Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 Mod Warning Post #6378

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

Just seen this on Twitter:

Skrtel must be worth at least £50m then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

If anything, worrying about the Chelsea game which I am, is not getting carried away, I think.

Mourinho is already plotting our defeat. And he's really good at what he does.

Norwich could easily be as hard as West Ham or Sunderland, or worse. I don't think many games will be as hard as City, though. Relegation battlers are in the relegation zone for a reason, but a soon as they have a whiff of staying in the league at the end of the season, they're demons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭gafferino

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/english-soccer/gerrard-s-magic-powers-could-just-net-him-the-goal-of-a-lifetime-1.1760995?page=1

Gerrard’s magic powers could just net him the goal of a lifetime

Then at the crucial moment, after City had defied destiny by fighting back to 2-2, Kompany’s miskick sent the ball spinning to Philippe Coutinho. Coutinho is not the most reliable shooter, but this time he rifled the ball into the bottom corner.
    Kompany could seek consolation in the autobiography of Andrea Pirlo, which is published tomorrow in English translation by Back Page Press. Reflecting on what Gerrard’s Liverpool did to his Milan team in Istanbul, Pirlo writes: “I’ll never fully shake that sense of absolute impotence when destiny is at work. The feeling will cling to my feet forever, trying to pull me down . . .” Pirlo learned at the Ataturk Stadium that sometimes it’s just not your night – or your year. He reflects on Milan’s defeat: “There are always lessons to be found in the darkest moments. It’s a moral obligation to dig deep and find that little glimmer of hope or pearl of wisdom. You might hit upon an elegant phrase that stays with you and makes the journey that little bit less bitter. I’ve tried with Istanbul and haven’t managed to get beyond these words: for f**k’s sake.”

and further down the article......

He always had the gifts of improvisation and inspiration, but, the argument ran, he lacked the patience and the game intelligence to be a truly influential central midfielder, the kind who protects his defence and controls the game from a deep position.
    Yesterday, his former midfield partner Dietmar Hamann told the Daily Mail : “never did I expect to see him end up in my position, as a holding midfielder. He just wasn’t the most disciplined – and that position is all about being disciplined and giving the team balance. Often when you were playing with Steven you would think: ‘Where’s he going? What’s he doing there?’”
    When Brendan Rodgers used him as the anchor against Aston Villa in January, Gerrard endured a disastrous first half that emphasised all the old doubts. Villa overran him and Liverpool were 2-0 down by the break. A tactical switch moved Gerrard further up the field after half-time, and he scored one and created the other as Liverpool rescued a draw.

Most managers would have given up on the experiment right then but Rodgers persevered with it and has been rewarded with a run of 11 wins in 12 games.
    And in these matches we have seen the emergence of a new Gerrard, alert and watchful, disciplined and strategic, rarely venturing beyond halfway, finding a team-mate with 90 per cent of his passes. He moves forward only for dead balls, and to devastating effect, scoring decisive goals from penalties or free-kicks in four of the 10 successive wins that have taken Liverpool to the brink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Turtyturd wrote: »
    This was always a myth for me. Reina had a great, fast throw to release a counter but when he had the ball at his feet it was pass to Agger, back to Reina, pass to Skrtel, back to Reina, hoof up field as an attacker closed him down. That's not playing out from the back.

That's surely more the fault of the two centre backs you mentioned rather than reina no? Reina keeps giving them the ball and keeps getting it back!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Seriously, after getting so many yellows how did Gerrard manage to stay card free fro 4 matches! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Ha, just had this thought.

Best thing Moses did, provide competition that saw Sterling push on.

Think back to before Christmas, and Sterling was in poor form. Moses played well-ish, once or twice, then his form plummeted. Sterling saw his chance, pushed on, and we have barely seen Moses since.

Even if the competition is quite starting quality, its clear to see that having such competition for first time in years has a knock on affect for the likes of Sterling, Henderson, Skrtel, and even then Allen and Flanno.

Bit of a quick brain dump here, but hopefully ye get my drift :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Mignolet was poor yesterday.At fault for the 2nd goal imo.Kicked a ball straight to Silva in 1st half but was lucky it hit very hard & is very poor at dealing with crosses.But he is one of the best shot stoppers in the league so i would stick with him for next season as he is a young goalkeeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,697 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

by the way, if that was the emotion from Gerrard after winning yesterday, can you imagine what it might be like if we actually do this?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

SlickRic wrote: »
    by the way, if that was the emotion from Gerrard after winning yesterday, can you imagine what it might be like if we actually do this?

I was yesterday and probably will each time if we continue to win.
    I heading over for the Chelsea game,when the trip was booked i was praying it might be a game where we just might be searching for 3 points to take us into the CL,never in my wildest dreams did i think we could be fighting for the title.

SlickRic wrote: »

I try not to think about it. I genuinely do.

