Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Were you as critical with Fergie when he did the exact same thing with Rooney vs Bayern in 2011?

Tbf, the circumstances were quite different back then. The only other strikers SAF had in the squad then were an underperforming Berbatov who didn't fit the system and Macheda. And in fairness, he did take Rooney off early in the 2nd half when it was clear he was a negative to the team.

I don't think SAF would have started Rooney yesterday. He probably would've played Kagawa off Welbeck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭Ernest Oreo

he was absolutely right to start Rooney
    but should have made changes earlier - not necessarily before HT either.
    of course you will gamble with your 'franchise player' if in a make or break situation - which is precisely what last night was..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

I'm still sickened from the game last night. Giving a goal away seconds after going one nil up was just crushing. You knew Bayern would be buzzing after that.

Had we kept them out for the next ten minutes I'm sure we would have gone through.

It was a great fight by the team over the two legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I'm still sickened from the game last night. Giving a goal away seconds after going one nil up was just crushing. You knew Bayern would be buzzing after that.

Had we kept them out for the next ten minutes I'm sure we would have gone through.

It was a great fight by the team over the two legs.

Evra scores a wonder goal and then seconds later has a complete brain fart to give away the equaliser. I share your view, if we had of settled down and kept our focus for the key minutes after our goal. Then we could have done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

Blatter wrote: »
    Tbf, the circumstances were quite different back then. The only other strikers SAF had in the squad then were an underperforming Berbatov who didn't fit the system and Macheda. And in fairness, he did take Rooney off early in the 2nd half when it was clear he was a negative to the team.

I don't think SAF would have started Rooney yesterday. He probably would've played Kagawa off Welbeck.

Aye that's a fair point re. Berba and Macheda. I'd argue though that Rooney's inclusion last night was less of a gamble considering the nature of the injury in both situations. He was cleared by the docs and no doubt wanted to play. I think slating Moyes for taking a slight gamble on the fitness of our best available forward in the biggest match of the season is verging slightly into unfair criticism territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I suppose Moyes didn't want to take Rooney off, as he's one of ther best finishers at the club, and United needed a goal. Which is fair enough, RVP and Mata weren't playing so there weren't a lot of options. Hernandez was already on.

Vidic was quite good, good to see him go out with a good performance. He'll be missed but I suppose his time has come, so I won't be too sad he's going.

I still think Moyes should be sacked, his results have been far below what even most pessimistic supporters could have imagined. Embarrasing cup exits at home, as well as no wins agaisnt top sides.
    His transfer business has been poor. Sad to see Evra torn apart last night, after they passed up two transfer windows to address the issue.
    I do think his selections have improved somewhat in the last month or so, leaving out Cleverley has helped to improve things, but he still should go.

Summer 2013 really was very costly as at that stage we were champions, had European football to look forward to, had a "war-chest". Potential targets didn't know what Moyes would be like.
    We could have addressed LB and CM properly, challenged for the league, then this year maybe add a CB to replace Vidic and Rio.
    Pity we had a shambles of a season with a complete overhaul needed now.

Even if Moyes does address the issues and signs 4-5 players this summer, you already know that that'll be his excuse in new season for underperformance, don't you? Hard to integrate so fast etc.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Aye that's a fair point re. Berba and Macheda. I'd argue though that Rooney's inclusion last night was less of a gamble considering the nature of the injury in both situations. He was cleared by the docs and no doubt wanted to play. I think slating Moyes for taking a slight gamble on the fitness of our best available forward in the biggest match of the season is verging slightly into unfair criticism territory.

For the record, I am not criticising the gamble of starting him; I am giving out that he got a full 90 when he was having a poor game and was injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

For the record, I am not criticising the gamble of starting him; I am giving out that he got a full 90 when he was having a poor game and was injured.

Apologies so. Misread your argument, that's fair enough.

I'd agree, I didn't have much of a problem with Moyes for starting him. It was leaving him on for the 90 mins was the wrong decision imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Didn't Rooney get injured during that Bayern game? Fergie only took him off as he had no choice not because he was a negative to the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Evra scores a wonder goal and then seconds later has a complete brain fart to give away the equaliser. I share your view, if we had of settled down and kept our focus for the key minutes after our goal. Then we could have done it.

There were far bigger culprits than evra for that first goal. Utd had just scored so had time to get set up properly ribery got a lot of space out left to pick out a runner fletcher failed to track the runner and then evra got beaten for height on the back post. Jones, valencia and fletcher must shoulder a lot of the blame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Pighead wrote: »
    Didn't Rooney get injured during that Bayern game? Fergie only took him off as he had no choice not because he was a negative to the team.

Still raging at that. Rooney played with an ankle injury and the entire first half the Bayern back line were clipping his ankle. That and Rafael getting a yellow card from Badstuber cleaning him. -_-

He was carrying an injury going into the game and I think it was one of van Buyten or van Bommel that aggravated it and he had to come off as he then became a negative to the team.

Moyes said last night that Rooney was "struggling at times to strike the ball."

