades? Come off it, you need to get over yourself.

If an individual decides to change their name to a corresponding Irish name so be it, their choice and good luck to them. But saying that people who choose to keep the name of their parents and grandparents (who they know and love) ahead of changing it to the name of some long-dead relative who isn't within anyone's living memory are being racist against their own heritage is pure rubbish. Nobody is forcing someone who's been given an Irish name to translate it into English, just like you shouldn't be putting pressure on people who have English names to translate them into Irish.

I suppose you could always pretend what I said, I couldn't care less if people want to call themselves Mickey Mouse, but if someone wants to restore their correct family surname, rather than the name given to their family by an occupier, they should be allowed to be.

You don't see people complaining about Polish people etc. wanting to retain their correct surname, rather than use an english surname.

For pure convenience, I maintain the use of the surname the occupiers gave my family, but it is not my correct family surname and never will be. I respect anyone who wishes to restore their correct family surname.

Sounds like you may have unresolved issues, have you considered counselling for that? Please get over the whole English oppression thing, it's really bloody tedious and frankly a bit juvenile.

I suppose if you're stuck you can always try an ad hominem argument, but like it or not people can use their correct Irish surname if they wish.

Yey, roll on 2016 so we can have more of your anti-English bulls*it. Got news for ya mate, you weren't around 100 years ago to be oppressed by anyone.

You can stick the racism where the sun don't shine . . mate

If they wish, Irish people will use their real surnames, when, where, and however they like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

If someone changes their Anglicised name back to the original Irish without speaking Irish as a lazy way to be patriotic, it's a bit silly, but no real harm.

But I don't understand people here complaining about Irish names being long and unpronounceable.
    They're not particularly long, often with similar, or identical, numbers of syllables to their Anglicisations.

They're not hard to pronounce. No matter how bad your teacher, you were still regularly exposed to the language for 14 years so you'll recognise common names and be easily able to figure out the pronunciation of names you don't recognise.
    And if you still can't figure it out, do what people do every day all over the world: ask the person how to pronounce it. You only need to do it once.

The level of snickering mockery that comes put when people discuss the Irish language never ceases to amaze me. The only rational explanation I can thing of is that a lot people are annoyed with themselves for not knowing the language and project this onto the language itself.
    Of course there's also a degree of juvenile "it's old-fashioned and for boggers so it's not cool" involved.
    Otherwise people would get annoyed at other names and come up with "hilariously" exaggerated examples like "Chateaubriandglacedepompier."
    bumper234 wrote: »
    Have a lad working with me with one of those names, I don't even try to spell it any more and he is in my contacts as Dave whatshisface

Why didn't you ask him how to spell and pronounce his name? Would you do this for all non-English names?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

what is the IRISH VERSION of your name that was forced on to you tribe/clan all those long years ago- eh RYAN??

You can stick the racism where the sun don't shine . . mate

If they wish, Irish people will use their real surnames, when, where, and however they like.
    I'm Irish, so you can stick your accusations of racism in which ever of your orifices you prefer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

and by the way-I have no problem with people using the irish version of their names,

You can't be racist against a name :confused: Racist doesn't mean "opinions on anything whatsoever that I don't agree with"

Why didn't you ask him how to spell and pronounce his name? Would you do this for all non-English names?

Bingo, I wonder would get get away with calling someone at work with a foreign name "Dave whatshisface"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

So we've a fella who works with us, his Christian name and surname are translated into Irish - it's a hard to pronounce surname with loads of fadas. A lot of our business with with US multi-nationals, so causes no end of hassle and confusion / lost emails etc.

Now, I've absolutely no issues with it and totally respect it. When I started in the job, I was curious and expected that he went go the whole hog on Irish thing i.e. support our native Gaelic games, speak a bit of the language or enjoy the odd trad music session. None of it - he hates GAA with a passion, supports an English football team (annoyingly, refers to the team in the 3rd person i.e. we're away to Chelsea this weekend, we're buying so and so, etc.) and hates the 'iddly diddly' music. Reads English only red top papers i.e. The Sun, Mirror etc. As fair as I'm concerned, he could live in Essex and blend in without batting an eye lid.

So, open to the floor. Keep it civil please!

What a load of rubbish. Have you considered that he is free to enjoy whatever sport he chooses and that he might have been given his Irish name by his parents

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

I have a gaelic surname, I notice that when people with english surnames gaelicize their name it ends up sounding more Irish than actual gaelic surnames, e.g. Adams (Mac Ádhaimh), I'm not saying Gerry isn't Irish, sure his mother is Hannaway which means 'The male descendant of the stormy one' funnily enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭celica00

How can you translate your name?
    didnt go to school in Ireland so no idea, anyone fancy to do my first name for fun? :D