MD1990 wrote: »
    Mignolet was poor yesterday.At fault for the 2nd goal imo.Kicked a ball straight to Silva in 1st half but was lucky it hit very hard & is very poor at dealing with crosses.But he is one of the best shot stoppers in the league so i would stick with him for next season as he is a young goalkeeper.

Thought he was excellent. Made some crucial saves, and despite one missed punch, he was big when he needed to be at the end of the game.

Came out and caught the ball at few needed moments, and punched away another few too.

Don't think we could have asked for more, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭GotTheTshirt

Robbed from the humour thread.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,633 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Gerrard was brilliant yesterday. His motivation and emotion was expressed through covering an absurd amount of ground; getting some great last ditch challenges in; and winning more than his fair share of headers and ball generally.

Suarez and Sturridge were the wrong side of amped up. They made rash decisions, executed poorly and generally tried too hard.

This is often the problem for teams down the stretch. Everyone will be trying 100%, it's just that you can try too hard by times and lose the point of what you're doing. As fine a definition of 'bottling' as any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

NukaCola wrote: »
    Really? Didn't get that yesterday at all. Very solid.

He made two bad passes to (I think) Flannagan and Henderson, when they didn't have enough room and they inevitably lost the ball.

Maybe Allen, Lucas or Suarez could've handled those passes but they weren't too clever.

I don't have a problem with the pace of the passes - so often when he does that it's to our advantage because 1) they're harder to intercept, 2) controlling them isn't a problem for our players in the front 2/3rd of the pitch and 3) they can use the momentum from those passes to roll defenders or lay off to team mates.

He just needs to be a bit better at who he passes to.
    Having said that, I'm not sure he misplaced any short passes yesterday, so Flannagan and Henderson have to share the blame for not being able to take the ball under pressure, which is something all our players need to be able to do given that we play it out from the back.

Knex. wrote: »
    Thought he was excellent. Made some crucial saves, and despite one missed punch, he was big when he needed to be at the end of the game.

Came out and caught the ball at few needed moments, and punched away another few too.

Don't think we could have asked for more, really.

Wouldnt say he was excellent. Think that may an over statement. He made one good save. His kicking was average. Nearly cost us a goal first half coming for the ball when he didnt need to. Learned his lesson and did better second half with a few punches. Got beaten on his near post for a goal as well... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,122 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

DrumSteve wrote: »
    I'd be almost inclined to play lucas in gerrards current position and push Gerrard further up the field.

Don't need Moses on the pitch.
    I would be loathe to start tinkering with Gerrard now that he's started to excel in the defensive midfield role.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭viper006

Magnificent 3 points yesterday. City really came back at us in the second half. When we went 2-2 and Sturridge went off I really thought our great momentum of victories was going down in a ball of flames.

While I hope we can cope without hendo when Allen or Lucas step in , I'd really b gutted if Sturridge is missing even against Norwich but especially vs Chelsea. Sadly Daniel doesn't seem to do small injuries and generally misses weeks so I'm praying his season isn't over.

He's been abit off lately but he's so fast and capable of brilliance I think he's vitality important for team in our run. Teams can't seem to handle Suarez, sterling and Sturridge charging at them at the same time and simply put I don't think aspas or Moses are on any level capable of the same level as Sturridge.

Fingers crossed it will b great news. Our job of scoring vs Chelsea, Norwich and palace will be a lot harder without him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

The only game I am really worried about Hendo missing is the Chelsea game, Allen/Lucas are good enough for the other games. While Coutinho was immense yesterday, at this moment i'd drop him and play both Lucas and Allen ahead of Gerrard. Allen is more than capable of keeping the attack ticking over from midfield and was the difference yesterday when he came on. If sturridge is injured then Coutinho will start regardless, but for now I think the midfield are gonna need more than one of Allen or Lucas in the middle.

Vanolder wrote: »
    The only game I am really worried about Hendo missing is the Chelsea game, Allen/Lucas are good enough for the other games. While Coutinho was immense yesterday, at this moment i'd drop him and play both Lucas and Allen ahead of Gerrard. Allen is more than capable of keeping the attack ticking over from midfield and was the difference yesterday when he came on. If sturridge is injured then Coutinho will start regardless, but for now I think the midfield are gonna need more than one of Allen or Lucas in the middle.

You'd drop Coutinho?!! After yesterday's performance??!! Are you mad? He was a like a terrier yesterday, deserved every bit of the standing ovation he got when he came off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,653 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

tok9 wrote: »
    Seriously, after getting so many yellows how did Gerrard manage to stay card free fro 4 matches! :D

He had 7 in the previous 30 league games.
    So he's been averaging about 1 in every 4.28 games.
    Chances are he'll pick one up in the next 0.28 games!

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    You'd drop Coutinho?!! After yesterday's performance??!! Are you mad? He was a like a terrier yesterday, deserved every bit of the standing voation he got when he came off.