It was negligent to leave him on for the 90 imo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

If Buttner had that brain fart it would have been Moyes fault according to some here for not picking Evra.
    Moyes has an excuse to give Buttner the last few games now and see how he does. I hope to jesus he does. Has Buttner ever actually had a run of games?
    I didnt think Rooney was that bad. He played through pain if it was that bad he could have elected to not be taking corners and taking a shot on when Kagawa was standing beside him unmarked. A sore toe doesnt make you blind deaf and greedy.
    Id like to see a young back 4 for the remainder of the season.
    Raphael Jones Smalling Buttner

Fellaini and Cleverly sitting because we know what Carrick can do but he hasnt got long left in him.

Then Id go with Kagawa Mata Welbeck
    ..................................Rooney.

There is no point playing lads that are finished. Its a perfect time to go full transition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

There were far bigger culprits than evra for that first goal. Utd had just scored so had time to get set up properly ribery got a lot of space out left to pick out a runner fletcher failed to track the runner and then evra got beaten for height on the back post. Jones, valencia and fletcher must shoulder a lot of the blame.

Yes there were but Evra's poor marking and 'challenge' for the ball lead directly to the goal.

jane82 wrote: »
    Id like to see a young back 4 for the remainder of the season.
    Raphael Jones Smalling Buttner

that would probably represent the weakest defence United have had in recent history (ie last 20 years)

Evans and Jones is possibly a CD partnership from what we have
    Smalling - a squad player
    Buttner - dont think hes up to it fullstop
    Da Silva - not for me, will prob be the starting RB next year again tho. if he had a proper centre half partnership beside him then some of his limitations might be masked. bad crosser of the ball too tho - get him to look at some G Neville videos ffs
    We badly need a new Vidic.

that would probably represent the weakest defence United have had in recent history (ie last 20 years)

Da Silva - not for me, will prob be the starting RB next year again tho. if he had a proper centre half partnership beside him then some of his limitations might be masked. bad crosser of the ball too tho - get him to look at some G Neville videos ffs

Isnt Evans injured? We badly need a new team. Why not play the players we will have next year and see what positions are priority.

jane82 wrote: »
    Isnt Evans injured? We badly need a new team. Why not play the players we will have next year and see what positions are priority.

ya Evans is out to the best of my knowledge
    i was referring to the longer term, as in into next season.

will be a shame if we lose Mangala to the other side of the city.
    looks like a Rio on steroids, and lots of them.
    could really kick our defence into shape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

He was carrying an injury going into the game and I think it was one of van Buyten or van Bommel that aggravated it and he had to come off as he then became a negative to the team.

Moyes said last night that Rooney was "struggling at times to strike the ball."

It was negligent to leave him on for the 90 imo.
    I would argue that Ferguson would have kept Rooney on for the full match had he not aggravated his injury during the game when Van Buyten nailed him. Also it would seem this toe injury isn't as bad as the ankle problem he had back then. But I suppose we will never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

will be a certainty to lose Mangala to the other side of the city.
    looks like a Rio on steroids, and lots of them.
    could really kick our defence into shape

FYP

I would argue that Ferguson would have kept Rooney on for the full match had he not aggravated his injury during the game when Van Buyten nailed him. Also it would seem this toe injury isn't as bad as the ankle problem he had back then. But I suppose we will never know.

Maybe, purely because it would've been best for the team due to lack of options.

I can't say that Moyes didn't have good alternative options last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

It is probably the weakest defense in 20 years Fergie should not have let it get to that. Smalling and Jones have barely developed at all as in their best position the last few seasons. Now next season we will be starting with two defenders who are still raw have lots to learn. Evans should be number 1 choice when fit. On Rafael people have a short memory very good last year struggled with injuries and form in a defence chopped and changed all season. Buttner i don't think will be ever more than a squad player we badly need a lb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

By the way, Fletcher is finished as a top level player, hate to say it and I admire his courage but he is not up to it. He is anther player I see going this Summer, and will have to be replaced. Carrick too was not at the races but is good enough to try and recreate his form from last year.

Completely disagree with this. From the limited amount he has played, he has been head and shoulders above our other CMs, not that that would be difficult.

Carrick has had a dreadful season.

Fellaini has been very disappointing.

Cleverley has been no where near the level required from a United player.

Of all the potential issues in the squad (Evra, Rafaels poor form, Carrick's poor form, Giggs, Cleverley, Young, Valencia, Rio), it's quite odd that you've picked out Fletcher of all players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Surprised to see Vidic being praised here, I thought he was having a horrorshow even before the third goal.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Surprised to see Vidic being praised here, I thought he was having a horrorshow even before the third goal.

There was a point where near the byline he had to do a 180 turn and I could hear truck reversing noises.
    He has been an amazing player for the club but he should have gone last year for a few quid.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

flqpUQJ.gif

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

ya Evans is out to the best of my knowledge
    i was referring to the longer term, as in into next season.

Evans played 65 mins in the U21 game last Monday. So he's on his way back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Haven't posted here in the last few days as I just wanted to enjoy the game last night and not get bogged down in our problems as a team.

I feel a bit deflated last night after that result, not because we lost 3-1 or that we were well beaten by Bayern (we weren't), it's because watching some of the team last night really hit home that this team's era has come to an end.

