Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,549 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Old diesel wrote: »
    No worries - I was just saying what the magazine said - not saying the result was accurate.

Still makes interesting reading!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Still makes interesting reading!

wouldn't be basing any buying decisions based on its results - the Octavias ride and handling on the Mk 2 model have gone down a bit over the 12 months

The cars won't have changed that much so in reality - I suspect that the owners who participated this year - are different owners to those that took part last year.

Still baffled by the MG6 result though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

*Hic*

Never mind me lads

/collapses in corner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Ah she's not that stupid :pac::pac:

It needs a new radio, well known Renault problem. Happened on 3 of our clios in France, radio won't work and light stays on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I'm heading to the knackers jumble sale market in Clara,
    Anybody want any useless TaT ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

pred racer wrote: »
    I'm heading to the knackers jumble sale market in Clara,
    Anybody want any useless TaT ;)

Hahahaha, shame I'm not home, I'd pop over and say hi :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I think I need a vacation... I'm aching in places I never thought could ache! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Well la di da Mr. Vacation. Normal folk would call it a holiday :pac:

Anyway, I had the, lets say misfortune, of test driving a golf with a coo or boo or whatever ya call it, today. Little cousin bought one.....
    Quite stupid really, you have to change gear below 2000 revs for it to work, sure that's no good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Anyway, I had the, lets say misfortune, of test driving a golf with a coo or boo or whatever ya call it, today. Little cousin bought one.....
    Quite stupid really, you have to change gear below 2000 revs for it to work, sure that's no good!

Coo or boo???? :confused:

What does this gadget do :confused:

Ahh you know when young'ins put straight pipes in their car, so that whenever they change gear it makes a weird noise. :pac:
    Example:

Edit: that's a pretty crap example

I'm above you common folk :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

1.9tdi golf mk5s coo a small bit naturally anyway. My one does it. It's slight enough nothing like the video. Often if your going from second to third you'll here it. It's weird but anyone I asked said they do it. You get use to it and it's not that loud and only happens the odd gear change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,549 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Avensis D-4D has an owl in the exhaust.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Avensis D-4D has an owl in the exhaust.

As demonstrated by almost every diesel Avensis taxi in Navan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

that cheap ass xc70 from the other day is making me want one.... tempted to get this

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volvo-xc70-estate-7-seater-nct-09-15/6837555

just wish i could see the dash and centre console so i could see what she has or at least the vin number and i could find out what it has !

Bpmull wrote: »
    1.9tdi golf mk5s coo a small bit naturally anyway. My one does it. It's slight enough nothing like the video. Often if your going from second to third you'll here it. It's weird but anyone I asked said they do it. You get use to it and it's not that loud and only happens the odd gear change.

The noise in his golf (Mk4) is retro-fitted, and it's loud! Stupid really, I'd get sick of it before long. With your golf though, that's grand, nothing major. My Mondeo does something similar (barely noticeable) when changing into second after starting from cold, in the morning for example.

Ah I agree I was never into the loud retro fitted version. I couldn't ever see the point of them.

Bag of M+M Peanuts = Check

Few cans of Polish beer = Check

Let the internet browsing of cars begin !

Did you put up the st for sake yet ?

Nope is getting work done on it over the next 2 days no point putting the car up for sale when it isn't driving 100%

Ah right. I assume it will sell easily enough there's not that many st going around and yours is very clean well minded looking.

We shall soon see, may leave putting it up for sale for another week and get bumpers resprayed (undecided yet)

Hah, some have it easy! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Hah, some have it easy! :P

Yeah :( I'm going to Galway at 6 in the morning :(:(

Think of me when you're still eating yer M&Ms and drinking beer then SG!

It's amazing how much of a difference a new set of wipers makes . I put mine on this morning just a small button you press on the mk5 and the wiper pulls out and the new one just slots in. So easy to do yet no one seems to change wipers . The back one was very bad the rubber was badly cracked im suprised the window didn't scratch. Any I'm hopping to get the centre wheel cap some time this week while I'm in cork. The missing vw badges off the keys are dispatched and on there way. Once there on the car. It will be spot on to me anyway (bar the dent boot which we don't talk off).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Just back from Killarney after a day of rolling around in sheep crap on an old golf course, that was great craic :pac:

Saw some seriously dodgy overtaking going on on the way back. Three lads tried to overtake a horse box at the same time so they were almost three abreast on the opposite lane with an oncoming bus. Idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

It's amazing how much of a difference a new set of wipers makes . I put mine on this morning just a small button you press on the mk5 and the wiper pulls out and the new one just slots in. So easy to do yet no one seems to change wipers . The back one was very bad the rubber was badly cracked im suprised the window didn't scratch. Any I'm hopping to get the centre wheel cap some time this week while I'm in cork. The missing vw badges off the keys are dispatched and on there way. Once there on the car. It will be spot on to me anyway (bar the dent boot which we don't talk off).

Have a chat with Eddie Griffin and see what he can do for you. Alternatively get a door off eBay. If the paint isn't damaged on the new door he can sort it.

I think I will get something done over the summer with it as I'm upto my eyes with exams and stuff till the end of May. Realistically to do it right the boot door and bumper need to be sprayed as the bumper has a few marks from the incident. Is Eddie griffin in cork I'm guessing he does dent removal and spraying or is he the guy who does paint less dent removal. Probably better to get it all done with one guy as no point in getting paint less dent removal done when the paint is gone although it would make the damage look less minor. Would there be a big price difference I know your talking around 500 for the whole is paint less dent removal much cheaper considering there not spraying it.

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Yeah :( I'm going to Galway at 6 in the morning :(:(

Think of me when you're still eating yer M&Ms and drinking beer then SG!

I'll think of you as I sip this nice cool bottle of ale :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Yay or nay for US Style lights?