Yes, i'm nuts, but with our defence it is going to need as much protection as possible and Chelsea murdered us in the middle at the bridge and for about 60 mins in that game we got a footballing lesson and probably our toughest match this season (tho yesterday is up there).... Coutinho will have a part to play - but not losing that game is huge- Mourinho will look at that second half yesterday and be rubbing his hands with how easily Liverpool were tore all over the pitch. Hazard being back could be the difference- but for me, one of Sterling/Coutinho lose out and I just think Sterling offers a lot more in explosiveness and ability to break/score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,734 ✭✭✭✭rob316

That Flanagan loves a good tackle, real warrior of a player, likes to let you know early too that he's there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

He had 7 in the previous 30 league games.
    So he's been averaging about 1 in every 4.28 games.
    Chances are he'll pick one up in the next 0.28 games!

Oh ya, I know throughout the season he wasn't too bad but I think he picked up 4 consecutively which is why I was surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Mignolet was very ropey with ball at feet yesterday, but he pulled off two vital saves.

He has done this fairly consistently all season. If we do win the league, he'll have been a massive part of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭jasonb

Another weekend, another win, another match day of anxiety!

I was thrilled with our start yesterday, but when it came back to 2-2 I feared the worse and I really felt like that City fan the camera zoomed in on in the last game of the season two years ago; the disappointment and frustrating was boiling over. I guess I'm a cynic at heart, I keep waiting for the bubble to burst, and I thought it was going to happen yesterday.

But while I might have dropped my head, the team didn't, and it's just an excellent result. The funny thing is that it really changes nothing in some ways, we still have to win all four to guarantee winning the league. Like some others here, I believe 3 wins and a draw will probably do us, but obviously we won't know that for certain until City do drop points somewhere. So it's same as before, win them all to win the league.

What worries me, apart from my inherit 'I can't be this lucky' mentality, is that I don't know how long the team can keep playing at this intensity, it must be draining them! We've gone from 'win 10 finals' to 'win 4 finals', can we really keep it up for these last four matches? God, I bloody hope so. Any team that wins 14 in a row at the business end of the season deserves the title, but plenty of teams have deserved things and not got them.

So, first things first once again, Norwich is next. We're 4 points away from guaranteeing 3rd spot (though it would take a massive collapse for us not to get it anyhow). We'd have been thrilled with that result in August. And if we get 7 points in the next 3 games then no matter what the other teams do, we'll be in with a shot on the last day of the season.

As another poster said, it's mad to think that we've won 10 in a row, after being top in late December, and we're still worried about dropping a point anywhere. How good would it be for all our hearts if City and Chelsea just did us a favour and dropped some points somewhere! :) This lack of any sort of a cushion, this 'must win' every game, is draining...

I daren't hope we could win it all yet, the disappointment would be horrible. So I tell myself one game at a time, and I look at guaranteeing 4th or 3rd. But in my heart I'm going 'Please let it happen...'

J.

rob316 wrote: »
    That Flanagan loves a good tackle, real warrior of a player, likes to let you know early too that he's there :D

Needs a youtube compilation, if it hasn't been done already?

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Gerrard was brilliant yesterday. His motivation and emotion was expressed through covering an absurd amount of ground; getting some great last ditch challenges in; and winning more than his fair share of headers and ball generally.

Suarez and Sturridge were the wrong side of amped up. They made rash decisions, executed poorly and generally tried too hard.

This is often the problem for teams down the stretch. Everyone will be trying 100%, it's just that you can try too hard by times and lose the point of what you're doing. As fine a definition of 'bottling' as any.

I couldnt believe Suarez yesterday. Its the first time this season Ive been genuinely disappointed by him. The challenge on Dimichelis was a stupid one. His reaction to the booking even worse. Then he continued to walk that tight rope for another hour at least until he calmed down. This coincided with the City period of dominance and I think his temperament was effecting our team and the City lads sensed it. He seemed to cop on in the latter part of the 2nd half. I thought he was going to do a Mascherano on us.

Aside from the outstanding play the cool heads of Sterling and Coutinho was extremely impressive.

Luis needs to be more controlled like he has been all season.

Was anyone here at the game? Would love to hear any reports on the match and build up etc. Kess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,734 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I think Flanagan should be on the plane to Brazil, he would represent an excellent option as back up for either flank. Much better player than Walker and Cole this season imo.

I really hope Henderson is out there teaching Joe Allen how to run with his knees, cos that man is gonna have to pick up one hell of a slack if he wants to replace Jordan for the next three games.

Just take that Wilshere quote from a few months back:
    ‘Jordan Henderson was tough this year. He’s got a great attitude to football. He’s not nice to play against. You walk off and you’re knackered.

Gerrard will certainly miss that pressing and energy in front of him.