Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users Posts: 7,289 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Shurre what ya want all that power for hah ?

doin wheelies i suppose

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

No to be truly hipster you have to buy something no one else has

Oh no. If this is the definition of a hipster, then I might become one fairly soon. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

GvidoR wrote: »
    Oh no. If this is the definition of a hipster, then I might become one fairly soon. :eek:

Hate that :o

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Lads, Hipsters don't wear hats... Or shoes.
    hipsters1.jpg

I'm alright so :D

Did the hats become too mainstream? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Shurre what ya want all that power for hah ?

doin wheelies i suppose

Actually you would love my Primera! Galway reg and all :D:D

The worrying thing is that it's 90BHP which sounds really dreadful, until you remember all the laaaads in their 90BHP golfs and boras and passats going on about for fast that are and the massive torque laaaad etc. What would these fine young gentle men think if they got into a car that was mildly paced even. Never mind something fast!!!!

If a Hobit wouldn't wear it...

Oh, just leaving this here.

Did the hats become too mainstream? :pac:

Just to clarify, I was wearing hats before it was cool

I was also driving an estate before it was cool too

• Registered Users Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Today i have decided i don't need the hassle of a V8 and i would prefer an E39 6 cylinder sub 3 grand to drive around not giving a care in the world and looking down my nose from my leather cockpit at all the peasants in diesels.

Tomorrow maybe V12, who feckin knows :p

How about a v8.....
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-mustang-cobra-svt-v8-5-0l/6849586

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

CianRyan wrote: »
    If a Hobit wouldn't wear it...

Oh, just leaving this here.

I want them 5-6mins of my life back please.
    I was waiting for them birds to sing.

I want them 5-6mins of my life back please.
    I was waiting for them birds to sing.

They sing alright, have a look at some more Babymetal tunes. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,289 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Lol 0-60 in 3.9

3.9 what ?

Minutes!

CianRyan wrote: »
    Minutes!

Was gona say lightyears but that works too :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Jeez, I have to get up in a few hours and make for the Whest!

Feck, I'll be tired tomorrow...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Jeez, I have to get up in a few hours and make for the Whest!

Feck, I'll be tired tomorrow...

Yeah, about time some of ye eastern's came to the best side of the country :D

Was gona say lightyears but that works too :P

TBH, lightyears wouldn't have worked at all. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Anyone else think that the 90s was a fairly bad time for car design or is it just me?
    TBH, lightyears wouldn't have worked at all. ;)

Yeah, considering it's a measurement of distance rather than time!

Anyone else think that the 90s was a fairly bad time for car design or is it just me?

Yeah, considering it's a measurement of distance rather than time!

Yeah it was a rough oul time alright, the set square age i like to call it

Also that was the joke about the lightyear thing :P

Yeah it was a rough oul time alright, the set square age i like to call it

Also that was the joke about the lightyear thing :P

Oh right yeah!

The 90's was a great time for music and good weather but not for car design.

Oh right yeah!

The 90's was a great time for music and good weather but not for car design.

Aye, with an exception of one or two cars, toyota supra springs to mind, and the skylines perhaps but that's about it

I'm not saying all cars were bad, just most.

Late 80's and through out the 90's are a great time for cars in Japan and Europe, just not so much America.

From Starions, RX7, M3 Evos ands Williams Clios. What a great time for car heads!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I would tend to disagree. A lot of really good looking stuff came out over that time

BMW E39 and E46

Alfa 145 147 155 156 166

Mitsubishi Galant

Toyota Levin (though I'm biased) Supra and lots of other stuff we never got

Honda NSX (or was that 80's?)

Lexus IS200 and LS400

Porsche 996

Ferrari f355

Fiat Barchette (sp?)

Volvo 850R

Saab 9-5?

All a case of taste obviously and I'm sure there are plenty more.

post 3000:D:D what do I win?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I would tend to disagree. A lot of really good looking stuff came out over that time

Mitsubishi Galant

Toyota Levin (though I'm biased) Supra and lots of other stuff we never got

Honda NSX (or was that 80's?)

Lexus LS400

Ferrari f355

Volvo 850R

All a case of taste obviously and I'm sure there are plenty more.

post 3000:D:D what do I win?

I fixed that list for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭chrisb1

90s was far from a bad time for car design

Subarus and evos
    civics integras crx nsx
    corollas carinas
    skylines silvias 200sx 180sx 100nx (for the hair dressers)
    mercs bmw
    405mi-16
    gti golfs
    isuzu aska
    cosworths xr3i and rs turbos
    And some of the fast hot hatches out there 205 gti xr2i

Just to name a few

Volvo 850 T5R > Volvo 850 R

Also, I think 90s might actually be the best decade for car design. Most new cars look meh.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

'murican cars went through a bad era from the early/mid nineties up till about 2003-2004 when some of the muscle/pony cars were relaunched.

I pinpoint the decline of 'murican cars at two spots. Firstly around 1979, when a lot of manufacturers downsized from big blocks to small blocks, the transam for example now came with a 5.0 instead of a 6.6.
    Secondly - around the same time as the above, maybe a couple years later, alot of the full size sedans from cadillac/lincoln etc - in addition to downsizing the engines- also swapped to FWD from RWD.
    And finally from the mid '80s the car designers must have just put the previous model on a radiator and melted it - then used that as the new design, otherwise there is no explaining the styling!

(what's a rant??)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

The GM 400 / 403's used in Firebirds were small block. Also a lot of Caddys were FWD going back as far as the 70's. Other than that I agree. ;)