Carrick was absolutely pedestrian and his decline this year has been steep. He defended pretty well but his passing was shocking at times, arguably his best skill.

Vidic has been a great servant to the club but I'm not sorry to see him go in the summer. He's showing his age and I think the second and third goals summed things up for him. For the second goal a striker nipped in front of him, which is fair enough, but I feel the Vidic of a few years ago would have cleared player and ball out of it. For the third he was trying his absolute hardest to catch Robben and get a block in but Robben just kept dancing a little further out of reach with each stride. Arguably Vidic almost getting the block even led to the goal as De Gea might have saved it without the deflection off Vidic's foot.

Evra, what to say about Evra? Hero and villian I suppose. Fantastic goal but a minute later he fails to see the striker get a run on him and is caught flat footed. For the second goal he might as well stood well out of the way to allow Robben to cross the ball even easier. Another great servant but again I won't be sorry to see him go.

Rooney must have been feeling the injury and if so you'd have to question why he played the full game. Either Moyes feels he has to rely on him or else Rooney wasn't completely honest about the severity of the injury. Either way he was a shadow of his normal self, he seemed indecisive on the ball and didn't seem to have the energy to make runs in the second half especially.

I thought Fletcher had a pretty decent game but it's obvious that his fitness levels are nowhere near where they were before his illness, and probably will never be again. He's still a valuable member of the squad but we can't rely on him to be a starter week in week out.

I felt sorry for Hernandez. He's been so overlooked by Moyes this season that even when we bring him on we continue to play long useless balls up to him and even switch off and lose a third goal making the contest a lost cause really. I love Hernandez and would love to see him stay but I think he'll be gone in the summer, and rightly so as I think he should be playing regular football for someone.

But it's not all doom and gloom. I thought De Gea, Smalling and Jones all had solid games as usual. Smalling really reminds me of a younger Rio Ferdinand and I hope he's one of our regular CBs next season. Jones did well for most of the two legs against Ribery which is no small feat. Looked to be feeling it towards the end but I thought he did fantastically well.

Wellbeck and Valencia once again played well. Both were in the small number of our few players who actually looked comfortable on the ball, Wellbeck moreso that Valencia, and did the jobs Moyes' assigned them very well.

And I'm saving the best for last. I thought Kagawa was easily our best player last night. Looked utterly unfazed by any pressure from Bayern players when he had the ball. He can turn on a sixpence and is always looking to go forward as soon as possible. If we could have cloned him a few times I think we could have easily played the same sort of passing football that Bayern play. I'm hopeful that Moyes has seen enough to make him an important player for us next season, giving him 90 mins in the last two games might show that.

And as for Moyes himself, he reminded me a bit of Trap last night. He had his game plan - concede the midfield battle, defend deep and compact, and play counter attacking football either through quick passes to Rooney or Kagawa and long balls towards the corners for Valencia and Wellbeck to chase. He also didn't really trust his team to be able to pass the ball, even when we were chasing the game. It actually could have been an Ireland performance I was watching! But I think he did the team a bit of a disservice in not playing a small bit of passing football. I think the tactics were spot on right up until we scored the goal. However I'm so annoyed that the team switched off and conceded so quickly after that. Look at Mourinho the other night when Chelsea scored the winner. He immediately gave his team instructions on how to set up to keep that scoreline. I'm not saying Moyes didn't do that but he certainly didn't do it in as obvious a way as Mourinho. I would like to assume he would have mentioned it in his team talk so I hope he rips the players a new one for allowing themselves to switch off like that. But the real problem is when we lost the second goal, we made a few subs but didn't change any of the tactics. As such we just conceded possession to a team that were two goals up and very happy to keep the ball. I'm not sure if he could have changed things too much as the players were tiring, but at least give it a go.

But hey, we're out the Champions League and we won't be there next season. At least those questioning Moyes' European experience will know he can get us to the quarter final now! Next season really will be a rebuilding year. But Kagawa and Mata give me some hope. Replacing our aging players will be very important, and that bit more difficult without Champions League football to offer them, but I'm sure we can do it. I don't think Moyes will be gone anytime soon so I'm going to get behind him for now and hope other supporters do. His first season has been a baptism of fire, it's up to him to learn from it and drastically improve this season. If not his time will run out eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

That Mourinho thing is nonsense. He went barrelling down the sideline fistpumping and kicking imaginary balls to celebrate - you can practically see the moment about two thirds of the way down the pitch when the hamster starts running in the wheel and he realises he has a chance to pretend all that's on his mind is a tactical masterstroke so everyone can see what a guru he is.

He then whispers in Torres' ear... what, exactly? He's quick to tell us in his post match interview that he had his team drilled for every eventually with one, two and three strikers all week because he wants us to acknowledge he's a pre-match guru as well as a during the match guru so really, he ran all that way and dragged Torres out of the goal celebration to say "remember Friday when we were pretending to be a goal up and I put you defending - do that now".

He's a great manager but he's got some serious personality issues, between attention seeking and an overweening need to be praised - that sprint down the line was just a vaudeville encapsulation of them.